Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭corny

naughtb4 wrote: »
    The effort was there for the most part i thought yesterday (thought Philly and Connolly werent putting it in). It was a warm day hard to keep intensity at 100% in that

Agreed. They put in a real good shift yesterday.

A good way of judging how hard Dublin are working is to watch how many defenders and midfielders commit to the attack. Against Laois a few runs were made as the game wore on but it was mainly left to the forwards to do their thing. Yesterday there was no settling in period. Devereux, Nolan, McCarthy, Cooper and especially McMahon all made regular sorties forward. If anything they had too many options confusing the issue in attack! I think thats why in the opening quarter no one took the easy option; they sniffed a goal every time.

I've no doubt Connolly will up his game when the time comes but for me McMahon plays like a half forward trapped at corner back. Don't know how many times i saw him running/trotting back yesterday not knowing where his man was. Also, he has a habit of giving his man plenty of space to receive the ball. He's never tight or quick to close down that space either. Night and day when you compare him to the two lads beside him. Wouldn't have him at corner back. Would Brennan be an option at corner back i wonder? Devereux is really growing on me at CB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Gael85

Dublin have used 24 players in 2 Championship games.Appearances+Subs for 2014 Championship Games

Brogan, Alan 2
    Cluxton, Stephen 2
    Connolly, Diarmuid 2
    Cooper, Jonny 2
    Devereux, Nicky 2
    Flynn, Paul 2
    Macauley, Michael Darragh 2
    McCarthy, James 2
    McMahon, Philip 2
    O'Carroll, Rory 2
    O'Sullivan, Cian 2
    Mannion, Paul 1+1
    McManamon, Kevin 1+1
    Rock, Dean 1+1
    O'Gara, Eoghan 1+1
    Costello, Cormac 0+2
    Cullen, Bryan 0+2
    McCaffrey, Jack 0+2
    Andrews, Paddy 1
    Brogan, Bernard 1
    Daly, Darren 1
    Nolan, Kevin 1
    Brady, Tomas 0+1
    Fitzsimons, Michael 0+1

Dublin have scored 4-46(58) and conceded 1-28(31) in 2 Championship games. Scorers 2014 Championship Game

Costello, Cormac 1-8
    Flynn, Paul 1-5
    Rock, Dean 0-7
    Connolly, Diarmuid 1-3
    Macauley, Michael Darragh 1-1
    Cluxton, Stephen 0-3
    Mannion, Paul 0-3
    O'Gara, Eoghan 0-3
    Brady, Tomas 0-2
    Brogan, Alan 0-2
    McManamon, Kevin 0-2
    Andrews, Paddy 0-1
    Brogan, Bernard 0-1
    Cullen, Bryan 0-1
    Devereux, Nicky 0-1
    McCarthy, James 0-1
    McMahon, Philip 0-1
    O'Sullivan, Cian 0-1

Dublin have used 36 players in 9 league games.Appearances+Subs for 2014 League Games

Cooper, Jonny 9
    Macauley, Michael Darragh 8+1
    O'Gara, Eoghan 6+3
    Cluxton, Stephen 8
    McMahon, Philip 8
    McManamon, Kevin 7+1
    Byrne, Davy(Ballymun) 2+6
    Nelson, Darragh 2+6
    O'Sullivan, Cian 7
    Brogan, Alan 6+1
    Reddin, Ciaran 5+2
    Nolan, Kevin 4+3
    McCarthy, James 6
    Andrews, Paddy 5+1
    Fitzsimons, Michael 5+1
    Brady, Tomas 2+4
    McCaffrey, Jack 2+4
    Devereux, Nicky 2+3
    Connolly, Diarmuid 4
    Cullen, Bryan 4
    Flynn, Paul 4
    George, Sean 4
    Kilkenny, Ciaran 4
    O'Carroll, Rory 4
    Costello, Cormac 3+1
    Carty, Shane 2+2
    Whelan, Jason 2+2
    Lowndes, Eric 3
    Daly, Darren 2+1
    O'Mahony, Declan 2+1
    Hudson, Paul 1+2
    Brogan, Bernard 1+1
    Currie, Sean 1+1
    Mannion, Paul 0+2
    O'Brien, Kevin 0+1
    Watson, Daniel 0+1

