Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor Thread (READ MOD WARNING IN OP)

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭Redmen Rafalution

José is a humble, hardworking dude who is generally respectful of his opponents. The abuse the fans threw his way was unnecessary.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,146 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Think I read somewhere about 2 wrongs equalling a right....... might've read it wrong though.

Because this isn't boards.br it's boards.ie. We are Irish MMA fans and those people at that conference today were supposed to represent Irish MMA fans and therefore us.

But the people who turned up weren't Irish MMA fans, they were Irish McGregor fans. Bandwagon jumping clowns, most of who have probably never seen Jose Aldo fight live before outside of You tube clips.

I think it’s insane to have a higher expectation for Irish MMA fans than that of any other nation, especially with how quickly the sport is growing.

People can’t laud the growth of the sport, enjoy the attention the UFC is now giving us and then get upset when new fans mimic the actions of the poster boy who caused the growth and attention. Not sure about you but I’d rather have what we have now with a few muppets thrown causing some minor embarrassment than the days when Dana would name drop Ireland every now and again to appease people on twitter with no intention of actually bringing a card here.

Yurt! wrote: »
    Absolutely yes. Any parent taking their kids to this and ecouraging them to join in slating, disrespecting and swearing at a world champ isn't worthy of the name. Teaching them ape behavior instead of instilling sportsmanship.

I'm not a father but if I was I'd be telling my kid that Aldo came from a slum, worked his ass off to become a world champion and deserves your respect, not that sh*tshow today.

The same Aldo who unprovoked put his hands on an opponent during the face-off before his last fight?

The same Aldo who has consistently called McGregor a clown and belittling him getting a title shot.

The same Aldo who didn’t make any attempt to condemn his fans for their treatment of McGregor (saying that he expects to get similar in Dublin)?

The way people are talking you'd swear Aldo is beyond reproach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Well that was pretty vile.. A number of times I was tempted to switch it off, but I plugged on through hoping someone would salvage something from it.

Arse wipes.

The kid Nate Kelly done the business as did Stephen Lowery when he basically said it was a conference center full of bandwagon jumpers.

Foxtrol wrote: »
    I think it’s insane to have a higher expectation for Irish MMA fans than that of any other nation

Why?

We are not used to the scumbag element in our fan community, why would we lower our expectations now?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,195 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

People can’t laud the growth of the sport, enjoy the attention the UFC is now giving us and then get upset when new fans mimic the actions of the poster boy who caused the growth and attention. Not sure about you but I’d rather have what we have now with a few muppets thrown causing some minor embarrassment than the days when Dana would name drop Ireland every now and again to appease people on twitter with no intention of actually bringing a card here.

These two things aren't mutually exclusive. It's not a straight choice between either having idiots support the sport or having nobody support it.

Those people and questions were embarrassing!

The same Aldo who unprovoked put his hands on an opponent during the face-off before his last fight?

The same Aldo who has consistently called McGregor a clown and belittling him getting a title shot.

The same Aldo who didn’t make any attempt to condemn his fans for their treatment of McGregor (saying that he expects to get similar in Dublin)?

The way people are talking you'd swear Aldo is beyond reproach.

There is no point raising those questions about Aldo because McGregor started all the trash talk first. McG was not even on Aldo's radar until McG started calling everyone out.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

I pray to almighty god that Aldo sparks McGregor the fcuk out! What a horrible man.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭Etnies

I was on my way there, but instead I spent two hours on the m50. Tell me there was someone else here that got caught the same as me.

Thought it was a bit over the top the abuse, barely any worthwhile questions, probably the kid from Connors gym being the best. Glad the whole thing is over and can get the count down on for Vegas now.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭cunnifferous

My god that was the one of most pathetic things I've watched. The amount of sniveling, sycophantic, loud mouth, wanna be hard men.

Guys shouting 'bitch' at Aldo from the back of the crowd with their mates slapping them on the back. lol

• Registered Users Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Jesus that was terrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

That press conference proves why us Irish can't have good things

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 UTP Mohammed

Why does all (large majority) of Ireland worship a disrespectful man.

Why?

We are not used to the scumbag element in our fan community, why would we lower our expectations now?

Because Ireland is no different than any other nation when it comes to having a number of idiot fans and for that matter MMA is no different than any other sport that grows in Ireland.

If you go over to the rugby forum you’ll see posters complaining after every big game about the bandwagoners ruining their experience of the way things used to be.

I’ve no problem with people thinking some of the questions were cringey but from some posters response you’d swear the crowd stormed the stage, dragged Aldo out, and threw him in the liffey. They said some mean things to him, which he had no problem with his fans saying to Conor.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

There is no point raising those questions about Aldo because McGregor started all the trash talk first. McG was not even on Aldo's radar until McG started calling everyone out.

So two wrongs make a right only when it comes to Aldo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

José is a humble, hardworking dude who is generally respectful of his opponents. The abuse the fans threw his way was unnecessary.

It was unwatchable at times. I hope to jesus he knocks McGregor out in the first round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Why does all (large majority) of Ireland worship a disrespectful man.

