Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hardware Versand sent me a faulty pc

• Registered Users Posts: 264 ✭✭Menelaun

I have checked the error logs and I have found that one error seems to be related to the times of the crashes that is as follows

Log Name: System
    Source: Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power
    Date: 20/12/2013 11:01:39
    Event ID: 41
    Task Category: (63)
    Level: Critical
    Keywords: (2)
    User: SYSTEM
    Computer: Menelaun-Pc
    Description:
    The system has rebooted without cleanly shutting down first. This error could be caused if the system stopped responding, crashed, or lost power unexpectedly.
    Event Xml:
    <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event"&gt;
    <System>
    <Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power" Guid="{331C3B3A-2005-44C2-AC5E-77220C37D6B4}" />
    <EventID>41</EventID>
    <Version>2</Version>
    <Level>1</Level>
    <Task>63</Task>
    <Opcode>0</Opcode>
    <Keywords>0x8000000000000002</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2013-12-20T11:01:39.557605300Z" />
    <EventRecordID>13041</EventRecordID>
    <Correlation />
    <Execution ProcessID="4" ThreadID="8" />
    <Channel>System</Channel>
    <Computer>Menelaun-PC</Computer>
    <Security UserID="S-1-5-18" />
    </System>
    <EventData>
    <Data Name="BugcheckCode">0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter1">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter2">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter3">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter4">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="SleepInProgress">false</Data>
    <Data Name="PowerButtonTimestamp">0</Data>
    </EventData>
    </Event>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,169 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Maybe take some pics so we can see what a sh1tty job they did of building it.

If the screen goes white but you can hear audio continuing its likely the GPU I'd wager. If it were RAM/CPU then normally everything would halt(audio might go into a stuttering loop).

Also they didnt send back my power cable so i'm stuck with an xbox wire to power it

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,079 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Operating of the CPU and mobo look pretty ok actually, possibly could use another case fan to expel heat a bit better but I wouldn't think that is the problem from that HWM readout.

I am actually getting suspicious of the PSU because a BugcheckCode of 0 implies a sudden error that the OS couldn't categorise, and power drops would most definitely fall into that category (Many hardware problems would record some sort of non zero code, there are error codes that catch a huge range of different hardware and driver/software problems).

It is certainly by no means conclusive, but I think that a GPU or memory related problem would probably have a much more specific error code in there, although possibly not a critical motherboard fault. However other behavior apart from the lockups (lagging during games etc), could also plausibly be attributed to a struggling PSU.

Is you anywhere you could get your hands on a loan of one?

If you could run memtest86+ and prime95 for a while without issue, I'd be pretty happy that you could rule out the motherboard/memory and CPU problems for sure (Although prime95 will put some extra stress on the PSU, so it might fail for that reason as well, it is much less than a full loaded GPU)

EDIT: D'Oh on second thoughts this probably a red herring, as a similar event log entry would be generated if you had to forceably power off the PC from the switch/wall after it hangs. There nothing else useful just before these event log entries? Still worth running memtest and of prime 95 (blend test) anyway, as at least these could rule out memory/CPU and certain motherboard problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭SterlingArcher

I don't want to seem pessimistic , but I believe as you don't want to return the pc yet again this is a valid suggestion.

Bring to a pc repair specialist. One that DOES NOT charge unless they can locate or fix the problem. I only suggest this as you don't have the means to check individual parts. If they find a faulty hardware you can send it back to hwvs. I know this is added cost you don't deserve to be paying. And frankly the whole situation has made me a lot more weary of recommendations for using hwvs.

I'm going to assume that you didn't request a stress test when you sent the pc back? Though they should have done this themselves after it being returned so many times anyways. Is a joke really. And feel bad for you having so much **** with this pc.

0y0n.jpg
    qwqv.jpg
    34l1.jpg

That's the inside of the PC that big wire sticking out is a usb 3.0 wire which explains why its not working.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,079 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Would you be comfortable with taking the GPU out yourself? If it was me the the first thing I would be doing is to revert back to the onboard GPU, and either run some stress tests or just using it for a few days and see if it is crash free.

Honestly to try and isolate the root cause you really need to run programs like the ones I mentioned earlier to isolate and test specific components, although we can make educated guesses, there are just too many variables at play if it is during gaming to really say with certainty what the problem might be.

marco_polo wrote: »
    Would you be comfortable with taking the GPU out yourself? If it was me the the first thing I would be doing is to revert back to the onboard GPU, and either run some stress tests or just using it for a few days and see if it is crash free.

