Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Be still my beating heart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Tell us more about your Lycra on Lycra fight with that girl.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

A session, a recovery and an assault. Nice work.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Ososlo wrote: »
    This is not the first time this has happened me with Clonliffe Harriers.

This would never happen in Raheny!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

PaulieC wrote: »
    A session, a recovery and an assault. Nice work.

FWIW I'm not an agressive person normally :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

FWIW I'm not an agressive person normally :)

Ya right.... By the sounds of that post, you took great pleasure in assaulting that poor young lady :D:D I hope she recovers well :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

RedRunner wrote: »
    This would never happen in Raheny!;)

we Raheny people were actually in the park this evening, but I don't THINK we had any altercations ... And there were only three of us in my group so not guilty!

Wednesday 23 April
    35 mins easy

A few dizzy spells again today. Might get a blood test next week to ensure everything's ok.
    Good to stretch out the legs and get the blood flowing after previous day's efforts.

Thursday 24 April
    65 min progression run

Working until late last night and working first thing this morning. Slept great though and felt good, no dizzy spells.
    20 mins foam roll and AIS before and off to Phoenix Park. No matter what way I went today the wind seemed to be against me. The paces are very slow but I felt I was working way harder than they suggest. Started out really easy and was working harder as it progressed and working quite hard by the end so I did put in the correct efforts but probably would have worked even harder if I had been looking at the watch. I need to remind myself though that this is not meant to be a hard workout but a medium one so shouldn't be killing myself.
    Paces:
    11:36
    10:51
    10:19
    9:51
    9:09
    8:48
    8:12
    Finishing up at 7:50 pace

A few cool down miles brought me back to the car where I had a delicious chocolate milk waiting for me.
    10 miles total

pm
    35 mins easy

Fab evening. Nice and calm and sunny. Back to the scene of Tuesday's crime in my local park and luckily I got finished before they unleashed my lovely harrier friends from the athletics stadium. Nice and relaxed recovery few miles with no ignorant runners about.
    13 miles total
    Easy running until Sunday's longer run with 'stuff'. Another 2 nights of socialising Fri and Sat before the last of the Easter guests are finally shipped back to the States. Healthy living will resume Sunday with a vengeance. Unfortunately there is an easter egg with my name on it waiting for me in Kilkenny which has to be faced up to whether I like it or not ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Unfortunately there is an easter egg with my name on it waiting for me in Kilkenny which has to be faced up to whether I like it or not ...

Hey. When your on your way to Kilkenny, pop into Carlow and take the one with my name on it too :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Laois_Man wrote: »
    Hey. When your on your way to Kilkenny, pop into Carlow and take the one with my name on it too :D
    And if you could swing by this way and take the 20 something easter eggs on the top of the kitchen cupboard I would be very grateful. Thank God my folks listened to me when I said no eggs and they bought a basketball and hoop instead.

SamforMayo wrote: »
    And if you could swing by this way and take the 20 something easter eggs on the top of the kitchen cupboard I would be very grateful. Thank God my folks listened to me when I said no eggs and they bought a basketball and hoop instead.
    I'm definitely asking for a basketball and hoop next year instead of an easter egg:(

Or new runners:D

Friday 25 April
    45 mins recovery. 11:30min/mile
    When you end up in Supermacs at 3.30 in the morning you know you're not gonna feel the Mae West the next day:mad: ...

Saturday 26 April
    ...no running. More drinking...

