Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ring Of Kerry Charity Cycle 2014

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Listrydude

bazzer86 wrote: »
    Yeah I don't plan on putting it on the long finger as Id imagine that both entries and accommodation will be booked out in no time. Interesting that accommodation is almost booked out already, suppose there are also some good places to stay in places like Killorglin

funny thing about Killorglin is there are no hotels there at all!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭lismore7

Booked my room last November as well.
    Was already too late to get into any of the 3 big hotels in Kilarney with swim pools, as they had been booked moths before that!!!

My first time to do ROK and staying 2 nights....what's the criac like on the Saturday night after the event?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

lismore7 wrote: »

My first time to do ROK and staying 2 nights....what's the criac like on the Saturday night after the event?

cracking. was crazy last year, cork were playing kerry the following day in killarney, it was the middle of the warm spell, and the whole town was hopping. We were finished by 2pm and spent the afternoon drinking cold pints in the sun watching the cyclists roll in. great crack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭lismore7

mossym wrote: »
    cracking. was crazy last year, cork were playing kerry the following day in killarney, it was the middle of the warm spell, and the whole town was hopping. We were finished by 2pm and spent the afternoon drinking cold pints in the sun watching the cyclists roll in. great crack

Sounds like my kinda weekend......:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭funnights74

In a word, mighty, if like last year they use the new car park in the town center where everything is central. Even scattered throughout the town lots of people munching and re-hydrating post cycle, an essential part of the day, swapping stories with live music blaring in the background. Hopefully the weather will behave itself again :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭bazzer86

So what's a good strategy for doing it? I hear a good way is to make your way to Cahirciveen in a reasonable time, take a good break there and then just tipp on from town to town after that taking it handy and taking breaks in each town? Aim for 8 hours? Is that a reasonably achievable time? Not looking to put the head down and flake on for the full ring either

get the work done in advance so you can enjoy it. if you;re not regularly going to be doing 100km+ rides over the summer anyway, then you need a bit of a training plan to get up to the distance.

that's the advance bit though, get that done then on the day you don;t have to worry about reasonable times or targets, head out, enjoy the crack, stop where you feel like it, don;t where you don't. if you;re not used to hills a stop in kenmare can be good to give you a break before molls, but molls isn't half as tough as people get in their heads it will be in advance. i reckon people i saw were struggling more going up derrynane than molls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Stollaire

Training is the best strategy.

I used this training plan

Worked really well for me; I also commute 23km by bike every day.
    Get a lot of hills in your legs. I done reps of Howth Hill from the Sutton side during the week. Map out routes from Dublin to Enniskerry etc for the weekends (I'm assuming you're in Dublin)
    The max distance I completed before the ROK was around 110km.

Then on the day take it nice and handy and enjoy, It's not a race.
    The hills are grand too and with the training it'll feel real good.

I know some people who swore to never do it again after completing it!
    They had very little training done.
    I personally was sad it was over and would have gladly done it again the next day.
    Which I kinda did; cycled from Killarney to Ventry after a mighty feed of pints the night before.

Learn some basic bike maintenance as well: replace tubes, fix a broken chain etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭BailMeOut

We were finished by 2pm

How the heck did you finish by 2pm?!!!

BailMeOut wrote: »

had to go back and look, it was 3pm. we started at 7.30. moving time of 6:41. That was taking it handy the whole away around, average speed was 20 to 25% down due to the sheer mass of cyclists on the road, there was no point in pushing it

get the work done in advance so you can enjoy it. if you;re not regularly going to be doing 100km+ rides over the summer anyway, then you need a bit of a training plan to get up to the distance.

that's the advance bit though, get that done then on the day you don;t have to worry about reasonable times or targets, head out, enjoy the crack, stop where you feel like it, don;t where you don't. if you;re not used to hills a stop in kenmare can be good to give you a break before molls, but molls isn't half as tough as people get in their heads it will be in advance. i reckon people i saw were struggling more going up derrynane than molls

Yeah, Getting a bit of training in will be essential to be fair... Its a long slog on a bike and without training it would be a nightmare...

The plan is to not have any targets, tipp away at a handy pace and enjoy the atmosphere (but still have the strava on just for that stats :D )

Im hearing a lot about Molls Gap and how tough it is... Iv done the skellig Ring last year with my girlfriend, and id be shocked if the Molls Gap climb is as tough as the Coomanaspic climb coming out of Portmagee, so hopefully that will stand to us...

