Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

skyblue46 wrote: »
    That puts you in your 5th decade....really auld lads like me are exempt from the rules :D

Mankini’s all round for lads of your age!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭skyblue46

OOnegative wrote: »
    Mankini’s all round for lads of your age!!!

I'd need a better tan. You don't know anyone who could recommend a good fake tan? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭Laineyfrecks

Phew glad to read us ladies are exempt...long may i continue coordinating my running gear ;):D

I think I got the hang of most of the auld man requirements on this evening's run :D:D

I think I got the hang on most of the auld man requirements on this evening's run :D:D

Thank Christ there was no photo of your girth!!!

I didn't have a wide angle lens :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

I think I got the hang on most of the auld man requirements on this evening's run :D:D

Excellent. Your honorary Life Membership is in the post (we don’t do dinterweb)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,236 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

If you had of seen todays combo!!

Yellow socks with an orange long sleeve top.
    Massive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,508 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

I've accidently coordinated myself on a couple of occasions but have been lucky to cop it before getting out the door.

Started my senior football days in the era of loose fitting GAA shirts so I've plenty of those but tend not to wear them on windy days as a strong gust might blow me out on the road. Also I've played for 3 different club teams so accidently coordinating rarely occurs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,481 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

I've gone out in mismatched runners a couple of times. Is that acceptable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

I wear tights.....................................

Justin Thomas has a word for that ;)

With red stilettos?

Is this a running log or fantasies confessions of Middle aged men:confused:

Dear Penthouse.........

With red stilettos?

Only on Saturdays

Dear Penthouse.........

Dear Barry................

Two words... Lavender Spray :pac:

Sleep has a direct result on how we run hence the invaluable information that was posted on my log to help me, as a fellow runner with that:)

Men in tights, stilettos & whatever else tickles your fancy does not:D

Sleep has a direct result on how we run hence the invaluable information that was posted on my log to help me, as a fellow runner with that:)

Obviously tickles your fancy seeing you’re reading it.......

Is that so wrong...

Absolutely not!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

This the boggers log, the running bog or the boards running mens shed?!

This is terrifying and indeed is the devils work

Repent so that you may rejoin your brethren in the God fearing legions of Auld man runners.

Many of our brethren have been tempted by this apostasy faddism however they have used this tip and their manly hirsuteness to achieve the same effect and stay within the guidelines:

Take a handful of Old Spice (Original) hair gel and copiously apply through your leg hair.

Rub the hair upwards towards your thighs

Allow to dry

The resulting patchwork weave is positively eider down in sensation and effect and totally negates the effect of having to diminish your manly manliness by presenting yourself in idolatry garb!

TMbL

Old spice do hair gel!

Game changer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,481 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Middle age? Those were the days. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

No need for Prime Male in here!!!

Become “a stud not a dud” :):)

TbL

Sun: plan was for a 9 mile progression run to max out at 7.15 pace. Nice day for it. Longest progression in a while but I thought I’d handle it ok. Was grand only exertion was up hills and into the breeze. Overcompensated for a drag and the wind on mile 9 and overshot the target. Finished with a very easy mile cool down for 10 miles in total.

8.31, 8.17, 8.14, 8.00, 7.55, 7.44, 7.32, 7.25 & 7.08.

Mon: plan was for 40 mins easy. Was caught for time managed a dreary auld plod with the dog. 5k in 31 mins

Tue: 80th straight day running. Plan 40 mins easy progression. Managed it grand 8.46 down to 7.41. Just over 5 miles in total

Wed: plan was 4 x (800 @ 7.00 pace + 400 @ 6.40 off 60 sec) 3 mins between sets. Looked at this on the plan and thought no bother.

Jogged up to the pitch, which was heavy cut up and slippery. Luckily my shoes were auld lad kosher, black and splash proof! Laboured around like a horse with too much handicap!! Managed the paces but didn’t really enjoy this. Jogged home feeling weirdly disconsolate for over 7 miles in total.

Thur: 40 mins easy. Strangely the legs felt better after yesterday’s session than they had in ages. With Auld age you’re never sure what the next day brings :)

Managed over 5 miles easy

Fri: plan was 40 mins easy progression. Young lad came with me and we started out alright but he dropped off a bit so I decided to stay with him. Fool me! Last 300 metres he said “race ya” and left me for dust despite me attempting to “sprint”! I’ll burn the little fecker off early next time :)

Another 5 miles done.

Sat: plan wu/cf 2x2 miles at 7.15 pace 5 min jog between the two. Felt ok today managed this without any dramas the first two miles were slightly too fast but that was because I got an elixir of youth burst of adrenaline and endorphins. Thought I was Kipchoge for about 250 metres :)

Did two sessions of easy core with upper body work this week too.

There is so much incorrect with my running style that it’s hard to run and try and keep form at the same time. I’m trying to break it down piece by piece and hopefully I’ll see improvements.

TbL