Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Program called for 7 miles easy with strides.

First time out in the rain in a while.

7 miles @ 7.51, felt a bit of bounce in the legs and didn't know myself afterwards as it was the third straight run without any major niggle flaring up.

Also managed 6 strides after the 7, but didn't bother with the watch for these. I think it was PConn in another log that advised to run between two telephone poles and this worked well and I did 6 of them at I'd say around 1 mile pace.

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Ferris B

Cheers P,

Expecting big things from you in Berlin, maybe not as much from the two auld lads, Statler and Waldorf :)

TbL

Us Muppets would probably need to form a tag team to take on that young buck and even then, we'd probably struggle.

Statler

Ferris B wrote: »
    Us Muppets would probably need to form a tag team to take on that young buck and even then, we'd probably struggle.

Statler

Ha ha Statler,

Maybe we could find a Miss Piggy to chop him down to size :)

Sweetums

Program called for a 4 mile recovery run.

Nice enjoyable trot, but my legs didn't get the instant relief that some others seem to get after a recovery run.

Maybe it's because I'm an auld lad but I didn't come in after the run and think the legs are as relaxed as Gerard Depardieu's sphincter...

4 miles in 35.04

TbL

Program called for a 7 mile progression run (8.30-7.20)

Was playing World Cup matches all afternoon in the garden with the young lads and had to shift a pile of paving slabs before the missus got home from town so didn't get out till this evening.

Ran down by Rossaveal as my usual route has been taken over by caravan dwellers!

Never did much in the way of progression runs before and getting the pace right was very difficult. Comfortable run except for the last mile where I started puffin a bit.

Splits;

TbL

Today was to be a rest day but we had visitors yesterday and I didn't get a chance to get out for the planned 16 miler.

Didn't feel great all day at work but headed out in the early evening to get the 16 in. It was still very warm and I was glad of the breeze. Forgot the Garmin and running socks and I was gonna can the session but a talking to from the coach last week "motivated" me to get out and get at least some of it done. Hit the stop watch on the phone and headed off on a fairly hilly 8 mile out and back.

Felt reasonably strong throughout and was pretty pleased as this was the longest run since Limerick. Went for a swim in the sea straight after and after the initial cold shock it was pleasant enough in an S&M kinda way.

16 miles in 2.06:25

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

Fair play ,not easy to face into that having missed it over the weekend. I must get me a coach. :)

Beef wrote: »
    Fair play ,not easy to face into that having missed it over the weekend. I must get me a coach. :)

Tnx Beef,

Hate having to do the LR on a Monday but sucked it up. If I didn't have someone helping me I would gave canned it for sure. Good to see you back

TbL

3 miles recovery with a dip in the sea. The hurtin is later in the week.

TbL

Program called for 7 miles easy with strides. Has a long day at work and had to then drive to Dublin. Hit the PP around 9pm, it was nice and fresh but at least it was dry compared to the rainy West.

That park is a fantastic running facility and ye Dubs don't realise how lucky ye are! Alternated between the grass and paths but my pace on the grass drops drastically.

Managed, for the first time, to do 5 decent strides without feeling like a complete tool.

Also saw something in the Park that you are guaranteed never ever to see in Connemara......a cricket match!

7 miles @8.50 pace with 5 half decent strides.

TbL

Met up with the coach in Tymon today for the session.

As I'm doing the Achil half as a session on Saturday, today's session was not too taxing, and I ended up thoroughly enjoying it.

2m wu, 1m, 2 x 400, & 4 x 200 with 1 mile cd

Splits were 6.03, 1.26, 1.21, 38,38,38 & 36.

I think the mile rep was the fastest I've ever run a full mile either in training or racing! (I know for sure I've never broken 6). My confidence is starting to trickle back.

Was hanging on a bit for the last 200 and I was slobbering like a bulldog in a sauna.

Felt strong throughout and niggle free. The massage I got from Ecoli a couple of weeks ago really was brilliant and seems to have shifted those nagging persistent niggles. Couldn't recommend him highly enough.

