Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How psychopathic are YOU?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Isn't it true that many psychopaths actually feel more empathy towards animals than humans? I don't think the stereotype of them killing kittens to feed to their pet snake is actually that accurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    Isn't it true that many psychopaths actually feel more empathy towards animals than humans?

IME, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

58%.

But you have to be a little mad to be sane, am I right? Guys?

Screw ye all, mother****ers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

ITT people who have watched the sopranos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Ineedaname

24%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

cantdecide wrote: »
    IME, yes.
    I'll steer clear of the Animals & Pet Issues Forum so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

42%

Am I nuts?? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭19543261

15%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

61%.

I've actually scored higher in different mental tests so don't know what to think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

61%

Though your conscience is in the right place you also have a pragmatic streak and generally aren’t afraid to do your own dirty work! You’re no shrinking violet - but no daredevil either. You generally have little trouble seeing things from another person’s perspective but, at the same time, are no pushover. ‘Everything in moderation – including moderation’ might sum up your approach to life.

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

People getting worried about high scores, it's probably good to be somewhere on the scale.

If you scored 0, you'd probably struggle to function due to your overwhelming empathy with animals and people and your inability to divert from plans or assert yourself.

That's my excuse, anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

67%

I actually thought it would be higher :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭SmurfX

58%, expected higher :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

I'm not gonna do the test and if anyone tells me I should, I'll kick the crap out of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

64%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

18%
    Bit dissappointed that it's that low.getting far too apathetic in my middle age,political Compass thingy surprised me too.

crockholm wrote: »
    18%
    Bit dissappointed that it's that low.getting far too apathetic in my middle age,political Compass thingy surprised me too.

Stab an orange or something. You might like the feel of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

"Though your conscience is in the right place you also have a pragmatic streak and generally aren’t afraid to do your own dirty work! You’re no shrinking violet - but no daredevil either. You generally have little trouble seeing things from another person’s perspective but, at the same time, are no pushover. ‘Everything in moderation – including moderation’ might sum up your approach to life."

61%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I'm 48% normal/psycho.
    61%.

I've actually scored higher in different mental tests so don't know what to think.
    As long as they weren't stupidity tests you should be ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

This test is much more applicable, that channel 4 one is not accurate

http://www.arkancide.com/psychopathy.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,069 ✭✭✭Tzar Chasm

34 on that one, it seems to suggest that being proud of getting away with stuff is bad,

surely not being convicted of stuff or the ability to talk your way out of trouble is a good thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I got 94% !!!

What do I win ??

KTRIC wrote: »
    I got 94% !!!

What do I win ??

you win at life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

100%

You can play hardball with the best of them! You know what you want and are not afraid to go for it – even if it means bending the rules occasionally and putting a few noses out of joint on the way. Nothing fazes you. You are decisive, self-confident and pretty much up for anything. You are a ‘means-to-an-end’ person. For you, it’s not necessarily a matter of right or wrong, but of what gets the job done. ‘Bring it on’ is your mantra, but to help those around you keep their heads, you should learn some tricks to help you temper your self-satisfying tendencies...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭googled eyes

61 %

Exactly where I planned to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

http://www.channel4.com/programmes/psychopath-night

YOUR
    SCORE 3%

3%. I'm a feckin saint!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

Tzar Chasm wrote: »
    34 on that one, it seems to suggest that being proud of getting away with stuff is bad,
    Is it not? Regardless, thats the test used to identify psychopaths in real life. Maybe a trip to a professional is a good idea in your case? (Assuming you answered honestly)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Aestivalis

What is your

Occupation
    Favorite news source

Nice bit of hidden marketing there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Sciprio

YOUR
    SCORE 39%

Though your conscience is in the right place you also have a pragmatic streak and generally aren’t afraid to do your own dirty work! You’re no shrinking violet - but no daredevil either. You generally have little trouble seeing things from another person’s perspective but, at the same time, are no pushover. ‘Everything in moderation – including moderation’ might sum up your approach to life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

21%

You are warm and empathic with a heightened sense of social responsibility and a strong sense of conscience. You like to weigh up the pros and cons of a situation before you act and are generally adverse to taking risks.
    You are very much a 'people person' and dislike conflict.
    'Do onto others... ' are your watchwords.
    But although you avoid hurting others, those residing at the higher end of the psychopathic spectrum might not be as considerate, so stay vigilant to avoid being hurt unnecessarily.

Funny enough I wouldn't be a people person at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

21%

You are warm and empathic with a heightened sense of social responsibility and a strong sense of conscience. You like to weigh up the pros and cons of a situation before you act and are generally adverse to taking risks.
    You are very much a 'people person' and dislike conflict.
    'Do onto others... ' are your watchwords.
    But although you avoid hurting others, those residing at the higher end of the psychopathic spectrum might not be as considerate, so stay vigilant to avoid being hurt unnecessarily.

Funny enough I wouldn't be a people person at all.

Right. It's what's on the inside that counts ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

73%

I wanted 90 :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

That's a silly test. Who hasn't set a small fire (eg: packet of popcorn) when they were younger? And the whole promiscuous/boasting angle's a little bit silly.