Stollaire wrote: »
    Training is the best strategy.

I used this training plan

Worked really well for me; I also commute 23km by bike every day.
    Get a lot of hills in your legs. I done reps of Howth Hill from the Sutton side during the week. Map out routes from Dublin to Enniskerry etc for the weekends (I'm assuming you're in Dublin)
    The max distance I completed before the ROK was around 110km.

Then on the day take it nice and handy and enjoy, It's not a race.
    The hills are grand too and with the training it'll feel real good.

I know some people who swore to never do it again after completing it!
    They had very little training done.
    I personally was sad it was over and would have gladly done it again the next day.
    Which I kinda did; cycled from Killarney to Ventry after a mighty feed of pints the night before.

Learn some basic bike maintenance as well: replace tubes, fix a broken chain etc

Thanks for sending on the programme, that is great to have... Its ideal as there is 16 weeks to go and the evenings are back.. My work are starting a weekly cycle so that will stand to me...

Im based in Limerick, normally mountain bike in ballyhoura so all this road biking is new to me in the last few weeks... Will definitely not be taking the training for granted as a lack of would ruin it... Among others, im really looking forward to the stretch of road called the mountain stage between Glenbeigh and Kells... Great stretch of road for cycling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Uberbeamerman

Just take your time and enjoy the day (I leave the watch behind, the phone on silent and the Garmin is set to distance and not speed). True Cahirciveen is the first stop, but what stands out for me each year is the people you meet on the road (the craic does be had), plus the scenery on the way to Cahirciveen is beautiful. Just take your time, enjoy the day, have the craic....the large crowds doing it make it very hard to go anywhere quickly anyway.

and id be shocked if the Molls Gap climb is as tough as the Coomanaspic climb coming out of Portmagee, so hopefully that will stand to us...

molls is not as steep, but much longer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭BailMeOut

Killarney to Cahirceeen is very flat and you will get there before you know it and (official) stop for for tea, sandwiches and cake. At this stage you are about 1/3 way around. Then on for another relatively easily spin to Waterville and the day's first climb up to Coomakista where you do another quick stop/rest. Then back down into Sneem for another (unofficial) stop (Ice Cream in Sneem is the tradition) and at this stage you are about 2/3's way around. Then there is the long and eternal stretch from Sneem to Kenmare that goes on forever but quite flat most of the way. Then into Kenmare for yet again another (official) stop and more tea, sandwiches and cake! From Kenmare you now just 10kms to the top of Molls gap where you will rest again before freewheeling all the way back home into Killarney.

The day goes fast and you will enjoy every minute of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭shaka

Im hearing a lot about Molls Gap and how tough it is... Iv done the skellig Ring last year with my girlfriend, and id be shocked if the Molls Gap climb is as tough as the Coomanaspic climb coming out of Portmagee,

Molls Gap is fine , not steep but just long and seems much longer because of where it comes on the cycle-near the end when your tired. Pace yourself and you will be ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭Sikpupi

I found the stop in Kenmare to be a killer cos after the rest and the food- it was straight into the Molls climb. There is a fair drag right from the petrol station!

So last year - I stopped at Sneem and went straight up Molls with no stopping at Kenmare and found that I was better able to cycle up as legs were well warmed up and actually surprised myself that I was not struggling.

So...thinking this year I'll do the same but will have a quick pint in Spillanes instead of the Sneem stop and lets see how that goes!!

Sikpupi wrote: »
    I found the stop in Kenmare to be a killer cos after the rest and the food- it was straight into the Molls climb. There is a fair drag right from the petrol station!

So last year - I stopped at Sneem and went straight up Molls with no stopping at Kenmare and found that I was better able to cycle up as legs were well warmed up and actually surprised myself that I was not struggling.

So...thinking this year I'll do the same but will have a quick pint in Spillanes instead of the Sneem stop and lets see how that goes!!

I was thinking of doing exactly that this year, last year i lost a lot of momentum and had dead legs after our stop at the petrol station in Kenmare, i really struggled on the climb so this year i'll use Sneem as my last proper stop and hopefully have better legs up to molls gap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

I was finished by 1pm having started at 7ish and taking a 30min coffee break at the excellent French patisserie in Caherciveen.
    You would be surprised at the times people start and finish.

