Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Roll Up, Roll Up, the Queen is in the hot seat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,034 ✭✭✭griffin100

Which part of Ballyer are you living in, the posh part or the rough end? :D I grew up in the posh end :pac:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Fazz wrote: »
    Sorry if these have been asked but I haven't seen them yet so..

1 - Race Calendar for 2014 with preference races?

3 - Will you complete the 5 x NS races next year?

I'm pretty much looking at trying to get everything done by the end of June, depending on how my run plans turn out. Would like to target cross country season next year since I've missed it this year so would need to start pumping running up by August at the latest.

Nothing firm yet but most of what I'm thinking is NS...gotta hold on to my Pulse crown :)
    3D sprint
    Lough Cutra or Athy Olympic
    Crooked Lake
    Hook or By Crook
    HOTW (maybe depending on how much bike time I do)
    Entered Caroline Kearney this year and didn't do it so would like to do that and would like to do BOTE again but I've just seen that's on Sept 13th.

2 - How many hours are you training on average per week and split by discipline?

Swim probably 3 - 4 hours
    Bike - last two weeks 0 hours 0 minutes 0 seconds(unless you count my spin to the shop) the normal (commuting not included) would be a max of four hours. Haven't been out for a long spin since October and that wasn't even long.
    Run - about 6 - 7 hours
    4 - Xmas Dessert - Trifle, Xmas Pud or other (choc biscuit cake... ;) )

Would normally be Xmas pud, made by myself of course...but now I'm off gluten I'm throwing together a flourless bouche de noel thing for me and the brother in law(the nutter doesn't like pudding!)
    5 - You joined Pulse for the colours too right? :D

You convinced me because there was less red in it than there used to be. Was less than impressed when it was confirmed they were picked because they're Man U colours! :eek:
    6 - Have you tried the ON runners yet? Cause I know you've got every other pair?!

Nope...have been tempted but I'm not one to follow trends! Still tempted mind...
    7 - Favourite session and why? (any discipline).

I like the fast run sessions...12 x 600m or 20 x 300m
    8 - Current 400m TT PB?

7:14 from a couple of weeks ago. Didn't see myself bettering my pb that day so was pretty shocked...sub 7 finally becomes a target.
    9 - Gideon or Rossi?

Gideon
    10 - Any particular long term goal in any discipline/sport? i.e you mention sub 3:20 mara, would that be main aim? or do an ironman? Another Ultra? Etc.

Sub 85 half marathon within the next few years...Ironman is on the radar somewhere but probably not as close as I would have thought. No interest in just doing one want to do well once I get there so would like to have at least one HIM focused season in the bag before stepping up.

Dory Dory wrote: »
    Sounds like you've been "coached" by several different running and swimming coaches, so, which coach has been the most productive/effective for you (and why), OR (if you'd rather not name names) what qualities in the coach/coaching have been most productive/effective for you?

I've never had my own personal coach. From group swims I'm on the third swim coach, the first worked well for me but then stopped coaching with the club. Some of the stuff pointed out to me now was been pointed out by him also 2 years ago. :( He taught me how to actually swim compared to the crap I'd been doing on my own and is a brilliant coach.
    The second has been there since I started out as well and I really started to improve once taking up the second coached session with just him...but it just wasn't working for me anymore.
    Have only done the Tango sessions for about 2 months so it's early days but I can feel an improvement...and I get frustrated now when I'm doing other swims and I *know* I'm doing it wrong but just can't get it right on the day. Previously, I wouldn't have even noticed and would have kept windmilling away. So there is definite improvemet there already (plus I somehow managed to do a 7:14 400m when I thought I'd be much closer to 8 mins based on current fitness)

Running, again never had specific coaching as such. The club coaching is very generic. You do the same session as everyone else is doing whether they run for fitness, 5ks, half marathon or marathon...just some people do more reps than others (the 5k girls could do more than the marathon girls!). Work circumtances changed and I couldn't really go to training anymore so I'm following a more structured, invidual plan now. I got kinda frustrated with my club runs because I was leading out or two of us were leading most runs and didn't really see the point of that...I need someone to chase.
    Also, had a bad time after London...the body gave in between work changes, work being crazy busy etc and I wasn't able to train much so then ended up behind people who used to be way behind me. Not good when morale is already low.
    What kind of coach would you be?
    A do as I say, not as I do kinda coach. :cool:
    I've helped people with marathon training and one of the guys went sub 3 from 3:40 in his Autumn marathon..if only I could train myself to do the same :D
    Tell me about your "dream date". Who, what, where, when, why?