Dublin have scored 14-138(180) and conceded 11-117(150) in 9 league games. Scorers 2014 League Games

McManamon, Kevin 3-17
    Connolly, Diarmuid 2-11
    O'Gara, Eoghan 3-7
    Brogan, Bernard 1-11
    Brogan, Alan 0-12
    Andrews, Paddy 1-8
    Costello, Cormac 0-10
    Cluxton, Stephen 0-10
    Macauley, Michael Darragh 2-2
    Hudson, Paul 0-7
    Kilkenny, Ciaran 0-6
    Reddin, Ciaran 0-6
    Whelan, Jason 1-3
    Flynn, Paul 0-5
    Cooper, Jonny 0-4
    McCarthy, James 1-1
    Byrne, Davy(Ballymun) 0-3
    Carty, Shane 0-3
    Cullen, Bryan 0-2
    Mannion, Paul 0-2
    McMahon, Philip 0-2
    Nelson, Darragh 0-2
    O'Sullivan, Cian 0-2
    Brady, Tomas 0-1
    McCaffrey, Jack 0-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Gael85

Player Championship Games Played/Scored

Andrews, Paddy 9 1-9
    Bastic, Denis 22 1-6
    Brady, Tomas 1 0-2
    Brennan, Ger 27 0-5
    Brogan, Alan 60 11-123
    Brogan, Bernard 36 12-142
    Cluxton, Stephen 68 0-45 -40 Clean Sheets Conceded 39 goals
    Connolly, Diarmuid 28 5-34
    Cooper, Johnny 9
    Costello, Cormac 3 1-8
    Cullen, Bryan 55 0-36
    Daly, Darren 5
    Devereux, Nicky 4 0-1
    Fitzsimons, Michael 19
    Flynn, Paul 32 3-26
    Kilkenny, Ciaran 9 0-14
    Macauley, Michael Darragh 24 2-6
    Mannion, Paul 8 3-9
    McCaffrey, Jack 9 1-1
    McCarthy, James 19 1-2
    McMahon, Philip 22 0-5
    McManamon, Kevin 22 3-15
    Nolan, Kevin 22 0-5
    O'Brien, Kevin 5
    O'Carroll, Rory 27
    O'Gara, Eoghan 24 5-12
    O'Mahony, Declan 5 0-1
    O'Sullivan, Cian 19 0-4
    Rock, Dean 8 0-17

Gael85 wrote: »
    Player| Championship Games Played |Scored

Andrews, Paddy| 9 |1-9
    Bastic, Denis |22 |1-6
    Brady, Tomas |1| 0-2
    Brennan, Ger |27| 0-5
    Brogan, Alan |60 |11-123
    Brogan, Bernard |36 |12-142
    Cluxton, Stephen |68 |0-45 -40 Clean Sheets Conceded 39 goals
    Connolly, Diarmuid| 28| 5-34
    Cooper, Johnny| 9
    Costello, Cormac| 3| 1-8
    Cullen, Bryan| 55| 0-36
    Daly, Darren| 5
    Devereux, Nicky| 4 |0-1
    Fitzsimons, Michael| 19
    Flynn, Paul |32| 3-26
    Kilkenny, Ciaran| 9| 0-14
    Macauley, Michael Darragh| 24| 2-6
    Mannion, Paul| 8 |3-9
    McCaffrey, Jack| 9| 1-1
    McCarthy, James| 19| 1-2
    McMahon, Philip |22| 0-5
    McManamon, Kevin| 22 |3-15
    Nolan, Kevin |22| 0-5
    O'Brien, Kevin| 5
    O'Carroll, Rory| 27
    O'Gara, Eoghan |24| 5-12
    O'Mahony, Declan |5 |0-1
    O'Sullivan, Cian |19 |0-4
    Rock, Dean |8 |0-17

Gael85 don't know if you know (or care;)) but you can put info like that in a small table easy enough. Makes it a bit more readable/legible.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Dubliner28

Any word on Danny Sutcliffe ? Fit to start?

This is going to be a massive massive game Sunday for us. Hopefully the yo-yo seasons are gone. Either way win or lose, still looking at a 1/4 place at worst, just hopefully avoid Clare in them.

