Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man Utd v Spurs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Nixer Jim

THFC wrote: »
    Absolutely not. Firstly it's only 4 games in. Also, AVB won there last season lest you forget. Regardless of how Sherwood does with Spurs it was simply the wrong decision to sack AVB. It would be nice if we actually gave a coach the respect he deserves to finish a project the club invested so heavily in.

There's something almost Kamikaze like about the way Sherwood sets us up. A better team would have destroyed us today. Our left flank was brutally exposed for almost 90 minutes and we were lucky that Sherwood's opposite number is tactically inept. Taking Carrick off pushed Rooney back into midfield where he was ineffective. Januzaj was only moved to the right for 10-15 minutes, had he been there from the start we would have done well to even score.
    With the way we are playing under Sherwood, it's do or die. It's exciting for the common fan who loves attacking football, but he's certainly not a long-term coach. He seems to come from the Harry Redknapp school of coaching where "go out there and put yourself about" is a common instruction. I might be wrong about that, but it certainly looks that way. As another poster said, it was perhaps blind luck that we were forced to start a DM today, as I think Sherwood would have gone with the same line up as last week were it available.

AVB lost at home 3-0 to the hammers, 1-0 to Newcastle and 5-0 to Liverpool/

It will never get any lower in a Spurs fans lifetime. The stubborn mule caused that, nothing else.

Defending AVB post bale is just bizare. He was found out. Give it up. To do otherwise just looks silly.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,713 ✭✭✭2nd Row Donkey

^^^^ totally agree with THFC's comments
    Great result today but its not to be compared with last years result with SFA in charge.
    Look at the other teams who have picked up wins/draws against united this season.

A few people are getting ahead of themselves ( more so on the spurs supporters pages on Facebook than on here).

• Registered Users Posts: 10,373 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

THFC wrote: »
    Absolutely not. Firstly it's only 4 games in. Also, AVB won there last season lest you forget. Regardless of how Sherwood does with Spurs it was simply the wrong decision to sack AVB. It would be nice if we actually gave a coach the respect he deserves to finish a project the club invested so heavily in.

There's something almost Kamikaze like about the way Sherwood sets us up. A better team would have destroyed us today. Our left flank was brutally exposed for almost 90 minutes and we were lucky that Sherwood's opposite number is tactically inept. Taking Carrick off pushed Rooney back into midfield where he was ineffective. Januzaj was only moved to the right for 10-15 minutes, had he been there from the start we would have done well to even score.
    With the way we are playing under Sherwood, it's do or die. It's exciting for the common fan who loves attacking football, but he's certainly not a long-term coach. He seems to come from the Harry Redknapp school of coaching where "go out there and put yourself about" is a common instruction. I might be wrong about that, but it certainly looks that way. As another poster said, it was perhaps blind luck that we were forced to start a DM today, as I think Sherwood would have gone with the same line up as last week were it available.

jesus Christ! avb is in the past. He has gone, so has the dire football we were playing. I'm delighted with the attacking football we are playing at the moment and i'm delighted Tim is from the hr school of football.
    We are missing our first choice centre half's our defensive midfielder and our box to box midfielder and your giving out about how open we are.
    Give Tim some support and we will see were he brings us.
    You were going on about avb not getting enough time and yet your ready to shoot down Sherwood so soon?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,776 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Nixer Jim wrote: »
    AVB lost at home 3-0 to the hammers, 1-0 to Newcastle and 5-0 to Liverpool/

It will never get any lower in a Spurs fans lifetime. The stubborn mule caused that, nothing else.

Defending AVB post bale is just bizare. He was found out. Give it up. To do otherwise just looks silly.

He was 4 points off fourth when he was sacked, how on earth was he found out? He was stubborn, yes, but the facts don't lie. Best winning percentage of any Spurs manager in about 100 years and a record points tally last season.

He has his faults, yes, but he was still better than any manager we've had in my lifetime. He was building something here, and he wasn't given the opportunity to finish that. I have still yet to see one reason that justifies his removal from the club and you certainly aren't going to change my mind with a post like that.

Never get any lower in a Spurs fans life? How short term is your memory. It was so long ago that we were a decidedly average club. The biggest low I've had as a Spurs fan to date was the attitude of Harry Redknapp when Capello stepped down as England manager. It was absolutely disgraceful his attitude, and I believe he has come out and said recently that he was preparing to take over England during that time. Whatever you say about AVB, his record was excellent and he was fully committed to the job. He never got the full support of Spurs fans and it was a damn shame.

We're old and bitter and twisted and above all we are spurs fans. That means we have seen more false dawns then real dawns and we've had our hopes dashed countless times.

The recent results are great, but they've been agasinat teams on the slide and a very ordinary United team missing RVP and Rooney only back from injury.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,373 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

We're old and bitter and twisted and above all we are spurs fans. That means we have seen more false dawns then real dawns and we've had our hopes dashed countless times.