Honestly to try and isolate the root cause you really need to run programs like the ones I mentioned earlier to isolate and test specific components, although we can make educated guesses, there are just too many variables at play if it is during gaming to really say with certainty what the problem might be.

To be honest I wouldnt be that comfortable removing the GPU and I reckon I'm just going to it up to the guy who runs a PC repair shop up the road.
    I might just send the lot back if he cant fix it and then spend it on upgrading my laptop........

Thought I'd give you all an update I brought it up ot the pc repair shop and they took one look at it and said it was built in a very very odd way 'm waiting on them to get back to me but I am hopefully they can fix it!
    Thanks for all the help lads

Got it back today after the lads ran an extensive test on the thing said there was nt an issue yet it still freezes on me Inm thinking my graphics card needs a new power supply as the one that was swappped in requires even more power 850w apparently Lads I am at a loss with this fecking machine any ideas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭Gumbi

Menelaun wrote: »
    Got it back today after the lads ran an extensive test on the thing said there was nt an issue yet it still freezes on me Inm thinking my graphics card needs a new power supply as the one that was swappped in requires even more power 850w apparently Lads I am at a loss with this fecking machine any ideas
    You do NOT need an 850w PSU. Who told you that?

If it working correctly the 500W should be more than sufficent.

What needs to be determined is what component is causing the problem. Was the PSU swapped? The memory? The motherboard?

marco_polo wrote: »
    If it working correctly the 500W should be more than sufficent.

Well they said there was no individual part causing any issue at all.They said that there was a bit of dust but thats about I havent a clue whats wrong with it tat all

Were they able to replicate the issue? Did they make sure each individual component was working?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

Print this thread and go to the small claims court

Gumbi wrote: »
    Were they able to replicate the issue? Did they make sure each individual component was working?
    They ran it as I would've and tested the parts individually
    Could it be a bad windows install?

They ran it as I would've and tested the parts individually
    Could it be a bad windows install?

You didn't answer my question. We're they able to replicate the issue?

Didnt ask them though are near college he said it froze on him once or twice

That's the most important part of fixing it... Replicating the issue. Ask him if he tried it with different RAM. It could be a CPU thing too I suppose but I wouldn't bet on it. If you're based in Limerick I can give you a lend of some RAM if you like.

Im in college on monday so ill head in and ask them but to my earlier question is there any chance it could be software?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭SterlingArcher

Wait I'm confused. You brought it to a pc repair specialist and they said could not fix it? And did not charge you. That is the end of that? Am I correct?

Yup they said there wasnt an individual part that wasnt working properly and having dealt with them before they said I didnt owe them anything

I am based in North Kildare but my sisters boyfriend could help me out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭papu

Yup they said there wasnt an individual part that wasnt working properly and having dealt with them before they said I didnt owe them anything

Well then it must be software / Driver related.

Do a clean install , Install new versions of everything that came on Cd's

papu wrote: »
    Well then it must be software / Driver related.

Do a clean install , Install new versions of everything that came on Cd's
    Does that include windows?
    Thats the only cd I cant find :mad::mad::mad:

Ok I went looking for my CDs didnt help that I've cleaned up my room and cant find some of them but I just realised I was never sent a driver cd for the new graphics card and its been running off of my old drivers for my old graphics card could that be the issue?

Ah here..... could definitely be the problem , The CD is only for convenience , you should always download the correct driver from the internet! I would uninstall the driver , Reboot , Clean everything to do with the driver with Driver Cleaner Pro , Reboot , Install the latest Up to Date Driver.

You dont have the windows CD , do you still have the license Key?

If so , just download an ISO from the internet , burn a cd , or make a usb key.

papu wrote: »
    Ah here..... could definitely be the problem , The CD is only for convenience , you should always download the correct driver from the internet! I would uninstall the driver , Reboot , Clean everything to do with the driver with Driver Cleaner Pro , Reboot , Install the latest Up to Date Driver.

You dont have the windows CD , do you still have the license Key?

If so , just download an ISO from the internet , burn a cd , or make a usb key.
    I do not have the key :( I also noted they lied about the graphics card they put in.Instead of and ATI Devil I got an AMD RAdeon R9 200 series

Does that include windows?
    Thats the only cd I cant find :mad::mad::mad:

Probably best to make a table. Write down all the components in your computer. What has been done to test them and rule them out. Systematically run through your components until you find the one that's giving the problem.

Usually it's easiest to problem solve by checking the parts which are easiest to check first, This rules out allot of things very quickly. This means things you can do without removing parts , so running stress testing programs , reinstalling drivers , checking temps etc etc.