Dubliner28 wrote: »
    Any word on Danny Sutcliffe ? Fit to start?

This is going to be a massive massive game Sunday for us. Hopefully the yo-yo seasons are gone. Either way win or lose, still looking at a 1/4 place at worst, just hopefully avoid Clare in them.

Sutcliffe starts. I'm sure he's been keeping fit while not playing. Big boost.

You'd have to make them favs but i hope the players have moved past the we've done well to get this far mentality. We are defending champions after all and i hope we are aggressive in taking the game to them.

Section 306, Row W.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Big test tomorrow. Can't wait.

A win would be the stuff of dreams, I think we'll see a hugely hungry Kilkenny team tomorrow, hopefully our lads will stand up to it.

We have nothing to fear. Sutcliffe back is massive, his physicality will be a big plus.

COYBIB.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭savannahkat

Wexford's showing today shows just how good a display was Dublin's in Wexford park. A very timely reminder to Kilkenny about just how good this Dublin team are. We are well warned so we cant have any excuses if we lose. We will need at least three of the four newcomers, (Holden, Fogarty, P Walsh and Power) to stand up if we are going to win. This is a game that is just to close to call. There will be no place for the faint hearted to hide tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

I'm looking forward to tomorrow immensely, even if two of my housemates are going and supporting Kilkenny. At least I'm in amongst the other season ticket holders so I don't have to listen to them :D It looks like Daly is putting out as strong a team as he can, it's business time after all. Two Leinsters in two years would be a dream for Dublin hurling and I can't wait to see how it turns out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Joekers

More of this tomorrow would be greatly appreciated, such a hard game to call hopefully we come out the right side of it every player needs to be giving 110% at least to have any chance of beating this Kilkenny side who will be dying to get one back on Dublin after last year they'll be really looking to lay down a marker and try and show Dublin up. Hopefully are lads stand strong and can weather the early goal storm which Kilkenny will try lay upon them if they can keep it tight for the first half I dont see any reason why they cant push on in the second and hopefully edge over the line. It bodes well for Dublin that Wexford came out today and played so well and should have beating the reigning champs.

Hopefully they can raise there game tomorrow and kick on from where they left off in Wexford Park a few weeks back. I'll always maintain that Brian Cody will forever rue that day Dublin beat Kilkenny in the league final in 2011 it definitely gave belief in hurling to other counties that the top teams were finally beatable if you put enough commitment and desire into your own game.

COYBIB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

^- That was a great day out :) Time to head and see if we can repeat it. COYBIB!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭coolisin

That was just poor game overall!!

I'm glad they where going for goals but knocking over points may have helped our cause just a little.

Kilkenny backs where great again that's two weekends on the trot they have being immense.

But the problem with both the minors and seniors was the first touch/holding onto the ball and picking it up!

I didn't sing until the end because there was nothing to sing or shout about.

Our backs and Nolan in goals played well, they where calm under pressure I thought.

Some of the passing around before getting it away was annoying and nearly made matters worse "once" in particular.

I'm a sore loser so today is bad!!

That was absolutely dreadful.

No intensity, poor first touch and control. Daly played into their hands playing a sweeper for so long.

So disappointing.

KK in 2nd or 3rd gear won easily.

Moneymaker wrote: »
    That was absolutely dreadful.

No intensity, poor first touch and control. Daly played into their hands playing a sweeper for so long.

So disappointing.

KK in 2nd or 3rd gear won easily.

Made no difference i thought. 17 mins in O' Dwyer was told to go up and occupy Tyrrell. Nothing changed. They still beat us to every ball, we still made lots of mistakes and they kept adding the points.

Poor display all round really. Half backs and Peter Kelly battled well i thought but any cleared ball was coming right back at them. Keaney was shocking and when himself and Sutcliffe aren't winning possession we look lost. McCrabbe, Dotsy, Cronin were passengers for most of the game.

Couple of positives. Nolan was excellent. Not just in the basics but he'd fill you with confidence as a defender he's that positive off his line. Also, we know and the team know they can improve a lot on that and if we do i don't think beating KK is beyond them. A good kick the arse spurred them on. We need the same to happen.

