Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dog grooming courses

• 19-12-2013 4:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,524 ✭✭✭

Looking for any information on dog grooming courses. I'm a qualified vet nurse but as of yet unemployed in the veterinary field. Been out of college a good few months now job searching and it's quite a depressing thought that there seems to be very few jobs going. :(

Have an interest in dog grooming but apart from helping out with grooming in various different placements (washing, brushing etc. but no clipping), grooming my own dog and the little bit of it we were taught in college I don't have a whole lot of experience. Looking to boost the cv up a little too as a lot of practices have vet nurses that double as groomers. Not looking to start up my own grooming business, would just like to have something extra that I could do grooms in a practice if I wanted to.

I was looking into the kilroys college grooming course but researching it people are saying it's not really worth the money as it's not accredited and there's no hands on teaching.

Are there any similar distance learning courses that are accredited, give hands on lessons say once a month and don't cost the earth? I'm based in the north west, budget of around €1000.

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭SillyMangoX