Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is a Garda insured to drive your car?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

Days 298 wrote: »
    How dare you, you arrogant c*nt.

Happy new year to you too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭mlumley

There was an incident a few years back when coaches were unloading passengers in Dublin. Driver told to move on, he said he cant as pax were unloading. Guard moved it for him. When it was reported, they said Guards can drive any vehicle in the course of their job.

The only other option is a tow truck, that will cost you more. Guard saved you money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭grainnewhale

met a garda the other day driving squad car while talking on his phone and holding a piece of paper in front of him. which he was obviously reading to the person on the other end of the phone. the thought that struck me was how many fines did this prick issue to people who were only talking on their phones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Days 298

met a garda the other day driving squad car while talking on his phone and holding a piece of paper in front of him. which he was obviously reading to the person on the other end of the phone. the thought that struck me was how many fines did this prick issue to people who were only talking on their phones.

tell him get a hands free. be grand

image.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Alfasudcrazy

Id like to be called in to the Super's office on a Monday morning to explain why I was driving an artic and accidentally demolished a parked car or something ... and I really would be person of the year if I arrived in a seized artic to the garda station car park!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭V.W.L 11

They are exempt from the road traffic act in the course of their duty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭dessierb

Simple, unambiguous no frills answer to OP. YES Garda is insured to drive vehicle in course of duty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

Gardai have the power under section 41 of the road traffic act 1994 AS AMENDED to seize vehicles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Days 298

Garda cars dont have insurance disks iirc. The state insures them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭mfergus

On whose insurance?

You hardly think there's a private insurance company who insures them??

They don't have any insurance. They are exempt. All claims for injury or damage go through the state claims dept

V.W.L 11 wrote: »
    They are exempt from the road traffic act in the course of their duty

except for speeding in an emergency and state insurance cover for gardai driving official or seized vehicles on duty thay are subject to all the other provisions of the RTA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

The taxpayer pays. Even when they're on their phones, speeding, parked on double yellows or footpaths, all stuff that the taxpayer can't do.

Check your car for damage when you get it back.

except for speeding in an emergency and state insurance cover for gardai driving official or seized vehicles on duty thay are subject to all the other provisions of the RTA.

Totally incorrect. All parking regulations? Holding phones, traffic lights...etc

They're basically exempt from most sections of the road traffic Act minus dangerous driving, drink driving etc

mfergus wrote: »
    Totally incorrect. All parking regulations? Holding phones, traffic lights...etc

They're basically exempt from most sections of the road traffic Act minus dangerous driving, drink driving etc

Mmmm - well if a Garda drives through a red light and collides with someone - emergency or not the Garda driver stands a very good chance of being done for careless driving.

Well yes. More than likely dangerous driving rather than careless tho, depending on the circumstances obviously.

And yes you're correct. Wouldn't be exempt from careless driving either.
    when I said not exempt from dangerous driving and drink driving, I meant including all the related offences too such as careless driving, drug driving etc

A detective sgt told me they are fully exempt where do you go from there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Gardai are exempt from the laws regarding mobile phones if the telephone call was to do with their work...whose the prick now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

CJC999 wrote: »
    Gardai are exempt from the laws regarding mobile phones if the telephone call was to do with their work...whose the prick now?
    I'd say it's still the guard. Careless/reckless driving, disregard for other road users, etc.

CJC999 wrote: »

when some prick of a garda kills somebody, driving while holding a paper in front of him with one hand and a phone in the other, then anybody who trys to justify it is also a prick. is the prick now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

when some prick of a garda kills somebody, driving while holding a paper in front of him with one hand and a phone in the other, then anybody who trys to justify it is also a prick. is the prick now.

I wasn't trying to justify anything. I simply pointed out what the actual law is.

'Is the prick now' makes no sense,

The original post to which mine and your reply relates to mentioned nothing about anyone getting killed or hurt or an accident for that matter. If you read it again you'll see it was about someone ignorant of the law calling a guard a prick for being on the phone. The guard didn't cause an accident nor was he involved in one. The poster simply saw a chance to call a guard a prick and used his ignorance to back it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 Allknowing

It's not allowed

Legally it is. Ask the your Chief for your certificate of exemption if you crash the lorry on the way to santry. :-)

Angry much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭jacob2

any car that is seized should be taken away on a tow truck not buy the garda driving it he would be insured to drive garda cars not some car on a road but hey your in ireland they can get away with it we live in a two law country

jacob2 wrote: »
    any car that is seized should be taken away on a tow truck not buy the garda driving it he would be insured to drive garda cars not some car on a road but hey your in ireland they can get away with it we live in a two law country

They are By Law allowed to drive any vehicle in the execution of their duty. It is as simple as that.

There are many laws, not just the two.

jacob2 wrote: »

No. That's your opinion and it's wrong. Fully.

(1)The guards are not insured to drive garda cars.

(2) The guards are not insured to drive other people's cars.

(3) That is the longest sentence I have ever read.

(4) It's not a" two law" country. There are just some people who have no understanding of the law but like to give an opinion on what they think should be the law, rather than what actually is.

However, they are exempt from requiring insurance to drive both, in the course of their duty.

The answer is yes, they can drove other people's cars and no they are not insured, they are exempt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

State Vehicles, such as those owned by AGS & the Defence Forces are not insured per say. They do not have insurance disks. The government is their "insurer".

If Plod seizes your car, and crashes it - and is to blame - the government pays up.

testicle wrote: »
    State Vehicles, such as those owned by AGS & the Defence Forces are not insured per say. They do not have insurance disks. The government is their "insurer".

If Plod seizes your car, and crashes it - and is to blame - the government pays up.

not the government the taxpayer

Not the taxpayer, the state claims agency...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭O.A.P

mfergus wrote: »
    Not the taxpayer, the state claims agency...
    The end of the rainbow :)