There was a chasm in terms of ability with the minors. Why were there 7 Na Fianna players involved? Do they even have a good minor side? The midfielder was 16 apparently. Not one player from Ballyboden either which i thought was strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 dubliner 2

corny wrote: »
    Made no difference i thought. 17 mins in O' Dwyer was told to go up and occupy Tyrrell. Nothing changed. They still beat us to every ball, we still made lots of mistakes and they kept adding the points.

Poor display all round really. Half backs and Peter Kelly battled well i thought but any cleared ball was coming right back at them. Keaney was shocking and when himself and Sutcliffe aren't winning possession we look lost. McCrabbe, Dotsy, Cronin were passengers for most of the game.

Couple of positives. Nolan was excellent. Not just in the basics but he'd fill you with confidence as a defender he's that positive off his line. Also, we know and the team know they can improve a lot on that and if we do i don't think beating KK is beyond them. A good kick the arse spurred them on. We need the same to happen.

There was a chasm in terms of ability with the minors. Why were there 7 Na Fianna players involved? Do they even have a good minor side? The midfielder was 16 apparently. Not one player from Ballyboden either which i thought was strange.

Na Fianna are the standout team at minor. But they're a team of 15-20 very good but not great hurlers. Not one of them would be a match for Rian McBride of Vincents for example.

The midfield is just a joke. McBride has carried it for two games now. Indeed it is arguable whether the young lad from Na Fianna, who is U/16, is even the best player in his own age group. He's certainly nowhere near good enough for the panel, never mind to be starting. He did nothing against Wexford and touched the ball just once today in the 40 minutes he was on the pitch.

Indeed playing lads at U/16 has become a bit of a habit. Three of the Na Fianna lads there today and Bennett from Faughs are in their third year as minors and they were all poor. Shane Barrett was taken off very early and this is a lad who started an All Ireland as a 16 year old. To my mind only Sutcliffe and Costello deserved the three years at minor. Even Ciaran Kilkenny only got two and he was certainly a far better player than some on display today. It won't be an issue from next year but lads getting on minor teams may sometimes get notions about themselves. Certainly Bennett and Barrett and to a lesser extent McHugh were very poor today and these are lads you'd be expecting to

How O'Conaighle was left off today after his performance as a sub against Wexford is simply staggering. They wouldn't have been there today without him. And he showed himself a very good player again when he came on.

in fairness Boden are unusually poor at minor this year and I can't think of any of their players that would be deserving of a spot on the panel.

Then there's the Whitehall lad who is playing Adult Division 2 hurling and scoring well for them and he can't even get a place on the bench.

The whole minor management is an absolute shambles I'm afraid. Three Na Fianna lads substituted. Tells its own story I'm afraid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭John Cherry

Great win today. Always lovely to beat Meath. It never gets old.

On words and up words now.

COYBIB :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

I wouldnt read too much into the annihilation, they're probably the worst Meath team i've seen in my lifetime.

Thought both Brogans were slightly off their game today. And Connolly was quiet too, but a lot better than the Wexford game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭John Cherry

Slattsy wrote: »
    I wouldnt read too much into the annihilation, they're probably the worst Meath team i've seen in my lifetime.

Thought both Brogans were slightly off their game today. And Connolly was quiet too, but a lot better than the Wexford game.

I thought Meath were making inroads,but that must now have set them back a while. Connolly had a bad game by his standards. I can't remember the amount of times he slipped today.

He's always slipping. Still dont know how players wear blades, i hate them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

You can only do a professional job and beat what's infront if you .
    To me even if the brogans where off form they are still quality . The only disappointment from the game today was the level of wides at the end . Would have been nice to see the dubs kick on and rack up a bigger score .

I've been hearing good things.I was really hoping Meath would put it up to us today. We need a good firth before we get to the 1/4s.
    Wonder what they're smoking in the royal county.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭FREETV

I've been hearing good things.I was really hoping Meath would put it up to us today. We need a good firth before we get to the 1/4s.
    Wonder what they're smoking in the royal county.
    Ketamine perhaps? :D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 541 ✭✭✭Hibbeler

Have to say lads, Dublin were by far the better team today, can't see anyone else even getting close to ye this year!

I'm really disappointed in the way we capitulated today and hope it will be a watershed moment like the 95 Leinster final. Won't hold my breath though

• Registered Users Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭FREETV

A Manager's impetus is to get his player's minds in the proper frame of mind and build up confidence, guile and hunger with a never say die attitude.
    I didn't really see any of that today so I am blaming the management team for the shocking annihilation by Dublin today.

