Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ring Of Kerry Charity Cycle 2014

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭BailMeOut

already mentioned but if you have never experienced the ROK cycle there is a documentary about it on TG4 today at 3pm that was filmed last year.

ROK Documentary 19th Jan 2014 3pm TG4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Masala

already mentioned but if you have never experienced the ROK cycle there is a
    documentary about it on TG4 today at 3pm that was filmed last year.

ROK Documentary 19th Jan 2014 3pm TG4

Well... what did ye think of it?? Tame enough...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Masala wrote: »
    Well... what did ye think of it?? Tame enough...
    What were you expecting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Grassey

Be nice if there was more about the cycle and less about adopting a sheep... God she was woeful, shouldn't be let on TV!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭funnights74

I thought it was decent enough. It covered the basics, the charities, a few cyclists and some local interest trivia. Considering how big the day is it done ok for a 25 minute programme.

What had footsteps in the rock in Valencia got to do with it??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Was that a boardsie jersey rolling up in the background when the two founder lads were chatting at the start?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭tacklemore

I thought it was grand, had a bit of everything. Charities, cyclists, some of the sights, and some of the random things that are in Kerry.
    Also, couldn't fault Ciara, she did seem genuinely interested in it. It could have been given an hour easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,139 ✭✭✭buffalo

Does anyone know how long it takes TG4 to get programmes added to their player? No sign of this yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭jinkypolly

buffalo wrote: »
    Does anyone know how long it takes TG4 to get programmes added to their player? No sign of this yet.

Not sure but this should keep you going for a while, kinda sums up the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭thesimpsons

great programme - I'm in it :D blink and you'd have missed me though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Listrydude

wonderful programme. Did my first ROK last year and registered online as I was doing the ring for me - just wanted to colpete it. Doing it for MND charity this year, one of the charities chosen. The programme brought it all back to me and sent shivers up my spine. Watching the cyclists cross the line brought a tear to my eye, just as it did last July!!

Did last years cycle on a hybrid, which I'm after upgrading to a Sprcialized Allez. Collected it Sat and took it for a spin this morning. The training has restarted!! lol! Bring on the ROK 2014!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Stollaire

buffalo wrote: »

Generally the next day. I see they have other shows that were on yesterday up already but no sign of the Ring of Kerry programme.

Wasn't great anyway; you're missing nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Listrydude wrote: »
    wonderful programme. Did my first ROK last year and registered online as I was doing the ring for me - just wanted to colpete it. Doing it for MND charity this year, one of the charities chosen. The programme brought it all back to me and sent shivers up my spine. Watching the cyclists cross the line brought a tear to my eye, just as it did last July!!

Did last years cycle on a hybrid, which I'm after upgrading to a Sprcialized Allez. Collected it Sat and took it for a spin this morning. The training has restarted!! lol! Bring on the ROK 2014!!

Oh tell me about it! When they showed fellow cyclists reaching up to Molls Gap in particular my face lit up! Still remember that as if it were yesterday. The camaraderie on that stretch was brilliant - as soon as people reached the top; the bikes were dropped and they went down a section to cheer and support those coming up next. Oh just brilliant being part of that camaraderie! The party-atmosphere at the top; the sound of the free-wheeling letting it all go en route down to Ladies View :)

Expected more considering the hype that made my way about it; but still going by ^^^ I can say it was good to watch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭eoz

What's the elevation gain for the 180k?

eoz wrote: »

1600m ish
    tis fairly flat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Stollaire wrote: »
    Generally the next day. I see they have other shows that were on yesterday up already but no sign of the Ring of Kerry programme.

Wasn't great anyway; you're missing nothing.
    Do a search on their site and it will come up. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭eoz

1600m ish
    tis fairly flat

Wow that's a lot!!!

only 2 hills, theyre not steep, just drags.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

it's not really 180km, more like 165km if you were to go straight around with no detours for food stops etc. and the gain is 1200m. here is my garmin track from last year

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/338697788

it's not really 180km, more like 165km if you were to go straight around with
    no detours for food stops etc

Strange that... so why are they selling it every year at 180kms /112 miles. There is hardly 15kms of detours.

Are you correct on this....am sure that I looked at someone's Garmin on the finish line a few years ago and it showed 179+ kms ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭nordicb

171k and 1600m gain on my garmin, which makes me wonder if Garmin actually takes into account the distance on hills, or it sees everything flat (geo position). In other words, if I go up the vertical ladder, would that score 0m?

Strange that... so why are they selling it every year at 180kms /112 miles. There is hardly 15kms of detours.

Are you correct on this....am sure that I looked at someone's Garmin on the finish line a few years ago and it showed 179+ kms ???

i can only say what my garmin showed. that included starting down the muckross road where we were staying, cycling up to the start(we were there for the official start), going right around, going right into kenmare to go to the food stop and over the finish line again in killarney again so if anything it's a bit too long.

guys with me all measured similar. the map is in the link so if anyone can spot where i took a shortcut that killed 20km I'm happy to retract my comment, but otherwise i'm pretty confident it's not 180km.

guys with me all measured similar

Cool....just been boasting for past number of years about being able to do 180km to all friends and relatives !! Now feel a fraud!!

ah it's close enough. the only food stop we used was the kenmare one, if you went in and out of the others you might have tacked on a couple of extra km:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭jinkypolly

nordicb wrote: »
    171k and 1600m gain on my garmin, which makes me wonder if Garmin actually takes into account the distance on hills, or it sees everything flat (geo position).