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

So, you are meeting up with Ecoli in a South Dublin park for 'sessions' and massages. Hmmmmm...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭paddybarry

Met up with the coach in Tymon today for the session.

As I'm doing the Achil half as a session on Saturday, today's session was not too taxing, and I ended up thoroughly enjoying it.

2m wu, 1m, 2 x 400, & 4 x 200 with 1 mile cd

Splits were 6.03, 1.26, 1.21, 38,38,38 & 36.

I think the mile rep was the fastest I've ever run a full mile either in training or racing! (I know for sure I've never broken 6). My confidence is starting to trickle back.

Was hanging on a bit for the last 200 and I was slobbering like a bulldog in a sauna.

Felt strong throughout and niggle free. The massage I got from Ecoli a couple of weeks ago really was brilliant and seems to have shifted those nagging persistent niggles. Couldn't recommend him highly enough.

TbL

I think ye might have passed me at one stage. Ye were going a nice clip

menoscemo wrote: »
    So, you are meeting up with Ecoli in a South Dublin park for 'sessions' and massages. Hmmmmm...

Ah Meno, sure I was hoping to bang into you in the PP in your Dirty Sanchez gear :)

TbL

paddybarry wrote: »
    I think ye might have passed me at one stage. Ye were going a nice clip

Hey Paddy,

The other lad seemed to know everyone in the park with a pair if runners, I was just hanging on, were you wearing a white tee shirt, if not, unless you're a female posting as "paddybarnes" I don't remember passing too many lads!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭paddybarry

Hey Paddy,

The other lad seemed to know everyone in the park with a pair if runners, I was just hanging on, were you wearing a white tee shirt, if not, unless you're a female posting as "paddybarnes" I don't remember passing too many lads!

TbL

I was doing some stretches up by limekiln road section, was wearing a green rock and roll half marathon T. Ye walked past, and then tore on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭pa4

Did you do that session on a track or on the road/park? Good session btw and I'm sure you'd break 6 mins if you set out to do it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,236 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

That sounds like a super session. Great times on all the reps.

pa4 wrote: »
    Did you do that session on a track or on the road/park? Good session btw and I'm sure you'd break 6 mins if you set out to do it!

On the tarred path sections of the park Pa. some small inclines and a bit of wind to deal with but it's a very good surface and it wasn't busy.

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭pa4

On the tarred path sections of the park Pa. some small inclines and a bit of wind to deal with but it's a very good surface and it wasn't busy.

TbL

There's a park around 20 mins away from me, it's impossible to do a session there unless it's dark/raining since it's also so busy with walkers (who refuse to move out of my way :mad:). I find it easier doing longer intervals such as 1km/1mile there

• Registered Users Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

You're picking it up again TbL - fair play to ya !

Will you be racing proper in Achill at the weekend or are you just out for a stroll?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Good luck in Achill, sure the wind and rugged landscape will be like home for you!

• Registered Users Posts: 709 ✭✭✭cianc

Best of luck, glad to see you're finding your form again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,512 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Sounds like a tough one - best of luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Best of luck at the weekend TbL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Best of luck in Achill TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Best of luck TbL.

Will you be racing proper in Achill at the weekend or are you just out for a stroll?

Hey Statler,

Just using this as a session and hoping to throw in a few MP miles. The chin up man Duannington needs someone to translate his jackeen accent at the registration :)

Definitely won't be racing it. I'm gonna try and race the Longford half in August.

It'll probably the most expensive half I've ever done, about a fortnight ago I told the missus I was gonna do it and when I came back from London a few days later she had us all booked into a hotel in Mulranney!

TbL

Today: plan called for 7 miles with strides.

Meant to do this early this morning but got caught up with work. Only got 6 miles done as the missus and kids were standing by with their bags packed!

Did a couple of hours on the cycle greenway at Mulranney with the young lad in a kids seat on the back. Lovely route but not a runner in sight, what a waste :)

6 miles @ 8.12

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Did a couple of hours on the cycle greenway at Mulranney with the young lad in a kids seat on the back.