Dublin have got it down to a fine art by now.

Personally i wouldn't be too hard on Meath. Dublin did what they're going to do to every team this year imo, bar maybe Mayo and Kerry, expose them. The Meath players around the middle of the park just physically couldn't keep up. It wasn't desire or lack of determination. Dublin's pace through the middle is something i haven't seen before and if you have 2 or 3 less mobile (O' Rourke for eg) players doing the chasing you are asking for trouble.

Thought Dublin were excellent in every facet of play. Good execution, good intensity and no easing into it or sandbagging for a while. Regardless of the opposition i think if they repeat that type of performance they'll win the AI again.

Individually? Great to see Mikey Fitz (Eric Lowndes according to the stadium announcer) back to his best. Always given the task of marking the opposition danger man and he did a super job on Bray. Played with an aggression thats been missing for a couple of years now. McMahon, O'Carroll and McCarthy were excellent too.

Forwards were top drawer again bar Connolly who is continuing in his lax, self indulgent approach. Third game running now and if he produces the same in the QF (assuming we win) i'd drop him for the semi. Hopefully been first off today gives a kick in the arse.

As an aside. I'd love to see how far Paul Flynn ran today. Just doesn't stop sprinting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Personally i wouldn't be too hard on Meath. Dublin did what they're going to do to every team this year imo, bar maybe Mayo and Kerry, expose them. The Meath players around the middle of the park just physically couldn't keep up. It wasn't desire or lack of determination. Dublin's pace through the middle is something i haven't seen before and if you have 2 or 3 less mobile (O' Rourke for eg) players doing the chasing you are asking for trouble.

Thought Dublin were excellent in every facet of play. Good execution, good intensity and no easing into it or sandbagging for a while. Regardless of the opposition i think if they repeat that type of performance they'll win the AI again.

Individually? Great to see Mikey Fitz (Eric Lowndes according to the stadium announcer) back to his best. Always given the task of marking the opposition danger man and he did a super job on Bray. Played with an aggression thats been missing for a couple of years now. McMahon, O'Carroll and McCarthy were excellent too.

Forwards were top drawer again bar Connolly who is continuing in his lax, self indulgent approach. Third game running now and if he produces the same in the QF (assuming we win) i'd drop him for the semi. Hopefully been first off today gives a kick in the arse.

As an aside. I'd love to see how far Paul Flynn ran today. Just doesn't stop sprinting!

Great summary for me! really enjoyed today, super performance. Despite the whole "weak" leinster arguement, few teams in the country would have stayed with us today

• Registered Users Posts: 233 ✭✭Dublinfan

great to see Mikey Fitz (Eric Lowndes according to the stadium announcer) back to his best.

Lowndes was the changes to the bench presume Copper is injured or sick so lowndes took Fitzsimons place on the bench

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Dublinfan wrote: »
    Lowndes was the changes to the bench presume Copper is injured or sick so lowndes took Fitzsimons place on the bench

Lowndes was defo wearing the No 4 jersey as he warmed up near enough opposite me. Cooper by all accounts came down with a stomach bug before the game.

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Lowndes was defo wearing the No 4 jersey as he warmed up near enough opposite me. Cooper by all accounts came down with a stomach bug before the game.

a few people beside me saying davy byrne was there warming up too but wasent on subs lists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

a few people beside me saying davy byrne was there warming up too but wasent on subs lists

I like Davy .. very much in the mould of Cullen, all action and busy. Had a decent league campaign but much like Cullen is consigned to the darker recesses of the squad, but time's on his side

DoctaDee wrote: »
    I like Davy .. very much in the mould of Cullen, all action and busy. Had a decent league campaign but much like Cullen is consigned to the darker recesses of the squad, but time's on his side

id say next year will be his chance with cullen most likely leaving Nice to See Bastic Being Brought on too, Wonder is this Whole taking off if too much messing or risk of sending off a new rule of jims did it last time with mdmc and today with Connolly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Love to see the confidence in O Gara under the high ball shown by the other lads.

