Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Culchie Areas in dublin

• 23-12-2013 7:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭

I just wondered if there is any particular areas in Dublin where its predominately culchies. I would say Drumcondra on the northside and Rathmines on the southside perhaps. Maybe there's somewhere I'm not thinking of.

Anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Wicklow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

What makes an area a culchie part of Dublin. Never thought that about any part of Dublin myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Coppers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

What makes an area a culchie part of Dublin. Never thought that about any part of Dublin myself.

people go around with straw in their teeth...I suppose somewhere where most culchies flock to(me being one), kind of like half of ireland's exported youth lives in Bondi-ok that's not true but you get the point;)

Coppers.

Yea or Leinster house :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Rho b

lufties wrote: »
    I just wondered if there is any particular areas in Dublin where its predominately culchies. I would say Drumcondra on the northside and Rathmines on the southside perhaps. Maybe there's somewhere I'm not thinking of.

Anyone?

Department of Finance.
    Department of Education.
    Department of Foreign Affairs.
    Department of Agriculture.
    Department of Social Protection.
    Department of Health.
    To name a few.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,462 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Croke park.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

Supermacs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

Seen a junkie trying to dig through concrete with a shovel in the City the other day.

So everywhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Cabra Park

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

garda stations

flannery's

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭john why

Lucan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Wicklow, Kildare, Meath, Louth, Westmeath, Laois, Wexford,...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Heuston Station.
    UCD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Any of the third-level education institutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

balbriggan. end of..I'm fairly sure it's an outpost of South Armagh. Or possibly Limerick...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Flannery's smoking area....Lynx Africa doused gaa jersey, bootcuts, black leather kickers, half pint of gel, 20 silk cut purple

garda stations

flannery's

Flannerys-'playing the same music as when you were last visited, in 2007'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Ballymun

Any place with 'Bally' in it's name is a culchie area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭Wordless

Ballymun

Such as Baile Atha Cliath?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭Wordless

Sir Oxman wrote: »
    Wicklow, Kildare, Meath, Louth, Westmeath, Laois, Wexford,...

If it ain't the Pale it ain't worth ****. God I love the elegance of the Saxon tongue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

Pop into the farmcenter on the Nass rd bluebell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭Hello_MrFox

The whole of Ireland is a culchie area really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

balbriggan. end of..I'm fairly sure it's an outpost of South Armagh. Or possibly Limerick...

Can't be Balbriggan, that's the capital of Nigeria....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Ballymun

Ballyfermot, na don't think so :D

• Registered Users Posts: 317 ✭✭hedgehog2

I used to love telling the jackeens how its the culchies running the show in the capital and the country.
    The truth hurts some of these guys as they think we are all eating turf outside the pale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

Anywhere there's a guinneys nearby

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

hedgehog2 wrote: »
    I used to love telling the jackeens how its the culchies running the show in the capital and the country.
    The truth hurts some of these guys as they think we are all eating turf outside the pale.

Culchie inferiority complex overload!

• Site Banned Posts: 263 ✭✭Rabelais

Rathmines is almost exclusively inhabited by sons and daughters of the soil. The remaining residents are AH posters who live in cold-water bedsits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Days 298

The whole country falls under the Irish stereotype. No escaping it us poor potato munchers!

Deflect the stereotype all you want on others. Still the same passport and the same stereotype to the rest if the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Days 298 wrote: »
    The whole country falls under the Irish stereotype. No escaping it us poor potato munchers!

Deflect the stereotype all you want on others. Still the same passport and the same stereotype to the rest if the world.

Please stop.

Us culchies would rather not be associated with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Anywhere within a heffers roar of The Portabello pub.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Anywhere there's a guinneys nearby

What is "guinneys"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭AndonHandon

I've heard a lot of dirty munster accents in the pubs of Ranelagh. Impure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭homemadecider

There's loads of boggers in Rathmines.

I've heard a lot of dirty munster accents in the pubs of Ranelagh. Impure.
    That can't be, sure any boggers in 'Renelagh' tend to put on south dublin accents to fit in :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

You gotta love Dublin's inferiority complex. It's always culchie this or culchie that. Cop on and stop embarrassing yourselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

ColeTrain wrote: »
    You gotta love Dublin's inferiority complex. It's always culchie this or culchie that. Cop on and stop embarrassing yourselves
    OP has self identified as a 'culchie'.

Phoebas wrote: »

He's of pure blood then, good for him

Phoebas wrote: »

He's of pure blood then, good for him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Anywhere within a heffers roar of The Portabello pub.

This could be misconstrued to be an insult by Heffo fans or vegans :D

I met an Irish lad in Oz who said back home they call him a 'dublin culchie', which translated to something along the lines of 'I have the streetwise element of a towny, but the 'down to the earth-ness' of a culchie, ok he didn't use them words , but thats what he meant.

I cringed:o...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭EmptyTree

Camden street

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Ballymun

Ballywaltrim
    Ballybrack
    Ballyfermot
    Ballybough

Yea, you're onto something... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Ballywaltrim
    Ballybrack
    Ballyfermot
    Ballybough

Yea, you're onto something... :D
    Wordless wrote: »
    Such as Baile Atha Cliath?
    realies wrote: »
    Ballyfermot, na don't think so :D

Jaysus lads I was taking the piss. You hardly thought I was serious saying Ballymun was a culchie area.

This deserves a --> :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

ColeTrain wrote: »

2 words.

Sam Maguire. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Castleknock to me is a bit culchieish - all these fifty year olds who bought there when they firsht moved up to de big shmoke and made a bit of money buying and renting out flats in ranelagh in the 70's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

this made me chuckle,an outpost of south armagh,possibly limerick :)
    your not far off the mark to be fair,its gotten really bad up there recently,i actually started a thread today on the north county Dublin forum about how bad its becoming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

chughes wrote: »
    Can't be Balbriggan, that's the capital of Nigeria....

or balgeria,as the local taxi men jokingly refer to the town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭Dickie10

would ballbriggan be seen as culchie i mean its all farms around it? barney rock has a pure couuntry accent, it as good as meath!
    how about saggart? loads of sheep around there, and the airport has fields of spuds all around it? how do dubs categorise the farmers from rush,lusk,swords,saggart or lucan? are they not culchies? or is culchieland only outside the pale?
    most people say inside the pale is not culchie, so then 75% of meath is not culchie and 80% of louth, i think a small bit of kildare around maynnoth and celbridge is also inside the pale. the pale border went through my village, it was a garrisson set up to keep the savages back! yet im a farmer from meath! and all these years i thought i was a culchie, better get my ralph lauren shirt on and attend to the horses so