For the past few years there have been a continual stream of cyclists sternly in Kenmare between 6 and 7.

I have also seen people climbing Molls Gap at 7 in the evening.

It is a great day out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭elnino23

How does the registration with the charity work? will there be a list within the registration page or do you go to the individual charities website?

ROK ON wrote: »
    I was finished by 1pm having started at 7ish and taking a 30min coffee break at the excellent French patisserie in Caherciveen.
    You would be surprised at the times people start and finish.

For the past few years there have been a continual stream of cyclists sternly in Kenmare between 6 and 7.

I have also seen people climbing Molls Gap at 7 in the evening.

It is a great day out.

aye, it's all down to the breaks. we sat in the sun in kenmare watching the wedding in the church next door. we'd have been back by 2 easily if it werent for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭ratracer

elnino23 wrote: »
    How does the registration with the charity work? will there be a list within the registration page or do you go to the individual charities website?

There will probably be a link to each the charities on the ROK website. Just pick one, contact them direct and you're in. Did this last year and it avoids the registration disaster on Friday night as your number/ bands etc will be posted to your house in the week before the event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Masala

...can't see the point in being home by 1pm +++.

The buzz on top of Molls at 3pm or so was electric. I take in all the stops and chat with who-ever sits beside me. Had a great chat with a few girls posing with Charlie Chaplin in Waterville whilst I sat and finished a sandwich looking over the harbour. Met a mate on Molls and had a 'free' Red Bull while we talked. Had a cramp in Sneem while sitting out on the green and a kind cyclist helped me thru a few stretching exercises to free me up.

...so what the hell would I be doing in Killarney at 1pm - talking to myself???

Masala wrote: »
    ...can't see the point in being home by 1pm +++.

The buzz on top of Molls at 3pm or so was electric. I take in all the stops and chat with who-ever sits beside me. Had a great chat with a few girls posing with Charlie Chaplin in Waterville whilst I sat and finished a sandwich looking over the harbour. Met a mate on Molls and had a 'free' Red Bull while we talked. Had a cramp in Sneem while sitting out on the green and a kind cyclist helped me thru a few stretching exercises to free me up.

...so what the hell would I be doing in Killarney at 1pm - talking to myself???

chatting to all the other cyclists who are already back too. it's not like being back by 2 is racing around, it was probably the most relaxed cycle i did last year. we didn't aim to be back at any time, that's just how long a nice leisurely spin around the ring took us. i guess it differs if you goon your own or are part of a group

Just take your time and enjoy the day (I leave the watch behind, the phone on silent and the Garmin is set to distance and not speed). True Cahirciveen is the first stop, but what stands out for me each year is the people you meet on the road (the craic does be had), plus the scenery on the way to Cahirciveen is beautiful. Just take your time, enjoy the day, have the craic....the large crowds doing it make it very hard to go anywhere quickly anyway.

Good point re leaving the watch behind, il definitely be doing that... Will have the strava on purely for bragging rights with the lads in the office.... We will be absolutely taking our time, really looking forward to doing and being a part of the large crowds, having the Craic and eating a rake of sandwiches and cake...

molls is not as steep, but much longer

Very good I must practise on some of the long drags out in ballyhoura...

Killarney to Cahirceeen is very flat and you will get there before you know it and (official) stop for for tea, sandwiches and cake. At this stage you are about 1/3 way around. Then on for another relatively easily spin to Waterville and the day's first climb up to Coomakista where you do another quick stop/rest. Then back down into Sneem for another (unofficial) stop (Ice Cream in Sneem is the tradition) and at this stage you are about 2/3's way around. Then there is the long and eternal stretch from Sneem to Kenmare that goes on forever but quite flat most of the way. Then into Kenmare for yet again another (official) stop and more tea, sandwiches and cake! From Kenmare you now just 10kms to the top of Molls gap where you will rest again before freewheeling all the way back home into Killarney.

The day goes fast and you will enjoy every minute of it.