A trip out on a boat to go shark diving. Shark diving is one of my bucket list things. He can take me for a picnic on the beach after that.
    Since I wake up in Ireland every day...I suppose ice skating and a hot chocolate. Followed by a beer or two would have to do. :D

Has to be Rob Hulse, just for this...

52187525-rob-hulse-of-leeds-united-is-congratulated-by-gettyimages.jpg?v=1&c=IWSAsset&k=2&d=OCUJ5gVf7YdJQI2Xhkc2QOhDM7RAMSLzzfZvVDz6fmnXgk7biFew13OIPRfmogWTbGHAzoO8zmNy8OAr0Hf4TA%3D%3D

...the picture and for providing an amazing day. Mostly for what you see in the picture though ;)
    Do heights bother you?

Nope...don't mind heights..I'd love to go up in a hot air balloon. Maybe I should change my dream date?!
    Do you like roller coasters?

Have never been on one!
    Bambaata and Fazz....head to head in (you insert the distance here) tri. Which one brings you more pleasure to watch? And which one is your money on to win?

Ooooh....how can you choose? I'm thinking that over HIM distance Fazz would nab it. Have you guys ever raced each other?
    griffin100 wrote: »
    Which part of Ballyer are you living in, the posh part or the rough end? :D I grew up in the posh end :pac:

I don't know which is the posh part and which is rough. Though since when I turn the corner at the end of my road I end up in Cherry Orchard, I will assume that I live in the rough end....that and ultraman grew up around the corner from where I live now, he is defo not posh ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,034 ✭✭✭griffin100

I don't know which is the posh part and which is rough. Though since when I turn the corner at the end of my road I end up in Cherry Orchard, I will assume that I live in the rough end

You assume correctly ;) Now I'm scared of you. I grew up in the leafier part near Inchicore; where we had running water, electricity and colour TV :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

griffin100 wrote: »
    You assume correctly ;) Now I'm scared of you. I grew up in the leafier part near Inchicore; where we had running water, electricity and colour TV :D

Rq,ur defo in d posh part,sure d bleedin ranch isnt even in ballyer,

Izoard wrote: »
    1) Favourite Christmas song?

Not officially a christmas song maybe...

2) Boyband-of-choice, back in the day?

Boyzone. I was mad for Boyzone. Had all the books, videos and t-shirts...think I wore a Boyzone t-shirt every day. Cringey.
    3) Last gig you went to?

The Notifications in The Point about a month ago. Never actually heard of them but the ticket was free. :D

I'm not really into going to gigs...I listen to a lot of old school stuff stuff The Clash, The Jam, Ramones etc so they don't do gigs anyway :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Podge83

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

What scares you?
    Have you ever taken a selfie?
    Did you have a teddy bear when you were young?
    Favourite sports brand and why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Dory Dory

Do you have a driver's license? If so, how many attempts did it take for you to get it?

What's your secret weapon when you race?

You, me and Oryx on a triathlon relay team together - put together the all male team you would want us to go up against and why? Also, what would our all girl team be called.....and what would the all male team be called?

Oryx wrote: »
    What scares you?

Knowing that one day I'm going to have a mid-life crisis and sign up for an Ironman :pac:

That and getting sick or injured.
    Have you ever taken a selfie?

Don't think so. I'm hate photos of myself and avoid cameras other people are holding so wouldn't be taking pictures of myself!
    Did you have a teddy bear when you were young?

Had loads. My bed was covered in them. Still have 2 or 3 bing bags FULL of them in the shed. :o
    Favourite sports brand and why?

Runners - saucony. I like their shoes, they suit me and they're comfy.
    Shorts - adidas, adidas do response 6 inch shorts. They're the comfiest.
    T-shirts - whatever is given out free at races

Do you have a driver's license? If so, how many attempts did it take for you to get it?

Yes. No comment on the second part. :p
    What's your secret weapon when you race?

I'm an absolutly crap racer...train so well usually but when it comes to racing I bottle it.
    Complete opposite to when I played basketball, always used to train really poorly but in a match I'd excel.
    You, me and Oryx on a triathlon relay team together - put together the all male team you would want us to go up against and why? Also, what would our all girl team be called.....and what would the all male team be called?

