Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Commercial Diving

Options
  • 26-11-2013 11:52pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2

Hi all,

Looking at a possible career change in the near future. I am a keen scuba diver but have always found an interest with commercial divers. I have no construction background but have been told by some dive schools that this is not necessary. I plan to take a try dive at The Underwater Centre in Fort William in February.

What I am really wondering is:

Is it an occupation that there is a job to find with hard work?

Where are the best dive schools?

It is quite expensive obviously for the training so I want to get as much info in the coming months before settling on it.

Anything would be helpful,

Cheers

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2 absolutek

Similar story to you. Always loved recreational diving, so I thought I'd take it to the next level and take my commercial diving course. I chose BC College of Diving in Canada. The price was good and the certification is accepted worldwide. They also have a school in Cancun (wish I took it there..haha). The first course is an unrestricted 40meter occupational scuba diver course and is only 5 weeks long (think it's 4 weeks in the Mexico location) and gives you a good idea if commercial diving is really for you without investing tons of time and money.