All that talk of cake is making it all the more appealing haha... The French pastry shop in cahirciveen is quality... Yeah that climb out side Waterville is tough but the cake will be like rocket fuel
    shaka wrote: »
    Molls Gap is fine , not steep but just long and seems much longer because of where it comes on the cycle-near the end when your tired. Pace yourself and you will be ok

Those long drags are often worse than short sharp climbs IMO

chatting to all the other cyclists who are already back too. it's not like being back by 2 is racing around, it was probably the most relaxed cycle i did last year. we didn't aim to be back at any time, that's just how long a nice leisurely spin around the ring took us. i guess it differs if you goon your own or are part of a group

Fair play for doing it in that time, I'd imagine you are a regular cyclist... I'd say there are so many people doing it that it doesn't matter whether you are really fast, fast, average or slow as there will be plenty of people around you....

Very good I must practise on some of the long drags out in ballyhoura...

I'm on limerick side of ballyhouras and nearly all of the climbs locally are much steeper and harder than molls gap,

Glenanar from either side and ballyshonak and ballyorgan are plenty tough for anyone , throw all three into training rides and you will do hardest of tours

Fair play for doing it in that time, I'd imagine you are a regular cyclist... I'd say there are so many people doing it that it doesn't matter whether you are really fast, fast, average or slow as there will be plenty of people around you....

sorry, never meant to give the indication i thought we did it quick, because we didn't, there was loads faster than us. i only mentioned the time as someone asked what the crack was like and i said we were back drinking pints by the afternoon.

Oh ya absolutely.. That is a great time to do, no sarcasm intended at all...as I said, I'd imagine you cycle regularly to do a good time like that at a cruising pace...I'd say anyone that wants to do a time would need to start at 6 to avoid the crowds... I fully intend on being stuck in the middle of the crowds enjoying it all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭outfox

Has anyone done this on a mountain bike? I did it last year for the first time, and found that trying to go fast on a road bike was a waste of time (and dangerous), as the route is packed. So this year I'm thinking of crusing, and generally chilling out. Is doing this on a mountain bike feasible? It would be good training, but would it be torture? Thoughts appreciated.

outfox wrote: »
    Has anyone done this on a mountain bike? I did it last year for the first time, and found that trying to go fast on a road bike was a waste of time (and dangerous), as the route is packed. So this year I'm thinking of crusing, and generally chilling out. Is doing this on a mountain bike feasible? It would be good training, but would it be torture? Thoughts appreciated.

I do a bit of mountain biking and would imagine that it would be torture... Could you not just cruse along on the road bike and use the flat bar as opposed to the drop handles? Now I imagine it would be very do able but probably more enjoyable on a road bike?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Im hearing a lot about Molls Gap and how tough it is... Iv done the skellig Ring last year with my girlfriend, and id be shocked if the Molls Gap climb is as tough as the Coomanaspic climb coming out of Portmagee, so hopefully that will stand to us...

You know I had the fear of God put into me lastyear about Coomakista and Molls Gap.
    We took our sweet time on Coomakista and didn't rush it. Sure we were at the top before we knew it. Had my photo taken by the Lady Madonna as a mark of Achievement by me :)

Next up is Molls Gap! Take your time here (getting the hint by me - Take Your Time all over ROK - it's not a race). It was pure magic at Molls Gap when we reached the last leg of it.
    The crowds will drive you up the last leg and you will find yourself doing the same with those coming up behind you when you park your bike.
    It was electric at Molls Gap lastyear, live music and savage banter! Lovely weather & beautiful scenery to take your mind away from aches n pains.

Don't heed too much into the talk. Once you have your training done; Once you have sufficient food n water; Once you are equipped to change a tyre/tube and Once you are confident cycling in general - the RingOfKerry will be one Magical Day you won't experience elsewhere :)

Hope that helps,
    kerry4sam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭outfox

I do a bit of mountain biking and would imagine that it would be torture... Could you not just cruse along on the road bike and use the flat bar as opposed to the drop handles? Now I imagine it would be very do able but probably more enjoyable on a road bike?
    I'm sure it would be more enjoyable on the road bike, but I'm thinking that it would be good training on a MTB. Training for what, I don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭madrabui

I do it on a hybrid with front suspension, disc brakes, 28mm slick tyres and straight handle bars. It's remote trigger suspension so I can lock it. On the bumpy road into Sneem the suspension makes the ride so comfortable.