TbL

Jaysus don't tell ecoli that he'll be losing sleep! Not only were you yourself engaging in the heinous activity of cycling but you were also advocating said activity to the youth of Ireland!!!!

I assumed it was ecoli in the kids seat.;)

Ha ha CM,

You definitely won't see me getting sucked into that cycling malarkey like yourself and Gavlor!

TbL

I assumed it was ecoli in the kids seat.;)

Funny as fock Waldorf :)

The young lad was telling me I should be going faster too!

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Good luck today....enjoy!!

Great run considering those hills and your age. The 5 strides you did last week obviously paid off.

Tnx Waldorf,

After a shaky start, I started to get faster, second half very hilly and I'd say I did a negative split.

I'll post a bit more after the matron gives me my meds, sponge bath and I have a lie down :)

TbL

Today: Achill Half.

I was using this as a session rather than racing it. The plan was to start easy enough at 7.20-25 pace and pick it up along the way and try to bash out a couple of MPM (7 min pace)

Was up early put on the gear and crept out of the apartment. Got a taxi to the registration and the missus mentioned that she might see me at the finish so I'd have a lift back.

Met Duannington and a couple of others ( including his brother J who's a gas man) just outside the registration tent. They headed off for a short warm up jog, while I retreated back into the tent away from the wind. There was a good stiff breeze blowing and it was warm when the sun broke through the clouds. D's chin up routine is obviously working as he looks as fit as a butchers dog. We lined up together at the start and we were soon off. I had intended on starting easy enough but D starting ramping it up fairly quickly. I was breathing like a soft porn movie "star" at this stage and after 3 miles I told D that I was gonna take it easy for a bit and try and regularise my breathing. D got a couple of hundred metres on me fairly quickly and I just put the head down and ploughed on. Once I sorted the breathing I relaxed into it and started to feel a fair bit stronger and noticed that the splits were starting to improve. The second half of this race is very hilly but I still felt good. I don't think anyone passed me after mile 6.

Finished fairly well and probably had a bit left in the tank.

No sign of the missus and kids at the finish, hooked up with D and the gang, they offered to drop me back to the hotel and I was buying the burgers. On the way over my missus appeared so the lift sorted, and I even got to eat D's burger as well.

Great to meet you today D, congrats on the PB and enjoy your holidays.

Splits;

6.12 (pace for last 0.2 on Garmin)

Garmin gave 6.57 average, finish time 1.31:49

Happy with that days work and it's nice to bash out 13 miles at MP this early in the plan.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Great stuff TbL.
    Seville demons well and truly erased :)

Super time, mp effort or not. Well done, without sounding condescending, your running has come on in leaps and bounds in last few months, you are a different runner to the one I ran with previously!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

is there an echo here? :D:D

Tom Joad wrote: »
    is there an echo here? :D:D

Are they my feet?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Nice run TbL. Ticking along nicely now. Keep up the good work.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Great meeting you yesterday TbL, enjoyed the couple of miles at the start and it was nice to have someone to chase over the last few miles too!

Super running

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Great running yesterday TbL, auld fellas like AMK & yourself give a not so auld fella like me great hope for the future.

tang1 wrote: »
    Great running yesterday TbL, auld fellas like AMK & yourself give a not so auld fella like me great hope for the future.

Cheers Tang,

You've obviously had a tough few years, I've seen your photo :)

You're going well yourself lately, the Boards ART OAP brigade is gathering steam!

TbL

The plan called for the Nursing Home special today.

3 miles recovery at 11 minute pace.

Legs felt grand but the stomach was in a hoop, I knew that taking a loading shovel to the pic & mix at the cinema with the kids today would probably come back to bite me :)

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

The plan called for the Nursing Home special today.

3 miles recovery at 11 minute pace.

Legs felt grand but the stomach was in a hoop, I knew that taking a loading shovel to the pic & mix at the cinema with the kids today would probably come back to bite me :)

TbL

Ahem! Lots of cool people do the Nursing Home special!!