Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi there,
There is an issue with role permissions that is being worked on at the moment.
If you are having trouble with access or permissions on regional forums please post here to get access: https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058365403/you-do-not-have-permission-for-that#latest

Best paying Jobs that suit me!?

• 02-12-2013 12:59am
    Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭

Ok I'm in 5th year and am giving a lot of thought to what I want to do for the rest of my life. I am a bright and competent student aiming for at least 500 points or more depending on what course I choose. Money is a big factor for me but at the same time I want an enjoyable job! I am good at and enjoy English in school.

Lately I have been researching courses and careers a lot and am fairly pissed off at what I am finding! For example, say I bust a gut and study like crazy for the next two years in school. I get enough points for psychology in trinity (565). After 4 years study and min 3 years postgrad study I will more than likely get a job that only pays 35k a year, after many years potentially 50k. All that hard work, getting the top 1% in the leaving cert and paid the same as a plumber or mechanic (no disrespect)! This just doesn't make sense to me! Arts courses seem to lead onto underpaid employment?