Wouldn't really make a difference, with those numbers a climb of 1.6k over a distance of 171k only adds 7 meters to the overall distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Grassey

Funnily enough my Garmin says 2134m ascent over 171.5km...

Much better bragging rights than 1600 ;-)

Grassey wrote: »
    Funnily enough my Garmin says 2134m ascent over 171.5km...

Much better bragging rights than 1600 ;-)

did you carry the bike up the hotel stairs with you or something?:)

(actually i did that, didn't trust the bike in the car overnight)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭madrabui

codie wrote: »
    Sneem always seems to be the worst .I had to come off the bike in Sneem last year due to 3 omegos walking with their bikes smack bang in the middle of the road and they sauntering away with not a worry in the world.I know they are new people every year but a little common sense would go a long way.I think it might work if they push everyone toward the left,where the y in the middle of the village is or look at having a feed station in Sneem.Sure there is somewhere to have a feed station like a Gaa club or somewhere thats off the main road.

The food stop is off the main road. It's at the Sneem hotel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭numorouno

madrabui wrote: »
    The food stop is off the main road. It's at the Sneem hotel.

Nobody goes there really. Everyone stops in the square or goes to a coffee shop which might be the problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭boydkev

I did this last year and hoping to do it again for one of the chosen charities. Did it with a friend who had done it before and enjoyed every minute of it and the atmosphere was unreal.
    My strava has the distance as 172km and 1758m elevation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭trek climber

My strava has 170.2k with 1452m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭thesimpsons

good old lidl unit measured 171km last year :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Ron_Noco

Rumour on the ground last year was that they breeched the 8500 limit by a nice bit, apparently it was closer to 10,000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭shaka

Ron_Noco wrote: »
    Rumour on the ground last year was that they breeched the 8500 limit by a nice bit, apparently it was closer to 10,000

Official entrants or ones who didnt pay? Thought the rolling road closures took care of any of the non paying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Ron_Noco

shaka wrote: »
    Official entrants or ones who didnt pay? Thought the rolling road closures took care of any of the non paying

It was probably hard to keep track of how many entrants each charity was allocated as some of the more well known charities were much better represented ...

The nominated Charities for this years Ring of Kerry Charity cycle have been announced.
    Acquired Brain Injury – Kerry Services.
    Ard Cúram Day Care Centre – North Kerry.
    Irish Red Cross – Tralee Branch.
    Kerry Friends of Motor Neurone.
    Kerry Hospice Foundation/Palliative Care.
    Kerry Parents & Friends Association.
    NSAC/Kerry Stars Special Olympics Club.
    Pieta House - Suicide Crisis Centre, Self Harm Crisis Centre.
    Valentia Island Cottage Hospital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 stevomet

The nominated Charities for this years Ring of Kerry Charity cycle have been announced.
    Acquired Brain Injury – Kerry Services.
    Ard Cúram Day Care Centre – North Kerry.
    Irish Red Cross – Tralee Branch.
    Kerry Friends of Motor Neurone.
    Kerry Hospice Foundation/Palliative Care.
    Kerry Parents & Friends Association.
    NSAC/Kerry Stars Special Olympics Club.
    Pieta House - Suicide Crisis Centre, Self Harm Crisis Centre.
    Valentia Island Cottage Hospital.
    How do you go about registering with one of these charities, or is it too early yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭lescol

Valentia Cottage Hospital is proud to announce, it has been selected as one of the main beneficiaries in the Ring of Kerry Cycle 2014. We appeal to you to cycle for Valentia Cottage Hospital to raise the necessary funds to provide a safe and warm environment for our elderly community.

Join us on July 5th in cycling the Ring of Kerry for Valentia Hospital.

For further details contact:
    Tony 086-22666374
    Marie 087-3918726
    Colette 087-3322374
    valentiachw@gmail.com

Here are the details for Valentia Hospital :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 KenDowling

Pieta contacted me 2 weeks ago as I fundraised for them last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

stevomet wrote: »
    How do you go about registering with one of these charities, or is it too early yet?

According to this, online registrations will be open in March so not long to go :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭BailMeOut

looks like someone was eventually arrested for the hit and run that claimed the life of Paud O'Leary. Paul was was out training for the ROK two years ago when he was hit and killed by a driver a few days before the event. Hopefully this will bring some closure to his wife and four children. RIP Paul.

Arrest at Heathrow after fatal hit-and-run in Kerry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Quicktwo

Any body know the link to the video footage for the 2013 ROK, I missed it.

That documentary aired on tg4 on the 19th of January but there's no sign of it on their website/player. Some out takes are on you tube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭bazzer86

Registration for the cycle is open on 24th March. Does it book out every year pretty quickly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 KenDowling

Sure does

bazzer86 wrote: »
    Registration for the cycle is open on 24th March. Does it book out every year pretty quickly?

I wouldn't leave it too long. Also i see that accommodation is more or less booked out unless you pay a small fortune or go down the hostel route.

Yeah I don't plan on putting it on the long finger as Id imagine that both entries and accommodation will be booked out in no time. Interesting that accommodation is almost booked out already, suppose there are also some good places to stay in places like Killorglin

bazzer86 wrote: »
    . Interesting that accommodation is almost booked out already,

booked my room last November, and imagine a lot of others did likewise...

mossym wrote: »
    booked my room last November, and imagine a lot of others did likewise...

Wow, just checked the prices on booking.com for accommodation for that weekend :eek::eek::eek: