Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Pensioner Places Advert In A Bid To Avoid His Tenth Christmas Alone

• 13-12-2013 05:02PM
    Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Now I'm not normally a hugely emotional person but this story got me.
    The retired butler has no immediate family to visit and is eager to find a Christmas companion before the 25th December.
    “I just want to find someone in time,” he said.
    “I am used to the loneliness, but I do not want it to be the same this year.

The Irish Post are looking for people to send Christmas cards to 85 year old James Gray and I think that it's the least the poor guy deserves! It is Christmas after all! :)
    So boardsies, why don't we make his Christmas a bit extra special, even if we can't him somewhere to go for Christmas, though hopefully we can do that too, lets get him some cards and presents! They can be sent to:
    The Irish Post, Suite A, 1 Lindsey Street, Smithfield, London EC1A 9HP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

christmas escort?

can you hire escorts for third parties?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Come dine with James!

Will he be serving the dinner or wha?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Chattastrophe!

That's so sad. :( Hope he finds someone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

Jesus that's heartbreaking. This is my first Christmas away from home so I kind of understand where he's coming from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I took down his address earlier, will be popping a card in the post for the old gent.

Even if he's a cantankerous aul fella, it breaks my heart to think of people being lonely at this time of year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Ah the poor man, its a tough time to be alone. To place an ad shows how lonely he must be. I am sure he will be inundated with offers and I hope its the start of some new friendships for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭stinkle

Just wrote my first card of the year to him. Thanks for posting OP! Will try to get others to send cards too. Poor man, loneliness is such a horrible thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭iwantmydinner

Nice one MCR, will pop a card off to him over the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

You're only looking for a free dinner!

hefferboi wrote: »
    You're only looking for a free dinner!

<.<

>.>

*hat tip*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Popping a card in the post,so sad.

seligehgit wrote: »
    Popping a card in the post,so sad.

...there's always one, I spose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

This story made me feel very sad...

Will be shooting off a postcard to him when I send the rest out next week

My mam used to do home help for a lady who was very ill. When she died (in her fifties :() my mam continued to visit her husband who was much much older, they had no children so my mam became like an adopted daughter and he turned into another grandad for us. He came to us every Christmas for dinner. On his 90th birthday on Christmas Eve, he told us he wouldn't be around for his 91st and sure enough, last year, days before his 91st birthday he died in his sleep. So my mam has room for one at her table, I'd love to have this old fella over. I'm not sure he'd fancy the trip to Ireland though. I wonder if any Londoners will take him in. I hate the thoughts of anyone being alone :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

There are volunteer agencies where you can visit the elderly, and not just for Christmas.

friendsoftheelderly.ie

There are volunteer agencies where you can visit the elderly, and not just for Christmas.

Yeh there are some really good ones, I've registered with one but I'm still waiting on my Garda clearance before I can start :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 BMcG75

Fair play to the guy for deciding to make a change this year, it takes guts to put yourself out there like that, and from what I have read from the updates, he has already started receiving Christmas cards and offers for Christmas day. I will be sending him one myself tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

he's getting a load of dinner offers from burds on that her.ie site, crafty oul lad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

First world butler problems.........
    I just had smoked salmon and prawns on my own last year and I had to put up with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

I'm sending a card to this man.

It's going in the post today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

https://www.facebook.com/ChristmascardsforJamesGray?fref=ts

Facebook page for cards for James Gray

Uh oh!

http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2013/12/16/lonely-irish-pensioner-actually-quite-annoying-claim-neighbours/
    long-time neighbours have since warned people to be wary of Mr. Grays ploy, claiming there is good reason why people chose to leave him alone at Christmas.....

“I remember this one time we asked him to join us for dinner.” recalled neighbour Deirdre Jones. “He took off his shoes and socks and started picking at his toenails at the dinner table. Then he flicked debris from his feet onto the floor.”

“I met him in Tescos and we were talking about the weather and he suddenly started singing Rebecca Blacks Friday.” she said. “Then he opened a bottle of lemonade from the shelf and drank from it before burping into my face and putting it back.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Hah Bumbug. Bit of a low blow someone writing a satirical piece about the poor chap

Ah I don't think so, it's only a bit of fun. He has gotten loads of cards and offers of dinner. No malice in it like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭bradlente

Good thing he's used to cleaning up,The mess all these cards and presents will make is gonna be phenomenal!He'll be spending the next 10 Christmases putting it all away:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 BMcG75

Wow, waterford whispers news. Always a classy bunch! Only morons and eejits find that awful excuse for satire funny. It's the media equivalent of farting for laughs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭dmc17

He's been invited to a Christmas Day Party in Liverpool with flights and accommodation paid for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

...there's always one, I spose.

I think you took that post the wrong way. He didn't mean it's sad sending a card. He meant the story is sad.