Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

RTE plus BBC New year 2013/2014 Official Thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

My Girl's Mad At Me to bring in the new year?

Dear god, how difficult would it have been to count down to 12, and then have Madness play Baggy Trousers then House Of Fun... :confused::confused: it's that simple!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

phonypony wrote: »
    RTE are fcuking eeejits. Cutting away from live fireworks to show recorded stuff from Beijing and Moscow? What in the holy fcuk?

It's fireworks. They happen in the sky.

You can watch fireworks on youtube 365 days a year at any time. I just came in from watching the fireworks in my small home town in rural Ireland and they were fantastic. Watching fireworks on a television screen is lamentable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

phonypony wrote: »
    RTE are fcuking eeejits. Cutting away from live fireworks to show recorded stuff from Beijing and Moscow? What in the holy fcuk?

Yep, they've done it again, last year we got 30 seconds of fireworks from Dublin, and this year we got fifty seconds, before being beamed back to the 'Prosecco panel', mind you, that one in the white dress is very easy on the eye :)

• Registered Users Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

My Girl's Mad At Me to bring in the new year?

Dear god, how difficult would it have been to count down to 12, and then have Madness play Baggy Trousers then House Of Fun... :confused::confused: it's that simple!!

I would have put a tenner on that playlist.......:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Ah, I said that last year, doesn't count for this year!......:D:D:D

Interesting.......can I use that for a lot of things I said last year too ?? Please :)

Fireworks are awesome everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

With all the amazing historical landmarks that London has, it is amazing that all big celebrations (fireworks or otherwise) now seem to concentrate around a glorified Ferris Wheel built a mere 13 years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I just hope there isn't much fireworks this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

I am mesmerised by the London fireworks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

You have to hand it to RTE, they are consistent, consistently bad that is. Another shambles of a NYE celebration. BBC put them to shame once again.

ProudDUB wrote: »
    With all the amazing historical landmarks that London has, it is amazing that all big celebrations (fireworks or otherwise) now seem to concentrate around a glorified Ferris Wheel built a mere 13 years ago.

True

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

You can watch fireworks on youtube 365 days a year at any time. I just came in from watching the fireworks in my small home town in rural Ireland and they were fantastic. Watching fireworks on a television screen is lamentable.

The ones on the BBC right now sure as heck ain't !

amdublin wrote: »
    I am mesmerised by the London fireworks

To be there live to see them, must be great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

COYW wrote: »
    You have to hand it to RTE, they are consistent, consistently bad that is. Another shambles of a NYE celebration. BBC put them to shame once again.

RTE put on a live show.

The BBC are showing a firework display with dubbed music.

Ah seriously that is amazing stuff!

RobertKK wrote: »
    I just hope there isn't much fireworks this year.

Does self-immolation count?

COYW wrote: »

Madness vs Gary Barlow.

For shame, RTE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Tis I suppose.

**sobs**

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

BBC firework display wouldnt put a patch on the Rose of Tralee fireworks :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

That was sensational!`

catallus wrote: »
    RTE put on a live show.

Yes it was sh1te
    catallus wrote: »
    The BBC are showing a firework display with dubbed music.

Yes it was amazing.

Sorry what was your point :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Shout Dust

I've only seen a couple of minutes of the rte coverage, but it looked symbolically amateur, only showing a few seconds of Dublin before cutting back to a studio where they didn't seem to know what was going on or what random clips from around the world they were showing.
    Dublin looked good to be fair, although thought they'd have an Irish band what with it being the gathering and all that

mike65 wrote: »
    That was sensational!`

It was incredible.

And the energy is still high back in whatever concert hall Gary Barlow is in,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

I like Madness. There.

I said it.

Ironically, next Monday, Joe Duffy will be hosting Liveline where they will be giving out about the crap RTE new year's eve show.

Tis I suppose.

**sobs**

Ah cheer up Frank, I'll send you a Chinese wheel at Halloween.

(not just a link of a video of one)

(or maybe neither)

I'd like Madness better if they sang a couple of songs I know.......

Gary Barlow versus Madness, well Gary wins that easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭taytobreath

compare the populations of the brits and the irish and it was about right, 4.5 million, 64 million, well done rte, but i tuned into the british fireworks and i dont care, if the irish could afford those fireworks we'd alll be asking the questions

But the music is better on the BBC too...

The energy, the atmosphere

oh yeahh i love the jools show too, class;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

It's spelt 'two'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,320 ✭✭✭phonypony

It's spelt 'two'.

Niiiice

Well too and two, whatever you prefer :p

Madness are turning into a Wedding Band......

A bad Wedding Band.

Watching BBC to

Sounds like a lad at 3 o'clock coming out of the chipper.. dreadful..

he's a great entertainer that gary barlow

I am watching BBC1. I cannot switch off. I want this to go on forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,517 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

If you drove up to Newry with a budget of €10k around Halloween you would get better than they had tonight. The Lottery should have stood in and gave a decent display seeing as they will be foreign owned from next year.

Here we go... Come on Suggs, I'm actually rooting for ye.. And I LOVE Baggy Trousers...

aww they could of kept that going for another hour or 2 on bbc 1, it was ok

am dub u must be gutted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,993 ✭✭✭griffin100

Are you for real?? Fat dancer from Take That versus the legends that are madness!!!! No contest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,545 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Shut Up!
    You're an embarrassment!

Suggs must have gone off for a whiff of an Inhaler.

He was out of breath after the last song.

He could have spared us the last yoke and played a record.

Classic songs!

Oh, what fun we had.......:)

griffin100 wrote: »
    Are you for real?? Fat dancer from Take That versus the legends that are madness!!!! No contest.

You can't be serious. Gary Barlow has revolutionised music.

griffin100 wrote: »

That applied to Gary about 20 years ago
    That also applied to Madness about 20 years ago :(

Seriously have you seen the energy that Gary B is generating tonight?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

The Proclaimers on BBC 2 now

Has anybody else's phone just had a seizure with all the happy new year messages.. I'm trying to revive my iPhone on the counter.. :(