Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor Thread (READ MOD WARNING IN OP)

• Registered Users Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Jaysus, that presenter. Talks about McGregor being uneducated, and then can't even form a sentence. Just stumbles his way through abuse and racial stereotyping. He's so ignorant, its almost like a sketch, as its hard to believe he can be presenting anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 86 ✭✭SeanFrank

http://www.esquire.com/sports/interviews/a34377/conor-mcgregor-interview-0515/

Really good piece, a bit starry eyed, but an entertaining read.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,840 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

SeanFrank wrote: »
    http://www.esquire.com/sports/interviews/a34377/conor-mcgregor-interview-0515/

Really good piece, a bit starry eyed, but an entertaining read.

Fantastic read. I could actually feel that RNC the way the writer described it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Ian Whelan

Knex. wrote: »
    Jaysus, that presenter. Talks about McGregor being uneducated, and then can't even form a sentence. Just stumbles his way through abuse and racial stereotyping. He's so ignorant, its almost like a sketch, as its hard to believe he can be presenting anything.

And he is in his bare feet. Really poor effort all round but I think they are right about the tattoo.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

http://www.mmafighting.com/2015/4/16/8424831/morning-report-ufc-conor-mcgregor-floyd-mayweather-manny-pacquiao-ronda-rousey-mma-news

Crap like this won't do him any favours, I don't see the point in comparing athletes from two different sports.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

http://www.mmafighting.com/2015/4/16/8424831/morning-report-ufc-conor-mcgregor-floyd-mayweather-manny-pacquiao-ronda-rousey-mma-news

Crap like this won't do him any favours, I don't see the point in comparing athletes from two different sports.

He just meant because he could pull some jijutsu moves on him!

Anyway do you think he really cares if it doesnt do himnany favours at this stage!?

I think that quote is blown outta proportion. Mayweather's just an example he's using to make a point.

But the twenty-six-year-old McGregor doesn't want to be regarded as peerless in only a single facet of his occupation—as just a puncher. "I don't look at a man who's expert in one area as a specialist," he says. "I look at him as a rookie in ten other areas. If you can box, what happens if I grab hold of your legs? If you put me face-to-face with Floyd Mayweather—pound-for-pound boxing's best—if I fought Floyd, I would kill him in less than thirty seconds. It would take me less than thirty seconds to wrap around him like a boa constrictor and strangle him."

• Registered Users Posts: 39,354 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I think that quote is blown outta proportion. Mayweather's just an example he's using to make a point.

But the twenty-six-year-old McGregor doesn't want to be regarded as peerless in only a single facet of his occupation—as just a puncher. "I don't look at a man who's expert in one area as a specialist," he says. "I look at him as a rookie in ten other areas. If you can box, what happens if I grab hold of your legs? If you put me face-to-face with Floyd Mayweather—pound-for-pound boxing's best—if I fought Floyd, I would kill him in less than thirty seconds. It would take me less than thirty seconds to wrap around him like a boa constrictor and strangle him."
    Which part of that are people disagreeing with?

What's the point in what he's arguing though? Floyd's a boxer, he'd win in a boxing match but lose in an MMA fight. To me it's not much different to a distance runner saying he could beat a sprinter in a 5k race, 2 different things. Just another dick measuring contest.

You are missing the entire point of what he said.

He's just saying he doesn't want to be know as a great boxer in MMA, he wants to be complete fighter. The Floyd comment was only to highlight that elite in only one aspect has it limitations in MMA.
    There are tons of guys with lopsided skillsets in MMA that prove that.

Nobody mentioned Floyd, he just used it to needlessly big himself up. We all know he could beat a boxer in an MMA fight.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭themandan6611

Jesus, another 2 months of drivel from people, the sooner we get to July the better. Although the internet might break during and after the fight

• Registered Users Posts: 12,813 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Jesus, another 2 months of drivel from people, the sooner we get to July the better. Although the internet might break during and after the fight

Brace yourself, it's gonna be like this for years, not months

Ha! You're no better than the begrudgers, have a cry any time a bad word is said about the golden boy. I'll be supporting McGregor come July, I just don't see the point in boasting that he can beat someone who competes in a different sport.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,202 ✭✭✭maximoose

Can you see post #4481?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,195 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

This is the Conor McGregor thread. If you don't wish to read about all things McGregor, you're in the wrong place.

If you wish to read and speak about the event itself, that has it's own thread here.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭moneyman

Ha! You're no better than the begrudgers, have a cry any time a bad word is said about the golden boy. I'll be supporting McGregor come July, I just don't see the point in boasting that he can beat someone who competes in a different sport.

As has been pointed out, he wasn't boasting. He was making a point about being one-dimensional. You're seeing what you want to see. I'm pretty sure Conor is a fan of Mayweather as a boxer and knows he'd get spanked in a boxing match. Much ado about nothing really.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Peist2007

Mellor wrote: »
    You are missing the entire point of what he said.

He's just saying he doesn't want to be know as a great boxer in MMA, he wants to be complete fighter. The Floyd comment was only to highlight that elite in only one aspect has it limitations in MMA.
    There are tons of guys with lopsided skillsets in MMA that prove that.

So why did he pick out one of the greatest proponents of boxing there nearly has ever been? Why didnt he refer to the guys with lopsided skillsets that you refer to above? It's like Conor Mortimer thinking he is more complete than Messi because Messi cant use his hands.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Peist2007 wrote: »
    So why did he pick out one of the greatest proponents of boxing there nearly has ever been? Why didnt he refer to the guys with lopsided skillsets that you refer to above? It's like Conor Mortimer thinking he is more complete than Messi because Messi cant use his hands.

Because it was an interview for a mens lifestyle magazine the majority of whichs readers will only know about 5 boxers in total. Pick the biggest name theyll know as an example.

This really isnt rocket science

• Registered Users Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

McGregor is now in the category that any quote he makes will make a headline, the context of what he's saying or why will be buried in the article.

Peist2007 wrote: »
    Because he was using Floyd as an example of an expert, the best in the world. This is pretty simple.

Hahaha gas man

"Congrats to my kids in the McGregor division last night. Daddy is pleased. "http://t.co/2Mio4GuinB

• Registered Users Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

sheehy83 wrote: »
    Hahaha gas man

"Congrats to my kids in the McGregor division last night. Daddy is pleased. "http://t.co/2Mio4GuinB

Holloway getting involved with fans on that tweet.

hefferboi wrote: »
    Holloway getting involved with fans on that tweet.

Yeah, it's cool when fighters talk to fans but I was begging Max to stop replying... Also, I read it on a comment but it's very true, Max should be calling out fighters in the Octagon and not twitter. Jesus don't pay the bills.

Conor's signed a sponsorship deal with Bud Light.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,813 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

MrStuffins wrote: »

The king of beers

• Registered Users Posts: 7,735 ✭✭✭ASOT

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    The king of beers

Him and Cerrone in the session

• Registered Users Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

MrStuffins wrote: »

So he'll have to swap out his post fight whiskey now, will he? :P

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    The king of beers

It definitely has a high drinkability factor!