The recent results are great, but they've been agasinat teams on the slide and a very ordinary United team missing RVP and Rooney only back from injury.
    yeah while we were missing verts kaboul paulinho sandro.................... get behind the team ffs

tom1ie wrote: »
    jesus Christ! avb is in the past. He has gone, so has the dire football we were playing. I'm delighted with the attacking football we are playing at the moment and i'm delighted Tim is from the hr school of football.
    We are missing our first choice centre half's our defensive midfielder and our box to box midfielder and your giving out about how open we are.
    Give Tim some support and we will see were he brings us.
    You were going on about avb not getting enough time and yet your ready to shoot down Sherwood so soon?

I am not writing him off. I'm not fully behind him either, understandably so, but nor am I against him. I have stated my reservations and I think I'm entitled to do so. I would be happier than anyone if he's the man to get us fourth, and I think he very well can do. We have an excellent squad that AVB was largely responsible for assembling.
    I just don't think it's fair that so many narrow minded fans (here and elsewhere) keep bringing up AVB as a source of disappointment, when his record with us was nothing short of outstanding.

Also, if he wanted to adopt a defensive approach today he could easily have, but he didn't, and it worked out. He should be rightly saluted for getting the result, and I think I have been more than fair in my praise of him.

yeah while we were missing verts kaboul paulinho sandro.................... get behind the team ffs

No one is against the team "ffs", I don't think anyone here is unhappy with today's result, or the tactics, but I think some people, including myself, are questioning the use of such tactics in future games. Rather than attacking the poster, maybe you could actually address some of our concerns stated above since you're so clearly passionate about it.

................... get behind the team ffs

I am behind the team. I was in Tom Mayes today jumping off my seat just like everyone else. If I ran around proclaiming we were now top 4 certainties and EPL title contenders would that make more of a supporter.

Honestly, this 'get behind the team and support TS' nonsense does my head in. as if the opinion of a few f**king internet weirdos here on boards.ie has any influence on how the team performs on match day.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,746 ✭✭✭irishmover

Nixer Jim wrote: »
    AVB lovers must be feeling God dam repentant now. When Tim Sherwood can win at OT with the most open of open teams in a long time it says it all.

Thank God he's gone.

Let's not kid ourselves here, we were lucky. Hence why Lloris was my man of the match.

AVB beat Fergusons Man United. Sherwood beat Moyes'. There's quite a difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Dublin Spur

irishmover wrote: »
    Let's not kid ourselves here, we were lucky. Hence why Lloris was my man of the match.

AVB beat Fergusons Man United. Sherwood beat Moyes'. There's quite a difference.

AVB had Bale, Sherwood didn't

• Registered Users Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Fergie had Webb, Moyes didn't ..... Blah, blah, blah

Who gives a **** lads. We've beaten what was put in front of us today. That's 3 wins and 1 draw out of 4 games with our usual bundle of injuries. I'm happy. It's a great start to the new year. COYS !

• Registered Users Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭KingdomYid

Enjoy the win lads, football is a fickle game so enjoy these days when they come around. Up the Spurs!!

Forgot we were a one man team.

• Registered Users Posts: 444 ✭✭PVincent

What part of today was luck. We had the 4 best chances in the game and scored 2 of them . Lloris did not have to make any particularly hard saves. Yes they had pressure but today I felt we showed no panic other than that silly minute after we got the second. I was an AVB fan, I felt sorry for him that he got the sack when he was building something, I hate this attitude that he had Bale, he got the best out of Bale by using him to our advantage, and that was good management. However he is gone now and I am fully behind Sherwood , just like we all should be behind the team. I hate to see fans being critical of players and any part of our club . I am supporting the club for nearly 50 years now and without question what we have seen in the past number of years is the best I ever can recall. So to younger guys, stay patient , we are getting better year on year and despite the turmoils of this season , I still hope that it could be the season we all want, with a trophy and champs league qualification.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,910 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

KingdomYid wrote: »
    Enjoy the win lads, football is a fickle game so enjoy these days when they come around. Up the Spurs!!

My sentiments exactly, if this is the reaction for winning then god help us when we lose.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,910 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

Super win against the champions who were on a great run. We had the better chances and deserved it, we weathered the storm both in the beginning and when they equalized. Cut out conceding goals right after we score though, that's schoolboy.

We've not had a solid back four this season, due some luck in that respect. If this can be rectified then were in with a shot for CL. I thought today was gonna be a game changer if we came away with a result, confidence will be sky high now. Time to go on a decent run.

Thank fock Ade was brought in from the cold (he owes the team), we wouldn't of been in contention with playing Soldado as a loan striker today. His miss to make it 2-0 was unforgivable of a striker of that caliber, Defoe would of been lynched. Few passes aside, he was on a Sunday stroll. Pity Lamela didn't feature in a way. I still think Soldado will come good though, otherwise he'll be a monumental failure, and a costly one. Just need one to come off his left testie, arsé check, elbow.

We're normally strong at home, now somehow we've become formidable away from home. I still can't figure that one out. Well done to Sherwood, he didn't mastermind AVB's downfall, rather just fell into the hot seat. He's focked either way unless we win the league, even then some will grumble.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,632 ✭✭✭Glebee

All of a sudden it ok to sing again.
    We are Tottenham , we are Tottenham , super Tottenham from the lane.