Sunday 27 April

... the party's over:cool:... finally:o
    10 miles incl 3x(8 mins @ 5mile effort, 1 min jog, 1 min @mile pace) 3 mins recovery between sets
    Anyone who knows me or reads this knows that I never don't want to run. Today I really didn't want to run. Felt absolutely exhausted. Not so much a hangover but just felt ridiculously tired and just wanted to sleep. Horrible drive this morning and stuck in dreadful traffic at Newlands Cross.. glute gets a bit sore when I'm sitting for long periods so could't wait to get out of the car. 4 hours later all I was fit for was the bed but I decided to just go out and attempt a few easy miles and leave the session for another day unless a miracle happened and I could do it.
    Felt awful on warmup miles and only did 2 instead of usual 3 but thought I'd give the first set a go and see what happened...
    First 8 mins - 8:34 pace (slower than even my current pathetic 5mile pb pace. Not surprising considering how bad I felt...)
    1 min jog
    1 min at 1 mile: 7:12

Second 8 mins - 8:36
    1 min at 1 mile: 7:41 (I have run a mile faster than this so know this was too slow)

Third 8 mins - 8:28
    1 min at 1 mile : 7:23

Yes overall it should have been faster but I really don't give a toss considering how awful I felt before it and I still can't believe I did the whole session and it was relatively successful. It's a miracle:D Funny thing is that it actually got easier as I got into it and I felt great by the end of it and wouldn't have minded doing another set. The 3 min recoveries between sets were quite sufficient to recover fully.
    Back to focussing on good diet and proper hydration from now.
    10.5 miles total

48+ miles for the week
    6 days running
    8 runs

now for some rest...... zzzzzzzzzzzzzz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Friday 25 April
    45 mins recovery. 11:30min/mile
    When you end up in Supermacs at 3.30 in the morning you know you're not gonna feel the Mae West the next day:mad: ...

Saturday 26 April
    ...no running. More drinking...

Sunday 27 April

... the party's over:cool:... finally:o
    10 miles incl 3x(8 mins @ 5mile effort, 1 min jog, 1 min @mile pace) 3 mins recovery between sets
    Anyone who knows me or reads this knows that I never don't want to run. Today I really didn't want to run. Felt absolutely exhausted. Not so much a hangover but just felt ridiculously tired and just wanted to sleep. Horrible drive this morning and stuck in dreadful traffic at Newlands Cross.. glute gets a bit sore when I'm sitting for long periods so could't wait to get out of the car. 4 hours later all I was fit for was the bed but I decided to just go out and attempt a few easy miles and leave the session for another day unless a miracle happened and I could do it.
    Felt awful on warmup miles and only did 2 instead of usual 3 but thought I'd give the first set a go and see what happened...
    First 8 mins - 8:34 pace (slower than even my current pathetic 5mile pb pace. Not surprising considering how bad I felt...)
    1 min jog
    1 min at 1 mile: 7:12

Second 8 mins - 8:36
    1 min at 1 mile: 7:41 (I have run a mile faster than this so know this was too slow)

Third 8 mins - 8:28
    1 min at 1 mile : 7:23

Yes overall it should have been faster but I really don't give a toss considering how awful I felt before it and I still can't believe I did the whole session and it was relatively successful. It's a miracle:D Funny thing is that it actually got easier as I got into it and I felt great by the end of it and wouldn't have minded doing another set. The 3 min recoveries between sets were quite sufficient to recover fully.
    Back to focussing on good diet and proper hydration from now.
    10.5 miles total

48+ miles for the week
    6 days running
    8 runs

now for some rest...... zzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Yea I've known that feeling and it ain't pretty, it could have been worse, you could have woken up in Supermacs at 3.30 :)

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

You can't beat Soupy Kacks after some beer!

tang1 wrote: »
    You can't beat Soupy Kacks after some beer!

Soupy wha???

Yea I've known that feeling and it ain't pretty, it could have been worse, you could have woken up in Supermacs at 3.30 :)

TbL

Who said I didn't ;)

Soupy wha???

The effect Super Macs has on the trouser department after a feed of beer!!

You learn something new everyday :o
    Luckily I didn't have any such issues:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,236 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

You learn something new everyday :o
    Luckily I didn't have any such issues:)

You weren't wearing trousers?

Monday 28 April
    4 miles easy

Great sleep, exhaustion gone, lots of weird dreams though. AIS and went to park in Glasnevin to run this to mix things up a bit. Nice cool morning, no sun. Legs feel great after yesterday's run. Hard not to pick it up a bit but stayed conservative with the pace. Nice to see the faces of a few different runners and non-runners and dogs as I keep bumping into the same ones in my local park and getting kinda sick of them! No matter what time of the day I go there at I see the same people. They must walk there numerous times every day... Weird... but they probably think I'm weird too... running nowhere slowly... everyday......

pm - 3 miles easy
    Busy day working on a new special project... Neck aching from sitting at a computer for hours. Really needed the AIS as legs felt a bit achey too as I wasn't moving about enough for the afternoon. Ran this one locally and yes all the same folks were about :rolleyes:... Stuck on some toons and ignored the world... enjoyable in it's own way.
    Harder session tomorrow.

7+ daily total

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭rom

One thing to note about doubles is that unless you are running in excess of 70-80 miles a week they have little benefit (says P&D). Coming from someone who used to run a lot of doubles I ran only 2 during my last marathon build up and I felt super fresh even doing much more mileage as I gave my body time to recover rather than constantly draining the well.

If you run 2x5 miles in the day your weekly mileage total will thank you for it but it won't have the same training effect of running it in a single run. Secondly you will have less time to recover for the next day. It is a pattern I fell into which resulted in me being very tired all the time and lack luster in relation to training. The additional time for recovery is needed for people who are new to the sport like ourselves.

It can be hard to find the time to do single runs but it defo the way to go at this level of mileage. You will sleep better, recover better and feel better so that for your key sessions you will be flying. I don't plan in doing doubles for a while as they were not worth it and my weekly milage doesn't need it. I trained more consistently week after week not doing them as I didn't break down.

rom wrote: »
    It is a pattern I fell into which resulted in me being very tired all the time and lack luster in relation to training. The additional time for recovery is needed for people who are new to the sport like ourselves.

Thanks rom. The day I feel lack luster about my training is definitely the day I'll give up the doubles:)

Tuesday 29 April
    4.6 miles easy

Forgot it was club night in the local park:rolleyes:
    Took myself onto the roads instead which was nice for a change. That is until I heard this car horn beeping at me. Tried to remain composed and not get angry until I looked up and saw it was the bf:D Hope he doesn't go around honking horns at all the ladies running in the area:eek: Best keep an eye on that!
    Couldn't do my interval session tonight as late home from work and just too tired after a long day at work. I'm off tomorrow so perfect to do it then instead.
    Can't wait:D
    4.6 miles total

Tuesday 29 April
    4.6 miles easy

Forgot it was club night in the local park:rolleyes:
    Took myself onto the roads instead which was nice for a change. That is until I heard this car horn beeping at me. Tried to remain composed and not get angry until I looked up and saw it was the bf:D Hope he doesn't go around honking horns at all the ladies running in the area:eek: Best keep an eye on that!
    Couldn't do my interval session tonight as late home from work and just too tired after a long day at work. I'm off tomorrow so perfect to do it then instead.
    Can't wait:D
    4.6 miles total
    You cant wait, you nut:eek: I Have to talk myself into any sort of session, cant say I have ever looked forward to one. I do enjoy the feeling after though.

Maybe you're right:D 5k pace intervals are the business though. Fast but short-lived. Best session of the week by far although I do really enjoy progression runs too. Long tempos are my least favourite I think...

Wednesday 30 April
    10 x 2mins @ 5k off 90 sec rec

AIS at home. Phoenix Park for this. Rain quite heavy for most of this so very quiet around which was just grand. Nice and cool and my hands were actually freezing for most of it. It's nearly feckin May! 2 mile warmup and then drills. I'm getting better at these and don't feel as self-conscious about doing them in public. I used to feel like a tool skipping and marching along the fields but I don't give a cr1p now:p As long as it helps my running I'll do whatever it takes.
    Paces varied from 7:40s to just under 8 but I finished strong. Shorter cool down than usual as I had to see a man about a dog...
    7.6 miles total

pm
    35 mins easy

Super slow, nothing faster than a brisk walk so don't berate me for it:D Running makes me happy, so if I can be happy twice a day then bully for me I say:p Passed Clonliffee Harriers and there were some guys out with placards protesting about some bullying. I must look into it.
    10+ miles daily total

Monthly total mileage: 164
    4 progression runs
    4 long runs with 10k pace work
    3 interval sessions
    1 happy Ososlo:D

Thursday 1 May
    35 mins recovery

Lashing rain. Nice and refreshing.

