Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dealing with scumbags??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Well done OP :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

The poor fella probably had a very deprived upbringing. The trauma of your assault on him will probably add to his overall sense of anguish. You should just have given your phone to someone less fortunate than yourself. Society has abandoned these poor unfortunate people and owes them a debt.

Shure izzn't e only d salt of d ort shure. Terrbible so tis, terrbbibble, y'know yerself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

Fair play to you OP, you calculated the circumstances and then acted in a professional manner. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,988 ✭✭✭mikeym

Hope you called him a scumbag :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Well done OP. You've saved a few people's phones and wallets from the fecker.

A few years ago, I was out celebrating Dublin's victory over Kerry in a club on Harcourt St. I left to go to the ATM (quite drunk, I might add) and a few minutes later someone jumped on my back and was trying to bring me to the ground.

I threw him off and turned around to see a little shíte demanding my phone and money. He couldn't have been more than 5 feet tall. I was gobsmacked. I'm 5'10 and in decent shape and I knew it would look really bad if I went for him. I was also surprised at how surreal the whole encounter was.

Instead I just went on a rant about how he was a shít mugger and that my granny would be better than him and more nonsense along the similar lines. I left it at that and went off to the ATM. I was hoping to bump into him on the way back in case he tried the same with someone else but he had moved on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

Well done OP. You've saved a few people's phones and wallets from the fecker.

A few years ago, I was out celebrating Dublin's victory over Kerry in a club on Harcourt St. I left to go to the ATM (quite drunk, I might add) and a few minutes later someone jumped on my back and was trying to bring me to the ground.

I threw him off and turned around to see a little shíte demanding my phone and money. He couldn't have been more than 5 feet tall. I was gobsmacked. I'm 5'10 and in decent shape and I knew it would look really bad if I went for him. I was also surprised at how surreal the whole encounter was.

Instead I just went on a rant about how he was a shít mugger and that my granny would be better than him and more nonsense along the similar lines. I left it at that and went off to the ATM. I was hoping to bump into him on the way back in case he tried the same with someone else but he had moved on.

In fairness it was your civic duty to smack the little scrot, I'm very disappointed in you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Fair play OP, I'd probably have froze and just meekly handed the phone over were I in the same situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Seaneh wrote: »
    Ok, about 25 minutes ago, I had an altercation with a scumbag.

He was one of the shiny tracksuit clad sub cretinous types that populate the north inner city, especially along the luas line and quays.

I got to the Jervis luas stop just as the tram was pulling away. I looked at the sign for the next tram and it wasn't due for about 5 minutes so I thought "feck it, I'll walk to the four courts and get rather than waiting around".

Off I saunter fro jervis, I crossed the road at the junction with caple street and briefly contemplated popping into Cyclebike for a look around at the pretty bikes.

Cross back over a little further up the road. Had my phone in my hand and was about to put it into my pocket. little prick coming by me attempts to grab the phone out of my hand. He fails,and I shove it into my pocket.

He, in embarrassment or whatever, stops his run (he was running past me) and comes back and faces me and says "Give me the ****ing phone or I'll ****ing clock ya" or something to that effect.

Now, those of you who have met me know I am not a small man. While average height, I'm not average weight and I'm far from shy. This fellow was about my height but about 10 stone weight and as far as I could tell, had no weapon.

In my other hand at the time, in a paper easons bag was a copy of the new Alex Ferguson biography which mammy seaneh had asked me to pick up for her as a gift for one of their friends who is a man united fanatic.

As the little scummer is getting in my face I raise my hands (with the book in my right hand now) and say "not happening bud, walk on, I don't want any hassle".

Little prick gets closer and I instinctively smacker him across the bridge of the nose with the book quickly followed by another smack across the side of the head with the book and a well drawn left boot to the bollocks.

He bends over in pain and them scarpers off shouting back "you're ****ing dead, I'll get you, I'll remember you".

If he had a weapon I would have just given him the phone, no sense in taking the risk. But seeing as I thought I could atleast hold me own with him, I decided "**** this" and defended myself and my possessions as is allowed by the law.

How would you react in a similar situation?

Well done that man. That is exactly the best way to deal with such a situation. Bravo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,097 ✭✭✭Hitchens

I pose a question to you OP, if you had the little scumbag at your mercy somewhere, say tied up in some warehouse, nobody around for miles and you had whatever weapons at your disposal, would you finish the job, if nothing else just to vent whatever anger is left? Its an honest question, some victims of assault waste weeks afterwards replaying the scenario in their head...

throw 'Stealers Wheel' on the CD player and away you go :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 368 ✭✭Morph the Cat

mad muffin wrote: »
    This is how I would have done it:

Palm strike to the underside of his nose

Then followed by a quick ninja strike to the throat

Followed by a round house kick to his knee cap

As he falls to the ground I'd lean on his throat, the stink of my breath bringing him out of his daze.