Sullivan Echoing Log can do the swim, kingQuez can do the bike and *tries to think of a really crap runner* ...oh Izoard can do the run. :pac: We'd beat them. :cool:

We could just call ourselves Team Awesome, simpe and true! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

How many vouchers did you buy as Christmas presents? :pac:

pgibbo wrote: »
    How many vouchers did you buy as Christmas presents? :pac:

lol...I got zero. That was a very unsucessful shopping day. :(

Do you ever go running with your dogs?

What are your 3 top pet peeves?

Do you belt out singing like a rock star when your favorite song comes on the radio and you're alone in the car? And if so, how do you think you sound?

Is it better to ask you for a favor in the morning or in the evening?

What is the philosophy you live by?

When and what is your next race?

Do you paint your toenails? If so, and if they are painted at this moment, what color are they?

Kurt Godel wrote: »
    How long can you plank for?

4 minutes 7 seconds...then it got extra messy
    Anyway how long can you hold a side plank leg raised after reading this? :D

2 minutes 28 seconds...ouch
    Do you ever go running with your dogs?

Not anymore. When I started running i ran in the park at the top of my road and would bring them at 8am every morning. By the time I was running regular 6 milers I used to have to stop and let them rest as I'd turn around and they'd be wrecked. They never really cottoned on to the fact I was lapping the park 5 - 9 times and they *could* wait for me...at nearly 12 and very overweight and 9 they're a bit old for that now. A 30/40 minute trip to the park (with lots of them running) knocks them out for the rest of the day
    What are your 3 top pet peeves?

Ignorance, smoking, people who are always late...I'm one of those people who is always early because I'm not a dickhead and don't want to leave someone standing there waiting for me, no matter how hard I try to be late meeting someone who I know is always late I still always turn up earlier than we planned to meet. :(
    Do you belt out singing like a rock star when your favorite song comes on the radio and you're alone in the car? And if so, how do you think you sound?

If I'm listening to my iPod while running or on the bike, I sing along to that. Say I look a bit nutty and I'm a terrible singer. I went to a choir school for primary school and my voice was 'trained' for church singing - it never really translated well for other types of singing. That and I wasn't very good at singing then either. :(
    Is it better to ask you for a favor in the morning or in the evening?

Evening...I'm not a bad morning person but I don't really want to be having fully blown chats before 7am
    What is the philosophy you live by?

Life is short, make the most of what you've got and wake up with a smile, it's great to be alive, fit(ish :D) and healthy and chase the things you want. :)
    When and what is your next race?

Tom Brennan 5k on New Years Day...it's going to be slow but I need to get back racing someday. Dreading it and I'm sick at the moment so hoping I get over this quickly so I can be fresh on race day. Missed this race last year after hitting the deck on the bike on NYE
    Do you paint your toenails? If so, and if they are painted at this moment, what color are they?

Nope, I'm a very bad girl...so is my sister. Mammy was never into beauty regimes and what not so I guess that's why we're not. Never got the whole painting your nails thing. Plus I'm a fingernail biter so never paint them, would probably paint my toes if I painted my fingers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

jackyback can do the swim, kingQuez can do the bike and *tries to think of a really crap runner* ...oh Izoard can do the run. :pac: We'd beat them. :cool:

We could just call ourselves Team Awesome, simpe and true! :)

Harsh...Anto, give the girl an entry to Donadea, and see how lippy she is then.

Any chance we can put JB out last in the relay? Better chance of finishing...:)

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Any chance we can put JB out last in the relay? Better chance of finishing...:)
    Well, not only did she make out ye were crap, she also infers we could only beat a male team if they are crap. :D

Well obviously I'd be the weak link ;)

I like the strategy, ladies. Give the lads a false sense of superiority, then we emasculate them through our Team Awesome-ness!!! Oh, and RQ, we're painting your toenails for this!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Oh, and RQ, we're painting your toenails for this!!! :D

Might as well do Izo's whilst you are at it.

and pink

Manly-Pedi1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

and pink

Manly-Pedi1.jpg

The baiting is working....
    No problem - RQ if you make it to the start line of Lost Sheep, I'll happily agree to go "full pink", if I finish behind you. You, obviously have to do the same if you lose...and bake me a cake of my choosing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

.:)

She already entered,but am hopin she drops out so i can squezze anudda 50 quid outta somone else...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

what use is a 300m running track :)

It's great for 300m races

ultraman1 wrote: »
    She already entered,but am hopin she drops out so i can squezze anudda 50 quid outta somone else...

Have you not already flogged it in anticipation? :eek: