Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Something's ticking in my house..

• 23-12-2013 11:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

Just got home from my last day in work this year to find something in my house is ticking. Now, I had a few beers, but not enough to cause random hallucinogenic ticking. It's not a clock and it's not the heating. WTF???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Kaboom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Radiator heating?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Reminded me of this! :D

It's the clockwork men from madame de pompadour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

A cable or branch outside tapping against the window because of the wind? I used to be trying to figure out what a ticking in my place was too, and that was the answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,912 ✭✭✭✭Eeden

A leak in the ceiling?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

It's your biological clock.

Run outside and ride somebody, quick!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭SeanPuddin

This bastard:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Deathwatch_beetle

Thought I was losing my mind...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭chrismon

Do you have an analogue time clock for your heating?
    It could be that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Bomb. 100%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

A cable or branch outside tapping against the window because of the wind? I used to be trying to figure out what a ticking in my place was too, and that was the answer.

Nah - at first I thought it was rain, but it's not raining.

It's your biological clock.

Run outside and ride somebody, quick!!

No. It's cold outside.

bluewolf wrote: »
    scary puppets

I just watched that with the sound down. Very disturbing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭ShatterProof

Timer switch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Tinnitus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Aestivalis

Skrrk! Skrrk! Skrrk!

• Registered Users Posts: 127 ✭✭garde2k10

McChubbin wrote: »
    Reminded me of this! :D

was just about to link it haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

You're so broody this time of year.
    Don't have kids though, you'll become no craic after you do :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

I think I have found what your ticking noise is...

Well, no, it's not the heating. That was the first thing I checked. Heating on or or off it's still going. Doesn't seem to be coming from attic either. Sounds like a kid hitting a stick off another stick right inside my front door. And I took those fecking sticks off that stupid kid.

You're so broody this time of year.
    Don't have kids though, you'll become no craic after you do :(

Says the man knitting pink booties..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,337 ✭✭✭Archeron

Listen very carefully to where it's coming from, and just as you've almost narrowed it down....it will stop. I remember this from when I lived in an in old house when I was a kid, used to freak me out. Haven't heard someone mention it in yonks.

Crabs?

Or maybe some of these bucks that chased Tom Selleck?

Probably an insect like this ?

• Registered Users Posts: 151 ✭✭lemd

Deathwatch beetle, is it an old house?

Thanks guys. Yeah - probably crabs / insects / serial killer.

I'd prefer the serial killer.

Are you sure ? ;)

lemd wrote: »
    Deathwatch beetle, is it an old house?

Yep - fairly old. But well maintained I thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭lau1247

zenno wrote: »
    Are you sure ? ;)

probably meant cereal killer :pac:

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

• Registered Users Posts: 35 mustard_igloo

Could it be mice in the walls?

The stuf nightmares are made of..

zenno wrote: »
    Are you sure ? ;)

Yep. I may be able to reason with a serial killer. Have you ever tried reasoning with a beetle??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

deathwatch beetle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

Disregard the next ten or so pms....... :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

I had this problem last week -- you need to unwind your chess timer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭WellThen?

Vibrator?

Could it be mice in the walls?

The stuf nightmares are made of..

I wouldn't mind mice so much - couple of humane traps. Plus, mice don't tick.

Valmont wrote: »
    I had this problem last week -- you need to unwind your chess timer.

Another chess timer-related scare..
    WellThen? wrote: »
    Vibrator?

What kind of vibrator goes "tick"?

• Registered Users Posts: 35 mustard_igloo

I wouldn't mind mice so much - couple of humane traps. Plus, mice don't tick.

Sometimes the noise of them can be confused. But don't listen to me I just got 9 out of 13 on that science quiz thread. Tbh, I'm only short of telling you Anne Franks living in your gaff. :D

I had this ticking sound years ago, and I was looking everywhere for it's location and I ended up in the spare room where there was a typewriter in a case and it sounded like it was coming from inside it.

I opened the typewriter bag and inside was 7 gold and silver rings that my father lost months before. The ticking sound ceased then. So it might be an omen...track it down, there could be gold or silver inside.

• Registered Users Posts: 8 Paruparo

If it's inside your door, is it the disc spinning in the electricity meter?

I lived in an old house before and you could see the disc spinning. If I put on a shower or something, it would speed up.

I'm only short of telling you Anne Franks living in your gaff. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Just got home from my last day in work this year to find something in my house is ticking. Now, I had a few beers, but not enough to cause random hallucinogenic ticking. It's not a clock and it's not the heating. WTF???

Central heating causing pipes to expand 'ticking' /creaking against cold wooden floorboards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

What's the address so we can monitor it on google street and make sure nobody breaks in while you're getting some sleep :P
    Boards can be like that service where people use CCTV cameras to monitor parks and whatnot. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5 Iridium66

Are you still talking about your house?

[Yay! my first AH answer]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭lau1247

What kind of vibrator goes "tick"?

This kind

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

Clockwork monkey with cymbals?

Poltergeist?

Clockwork monkey with cymbals?

Poltergeist?

Aren't both of those things evil?

Nah, in the cold light of day, it turns out I was just clicking my fingers.

Now, what the fuck is that Christmas-themed humming noise...

Have you checked for a Safe in your floor that you until now did not know was there - but you have neither key nor combination to?