Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dog owners opinions of meeting a puppy german shepherd of 1yr with no muzzle

• 25-12-2013 10:21pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭

She is quite big now and not dangerous, I only met two people in my whole 10 months of walking her that did not like her.

Kids and parents always like her....

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Legally she should be muzzled.

Do you keep her on a lead?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭euser1984

I do keep her on a lead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭VonVix

There are people with preconceived ideas of certain dog breeds, and large ones can be intimidating no matter what. In my time working with dogs I have never met a german shepherd I had problems with. I judge a dog on its character, not its breed.

[Dog Training + Behaviour Nerd]

• Registered Users Posts: 113 ✭✭puppieperson

euser1984 wrote: »
    She is quite big now and not dangerous, I only met two people in my whole 10 months of walking her that did not like her.

Kids and parents always like her....[/QUO

I feel soo sorry for dogs these days so many cowardly people who know nothing about animals cos their parents just passed on their fears to them. I got a GS when i was born the puppy was put in my cot on my baptism day by my grandfather. When asked why he did this he said i am am giving her a present for life and he had done i have owned and loved and trusted many dogs in my life of 50 years, the frenzy of fear about dogs is epidemic at the moment and bloody ridiculous . bad people and bad handlers make bad dogs . Like people dogs are not born bad they become bad because of the people they have to associate with. Good for you if you dog is soo well socialised dont give into the muzzle,:) soon they will be putting them on old ladies!!!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭toadfly

Wouldn't bother me but it would a lot of people. I have a staffie that I always walk on lead but never muzzled. Haven't had any issues thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭dharma200

The only issue I had when my dog was muzzled is another dog who was un leashed attacked him and he couldn't defend himself, I Had to watch my dog get bitten to bits while the other dogs owner to prize his dog off mine. I didn't let go of my own dogs leash and it was horrific.
    Unless dog displays any aggression I would not muzzle etc I am totally against breed specific legislation and muzzling just because some idiot thought is it ok to treat a dog by breed, not by it's nature.

• Registered Users Posts: 171 ✭✭Pixie Chief

It's always the lead that would matter to me, don't care about a muzzle particularly. Incidentally, not interested in what breed a dog is - have had as much trouble with small dogs off the lead as big. The important thing, IMO, is that every dog out in public needs to be under effective control and not causing issues for other people using those same public spaces. If that miracle were to be accomplished, there would be no need for muzzles etc. Also agree that breed legislation is pointless, people will still be upset/injured/frightened/intimidated by others dogs of different breeds until we have responsible ownership. Breed legislation misses the point entirely.

• Registered Users Posts: 165 ✭✭Rosier

Stheno wrote: »
    Legally she should be muzzled.

Do you keep her on a lead?

so what would in fact happen if a dog warden saw her.... and took action according to that law..... is it worth it,, and i totally agree with posters re dogs by the way but there are dog wardens who abide closely to the law

• Registered Users Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭euser1984

Rosier wrote: »
    so what would in fact happen if a dog warden saw her.... and took action according to that law..... is it worth it,, and i totally agree with posters re dogs by the way but there are dog wardens who abide closely to the law

Are you obliged to give them your personal details if they ask though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Why won't you use a muzzle? Does the dog not like it or do you think she should not have it.
    I find GS very likeable and intelligent dogs but all it takes is that it meets and bites another dog/person/cat and things will go pear shaped fast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭b_mac

As far as I'm concernd, if a membet of AGS was not with them, I would just ignore them.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,770 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

b_mac wrote: »
    As far as I'm concernd, if a membet of AGS was not with them, I would just ignore them.

If you're out in public walking your dog, it is an offense not to give a dog warden your details when asked, if he/she has formed the opinion that an offense is being, or has been carried out. They hold a ministerial warrant that give them this power, as do all law-enforcement officers of this State, which they have the power to execute as long as you're engaging in any activity which their warrant covers.