Is it not? Regardless, thats the test used to identify psychopaths in real life. Maybe a trip to a professional is a good idea in your case? (Assuming you answered honestly)

you lost me there, why would it be bad to not get caught, or more specifically why should I feel bad about not getting caught.

let's pose a hypothetical, you see a chocolate bar on a table at work, there's no one else around, you are a bit peckish so you eat it.

about an hour later the muppet who forgot their chocolate bar starts whining about losing it, and asking if anyone saw where it went.

do you

A. keep scthum, they were stupid enough to leave it there

B. stand up, tell everyone you ate it and fake remorse for your actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭MyNameIsMethos

YOUR SCORE
    79%

I'm not crazy; they had me tested lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

I got 58%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭Me?

88%

Thought it would be higher

You can play hardball with the best of them! You know what you want and are not afraid to go for it – even if it means bending the rules occasionally and putting a few noses out of joint on the way. Nothing fazes you. You are decisive, self-confident and pretty much up for anything. You are a ‘means-to-an-end’ person. For you, it’s not necessarily a matter of right or wrong, but of what gets the job done. ‘Bring it on’ is your mantra, but to help those around you keep their heads, you should learn some tricks to help you temper your self-satisfying tendencies...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

21%

"You are warm and empathic with a heightened awareness of social responsibility and a strong sense of conscience. You like to carefully weigh up the pros and cons of a situation before you act and are generally averse to taking risks. You are very much a ‘people person’ and dislike conflict. ‘Do unto others…’ are your watchwords. But, although you avoid hurting others, those residing at the higher end of the psychopathic spectrum might not be as considerate, so stay vigilant to avoid being hurt unnecessarily."

I think that's fair enough. I'm not really a people person in that I'm extremely introverted and would happily spend weeks on end alone. But I do care about people and believe in treating others with respect and kindness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

39%

Would have less but I lied to make myself sound more dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

70%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dar100

They seemed to miss out on the key question.

"Do you like killing other humans for no reason?"

The majority of Psychopaths do not go around killing people, this is not true. Around 1% to 1.5% of the population are psychopathic, also called sociopaths and Anti Social Personality Disorder.

Psychopaths are generally intelligent and extremely high functioning individuals, there is a theory that many people at the top of their profession are psychopatic, that does not mean they go around killing people, but have the required traits to be cold, callous and charming and take the steps needed to put profit before people.

This "test" is not a reliable and valid assessment of psychopatic traits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

http://www.jonronson.com/psycho.html
    Book Description
    What if society wasn’t fundamentally rational, but was motivated by insanity? This thought sets Jon Ronson on an utterly compelling adventure into the world of madness. Along the way, Jon meets psychopaths, those whose lives have been touched by madness and those whose job it is to diagnose it, including the influential psychologist who developed the Psychopath Test, from whom Jon learns the art of psychopath-spotting. A skill which seemingly reveals that madness could indeed be at the heart of everything . . . Combining Jon’s trademark humour, charm and investigative incision, The Psychopath Test is both entertaining and honest, unearthing dangerous truths and asking serious questions about how we define normality in a world where we are increasingly judged by our maddest edges.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Psychopath-Test-Jon-Ronson/dp/0330492276

GalwayGuy2 wrote: »
    That's a silly test. Who hasn't set a small fire (eg: packet of popcorn) when they were younger? And the whole promiscuous/boasting angle's a little bit silly.

It's called the Hare Checklist-PLC, it is the gold standard for diagnosing Psychopaths.

If I remember correctly, the cut off is around 20, we all have these traits to a certain extent and lighting a fire as a child but not having any of the other traits will not qualify you for a diagnosis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

79%
    Nice.

Tzar Chasm wrote: »
    you lost me there, why would it be bad to not get caught, or more specifically why should I feel bad about not getting caught.

let's pose a hypothetical, you see a chocolate bar on a table at work, there's no one else around, you are a bit peckish so you eat it.

about an hour later the muppet who forgot their chocolate bar starts whining about losing it, and asking if anyone saw where it went.

do you

A. keep scthum, they were stupid enough to leave it there

B. stand up, tell everyone you ate it and fake remorse for your actions.

Its the no remorse bit thats the issue with sychopaths:):)

In fact the whole post is indicitive of psychopathic traits:):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

42%

"Though your conscience is in the right place you also have a pragmatic streak and generally aren’t afraid to do your own dirty work! You’re no shrinking violet - but no daredevil either. You generally have little trouble seeing things from another person’s perspective but, at the same time, are no pushover. ‘Everything in moderation – including moderation’ might sum up your approach to life."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

36%, which I thought was quite high.

Though your conscience is in the right place you also have a pragmatic streak and generally aren’t afraid to do your own dirty work! You’re no shrinking violet - but no daredevil either. You generally have little trouble seeing things from another person’s perspective but, at the same time, are no pushover. ‘Everything in moderation – including moderation’ might sum up your approach to life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭Itwasntme.

15%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Debunker

21%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Surprised what a shower of bleedin' psychos you lot are!! WITLOJ (what in the love of jaysus)!