Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I should have done it years ago...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

Moved the controls from the shed to the kitchen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Red Kev wrote: »
    Told a girl recently that I always fancied her.......turns out the feeling was mutual, and the rest as they say is history :)

We've known each other for 20 years, but lost touch for over 10 years and only recently got back in touch. I've been on Cloud 9 ever since. Only regret we both have is that we didn't tell each other this 20 years ago !
    eh...this is just the plot to When Harry Met Sally...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

To be honest, nearly every step I take in my life, it takes me so long to jump the barrier and do it.Moving out of home, continuing my education, chsnging my job (which I have yet to do), even something simple like changing my phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

Told a girl recently that I always fancied her.......turns out the feeling was mutual, and the rest as they say is history :)

We've known each other for 20 years, but lost touch for over 10 years and only recently got back in touch. I've been on Cloud 9 ever since. Only regret we both have is that we didn't tell each other this 20 years ago !

Same story as mine Kevin! My OH and I got on very well in Uni but he always said he could never pin me down (I was a bit wild :o) Always had a soft spot for him and we just completely lost touch! Roll on thirteen years, got back in touch, he deemed me the 'one that got away' and that he'd never forgotten me. I'd never forgotten him either and thought of him a lot through the intervening years. We got married last year and have a baby on the way and I feel blessed every day that we hooked up again. Don't let her get away a second time!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭camel jockey

Well done OP, now head off to the Gym like a good fellow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Well done OP, now head off to the Gym like a good fellow.

I just got back. I'm bolloxed. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,694 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Last night I regretted not bringing a girl I pulled back to my house, facing the cold light of sobriety, I regretted nothing :D

@Merkin and RedKev. Love how that worked out for ye, it's probably one of the most common regrets in having that somebody who got away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭my teapot is orange

Like a good few people have said here, the regret is not making a career change earlier.

Currently taking the first tentative steps towards retraining and really enjoying it so far.

I regret not being more pragmatic with my initial career choice. I spent too many years working towards a career where there just aren't many opportunities. I know it's the other way around for a lot of people who are pragmatic and wake up one day and think I need to do something I love instead, but that's just me. If the last few years have thought me anything, it's that there's value in security.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    Can't say I've heard that one before. :pac:

That's a bit if a Northern Irish saying. If you are described as being air locked up here then it's not your best of nights. Lol.

Sometimes you eat the bar, other times the bar eats you. Thanks to the big Lebowski.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Leave Ireland. Unfortunately I'm trapped here.

Of course when I say trapped I only mean morally. I could leave the keys I. The front door and never look back, alas my wife has family here she would like to see again.

Early days yet, but it looks good, she lives in Germany, I'm here but we're seeing each other every couple of weeks and chat for a few hours each day.

Thing is we know each other very well from before so we know each others good and bad points, good and bad habits and each others good and bad secrets, so that's a big advantage.

I hope it works out, either way it's just a fabulous feeling the past couple of months.:)

It must be the old romantic in me but I'm genuinely happy that you appear to have found your soulmate. A lot of people don't have the balls to tell others how they feel about them. It's amazing how many lost opportunities there are in the world regarding relationships.

I think what you did was class. I wish you both all the best and Godspeed. (Even though I'm an atheist lol)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

Should have got up off my ass and started exercising years ago. The hardest part is making yourself do it, not the actual process itself.

Same goes for learning how to drive...

...and bangin broads

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Something I've been hearing a lot lately when someone tries something new. I recently joined a gym and am noticing the benefits already. Plus its a great way to meet new people. I've been driving for a few years now, but I really wish I started that earlier too. Waiting around for lifts is poxy.

So... what do you regret not doing sooner?

Click.

Bang.

Merkin wrote: »
    Same story as mine Kevin! My OH and I got on very well in Uni but he always said he could never pin me down (I was a bit wild :o) Always had a soft spot for him and we just completely lost touch! Roll on thirteen years, got back in touch, he deemed me the 'one that got away' and that he'd never forgotten me. I'd never forgotten him either and thought of him a lot through the intervening years. We got married last year and have a baby on the way and I feel blessed every day that we hooked up again. Don't let her get away a second time!! :)

Brilliant. What a story to tell your kid (hopefully plural down the line)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

mad muffin wrote: »
    Leave Ireland. Unfortunately I'm trapped here.

Of course when I say trapped I only mean morally. I could leave the keys I. The front door and never look back, alas my wife has family here she would like to see again.

Nothing stopping you or your wife visiting if you do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Nothing stopping you or your wife visiting if you do it.

I don't think we'll be able to come back if we left the keys in the front door and walk away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Told the woman I love that I love her, but I finally did it today.

Better late than never. Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭SamAK

I didn't do this, but it scares me just how much it happens - Kid doing leaving cert has to decide at 17/18 what career path he/she wants to follow. Parents don't really care what they do, as long as they do something (Because as we all know, life is about making money, doesn't matter if you enjoy it, as long as you make some money.....(laugh out loud).

Kid applies for a three year(minimum)course, just for something to do....and realizes after six months that they aren't really interested at all. No passion for it, no real interest in it. So they drop out, and take a huge step backwards. Or, they stick it out, and at thirty something realize that they're not happy or satisfied with their choice.

Of course this doesn't apply to everyone, and congratulations to you if you went straight from the L.C to third level and are loving what you do ten years later, fair play!

Parents, give the kid some ****ing space, let them sort their own heads out before they make such a momentous decision that will affect the rest of their lives, let them bum around for a couple of years, send them off to a foreign country on a gap year. LET THEM LIVE FOR GODS SAKE! The typical 17 year old doesn't know their arse from their elbow, and knows even less about the whole wide world of opportunity out there, and what they really want to do with their lives.

When I was being subjected to the leaving cert, the short answer from teachers was - 'if you don't get enough points, you're ****ed'. This is what they are paid to tell us. Not a word was said about other opportunities, it was just loosely based on what was taught in the school (careers guidance teacher was a joke - "would you like to be a doctor or a civil engineer?"..

And here I am, four years later....applying to CAO after two great years of Post-Leaving Cert(FETAC) education. Going for a music tech course, because when I took a year out and buggered off the Australia(life changing) I realized that nothing makes me buzz more than listening to, creating and performing music. I absolutely love it.

And do you know the funny thing? All the way through second level, I was exposed to exactly ZERO musical education. None, zip, zilch. And yet, i've spent the last three years (post LC) learning instruments, dabbling in electronic production and sound engineering, spending quite a bit of money on equipment and software, and all as a personal hobby. Education did not introduce me to this field, I stumbled upon it by chance,, after I left school and began experiencing the world a bit.

End rant.

SamAK wrote: »
    And do you know the funny thing? All the way through second level, I was exposed to exactly ZERO musical education. None, zip, zilch. And yet, i've spent the last three years (post LC) learning instruments, dabbling in electronic production and sound engineering, spending quite a bit of money on equipment and software, and all as a personal hobby. Education did not introduce me to this field, I stumbled upon it by chance,, after I left school and began experiencing the world a bit.

End rant.

Same here with photography. Most of the stuff I learned in secondary school was completely useless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭SamAK

Same here with photography. Most of the stuff I learned in secondary school was completely useless.

Some stuff is relevant....but as I look back over my years at second level i'm stunned by the amount of time wasted. Religious Education and Irish in particular. I should have binned it years ago! Imagine if I had the choice of music instead, what a headstart that would have been! I'd be three or four years ahead of where I am now.

Sorry Eire, I know the language is part of the heritage, history and culture....but it's fading, fast....and I think that the time spend on it in the classroom could be better used elsewhere.

Education is a system and like all systems can never cater for every 'unit' that it processes. It attempted to process me and failed. I had to find my own way.

And in doing so, I also found out that 'education' and 'intelligence' are two very very different concepts.

Loose weight. Two stone down. Another two to go. The difference already it's made to my mental state is incredible nevermind physical health.

Future is bright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭SPM1959

Surprisingly my things are quite common: exercising and driving.

I plan on joining Toastmasters in January and know I'll feel the same about that soon i.e should have did it years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

I regret not being more pragmatic with my initial career choice. I spent too many years working towards a career where there just aren't many opportunities. I know it's the other way around for a lot of people who are pragmatic and wake up one day and think I need to do something I love instead, but that's just me. If the last few years have thought me anything, it's that there's value in security.

I hear ya.
    There is a very very high price to pay in doing something you love.
    And a lot to be said for having a boring old pensionable 9 - 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I don't really have regrets.

I was going to write that I wish I had gotten help for my mental health problems years before I actually did. Had a few crazy years and I got hurt a lot and a few other people also that might have been avoided if I had taken the right pills and seen a counselor without lying.

But my life is pretty good now, and I wouldn't like it to be different. So my wasted years led me here, and I don't regret them. Things aren't perfect but I'm content and trying to work on myself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Should have started playing an instrument sooner. I only took up the guitar in my mid-teens and then got lazy a couple years later (in that I kept playing but didn't bother learning anything new or more difficult than the songs I could already play). If I'd started earlier and kept up learning, I could have been so much better at it. Not to mention I might actually have had the confidence to perform in front of people!

Also, I wish I'd gone back to Taekwon-do sooner. I left when I was in sixth year, because I needed the time to study (no regrets there) but it took me 3 years to go back, by which time I'd lost a lot of the ability/flexibility I had and had to start from scratch in some regards. I'll eventually get my black belt (probably within the next couple years) but I could have had it already, dammit!

They're only minor regrets, though, in the grand scheme of things. I imagine that if I start learning to drive/move out of my parents house/move abroad for a while, I'll be saying "I should have done it years ago!" too :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

I have to ask, do people really think the gym is a "great place to meet people"? I have heard that so many times from people here but that has not been my experience at any gym I was a member of. Certainly people can salute you, be nice and helpful when it comes to using certain machines etc but outside of this people just have their headphones in and head down, concentrating on their work out. I have tried on several occasions to start a chat but people in gyms just want to get in, do the workout and go home again. I dont know how the gym could be seen as a place to meet new people...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

I wish I hadn't let my folks force me to pick a college course at 19. I was too young, had no clue about the world, hadn't enough confidence and really didnt understand what it was I wanted to do.

I ended up with a useless qualification that has closed more doors to me than opened, I was nearly suicidal by the time I finished it and I never worked in the area I qualified in as I was too mentally ill to move to America which was where the work was.

Now I cant go again as I cant get a grant as the fetac level I got is too high. Im looking into going back part time now and paying myself but it really would have been better if id waited till late twenties as I feel every day that I wasted my parents hard earned money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

I have to ask, do people really think the gym is a "great place to meet people"? I have heard that so many times from people here but that has not been my experience at any gym I was a member of. Certainly people can salute you, be nice and helpful when it comes to using certain machines etc but outside of this people just have their headphones in and head down, concentrating on their work out. I have tried on several occasions to start a chat but people in gyms just want to get in, do the workout and go home again. I dont know how the gym could be seen as a place to meet new people...

Hanging out in the jaccuzzi is where you meet people. I have made a huge amount of friends chatting in the jacuzzi. It makes people relax and is nearly the same atmosphere as a pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

buying a house in the eighties when i had the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Something I've been hearing a lot lately when someone tries something new. I recently joined a gym and am noticing the benefits already. Plus its a great way to meet new people. I've been driving for a few years now, but I really wish I started that earlier too. Waiting around for lifts is poxy.

So... what do you regret not doing sooner?

Hope going to the gym works out well for you :)

What do I regret not doing sooner: Not using my voice when I should have! I've found it now though & will continue to use it towards all levels, Thank You Very Much! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

Horse riding. I'm ok but outclassed by most of the 10 year olds that go to same riding school as me:-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

toast masters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭passremarkable

Travelling and banging more women when I was young free and single

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

Hanging out in the jaccuzzi is where you meet people. I have made a huge amount of friends chatting in the jacuzzi. It makes people relax and is nearly the same atmosphere as a pub.

Yup, or the sauna, used to get all the gossip in the sauna whether I wanted it or not! A lot of gyms do classes too and you get chatting before and after them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭SPM1959

toast masters.

On my resolution list. Terrified though!

Obviously its going to be difficult to strike up a conversation in the middle of a work out, but as others have pointed out, there's the saunas, Jacuzzis and certain classes where you can chat to people before and after training. The counter where you buy the supplements and protein shakes can be a good spot to.

SPM1959 wrote: »
    On my resolution list. Terrified though!

That will make it even more of an accomplishment! Fair play

That's funny actually, because one of the things I wish I had done years ago is discard my gym membership and run outdoors instead.

I've been a gym rat for years, and most of my time in there was spent plodding away on the treadmill or pissing about on some cardio machines, taking the occasional class from time to time, but always riddled with this sort of "gym guilt" when life would get crazy or I would get lazy and not use my membership for a while.

Now instead of having to set aside an entire evening to get there, get changed, work out and shower, and get back - I just stick on a pair of runners and head out the door and I find it a hell of a lot more satisfying and less time consuming. Especially with my erratic work schedule.

Running outdoors has been a bit of a revelation for me. It really wakes me up and makes me feel alive - there's something incredibly therapeutic about having the wind / rain in your face at Stupid AM, watching the sun come up and getting that smile of comradeship from fellow runners. Not to mention the pretty penny that it's saved me.

beks101 wrote: »
    That's funny actually, because one of the things I wish I had done years ago is discard my gym membership and run outdoors instead.

I've been a gym rat for years, and most of my time in there was spent plodding away on the treadmill or pissing about on some cardio machines, taking the occasional class from time to time, but always riddled with this sort of "gym guilt" when life would get crazy or I would get lazy and not use my membership for a while.

Now instead of having to set aside an entire evening to get there, get changed, work out and shower, and get back - I just stick on a pair of runners and head out the door and I find it a hell of a lot more satisfying and less time consuming. Especially with my erratic work schedule.

Running outdoors has been a bit of a revelation for me. It really wakes me up and makes me feel alive - there's something incredibly therapeutic about having the wind / rain in your face at Stupid AM, watching the sun come up and getting that smile of comradeship from fellow runners. Not to mention the pretty penny that it's saved me.

I bought a new pair of runners in the sale in the hope of starting outdoor running so thanks for that encouraging post!
    But I'm also starting back at the gym for the weights and machines, all year I kept saying I couldn't justify the money and didn't have time, yet I'd just clean the house or whatever during school hours and I'd waste a lot of money in return for nothing really so I'm gonna wait til February when people have given up on their resolutions and join back then! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Not knocking running or anything....

But my OH was a marathon junkie. Super fit and gym work aswell

He has had two knee surgeries this year, and more to come. Is in agony. The surgeon said it was the result of pounding the pavements.

I'd say at this stage he would say "I wish I HADN'T done that years ago!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Learn to swim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Demonical

What do I regret not doing sooner? - Maturing! :rolleyes: Took me ****ing ages, I dunno what I was doing during my teens and early 20's. And thanks to a ****e educational system/school I didn't know til I was at least 25 what kind of area I really wanted to work in and here I am at 31 still in university wishing I had all this done already...

Not knocking running or anything....

But my OH was a marathon junkie. Super fit and gym work aswell

He has had two knee surgeries this year, and more to come. Is in agony. The surgeon said it was the result of pounding the pavements.

I'd say at this stage he would say "I wish I HADN'T done that years ago!"

Ah yeah, that's always the risk with a high impact exercise and there's certainly a lot to be said for cross training and weight training etc.

It's just about what works for each person really, and personally, my relationship with the outdoors is a lot stronger than that of the gym, which I always kind of ran out of motivation for at regular intervals.

I'd do things like hiking, hot yoga, strength training classes too to round things off a bit, but I suppose running regularly will always bring its own risks - ones which I'm willing to take. It makes me feel fantastic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

Losing weight. I'm recovering from some bad injuries sustained in a crash last year and the extra weight I'm carrying certainly isn't helping the recovery. And to add on top of that, I can't really walk properly since the crash so I'm quite limited physically which is obviously impacting on my weight. Bit of a vicious circle. My biggest regret is letting it get to this point. I'm not a whale or anything like that but definitely not at a healthy weight for my height, age or sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

beks101 wrote: »
    Ah yeah, that's always the risk with a high impact exercise and there's certainly a lot to be said for cross training and weight training etc.

It's just about what works for each person really, and personally, my relationship with the outdoors is a lot stronger than that of the gym, which I always kind of ran out of motivation for at regular intervals.

I'd do things like hiking, hot yoga, strength training classes too to round things off a bit, but I suppose running regularly will always bring its own risks - ones which I'm willing to take. It makes me feel fantastic.

Yeah would agree that the rush of running gave him a buzz.

But now....

We cannot even go for a walk......