Great weapon to have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,247 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Well deserved today lads dublin footballers are excellent right now

quite a reversal too normally we play sloppy the first 10 mins and hit hard the last 10 this time we gave it our all up till the last 10 then slowed down wonder if they kept going at that pace would meath have got the goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,247 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

quite a reversal too normally we play sloppy the first 10 mins and hit hard the last 10 this time we gave it our all up till the last 10 then slowed down wonder if they kept going at that pace would meath have got the goal
    Dublin were in wind down mode the dublin ladies would have put it up to the seniors more today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,781 ✭✭✭eire4

I could not agree more. Dublin are a joy to watch play when really on song and that happens quite a lot these days. Long may it continue.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Dubliner28

Great performance yesterday from the 1st whistle. Brilliant to see the intensity from the stat as we have been really slow starters.
    B.Brogan was everywhere yesterday but in a great show. Flynn/Micky Fitz/Cian all superb again.
    Would love to see that type of performance for the rest of the summer now and im sure Gavin will have them well clued in.
    Looks like we will have to beat Monaghan/Kildare -Donegal and possibly Kerry/Mayo to win Sam again. Personally I hope its Monaghan next up as they will over something different and will be a harder challenge than Kildare.
    Roll on Aug 9th

Monaghan will put us in good stead for the probable puke football tactics of Donegal in the semi.

Would love to see Kerry in the final.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Well done yesterday, was hoping it was all nightmare but woke up and the result was the same.
    Most complete football team I've ever seen.

Monaghan will put us in good stead for the probable puke football tactics of Donegal in the semi.

Would love to see Kerry in the final.

Actually, its not beyond the realms of possibility that Kildare could turn over Monaghan. It'll be a tighter game than i first thought.

Still though, for the sake of preperation i'd rather play a nordie team.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

Great to see Mick Fitz playing so well. He's been unlucky with injuries and had a rough time in the league, he kept Bray quiet.

Happy enough with that, it's unfortunate Meath were so poor. Giving them a hammering is nice and all but i'd prefer to see a closer match.

Good performances all over the field. Good to see Fitzsimons have a good game. Flynner a class act again both during and after the game. Top lad.

Connolly being the one black mark. He needs to get himself together, after such an outstanding league and club season, he hasn't really kicked on.

Hopefully being hauled off yesterday will be the kick in the hole he needs.

Really think Costello has earned himself a start next day out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,780 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Another video of Paul Flynn being an absolute legend has surfaced this morning, what a guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,780 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Image of this bite that's meant to have happened yesterday:

BtBeW3hIIAAWhBl.jpg-large-530x680.jpg

Would be totally on O'Gara's side in this one, Burke the clear villain if that still frame is meant to prove anything.

Owen Mulligan on The Sunday Game - "If someone puts a finger in your mouth,what are you suppose to do? Blow it out?"

Seems like that's what happened in this case. My opinion on it would be if someone's finger ends up in your mouth you're entitled to let it know it isn't welcome.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

How dare O'Gara bite a finger that's trying to rip his mouth apart! That's poor from the Mirror, if you're going to (wrongly) try side with Burke then at least give a different image. They've made themselves look like clowns there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭STB

315356.jpg

315355.jpg

These pictures from the Indo are even more damning. Looks more like a fish hook. Brogans reaction says it all.

The images of Burke being a thug are in the match thread.

The Sunday Game lads are all of the opinion O'Gara did little wrong, apart from the original foul.

Edit - posted ^^^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭coolisin

If o gara really wanted to chomp on burke picture 3 of brogan pulling burke off him would have being the perfect moment to chomp on his leg!
    But after watching the sunday game other then o gara starting the handbags there was zero reaction from a lot of slaps being thrown.

Terrible front page on the mirror, not that im shocked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,451 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Burke probably didn't mean to the stick his finger into O Gara's mouth and O Gara probably didn't mean to bite him. But both things appear to have happened.

This occurred in a split second during what is usually called "handbags". I'm sure it wasn't premeditated on either players part.

My take on how this will pan out is:

Both players will be suspended (for 8 or 12 weeks).

Dublin and Meath County boards will appeal and both players will get off.

keane2097 wrote: »
    Another video of Paul Flynn being an absolute legend has surfaced this morning, what a guy.

Didn't see it. What video?