Edited to add: here's the Section of the Control of Dogs Act 1986 which pertains to powers of dog wardens:
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1986/en/act/pub/0032/sec0016.html#sec16

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭juniord

always carry a muzzle with you and if a warden or garda asks you to put it on then just put it on and that will more than likely be the end of it

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭Kukey

I use this muzzle http://www.amazon.co.uk/Trixie-Muzzle-Loop-Large-Black/dp/B000WFJ24I for my Shepherd.
    The Warden can impound your dog if he catches you with no muzzle on her.
    The muzzle above doesn't look as bad as normal muzzles and your dog has room
    To breathe and pant.
    I have an xl size one as you can adjust them and I found L size a bit small.
    There is also €160 on the spot fine for having an unmuzzled dog out in public.

Kukey wrote: »
    I use this muzzle http://www.amazon.co.uk/Trixie-Muzzle-Loop-Large-Black/dp/B000WFJ24I for my Shepherd.
    The Warden can impound your dog if he catches you with no muzzle on her.
    The muzzle above doesn't look as bad as normal muzzles and your dog has room
    To breathe and pant.
    I have an xl size one as you can adjust them and I found L size a bit small.
    There is also €160 on the spot fine for having an unmuzzled dog out in public.

Impound your dog? Just for arguments sake, lets say you had your dog on a leash without a muzzle, the dog warden can approach you and physically take your dog from you?

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭Kukey

Yes I'm serious,he stopped me one day in his van and told me he could impound my dog for not wearing a muzzle,it was hanging around her neck and she was on the lead.
    My friend was also told the same thing,he had no muzzle with him at the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭juniord

i think you will find they have to take a court case to impound a dog ,

Yes I'm serious,he stopped me one day in his van and told me he could impound my dog for not wearing a muzzle,it was hanging around her neck and she was on the lead.

Wow, I had no idea they had them powers. Even still I wouldn't give him/her my personal details and even more so let him/her near my dog without Gardai being there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

The law is to have them muzzled, why did you get this breed of dog if you are not prepared to follow the law? If you are against muzzles, you should have chosen a different breed of dog that isn't required to be muzzled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

this is a BS tactic with no legal grounding. the most he can do is an on the spot fine and even then its hard for it to stick as you can argue the muzzle snapped on that particular walk and you're bringing the dog straight home.

they tried it with me once and i told him to feck off and learn the law. i had a muzzle in my hand and i told him that the muzzle would be on her before he had a chance to get anyone else involved. he drove of muttering under his breath.

Boombastic wrote: »
    The law is to have them muzzled, why did you get this breed of dog if you are not prepared to follow the law? If you are against muzzles, you should have chosen a different breed of dog that isn't required to be muzzled.

the law is wrong and can be very dangerous in some situations. if the law is wrong, as people we have the right to choose civil disobedience and deal with the consequences ourselves (without the need for internet warriors telling us what breed we should or shouldnt keep).

this is a BS tactic with no legal grounding. the most he can do is an on the spot fine and even then its hard for it to stick as you can argue the muzzle snapped on that particular walk and you're bringing the dog straight home.

they tried it with me once and i told him to feck off and learn the law. i had a muzzle in my hand and i told him that the muzzle would be on her before he had a chance to get anyone else involved. he drove of muttering under his breath.

Haha brilliant. I was thinking the same. I'm in a state job and I know anytime we are an aid to the civil power, we havd no power to do anything without a member of AGS being there.

this is a BS tactic with no legal grounding. the most he can do is an on the spot fine ..........
    the law is wrong and can be very dangerous in some situations. ......

You say the law is wrong, yet your first comment indicates you don't know what the law is.

I suppose there will always be irreponsible dog owners.

i should also be clear that my bitch was under control and calmly sat down while we were talking.

if you have a psycho dog then a muzzle is probably a safer bet.

You say the law is wrong, yet your first comment indicates you don't know what the law is.

