Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DayZ Standalone

• Registered Users Posts: 258 ✭✭Hawke

Timmyctc wrote: »
    Theres another Irish server floating around too if the TiG one is full. 24/7 daylight and all that. 3-4 hour resets. Dunno which.
    IP is 185.16.86.52:2902
    Think its called Irish Dayz 24/7 Daylight (Original title :pac: )

Joined it just there and its the middle of the night :pac:. Also don't have my character.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Loadsa the servers are fecked since last night. Sporadic issues connecting to the hive since the attack yday :(

• Registered Users Posts: 559 ✭✭✭chewythefirst

hey guys, is there anyone jumping on the TIG server? cos me and some of my clan mates are on and we have decided that this is going to be our server. [EIC] FTW

• Registered Users Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭Taylor365

Would a Dayz tournament be of any interest to the peoples of boards?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

A tournament? Is it really that type of game?!

Taylor365 wrote: »
    Would a Dayz tournament be of any interest to the peoples of boards?
    Holsten wrote: »

Tournament or not the [EIC] clan have taken over the TIG server :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭SherlockWatson

I think he means an arranged skirmish?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,092 Mod ✭✭✭✭ktulu123

Tournament or not the [EIC] clan have taken over the TIG server :D

Sounds like I need to get my bunch of idiots on there to wage war :P

Holsten wrote: »
    I dunno.

Just looking at ways to spice it up somehow.

A last man standing-esque type of tournament.

• Registered Users Posts: 371 ✭✭Fussgangerzone

I dunno.

Just looking at ways to spice it up somehow.

A last man standing-esque type of tournament.

Starting from fully-geared, or freshly spawned?
    Both have their merits.

Starting from fully-geared, or freshly spawned?
    Both have their merits.
    Either.

I envisioned a freshly spawned one where everyone starts at the same spot and goes from there. Is there server commands to bunch peeps together? Spectate the action?

You'd need certain conditions as well to make it feasible:

Time limits.
    Winning conditions.
    Rules.
    Mandatory TS.

A bit of competitive action. :P

• Registered Users Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

It's going to end up as a bunch of people hiding in a bush with the timer running down.

It would work best to be confined to a single town. It would be frantic as hell. :P

ktulu123 wrote: »

looks like it is on like donkey Kong :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Squaredude

Either.

I envisioned a freshly spawned one where everyone starts at the same spot and goes from there. Is there server commands to bunch peeps together? Spectate the action?

You'd need certain conditions as well to make it feasible:

Time limits.
    Winning conditions.
    Rules.
    Mandatory TS.

A bit of competitive action. :P
    Have a look at dayz survivor games. It's pretty much what you're looking for. Don't think it's possible on the SA yet though.

ktulu123 wrote: »
    i volunteer!

Yeah there are plenty of these types of events that can be run in regular Arma 2/3. At the moment the SA would be useless for an event like this

to the experimental!

• Registered Users Posts: 913 ✭✭✭TheFairy

Pfft taking over the server my hole, bring it, there's only on force on our server and its us!!!!

TheFairy wrote: »
    Pfft taking over the server my hole, bring it, there's only on force on our server and its us!!!!

Until server restarts are done away with no one can really "own" a server. (In the 'pwn' sense) Too many gunfights have ended with a "convenient" reset after the server owners die. Coincidence of course. Also scheduled resets often break up tense standoffs and the same groups of players rarely reconnect.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Timmyctc wrote: »
    Until server restarts are done away with no one can really "own" a server. (In the 'pwn' sense) Too many gunfights have ended with a "convenient" reset after the server owners die. Coincidence of course. Also scheduled resets often break up tense standoffs and the same groups of players rarely reconnect.

No, in the before time we've (Different server group) had the same accusations levelled at us and they were completely false.

I am quite certain that TIG are above board.

Server is set to automatically restart every 4hours. Sometimes this doesnt happen and we do it manually, only for the Clanforge system then to do it a few mins later!!!!

Sometimes when the server is busy we manually drop this time limit to 2 hrs, but we rarely do this. As soon as loot and Z's respawn we will remove and only restart when needed.

If a few other groups on here have servers we could rotate during the week, so that we see good activity on each server.

Emm never said that TiG weren't above board? :/ I'm saying that servers in general that happens. Calm the pants gents

Been a while since I made a DayZ video, this footage is a couple weeks old but it was great craic! One of the lads came up with an idea to play Russian Roulette with a bunch of people. Most guys got lucky! Enjoy!

Reddit post if any of you fancy giving me a hand with a nice Up-Vote!
    http://redd.it/1ychfz

Cheers!

So there is just EIC and TIG online now

So where we going to have the rumble?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Squaredude

This new notification is going to get very annoying!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭SherlockWatson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Just a reminder to all, there's The Survival Sandbox forum to discuss all manner of survival sandbox games. Feel free to start relevant threads there :)

• Registered Users Posts: 775 ✭✭✭simon360

Squaredude wrote: »
    This new notification is going to get very annoying!

As far as I know from experience in Arma 2 you can turn that sound off by lowering down Radio or Music, not sure if SA has these options though.

EDIT: nope you can't turn it off with the Radio option

• Registered Users Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

2 Seconds on the TIG server and run into two people, im AFK in the ship and a fresh spawn runs around the corner so my mate had no choice but to shoot him, next of all someone comes down the steps and starts shooting at us haha found my new server :D