Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor Thread (READ MOD WARNING IN OP)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Dave0301

kettlehead wrote: »
    vvUIGp8.jpg

Jesus Christ was only the son of a deity, not an actual deity (end pedantism)

Besides that......what's your actual point?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

kettlehead wrote: »
    vvUIGp8.jpg

To be fair, it's toned down a fair bit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Who cares if he said it. Religion in this day and age is ridiculous.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭Letree

he went for the easy one if he called out Mo things could have got ugly for him..

• Registered Users Posts: 414 ✭✭kettlehead

Dave0301 wrote: »
    Jesus Christ was only the son of a deity, not an actual deity (end pedantism)

Besides that......what's your actual point?

Relax the cacks. I found it humorous and thought others might too, is all.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Lol it was TMZ sports who got that quote from him, the questions they were asking were actually retarded.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,735 ✭✭✭ASOT

Jesus has a serious crucifix Conor wouldn't be in trouble if it went to the ground.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Jesus would destroy him in a rematch 3 days later.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Jesus loves crosses.

• Registered Users Posts: 253 ✭✭Chase3

Jesus loves knockouts

• Registered Users Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Lukker- wrote: »
    Noticed Gunni posted this on facebook.

Himself and Conor have been training with Ido Portal, who is a "movement expert".

He specializes in things like bodyweight exercises and mobility/agility/balance. Conor seems to be fairly influenced by him and uses his lizard entrance thing when entering the ring:

• Registered Users Posts: 39,340 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

ASOT wrote: »
    Jesus has a serious crucifix Conor wouldn't be in trouble if it went to the ground.

If anything, he has shown that getting stuck in the cruifix is a weakness ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

Given his background I think Jesus would hammer him. If they keep it standing only a matter of time until he nails him with one.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

JEHOVAH!

*gets rocked*

• Registered Users Posts: 21,026 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭ComfortKid

How do we think Conor would do against Cowboy Cerrone if he comes through the Aldo fight? They seem to be starting a rivalry over the last few weeks. Would 155 be Conors more natural weight? Would he struggle against people the same size as him? Interesting times ahead

• Registered Users Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭RedemptionZ

ComfortKid wrote: »

I think he loses. Naturally there's no doubt he's not featherweight, otherwise he wouldn't have these deathly cuts. He's a lot bigger than anyone in the 145 division. At 5'9 fighting lads who are 5'6 and 5'7 is very different to fighting people over 6 foot. He's got huge reach for his height but that would be negated if he's fighting lads that much taller. Cowboy is 6'1 right? If he goes against a wrestler that's bigger than him it's game over imo.

Whether or not Conor believes that, I certainly think Zuffa and co. do and will try to keep him there for as long as possible.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭splashthecash

I certainly think he would have enough to have him fighting to the top 5 at least, although as the above states, losing his reach advantage in addition to losing it to a talker opponent, and an apponent who is used to fighting at this weight would make it difficult for him. Throw into the mic a ground fighter and that would makes things even. Tougher for him.

He would however still make an impact and a lot of money

• Registered Users Posts: 21,026 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

out of everyone tonight, conor seemed the most emaciated

• Registered Users Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

out of everyone tonight, conor seemed the most emaciated

ah he always does to be fair his cut is brutal, hes a natural 155er

• Registered Users Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Have I missed the weigh in or has it been on yet?

ardinn wrote: »
    Have I missed the weigh in or has it been on yet?

was on but its up on the ufcs youtube if you want to watch it back

Depp wrote: »
    was on but its up on the ufcs youtube if you want to watch it back

ardinn wrote: »

dont worry about it!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭themandan6611

Cerrone is a plank and Conor who stiffin that boy up easy enough

Jaysus he looks rough! What time is artem on tonight?

ardinn wrote:
    Jaysus he looks rough! What time is artem on tonight?

Roughly, between 4 and 5am

I think he loses. Naturally there's no doubt he's not featherweight, otherwise he wouldn't have these deathly cuts. He's a lot bigger than anyone in the 145 division. At 5'9 fighting lads who are 5'6 and 5'7 is very different to fighting people over 6 foot. He's got huge reach for his height but that would be negated if he's fighting lads that much taller. Cowboy is 6'1 right? If he goes against a wrestler that's bigger than him it's game over imo.

I certainly think he would have enough to have him fighting to the top 5 at least, although as the above states, losing his reach advantage in addition to losing it to a talker opponent, and an apponent who is used to fighting at this weight would make it difficult for him. Throw into the mic a ground fighter and that would makes things even. Tougher for him.

It's hard to tell lads. Yes, he'll be fighting men he's own size and bigger, but he also won't have a serve weight cut which could only make him better. It's very hard to predict. I think Conor will move up regardless the outcome tomorrow night. It's going to be interesting anyway if he can fight men he's own size.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

According to wikipedia McGregor is 5'9" and has a 74" reach

Cerrone is 6'1" with a 73" reach and has mentioned before that if he didn't get a title shot he wants to move up a weight class
    Dos Anjos is 5'9" with a 70" reach
    Pettis is 5' 10" with a 73" reach
    Henderson is 5'9" with a 70" reach
    Joe Duffy is 5'10" with a 73" reach

Considinering he's fought and won at Lightweight and looking at those numbers above imply he should be ok at the higher weight.