I do just enjoy the day and chill out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭PandyAndy

Yea me and my brother did it on MTBs last year. Was grand. Spotted another handful on MTBs too. Will do it again on the same bike this year.

kerry4sam wrote: »
    You know I had the fear of God put into me lastyear about Coomakista and Molls Gap.
    We took our sweet time on Coomakista and didn't rush it. Sure we were at the top before we knew it. Had my photo taken by the Lady Madonna as a mark of Achievement by me :)

Next up is Molls Gap! Take your time here (getting the hint by me - Take Your Time all over ROK - it's not a race). It was pure magic at Molls Gap when we reached the last leg of it.
    The crowds will drive you up the last leg and you will find yourself doing the same with those coming up behind you when you park your bike.
    It was electric at Molls Gap lastyear, live music and savage banter! Lovely weather & beautiful scenery to take your mind away from aches n pains.

Don't heed too much into the talk. Once you have your training done; Once you have sufficient food n water; Once you are equipped to change a tyre/tube and Once you are confident cycling in general - the RingOfKerry will be one Magical Day you won't experience elsewhere :)

Hope that helps,
    kerry4sam

Very helpful thanks very much....seems like the two slogs are coomakista and molls gap, and if you take your time over them, everything else will be easy peasy :D

Really hope the weather is as good as last year... Asked my friend last week would he do it, he said absolutely not as he doesn't like the road cycling and traffic etc... Complete changed his mind after hearing the vibe from it from a few people so he is now doing it :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Tourman

, suppose there are also some good places to stay in places like Killorglin
    I stayed in O'Gradys Canborra House in Kilorglin. Very friendly and very reasonable when I last did the ROK 2012. I would recommend it.

From Kenmare you now just 10kms to the top of Molls gap where you will rest again before freewheeling all the way back home into Killarney.

Love the event fantastic craic and will return after missing last years event. Remember the first year I took part and emptied the last remains of energy going up Molls Gap but not to worry its a free wheel into Killarney from there.

LIES I tell you, LIES. Started to descend and all was going well for a couple of KMs and then another ascent not a big hill not a steep hill but I was told that it was a freewheel to the finish. Psychologically it nearly finished me. Its another 10 to 15 km to the finish after you get to the bottom of the hill.

Tourman wrote: »
    Love the event fantastic craic and will return after missing last years event. Remember the first year I took part and emptied the last remains of energy going up Molls Gap but not to worry its a free wheel into Killarney from there.

LIES I tell you, LIES. Started to descend and all was going well for a couple of KMs and then another ascent not a big hill not a steep hill but I was told that it was a freewheel to the finish. Psychologically it nearly finished me. Its another 10 to 15 km to the finish after you get to the bottom of the hill.

Freewheel to the finish!!! Most definitely not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭EaSwe

Are you better off registering with a charity or directly with ROK themselves. I'm involved in a charity cycle already so I'd have reservations about going looking for sponsorship again? Is the registration 100€ with ROK this year. Read last years thread and it seems to have peed a lot of people off. One last Q, when would be latest you could register for it,to be sure of a place?

EaSwe wrote: »
    Are you better off registering with a charity or directly with ROK themselves. I'm involved in a charity cycle already so I'd have reservations about going looking for sponsorship again? Is the registration 100€ with ROK this year. Read last years thread and it seems to have peed a lot of people off. One last Q, when would be latest you could register for it,to be sure of a place?

I think it ended up being €60 last year (open to correction). Last year registration was stopped about a month to go. As far as I am aware it was the first year it was over subscribed and registration was ended .I think this year it will fill up more quickly and registration might be ended sooner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭eoz

EaSwe wrote: »

€100 seems quite excessive. I'm in the same position regarding looking for sponsorship for a different cycle so I was just going to pay the registration fee. Won't be paying €100.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Masala

Ya... was €60 last year.

Heard (unofficially that is ...) that it could be €70 this year.

The Committee should have learned lessons last year on being greedy (charging €100 at one stage) ...there is a ceiling that this event can take before it becomes 'too expensive' for cyclists. Plenty of good events / competition out there that cost half of the ROK and that give top quality goodie bags as well....

I have going with one f the official charities (due to a mate being involved) and I am giving €75...and I told him that's all I can afford! We are a household with 3 doing it this year and finding €210 to do a cycle is a big ask!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭EaSwe

Yeah, sorry about that. Was 60 euro last year. Didn't read on far enough on the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 nipper67

I have done 8 ring of Kerry cycles,enjoyed every one. But I think greed is now in it big time ,it is far too much money.I do a lot of charity spins every year and pay my way always, this year few of us will put our money together and give it local . And will do the ring and get our own food. If it was cheaper every one would pay to ROK charity.