Friday 2May
    65 min progression run

AIS when I got home from work. Drove to St. Anne's as I just love running there. At the moment it's my favourite place to run so I'll get there at least once a week for the summer.
    I felt great tonight. Not sure why I felt so good but it shows in the paces (checked afterwards). Wore my St5s for the first time in absolutely ages just for a change. Very comfy and light. Warm up miles much faster (hey it's all relative;)) than usual and overall paces much faster and didn't feel very hard until the very end.
    10:48
    10:25
    9:35
    9:14
    8:53
    8:39
    8:08
    Ended up at 7:40 pace for the last min
    Was buzzing at the end of this and decided to trot down to the coast to get a whiff of the sea air. Sorry I did due to tosssers making a nuisance of themselves hanging about on the wall. You'd swear they'd never seen a girl in a pair of shorts before. God help the young wans these days.:rolleyes:
    Buzz ruined but got over it quickly enough:D
    9.13 miles total
    Easy run
    runs
    tomorrow and some more exciting stuff Sunday.
    Happy days:)

The Kinnegad 5k is on the 9th of July, a Wednesday evening just to let you know.

thanks tang. Looks like all the suitable races for me are up your direction!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

"Sorry I did due to tosssers making a nuisance of themselves hanging about on the wall. You'd swear they'd never seen a girl in a pair of shorts before. God help the young wans these days.:rolleyes:
    Buzz ruined but got over it quickly enough:D"

Don't mind them Ososlo, flick the hair, smile and jog on...works for me every time :D:D

Next time I'm in Dublin D, do you want to run with me :)

TbL

TbL

I think it'd be great for you two kids to get together finally :D I'd recommend a rose garden run.
    Imagine if it turned out you couldn't stand each other:eek:
    Don't think that'll happen:)

TbL

I'm not getting involved in these hard-to-get-games I see you playing at the moment TbL - but yes, you had me at hello......or rather"next.."

I think it'd be great for you two kids to get together finally :D I'd recommend a rose garden run.
    Imagine if it turned out you couldn't stand each other:eek:
    Don't think that'll happen:)

Ah the rose garden, I remember when it was just a secret track in a lovely park...(sniff)

Duanington wrote: »
    I'm not getting involved in these hard-to-get-games I see you playing at the moment TbL - but yes, you had me at hello......or rather"next.."
    I have this image in my mind of you guys chasing each other around the rose garden with Benny Hill music playing in the background:D
    Go on D. You know you want to! He won't let it go so you might as well just go ahead, submit and await your fate;)

I have this image in my mind of you guys chasing each other around the rose garden with Benny Hill music playing in the background:D

ha ha ha - brilliant

To quote Benny Hill, "I'm not against half naked girls - not as much as I'd like to be anyway" :)

I'll put your name in my black book D!

TbL

TbL

Thought you were going to ask him to 'meet' you.

Duanington wrote: »

Now I don't want to worry you but I have a feeling he is after only one thing...more info on how to master the chin up bar, I might be wrong but it does not happen enough.

I was thinking this was all too good to be true!

Saturday 3 May
    35 mins recovery

AIS x 20 mins
    Only 2 hours sleep and 5 hours accompanying my mum on a shopping spree (very hard work as I really hate shopping:( ) so decided to knock the second run on the head and just did 35 mins at recovery effort today.

