Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

1994 was 20 years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

My memories of 94 are making my confirmation and wearing one of those long skirts that were so in at the time, with one of them stupid black hats with the turned up brim at the front.

then for the other days I had xworks and eclipse jeans.... comfort!!!

I also remember my uncle coming back from america, he went over for the world cup and brought me back a lion king t shirt, that film had only just come out that summer, i loved that T shirt.

spent the summer listening to Longwave Radio Atlantic 252..... best radio station going.

then off to secondary school in September where for the first time in all my 12 years I met another person with the same first name as me, except she was a bit of a messer and got in trouble lots so i spent the last few months of the year getting a fright every time my name was shouted out in an angry voice only for it not to be me who was being shouted at.

grand year so it was!
    Jesus I'd forgotten about Atlantic 252.

I'm gone all misty eyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Was entering my second year living in Prague, getting good at drinking beer and sleeping in bars and catching the first metro, and thinking there might be some miracle that would let me finally understand Czech.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭sparkthatbled

I was 10 and we had been forced to move to a block of council flats in town the previous year, which was a very unpleasant experience. When the world cup came around, though, there was suddenly a tremendous sense of community around the place. All the balconies were painted in irish or american colours and one of the dads did a really nice mural of the world cup trophy with irish and american flags behind it on the wall of the sheds. The night we beat Italy I went out and played football in the square with all the kids who had bullied me since we had moved there and the adults let us each have a small glass of that fake champagne cider stuff. Turned out a small glass was enough and we had a very good time! After that I didn't mind living there so much.

The only other major event I remember was the eurovision. :confused:

Wish i could remember Senna or Kurt Cobain, but I'd say the most important event of 1994 to me (that I didn't experience at the time) was the Manic Street Preachers releasing The Holy Bible. When I heard that album for the first time 5 years later it completely changed my life. No other album has even come close to affecting me so profoundly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭kal7

I was 21, in 3rd year college in central london, attending raves on M25, not being served in canteen at college by Italian staff because Houghton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

For those thinking they saw the Foo Fighters live, think again. It's a bit hard when the band didnt exist until the end of '94 and didnt tour till '95.

Source: I was 18 for most of 94, and was about to meet my third (but first serious) girlfriend....who errr is now a mod here on boards (hello dearie!)

Had no interest in sport so the F1 deaths and USA 94 was background noise to me playing guitar/bass along to metal and grunge albums.

went to the local college, so still lived at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

I was in college and turned 21 that year. The funniest (and dodgiest) thing at my 21st party was an aunt of my mother's saying "Happy 21st...and may you live 21 more."

Eh, thanks...

Well you lasted 20 at least.;)

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

Was born that year. Time is really starting to fly by now. 2010 was nearly half a decade ago and it's still 100% clear like it was last year to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

I remember it mostly for Steve Staunton with his oversized white cap during the World Cup and having a septoplasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭branie

SPM1959 wrote: »
    Provisional actually :)

The ceasefire was official

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ghogie91

I remember being 3 in '94

Not really though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

_Redzer_ wrote: »
    Was born that year. Time is really starting to fly by now. 2010 was nearly half a decade ago and it's still 100% clear like it was last year to me.

Well it was 3 years and 4 days ago like, let's not get carried away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

Super-Rush wrote: »
    Jesus I'd forgotten about Atlantic 252.

I'm gone all misty eyed.

Dusty Rhodes, Robin Banks and taping everything.

I think I probably bought my first CD around 94 too. I was 14 and Four Weddings and a Funeral was released. I still love it today. "You Charlie, it's always been you"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭SPM1959

The year of the first official IRA ceasefire
    branie wrote: »
    The ceasefire was official

You obviously didn't get it.

The first 'Official IRA' ceasefire was 1972.

The first 'Provisional IRA' ceasefire was 1975. They went on ceasefire again in 1994.

Everyday is a school day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

I remember hearing about Martin Cahill being shot. I was in Dublin at the time. Thought to myself "Jesus this place is dangerous". Remember Boris Yeltsin in Shannon I think it was and the Irish dignitaries waiting for him to get off the plane. Priceless😅

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

I was 14 and it was the year I got drunk for the first time on a mug of beer given to me by a friend's brother during the Mexico V Ireland game during the WC.