Masala wrote: »
    Ya... was €60 last year.

Heard (unofficially that is ...) that it could be €70 this year.

The Committee should have learned lessons last year on being greedy (charging €100 at one stage) ...there is a ceiling that this event can take before it becomes 'too expensive' for cyclists. Plenty of good events / competition out there that cost half of the ROK and that give top quality goodie bags as well....

I have going with one f the official charities (due to a mate being involved) and I am giving €75...and I told him that's all I can afford! We are a household with 3 doing it this year and finding €210 to do a cycle is a big ask!

Surely there is a limit to what they can expect people to pay, all the charities are very deserving causes but people have only so much disposable income these days, and you have to take into account people traveling distances will stay over adding to the overall cost of the weekend.
    After a bad start last year they settled on a charge of 60e per person as a minimum amount, they ended up raising e1.151 million, a seriously huge amount of money so the organizers will have a hard job explaining if they decide to raise the registration fee this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭touts

I'm going to do the cycle and was considering registering through a charity and getting a card from them to try and raise a bit more than the basic registration. But having looked at the list I notice that all the money gets spent in Kerry. Now I know it is a Kerry Cycle but going around my friends, relatives and work colleagues and asking them for money for Kerry will be a hard sell when there are local charities also looking for money. So I'll just register through the website and leave it at that.

That said €70 to €100 is very steep especially when they seem to attract a lot of cyclists from outside Kerry. This must suck a lot of money from charity sportives in other areas especially in counties like Cork or Limerick which are close to Kerry. If they are going to hold an event that attracts people from around the country then they really should have a few national charities on the list that non-Kerry people can choose to support in the hope of seeing some of the money coming back into their own area (e.g. instead of Red Cross Kerry why not Red Cross Ireland or instead of Acquired Brain Injury – Kerry Services why not just the national Acquired Brain Injury Charity).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭ratracer

touts wrote: »
    I'm going to do the cycle and was considering registering through a charity and getting a card from them to try and raise a bit more than the basic registration. But having looked at the list I notice that all the money gets spent in Kerry. Now I know it is a Kerry Cycle but going around my friends, relatives and work colleagues and asking them for money for Kerry will be a hard sell when there are local charities also looking for money. So I'll just register through the website and leave it at that.

That said €70 to €100 is very steep especially when they seem to attract a lot of cyclists from outside Kerry. This must suck a lot of money from charity sportives in other areas especially in counties like Cork or Limerick which are close to Kerry. If they are going to hold an event that attracts people from around the country then they really should have a few national charities on the list that non-Kerry people can choose to support in the hope of seeing some of the money coming back into their own area (e.g. instead of Red Cross Kerry why not Red Cross Ireland or instead of Acquired Brain Injury – Kerry Services why not just the national Acquired Brain Injury Charity).

I agree with your points about the registration fee being steep at €100, except it isn't €100, they tried that last year and after the uproar from people it was eventual dropped back to €60, which is fine. Is it €70 this year? It is a hard sell for non-Kerry folk to raise large amounts of money for Kerry charities. However, I have no problem with local charities only benefitting from the funds. It is and always has been a cycle organised by Kerry people to raise funds for Kerry charities, the fact that it is now one of the biggest in the country is a credit to their hard work, but not a reason to dissolve their funding nationally. It's a great event, worth the €60 or €70 IMO.

I will also be travelling down for the weekend, staying two nights, but that is not the fault of the organisers.

Have no real problem with the money staying in Kerry as it was organised in kerry for kerry but the attempted fleecing that went on last year was distasteful and turned a lot of people off ROK .

I was injured last year so couldn't do it but wouldn't of done it anyway, if I do it this year ill do it through a charity.

60 euro was steep last year if they go to 70 this year I think it will be a mistake on behalf of the organisers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

I wonder did the site get a flood of hits this morning? Online registration has been moved to after 2pm tomorrow due to "technical difficulties".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭boydkev

Hoping to do this again this year, Agree that the Cost of the event is getting a bit much but i will be doing it through a charity.
    Also i managed to book a hotel Room for the 4th, But be warned that most of the hotel are already full for that or you will be paying alot of money for a room.
    Looking forward to it and hopefully we will get the same weather as last year.

I really hope seventy is an exaggeration. Sixty is already a lot of money coming from one person before you take into account petrol, accommodation etc.