Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Latest open clubs on new years?

• 31-12-2013 12:28am
    Registered Users Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭

Hey, just wondering any late-late clubs/pubs/bars open on new years? I mean on 31-1 Jan night?
    And I don't mean the ones that close at 3, but rather stay open till like 6 or 7 AM?

Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,577 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

arleitiss wrote: »
    Hey, just wondering any late-late clubs/pubs/bars open on new years? I mean on 31-1 Jan night?
    And I don't mean the ones that close at 3, but rather stay open till like 6 or 7 AM?

Thanks.

Not in Ireland unfortunately, latest clubs generally they do stay open is 3:30....

Some places that have a theatre licence such as the Gaiety Theatre may have a later theatre licence until maybe 4:30 or 5 but you would have to check in advance....

You may find a dingy after hours rave on somewhere selling booze at an ungodly hour though....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭arleitiss

Fieldog wrote: »
    Not in Ireland unfortunately, latest clubs generally they do stay open is 3:30....

Some places that have a theatre licence such as the Gaiety Theatre may have a later theatre licence until maybe 4:30 or 5 but you would have to check in advance....

You may find a dingy after hours rave on somewhere selling booze at an ungodly hour though....

ahh, pretty horrible to celebrate new years in Ireland tbh, no fireworks, no late openings, no snow :/

• Registered Users Posts: 10,577 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

arleitiss wrote: »
    ahh, pretty horrible to celebrate new years in Ireland tbh, no fireworks, no late openings, no snow :/

House parties for NYE I generally find are the way to go, its always kind of an anticlimax of an evening if your out boozing for it imo...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭arleitiss

House parties for NYE I generally find are the way to go, its always kind of an anticlimax of an evening if your out boozing for it imo...

I am doing that already, but we all kinda planned to go somewhere too

• Registered Users Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Go to the pub early and then back to the house to
    Party till dawn.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

There are fireworks planned for Dun Laoghaire at midnight.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Thomas D

Coppers will be open fairly late.

• Registered Users Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Laneyh

Places like The Liquor Rooms and House on Leeson St stay open 'til past 4
    Aside from that only underground byob affairs really.

I suppose some casino type establishments would be open all night and maybe licensed to serve but I dunno.

Even if they are open I can't imagine the atmosphere being fab
    Ditto for early houses

You could always take a mystery tour on the train keep the party moving :)

• Registered Users Posts: 68,905 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Gone for years, Dermot Ahern's fun restriction review took away all licences after 2:30. Anything beyond that's illegal even if effectively unenforced.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

Leggs is open late, very late every night

• Registered Users Posts: 14,466 ✭✭✭✭cson

Yeah there's a pretty tacit blind eye being turned toward opening hours by the authorities for the past 2 years or so I find.

Funny thing is; people aren't going mental with the extra hours drinking. You'll find Coppers will start clearing out of its own accord at 3.30ish and it'll only be half full by the time it actually closes which can be anything from 4.30 to 6.

Restricting opening hours is counter productive in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

cson wrote: »
    Yeah there's a pretty tacit blind eye being turned toward opening hours by the authorities for the past 2 years or so I find.

Funny thing is; people aren't going mental with the extra hours drinking. You'll find Coppers will start clearing out of its own accord at 3.30ish and it'll only be half full by the time it actually closes which can be anything from 4.30 to 6.

How is coppers able to open so late?
    Or is it the Guards not wanting to shut down their own place?

I agree with you. Shutting a club down by law at half 2 means everyone spills out at half 2. Letting them close whenever they want means people leave at various times.

Mr.S wrote: »
    Bit of both I think, they are part of a hotel so they have a late late licence?

I think technically as long as they stop serving at 2:30am they can stay open as long as they want? But then Coppers service after 2:30 so i'm sure its just their license!

I've definitely been served after half 2 anyway!:) and would the hotel part not only be for residents?

• Registered Users Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

cson wrote: »

It really is. Down in Waterford the problem is perfectly highlighted. Most clubs/late bars are around the same block and all strictly close at half 2. Cue crowds emptying from them all at the same time looking for food/taxi. Recipe for disaster.

Mr.S wrote: »
    Bit of both I think, they are part of a hotel so they have a late late licence?

I think technically as long as they stop serving at 2:30am they can stay open as long as they want? But then Coppers service after 2:30 so i'm sure its just their license!

Hotels licences are no different for non-residents.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭wicklowwonder

Scortho wrote: »
    How is coppers able to open so late?
    Or is it the Guards not wanting to shut down their own.

No, Coppers is busiest club in the city, Garda numbers are falling last number of years, they can't handle all clubs closing at once, it would be a mess, best leave Coppers and a few others stay open and people leave of their own accord, bouncers helping Gardai keep peace as well. Once nothing major happens inside all is good.

My issue is with one establishment getting preferential treatment over another, because of who the owner is and who his clientele is.
    Why should a blind eye be turned to keep the peace, if that's the case then all clubs in the city who have the same licence should be allowed open until whenever they want and let people leave on their own accord.

Unless of course coppers pay extra for an extended licence which is a totally different argument.

They don't because they can't. No such thing exists.

MYOB wrote: »
    They don't because they can't. No such thing exists.

Then why are they allowed operate outside the law of that's the case?

• Registered Users Posts: 780 ✭✭✭jossnjuice

if memory serves me right, they are allowed a theatre license because of the grand piano on one of the floors.

Once somebody plays for an hour a week, they keep their license.

Could be wrong. Also, having an owner who is an ex guard also helps the situation.

• Registered Users Posts: 535 ✭✭✭NoCrackHaving

jossnjuice wrote: »
    if memory serves me right, they are allowed a theatre license because of the grand piano on one of the floors.

Once somebody plays for an hour a week, they keep their license.

Could be wrong. Also, having an owner who is an ex guard also helps the situation.

It doesn't matter, all the extra late licences and theatre licences etc. were all gotten rid of years ago (2006 maybe if not earlier?, you can't get a licence for later than 2 30 at all, it simply doesn't exist.

Then why are they allowed operate outside the law of that's the case?

Multiple clubs open well past legal these days.
    jossnjuice wrote: »

Long, long gone. There are no licences for after 2:30.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,466 ✭✭✭✭cson

I don't know if you're complaining about some establishments operating above the law Scortho but it's actually one of the rare times I think the blind eye approach is working grand.

Now whenever any publican who adheres to the rules decides to sit up and be arsed about it or a large number throw caution to the wind and start opening past closing hours, we'll see then what policy on enforcement will become. Right now its working fine, making the City a safer place at night tbh.

I'd imagine however one of the situations will rear its head at some stage this year and you'll see a big crackdown a lá what went on in Galway circa September 2012 when a new Superintendent enforced a bye law forcing places to close @ 1.30am.