Sunday 4 May
    10 miles including 5 x (5mins @ 5mile pace, 1 min jog, 1 min @ 1mile pace) 3 min jog recoveries between sets
    AIS, foam roll x 20 mins
    Had to bring notes for this one! Very very pleased with this. I feel on fire over the last few days during my sessions and it's showing in my paces. I wore my st5s again and think they're giving me a psychological boost. Really bad night's sleep again last night (it's been great in general lately so hope this is not a bad patch arising again) but felt better than ever on my run so it didn't effect me one bit.
    W/U x 3 miles and drills. (warm up miles faster lately by putting in same very low effort 10min/miles as opposed to 11)
    5 sets:
    first set - 5 mins @5mile - 8:16
    1min @ 1 mile - 7:13
    2nd. 5mins @5mile - 8:12
    1min @ 1 mile - 7:22
    3rd. 5 mins @ 5mile - 8:02
    1min @ 1mile - 7:25
    4th. 5mins @ 5mile - 8:19
    1min @ 1mile - 7:40 (felt very tired after this and walked 10 secs of rec jog)
    5th. 5mins @ 5mile - 8:03
    1min @ 1 mile - 7:27 (felt really good at end of 5th set and could have done another set. Actually would have really liked to do another set as I was enjoying it so much:D)
    Current 5mile bp is 8:28 pace - 42:22 so I'd be quietly confident (if that's possible on an internet public forum!) that I could run about 40.xx for 5 miles in a race setting. Well I felt I could do that today. Tomorrow might be different:)
    My min at mile paces seem to be quite slow compared to what I feel they should be if I were to race a mile but I was putting in a good effort and felt I was really travelling.

I arrived home from my run and my super duper bf had gone to Amphibian King to pick me up a new pair of training shoes as I never get a chance to get there myself. Fecker gave away my boards persona to the guy there who said "oh I know of Ososlo" :eek::o:o:o.... Now that's embarrassing!!!! I don't like anyone in real life to know who I am here... Except when the two worlds collide at boards beers once a year but sure no one remembers anything that happens then anyways:D
    I've forgiven him (just about) as the new model of Mizunos I got are super!

Currently trying to not put on my new trainers and go out for a 'test' run... Feeling tired from lack of sleep so probably the sensible thing to do. But the night is young;) but I'm going to really try not to. Have loads of work to do tonight anyways and work tomorrow...
    Weekly total: 46 miles

Excellent session, no plodder here!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Great work today. That's funny about AK. Curious though, did the bf know what kind of shoe you would like or did he just take a punt?

RedRunner wrote: »
    Great work today. That's funny about AK. Curious though, did the bf know what kind of shoe you would like or did he just take a punt?

:D He brought a pair of my current ones with him and just asked for the new version. I've tried them out around the house and can bring back if necessary but they seem perfect!

He is a good man, hold on to him;)

New running shoes - the way to a girls heart.:p

hell yeah! I'm anyones after such a gesture:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭Gavlor

You'd be amazed by the amount of non boardsies that already now about your blog and your secret persona.

Stalkers everywhere!

That session looks good by the way but I'm too hungover to read it properly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

tosssers making a nuisance of themselves hanging about on the wall. You'd swear they'd never seen a girl in a pair of shorts before. God help the young wans these days.:rolleyes:
    Buzz ruined but got over it quickly enough

At least you've never had anything thrown at you from a passing car (or I don't remember you ever mentioning it anyway).
    It's happened to me 4 or 5 times now....and even though I haven't been hit yet....I do be fuming....and every time, its happened on the same stretch of road.
    I know what you're thinking genius....don't run that stretch of road :D

Laois_Man wrote: »
    At least you've never had anything thrown at you from a passing car (or I don't remember you ever mentioning it anyway).
    It's happened to me 4 or 5 times now....and even though I haven't been hit yet....I do be fuming....and every time, its happened on the same stretch of road.
    I know what you're thinking genius....don't run that stretch of road :D

Jaysus, where are you living? Beirut?