I don't know how Sherwood has done it but he's has. Fair play.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Jesus Christ, some proper misery on here.

Sherwood, although the jury is still out, is doing a super job so far and yesterday was a magnificent result. Lloris MOTM?!? WTF?

I'm enjoying watching us again. I didn't enjoy us under AVB. The way we are playing reminds me of us under BMJ or Harry. It's great. And the minor heart attacks in the last 20 minutes. Wonderful. Enjoy it FFS.

DeanAustin wrote: »
    Jesus Christ, some proper misery on here.

Sherwood, although the jury is still out, is doing a super job so far and yesterday was a magnificent result. Lloris MOTM?!? WTF?

I'm enjoying watching us again. I didn't enjoy us under AVB. The way we are playing reminds me of us under BMJ or Harry. It's great. And the minor heart attacks in the last 20 minutes. Wonderful. Enjoy it FFS.

So you're saying the half a dozen game saving saves Lloris made in the last 20 minutes (which was the reason for your minor heart attacks) weren't just enough to consider him man of the match?

Who would you have picked? Soldado? Ha.

irishmover wrote: »
    So you're saying the half a dozen game saving saves Lloris made in the last 20 minutes (which was the reason for your minor heart attacks) weren't just enough to consider him man of the match?

Who would you have picked? Soldado? Ha.

He made a couple of decent stops. The Rooney one, the Chico (?) one that hit his knee, the diving header to clear. But none of them were saves I wouldn't have expected him to make. He was also a bit ropey at times. He punched and flapped at a couple of crosses he should have done better with, he handled outside the box in the first 10 minutes and he could (should) have given away a penalty. I'm a massive Hugo fan but he's been patchy over the last month or two.

I thought Walker, Vlad, Lennon and Ade all had better games. I'd probably go with Lennon for MOTM. Either way, I'm just delighted we won, it was a great result and all this nonsense about whether this or last year's win was better is irrelevant.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭golfball37

Everyone put in a decent shift yesterday. I'd have serious reservations still about Dawson and Rose but they never stopped trying.

Lennon has always done well on Evra, yesterday was no exception. Chirices played excellently, I would blame Daws for the goal moreso than him, Dawson just left Wellbeck to Vlad without warning.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Leinstersqspur

Rose seems to lack positioning sense as a full back but he is a very good footballer, that take down under pressure from United's clearance was superb.

I thought Capoue was excellent for the 65' mins, he completely shut down the midfield and forced United out wide. Also fair play to Bentaleb, coming on away at OT, Tim obviously sees a lot of potential in the kid. I hadn't heard much about him before his debut v Saints. Kane did well too.

Very encouraging stuff. Bring on the gooners;)

Rose seems to lack positioning sense as a full back but he is a very good footballer, that take down under pressure from United's clearance was superb.

I thought Capoue was excellent for the 65' mins, he completely shut down the midfield and forced United out wide. Also fair play to Bentaleb, coming on away at OT, Tim obviously sees a lot of potential in the kid. I hadn't heard much about him before his debut v Saints. Kane did well too.

Very encouraging stuff. Bring on the gooners;)

Balls of steel from Sherwood to bring kids on when we were leading by a goal at OT. That goes wrong and he gets hammered. Bentaleb looks a player.

Thought Kane booting the ball out was brilliant as well. Quick thinking from the lad.

MOTM?

Lennon out played Evra for the game and a nice assist to Eriksen for the second goal.

or

Ade scored and worked his socks off, going deep to get possession and he was great at keeping possession. Though long term I do not trust him. Every time he has a near or not so near miss he just stands there or sits on the ground for a minute wtf!?! He will also decide at some point to play with his hands in his pockets not trying, he has done this before for us and at every other club he has played for. I would sell him next summer. His wages are too high too.

Yet again Dawson was found wanting, it happens a couple of times every game. He should have picked up Welbeck, when he scored. When Vertonghen comes back, he must go down the pecking order and the captains armband given to someone else.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Antisocialiser

Thought Kane booting the ball out was brilliant as well. Quick thinking from the lad.

Did he get a yellow card for this? My nerves were shot at the time!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭slegs

No it was in play. He was offside and knew it so it was a legitimate way to waste time. Smart quick thinking

• Registered Users Posts: 6,946 ✭✭✭SuprSi

It was weird, I could've sworn that extra time was 4 minutes and shortly after Kane kicked the ball away it seemed to go to 5 minutes. Did anyone else see this?

• Registered Users Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Devo from Dublin

Ive always had a soft spot for Ade, but by jaysus, he was pony for the 1st 30 mins or so.... Then he picked up and then went off injured... The thing about Ade is , and we all say it...."when he turns up he's almost unplayable"... we shouldnt be thinking "when"...:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,913 ✭✭✭Ormus

Balls of steel from Sherwood to bring kids on when we were leading by a goal at OT. That goes wrong and he gets hammered. Bentaleb looks a player.

Bentaleb looks one for the future but we got hammered in midfield after Capoue went off

Kane looked like he had flu or something. Shoulda been booked for kicking the ball away.