I suppose there will always be irreponsible dog owners.

so tell us the law then...

yea im irresponsible. ask anyone that frequents these forums. im the most irresonsible dog owner ever. :rolleyes:

so tell us the law then...

yea im irresponsible. ask anyone that frequents these forums. im the most irresonsible dog owner ever. :rolleyes:

It's linked above, i'm sure you can manage to click on it and access it yourself

Ask the people on the form what type of dog owner you are ??.......you could be one of those internet warriors you reffered to earlier. From what we do know you disregard the law that requires you to muzzle your dog, therefore irresponsible

It's linked above, i'm sure you can manage to click on it and access it yourself

Ask the people on the form what type of dog owner you are ??.......you could be one of those internet warriors you reffered to earlier.

i can access it, i know the law and a dog warden cannot take your dog off you without the involvment of AGS.

my staffy has a CH title and is heavily involved with sports and showing. she's perfectly behaved and has met many boards.ie users at various shows and stuff. i just happen to believe the law is wrong and refuse to muzzle her when there is no need.

there are plenty of other laws that i ignore too. refusing to bend over doesnt make one irresponsible, blindly following laws that are wrong does.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,770 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

Impound your dog? Just for arguments sake, lets say you had your dog on a leash without a muzzle, the dog warden can approach you and physically take your dog from you?
    juniord wrote: »
    i think you will find they have to take a court case to impound a dog ,

To those who posted the above two quoted posts, refer to Section 16, paragraph (b) of the 1986 Control of Dogs Act, which I have linked to above. The law is black and white... If you're breaking the law with your dog, you stand to have it seized there and then.
    Wow, I had no idea they had them powers. Even still I wouldn't give him/her my personal details and even more so let him/her near my dog without Gardai being there.

The warden has the powers to ask for your details without AGS being present. Your refusal to deal with the warden puts you in breach of a far more serious breach than not, for example, having your dog muzzled. You could be charged with impeding an authorised officer acting under his/her warrant.

There is legal grounding, as above, it's Section 16, paragraph (b) of the Act. Stop misinforming people.
    A broken muzzle is not a defence. It is the owner's responsibility to have their rb muzzled, you'd bevrelying on the goodwill of the warden to be relying on this excuse.
    the law is wrong and can be very dangerous in some situations. if the law is wrong, as people we have the right to choose civil disobedience and deal with the consequences ourselves (without the need for internet warriors telling us what breed we should or shouldnt keep).

Good luck with that. The law may be wrong, but I'd be slow to use civil disobedience as my defence in front of the judge, if I wasn't trying to avoid jail time.
    Haha brilliant. I was thinking the same. I'm in a state job and I know anytime we are an aid to the civil power, we havd no power to do anything without a member of AGS being there.

Do you carry a warrant under your employment? Not many civil servants carry warrants, but public servants engaged in law enforcement, including dog wardens, do carry warrants and do not need to have a Guard with them, unless executing a court warrant to search a private dwelling.

DBB wrote: »
    There is legal grounding, as above, it's Section 16, paragraph (b) of the Act. Stop misinforming people.
    A broken muzzle is not a defence. It is the owner's responsibility to have their rb muzzled, you'd bevrelying on the goodwill of the warden to be relying on this excuse.

fair enough, i misread it..

BUT in fairness no dog warden would be taking my dog and i doubt anyone else would let them. so whats the point of the law? unless there is a copper with them, how exactly can they seize the dog? whats to stop you walking away and disappearing around the corner?

they must be aware of this or not bothered because when i challenged him he backed down.

DBB wrote: »
    Do you carry a warrant under your employment? Not many civil servants carry warrants, but public servants engaged in law enforcement, including dog wardens, do carry warrants and do not need to have a Guard with them, unless executing a court warrant to search a private dwelling.

Our warrant only stands to protect and aid the civil power i.e AGS, so obviously they have to be there. A bad example, so I apologise.

Thanks for clearing everything up though.