Believe me a lot of people I know don't even like McGregor never mind "worship" him. I know some people say it's all fake and they are selling tickets etc.. but some of the racist sh ite that came out of the mouths of so called fight fans tonight was laughable. Best thing to happen is for Conor to get knocked on his arse in the first round of the fight and stay there. He might then learn to be a man.

These two things aren't mutually exclusive. It's not a straight choice between either having idiots support the sport or having nobody support it.

In the real world they are. You don’t grow from a tiny fanbase to talk of selling out Croke Park without picking up idiot bandwagoners, especially with how the driving force has carrier himself since he joined the UFC. This is the logical result of how he’s acted and unless those who are now upset have been vocally disapproving of all of Conor’s trash talk then it’s a bit hypocritical to be annoyed now.
    Those people and questions were embarrassing!

Yes they were, as they’ve been at every public event throughout this tour.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,195 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

In the real world they are.

No they're not. And if they were and you asked me which i'd prefer, i'd prefer to sit and watch the fights with 100 educated and real fans rather than sit in Croker with 80000 idiots!
    Yes they were, as they’ve been at every public event throughout this tour.

We've already had this conversation about multiple wrongs and single rights haven't we?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 UTP Mohammed

Believe me a lot of people I know don't even like McGregor never mind "worship" him. I know some people say it's all fake and they are selling tickets etc.. but some of the racist sh ite that came out of the mouths of so called fight fans tonight was laughable. Best thing to happen is for Conor to get knocked on his arse in the first round of the fight and stay there. He might then learn to be a man.

Good to hear. McGregor is the ambassador for MMA in the british isles but he does attract the scum element too and sadly they are the ones who get tickets for these events.

So two wrongs make a right only when it comes to Aldo?

no. How did you miss the point so badly?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Babooshka

I just have one wish, to see that neanderthal f#@'wit who called Aldo a bitch bump into him in the corridor on his own. See if the pint he was holding would make him brave then. Scum.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,091 ✭✭✭✭ Merrick Gray Mimicry

Babooshka wrote: »
    I just have one wish, to see that neanderthal f#@'wit who called Aldo a bitch bump into him in the corridor on his own. See if the pint he was holding would make him brave then. Scum.

christ i would actually pay for that. i have a passionate distain for the likes of him i.e. the tough man when he has the crowd at his back.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,775 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Gringo180 wrote: »
    I pray to almighty god that Aldo sparks McGregor the fcuk out! What a horrible man.

You can't hold what happened tonight against McGregor. He looked embarrassed by plenty of the ****e the crowd was shouting. Still hope he wins but admittedly that was a chore to watch.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,813 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

christ i would actually pay for that. i have a passionate distain for the likes of him i.e. the tough man when he has the crowd at his back.

Some lads can't handle the power of wearing a tapout tshirt

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭GK1001

Oh dear...well The Times unfortunately are solidifying their take on MMA...awful journalism...real pity the most read paper in Ireland allows dross like this to be printed, it's not even an opinion piece
    http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/other-sports/conor-mcgregor-i-ll-be-too-powerful-for-jose-aldo-1.2160411

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭EuskalHerria

GK1001 wrote: »
    Oh dear...well The Times unfortunately are solidifying their take on MMA...awful journalism...real pity the most read paper in Ireland allows dross like this to be printed, it's not even an opinion piece
    http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/other-sports/conor-mcgregor-i-ll-be-too-powerful-for-jose-aldo-1.2160411

That is awful. Expect a few edits by morning or some crayon drawings to accompany it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Amazingfun

GK1001 wrote: »

In this they say Dana White "owns" the UFC. But that's not true right? Considering whoever wrote this got paid to write it, it seems quite lazy.
    Ultimate Fighting Championship (2001–present)[edit]
    While working as a manager for Tito Ortiz and Chuck Liddell, White learned that Semaphore Entertainment Group, the parent company of the UFC, was looking for a buyer for the UFC. White contacted childhood friend Lorenzo Fertitta, an executive at Station Casinos and a former commissioner of the Nevada State Athletic Commission. Within a month, Lorenzo and his older brother Frank bought the UFC with White installed as its president.[5] White owns 9% of Zuffa, LLC, the entity the Fertitta brothers created to own and manage the UFC.[6]

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dana_White

No they're not.

Care to back that denial up with some examples rather than just saying it's the way it should be?

Rugby - more idiots at 6 nations games than at an AIL game, Soccer more idiots at international games than LOI, GAA - more idiots at championship time. Once again explain why MMA should not have the same issues?
    And if they were and you asked me which i'd prefer, i'd prefer to sit and watch the fights with 100 educated and real fans rather than sit in Croker with 80000 idiots!

Fair play to you. Personally, I'd appreciate both. I however wouldn't expect the same level of knowledge and respect to traditions from the smaller venue than I did at the massive UFC event.
    We've already had this conversation about multiple wrongs and single rights haven't we?

Again, I'm showing how hypocritical it is to get up in arms about Irish fans are rude to Aldo when fans of all nationalities have been rude to both fighters throughout the tour. I'm not saying it's right but I'm saying it's naive not to expect it.