I'd whisper quietly as I take out my phone and take a photo of his face and any ID he might have.

“I don’t know who you are. I don’t know what you want. If you are looking for ransom, I can tell you I don’t have money. But what I do have are a very particular set of skills; skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you. If you let my daughter go now, that’ll be the end of it. I will not look for you, I will not pursue you. But if you don’t, I will look for you, I will find you, and I will kill you.”

Fail for trying too hard.

timthumbni wrote: »
    Well done that man. That is exactly the best way to deal with such a situation. Bravo.

And btw this coarse of action would not be applicable nor advisable to a lot of people. However you seemed to have took stock of your situation and made an educated decision.

IMO the only error you made was not kicking him in the balls.... Twice. The second kick really takes the biscuit. Lol.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 368 ✭✭Morph the Cat

Add in Clint Eastwood as well

And probably the worst-scripted, dumbest, most unrealistic movie scene ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Johngoose

Well done for standing up to him. I'm sure most people wouldn't have, despite what they say...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

GOOD MAN OP. Yeah I would've beaten him to a pulp for entertainment. They're not the best boxing bags most scummers cos they're all skin and bone. You can get some right Fatty McF*ck-Fats that are great for punching though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

it was the non actors they used in that movie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Fail for trying too hard.

Wehey, someone got the bollox kicked out of them today...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

I hope his balls are mangled and he cant repdroduce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭DublinArnie

I do Martial Arts so I would of just kicked him in the knee cap and run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

with the skang book bashing described... this came to mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

Seaneh wrote: »
    He was tracksuit clad

I'd wager theres fúck all protection in a pair of tracky bottoms, he may have a rethink of his attire next time he tries to pull a stunt like that. You may have taken a hands down the jocks ball scratcher off our streets too!

Fair play op

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Did the scummer know Karate, OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I love all these Junkie confrontation porn yarns. Anybody got some more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Pulsating Star

Fair play OP.
    I say that as you had time to think and still held your ground.

I had an incident on a south London high street in broad daylight where a guy with a penknife demanded money which I had clumsily allowed to drop and quickly recover. I had a full laundry bag with me so held it up between us while saying no several times while backing away.
    He was just an opportunist and besides the knife wast too scary. Thankfully he gave up but there was no euphoria of defiance on my part as I just reacted without thinking. When I got to the laundrette I started shaking , from shock I suppose at how it could have gone . As "Mcmoustache" said the whole thing seemed quite surreal and had I thought about it I suppose i would have just complied.

Edit: hadn't seen your post AC but happy to top up your cynicism quotient .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

And then a parody of what the PC brigade apparently say, even though they never actually say it:

And, still waiting...

I find that weird from a christian - aren't you guys supposed to be anti violence? Not criticising the OP - I think he was right to defend himself.

To be fair, the PC brigade isn't so much on Boards as it is in court.
    Number of people who get off for assaulting people after giving the judge some sob story is incredible. I can't really describe the rage I felt when I heard that the guy who stole my iPhone a week before Christmas had been in court before for the same offence, with a ridiculous number of previous convictions, and was let off scott free because of his uncontrollable heroin addiction. :mad:

anncoates wrote: »
    I love all these Junkie confrontation porn yarns. Anybody got some more?

Is there really that many junkies (as in heroin down in dublin. Being from up north I don't think I've ever seen a smack head on the street up here.

Surely dublin hasn't really that many junkies??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

He didn't seem like a junkie, or if he was one, he wasn't skagged out or on a comedown.

He just seemed like a little scrote who chanced his arm and failed. I'd say he was in his early 20's.

Just a skinny little scumbag, more than a zombie.

But yeah, the city centre, especially O'Connel street and it's surrounds is ****ing crawling with junkies.

timthumbni wrote: »
    Is there really that many junkies (as in heroin down in dublin. Being from up north I don't think I've ever seen a smack head on the street up here.

Surely dublin hasn't really that many junkies??
    I'm not from Dublin and whenever I visit there I see at least a few Junkies, no offence.Dublin has more defined socio-economic groupings I think. There are extremely disadvantaged, middle-class and affluent areas. I think the rest of the country is catching up however regarding "smack heads" meandering around main streets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭spankysue

Fair play OP, the world needs more people like you who aren't afraid to stand up to the scum.

I don't think I'd be so brave myself. To quote Spike Milligan, "I'm a hero with coward's legs".

Fair play Spankysue, I think most of the tough talking people here would **** themselves, in the situation the original poster was in.I think this guy should be admired for standing up to the scumbag. I think most of these other posters responding wouldn't beat eggs.