Year my dad married my stepmother.

Lots of shifting but not really talking to said fellas due to shyness.

Riverdance.

And that's it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

I started drinking. Ritz! The closest I could get when I googled it was http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Perry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

And the release of Blur's Parklife! How could I forget!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

I started drinking. Ritz! The closest I could get when I googled it was http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Perry
    I was 8/9 in 1994 but I always remember associating that stuff with Hooch and... I think there was another alcopop?

And where I remember hearing about it... the FM104 Chris Barry Phone Show! Which apparently is back now that Adrian Kennedy left a few months back. Madness, altogether!

Alcopops were f'ucking nasty things. You'd be rotten after five of them, and thrown off the late bus.

I can't believe I didn't stop drinking them until the age of 27.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I was 8. My dad (not a football fan) won tickets to the World Cup. He brought me home an inflatable hammer. I spent a glorious evening running up and down the road hitting people with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Met my now hubby. He dropped a fiver in a packed pub and I picked it up and handed it back to him. The rest is history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

Got married in 94 :)

Ayrton Senna's accident on may 1st

Oasis, Blur at their peaks

World Cup

Phil Collins at the Point

Mandela became president of SA

OJ Simpson murders (Alleged :) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

I was six. Don't really have any memories from around then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

I was 16, Weezers Blue album. That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭Leogirl

Pearl Jam Vitalogy - how did I forget that. Their best album, yet!! Great year for music, even if I didn't realise it then. Other posters have reminded me how good it was :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

I remember hearing about Martin Cahill being shot. I was in Dublin at the time. Thought to myself "Jesus this place is dangerous". Remember Boris Yeltsin in Shannon I think it was and the Irish dignitaries waiting for him to get off the plane. Priceless😅

Alcopops were f'ucking nasty things. You'd be rotten after five of them, and thrown off the late bus.

I can't believe I didn't stop drinking them until the age of 27.
    My only real contact with them was the summer of 2004 I think it was when I turned 18, and those Fat Frog things were everywhere. Tried one a few years later since it was on a drinks menu as a novelty. F***ing vile wouldn't begin to describe it.
    Met my now hubby. He dropped a fiver in a packed pub and I picked it up and handed it back to him. The rest is history.
    Aaah, the old fiver on a string trick. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

1994 what a year, what a summer 11 at the time, living down the road from the lovely Rosie who was 22, happened to find her sunbathing wearing only a smile one day, what a sight to look at while Cleaning the Pipes, and Brazil winning the World Cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Ah 1994 I was 14, in second year and had a crush on a lot of boys! I listened to Nirvana, Scooter and Oasis. I wore x-works & Eclipse jeans. Went knacker drinking with cans of Ritz & anything else I could get my hands on. Was wild and carefree. Dems were the days!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Nirvana: world stage on MTV music right now :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Dusty Rhodes, Robin Banks and taping everything.

I think I probably bought my first CD around 94 too. I was 14 and Four Weddings and a Funeral was released. I still love it today. "You Charlie, it's always been you"

And Rick o Shea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

I was 3. I remember going around with a big tri colour inflatable hammer and my face painted :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

Anybody who was a teenager in the 90s, like myself (I was 16 in 1994) should check out My Mad Fat Diary on e4, it's set in 1995 / 1996 (I think!) and during the big britpop explosion.

So fücking good!

In 94 I got my first job.
    First summer hanging out with friends in a "grown up" way.
    No fella though - I had a face like a pizza.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

No fella though - I had a face like a pizza.

Covered in meat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭wilkie2006

Pretty interesting video from a 1994 episode of Tomorrow's World:

Even more incredible - I think - is that the "On Demand" features she's talking about are only available relatively recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭youreadthat

I'm going to blow the OP's mind.

1995 was 19 years ago.

Wow, talk about "F'ing nailed it!" compared to some of the mad predictions we saw surrounding computers and internet in the 1990s (see: Speed 2, *Hackers, The Net and just about any computer-focused 'action' film of that time :D ).

*Couldn't let it pass without mentioning HOLY SH*T THEY'RE HACKING GIBSON!!!!!! (...) (???)

