Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is there a negative attitude toward Dubs in Dungarvan?

• 30-12-2013 4:00am
    Registered Users Posts: 1

I'm from Dublin and have been staying here working for about two years ago and have been having some problems mixing with the locals. I was just wondering if anyone else has had similar experiences here, or tell me if there is some kind of culture issue here I don't know about. I'm not coming on here just to rant, but my problems with this have happened so often it's actually become quite disturbing to me and I don't know how to deal with.

I'll make it easy by numbering the issues. The things I'm listing here are the more direct insults where I know it's targeted at me for being a dub, but there have been other very serious problems where I don't know what motivation the people had.

1. When I first moved here I started seeing a Lithuanian woman. We got along fine until her local friends in the town took offence to me. They didn't know me or had never met me but advised her to date a local fella instead. She was afraid she wouldn't fit in with her friends so she dropped me.

2. I have chatted to random people in bars and places plenty of times. Often this is all fine but many a time I over hear these people makes comments about me being a blow in or from dublin. I hear things like "never trust a blow in" or "he's a blow in don't listen to him." Not done in a joking way.

3. Once I was selling a used bike to an eastern European barmaid. An old fella at the bar told her not to buy it because I'm a jackeen conman. She asked what a jackeen was and he told her it meant someone who was a liar and a crook.

4. First person I spoke to in Dungarvan, when I told her I was from Dublin she asked "Have you ever been in jail?"

5. I've been outright told by many people that they won't talk to a dub. Just that "we won't get along" or something.

6. Constant comments asking if I'm posh or stuck up because of my accent. I don't even have a thick accent of any kind.

7. When I was looking for an apartment a friend introduced me to a woman who was renting but not advertising. I asked her if the apartment was still available and she said it was. After chatting and getting along fine she stopped me and asked where my accent was from. I told her I was from Dublin and she replied "the apartments are gone."

8. A barman who I got along fine with got drunk one night and started telling me I was a stranger and had no right to talk to the locals. Then he started going on about my annoying accent .etc.

9. My friends have been threatened in similar fashions when they come down, to the extent they won't come down anymore. One night in Davitt's nightclub my female friend was attacked for having a "posh accent" (very strong south side), hit her with a bottle over nothing.

Well that's some of the stuff that's been happening but nowhere near all of it. This has all been quite stressful for me since coming here. Since I came down I barely feel like a person anymore. I've pretty much given up trying to get to know a lot of the locals. It seems like if I'm not in one of their groups or something then the only people I can talk to are people from outside or some of the Eastern Euros.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Roanmore

You're either hanging out in the wrong pubs or with the wrong people.

I'm a blow in to the town and have been made very welcome. I've drank in most of the pubs in the town and was never made feel unwelcome.

I'm from West Cork and when Cork were playing Dublin in the All Ireland Semi Final the majority (small majority) of the people in the pub were supporting Dublin. There were a number of Dubs there and no hostility shown.

Same for rugby matches, lot of Leinster guys in there for matches (latter stages of Heineken Cup, Munster vs Leinster Rabo matches, etc) and no issue with them at all. Now they may not all have been from Dublin but a lot of them were.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

It's not your accent and it's nothing to do with where your from. Sorry to have to break it to you but it's more than likely just down to you and your personality. There's been many Dubs and people from every county in Ireland working in Dungarvan without bother. I have Dub friends, Cork friends, Tipp friends and more who live work and socialise in Dungarvan without ever having any bother due to where they grew up apart from the usual banter. The only time they get treated badly is when they step put of line and deserve it.

EDIT: Sorry, that last line isn't strictly accurate. Just like any town anywhere in Ireland there are plenty bad eggs who will treat someone badly without cause.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,766 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Can't say I've never noticed any bad attitude towards someone just because they're from Dublin. Or from anywhere else for that matter. Anybody getting grief is usually because of how they act.

What pubs do you go to?

• Registered Users Posts: 511 ✭✭✭Smiley Burnett

all in your head I'm afraid....lots of Dubs in Dungarvan getting along quite well....in fact, one of the most successful publicans in Dungarvan is a DUB!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Deise Musashi

It's not the accent, it's the company you keep (or you?)

I've never heard of anyone getting bottled over their accent, and I grew up in one of the "worst" estates in Dungarvan (not the "Bru")

• Registered Users Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭blue note

Stop talking to him lads! He's a Dub!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Nesta99

Fecking Jackeens - who do they think they they are coming on to Boards and hsving an opinion on anything. Sure if anything else amenity wise goes to Dublland it would sink damn 'howyas'! Go home to Hill 16 will ye:P

I do jest of course - it seems to me ye need to change your social circle and just in case dont compare our fair capital under any circumstances to where you live now!

• Registered Users Posts: 646 ✭✭✭seanaway

I moved to Dungaravn 10 years ago and I've found nothing but great people here. My other half is a Dub and has made more friends in a few short years than I have in ten!

I think it must be the people you hang around with. I've NEVER heard a bad word about Dubs here (or about people from anywhere else for that matter).

Having lived all over the country and many places abroad I can say I've never felt more at home tahn I do here.

Yes, there are bad eggs here of course, like anywhere, but I've never encountered any trouble here. Nightclubs will have eejits who can't hold their drink and get violent. What happened to your friend is disgraceful but I'd say it had more to do with her being in the wrong palce at the wrong time than being a Dub.

As you poster commented, one of the most successful publicans is a Dub and it's a great pub to go to. (hint: near the tannery :D) Try a night in there and see if you get any comments. Said publican will likely come don or your side :D

To be serious, I think you're in danger of setting yourself up. What you believe is what will happen. Try thinking differently and see how people react to you then.

It's a pity your going through this because Dugarvan really is such a beautiful palce to live with the nicest people I've ever known.

Best of luck with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭revisionist

As a founder member of the anti Dubliner group of Dungarvan , all he says is true! We have positioned people at every juncture of this guys life including his original ''Lithuanian '' girlfriend who is actually from Stradbally.(the accent is very similar to a down town Kaunas one) We are having our AGM neXt Friday at a local bar where we will have a ceremonial burning of a Shamrock Rovers and a Dublin GAA jersey . All are welcome except obviously Dublin people!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭jonerkinsella

I'm a Dub living in Tramore and done quite a bit of hanging about in Dungarvan.

It's just you...get over you.