Yes teenagers reading this, this is what lots of people thought the 'back end' stuff on the internet looked like, or would look like, back in the mid 90s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Jhcx

Jaysus yer all old. im only going to be 21 this year so 20 years ago i woulda been 1 lol. there was me getting worried i was old. I dont actually remember anything of 94 bar walking around the house in england and watching tv and being in the pub.

Billy86 wrote: »
    My only real contact with them was the summer of 2004 I think it was when I turned 18, and those Fat Frog things were everywhere. Tried one a few years later since it was on a drinks menu as a novelty. F***ing vile wouldn't begin to describe it.

Aaah, the old fiver on a string trick. :D
    Yeh alcopops were everywhere in the mid to late 90s; then a bit of a lull, and then popular again with that fat frog piss. I was drinking fat frogs when I was 26/27 (04/05) like a 17-year-old! Yet I was also going out with a much older man...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

A great year. Offaly won the all ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭glynf

Sweat at Sir Henry's, the Blue album by Weezer, Illmatic by Nas, I was 19 years old :eek:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭branie

A great year. Offaly won the all ireland.

Clare beat them a year later in Hurling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

a pivotal year in the life of harry boy,ecstasy tablets that cost more than a round of drinks,the world cup(we were actually in it) the ra calling a ceasefire,and then blowing up canary wharf,lots of memories good and bad...jeez i feel old now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭LostInLM

94 what a year. Leitrim winning the connacht championship and running out in Croker against the Dubs. Charlie McGettigan winning Eurovision. Autumn of continuous celebration in Carrick on Shannon to the sound of "The Grid" and "Cotton eyed Joe"!!!

Ah simple times.....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gQqLDKsnqwA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭Gordon Gecko

My first day of Junior Infants, dodgy jumpers, the old buses, velcro runners, getting very excited about Christmas and getting a pound off my auld fella and thinking it was all the money in the world! Great, simpler times...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭3DataModem

Went on a sweet holiday to Galway with some mates. Card games, pints, discos and rolling our own.

First year I grew a beard. Still have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Karmella

spent the summer listening to Longwave Radio Atlantic 252..... best radio station going.

For all those feeling nostalgic about Atlantic 252 there's a tribute station on TuneIn - came across it one day while searching for 90's music. :D

http://tun.in/seR5p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

The year I was born, I can't remember any specific details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

A memorable year for me, I was 16. In 1993 I felt like a kid whereas In 1995 I felt like an adult. Basically I experienced a few things in 94 that resulted in me "coming of age" and growing up. I don't want to get into them all for obvious reasons but one of them was when my father suffered some health problems. Also it was the last year where I started the year in school and finished it in school with a long summer of lazing about in between. Post 94 it was leaving certs, jobs, university, uni exams, moving away from home, relatives dying, losing touch with lads I'd known since I was 4 years old etc.

The Imola 94 weekend with the deaths of Senna and Ratzenberger is crystal clear in my mind. The sequence of events, the TV coverage, the reactions, how I felt at the time.

As a big motorsport and Alfa Romeo fan the British Touring Car Championship was great that year. Some spectacular crashes too like this one

The World Cup and the victory over Italy. Paul McGrath's performance, Aldridge losing his temper in the Mexico match. The performances of Romania and Bulgaria, Hagi and Stoichkov.

1-0 to the Arsenal - the Cup Winners Cup vs Parma

British Open golf at Turnberry was good, one of my favourites Nick Price won it and another favourite Tom Watson did very well and could have won (and then came even closer at the same venue 15 years later)

Kurt Cobain killed himself. I wasn't a big fan but many others were and it was big news.

John Smith (British Labour leader) died suddenly.

In terms of the Troubles, the IRA ceasefire but also the Loughlinisland shootings stand out. Crazy to think that 20 years ago in a supposedly civilised country that people were sitting in a pub watching Ireland vs Italy only to have gunmen walk in and spray them with bullets.

Plenty of other stuff too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Agonist

Seeing Nine Inch Nails and the Manic Street Preachers live in Dublin.
    Going to San Francisco gay pride
    Doing my second primary degree, living on Pastis and espresso.
    Memorable Eurovision party where I hooked up with somebody who's now married to my sister.
    Looking back it was a fantastic year and it's unlikely I'll have as good a year again.