Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users Posts: 12 Iseult The Fair

The tension is unbearable .... I hope it lasts! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Filthy blow there. Don't know how the linesman missed it.

Not Connollys biggest fan but I hope he tears it up after that.

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Filthy blow there. Don't know how the linesman missed it.

Not Connollys biggest fan but I hope he tears it up after that.

Yep - nasty elbow to the jaw.

And again from O'Sullivan, this time on Philly McMahon. 2 lads who are no strangers to the dark arts, but it's ridiculous that neither were spotted.

DDC1990 wrote: »
    And again from O'Sullivan, this time on Philly McMahon. 2 lads who are no strangers to the dark arts, but it's ridiculous that neither were spotted.

He's sneaky.

DoctaDee wrote: »
    The Dubs will have one less voice cheering them on from Croker today, I'm stuck here in 97 degrees in Florida!

Any reports, updates etc will be appreciated. Enjoy the game

1-9 to 0-5 to Dublin @ Half-Time. Let's hope Dublin hold their nerve for the Second Half!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Paddy Andrews on for the Dubs.

1-12 to 0.5 at 45 mins to the Dubs, Docta Dee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Should have had another 2 goals there.
    Dublin yet to get out of 3rd gear today, Cork are tripe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Slattsy wrote: »
    Should have had another 2 goals there.
    Dublin yet to get out of 3rd gear today, Cork are tripe.

we are doing our bit to start the hype for the summer :).

seriously though, ye are well on top, only in Cork would defending in numbers mean leaving free men inside our 45.

Dublin showing a lot of hunger today, fighting for everything and not giving an inch.

3 in a row - first team to ever do that i think.

Wont be reading too much into that win though, Cork were the worst team i've seen in Croker in a while.

They didn't turn up!

Cork did it right before ye, 10, 11, 12

Though TG4 just said it wasn't done before? Weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭zetecescort

this is the first Dublin team to win 3 in a row I think. like you say, Cork have done it and Kerry did in the 70's I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Yesp First Dublin team to win 3 in a row in the league.
    346634.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Not sure what to make of that at all. Were we really that good, or were Cork really that crap? The acres of space that some of our forwards had (Dermo and Rock in particular) was unreal. If my 89 yr old granny was out there, she probably could have sent a few balls over the bar too, given all the space they had. There is absolutely no way we will get that kind of room to manouver again for the rest of the year. Bizarre performance from Cork today, no flight or intensity to them at all today.

The elbow to the face of DC going unpunished was a disgrace, especially as it happened right in front of the linesman.

DoctaDee, don't forget to bring us all back a stick of Orlando Barney. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭somejoke

I don't feel we have a settled team heading into the championship, maybe having too many options is not a good thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Congratulations on yere win and ye have way more in ye

As I said here two weeks ago and yesterday cork thread gavin will be new cody football an outstanding manager learns mistakes

Only Dublin kerry win all Ireland and ye real chance
    As many know never rated cork management and not surprised by today
    But credit to yere ruthless execution and wonderful evolution team within year

Thanks TTM. What do you think went wrong. Cork looked utterly knackered at times today? Are they training too hard, do you think?

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Thanks TTM. What do you think went wrong. Cork looked utterly knackered at times today? Are they training too hard, do you think?

I'll keep this simple as I'm devastated
    Two words Brian Cuthbert
    Said it from day one had doubts and all this year among typical nauseating view some cork media who typical another false dawn some league wins despite as clear as dawn break day huge issues cork

Christ above talk cork blankets makes me sick

Saying last two weeks we worst defence league and outside kerry and all we heard cork is were defensive
    Were no where near it
    Cuthbert and Davis sullivan and sexton poor record management or in three those actually no record at all yet over senior team
    This management out their depth with cork
    Cork craves Jim gavin
    Ye should not forget yere late wonderful chairman any kettle rip who made this success possible by wonderful appointment gavin and hurling in time destined success due appointment cunningham

I'm never wrong with management seen enough bad good know difference
    Dublin gaa nothing worry bout either team management imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Kavrocks

somejoke wrote: »
    I don't feel we have a settled team heading into the championship, maybe having too many options is not a good thing.
    With our first game 5 weeks away against the winners of Offaly and Longford that wouldn't worry me too much. Whilst they'll probably put up a better test than Cork today there is quite a gulf in class between them and us.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭corny

Most impressive thing was the bite in the tackle from Dublin. Can't remember them turning over so much ball.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Five Words Dublin, Tommy Walsh, Colm Cooper, James O'Donoghue, Kieran Donaghy and Paul Geaney. Possibly the best ever attacking line to come out of Kerry. I expect Mayo to give Dublin a huge Semi-Final and there is still unsettled business there since 2013, today was the last real test Dublin will face until August or Possibly September and Kerry or Donegal will be awaiting there for them. If we believed the hype last year Dublin may aswell have not bothered turning up they were going to steamroll everything but Donegal put that notion to the sword.

National Leagues are one thing but the race for Sam Maguire is entirely different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Stinicker wrote: »
    Five Words Dublin, Tommy Walsh, Colm Cooper, James O'Donoghue, Kieran Donaghy and Paul Geaney.

That's a lot more than 5 words

Five Words Dublin, Tommy Walsh, Colm Cooper, James O'Donoghue, Kieran Donaghy and Paul Geaney. Possibly the best ever attacking line to come out of Kerry. I expect Mayo to give Dublin a huge Semi-Final and there is still unsettled business there since 2013, today was the last real test Dublin will face until August or Possibly September and Kerry or Donegal will be awaiting there for them. If we believed the hype last year Dublin may aswell have not bothered turning up they were going to steamroll everything but Donegal put that notion to the sword.

National Leagues are one thing but the race for Sam Maguire is entirely different.

So what? Going on todays Cork performance, Kerry won't face any real test either until August or September?

And you can't count btw !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Kop On

Just as well you have that attacking line up because your defence is shocking, the worst in the national league actually. Best of luck winning back to back All Ireland's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,774 ✭✭✭eire4

It may be the league and not the championship but third league titles in a row is very impressive going and amazing to think that no Dublin side has every won 3 in a row in the league before. Well done lads. Roll on the championship.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

I really don't feel we've played well at all throughout the league this year, it seems strange that we've won it. It's fair to say it'll be a very intriguing Championship this year. There's no knowing how we'll do against the likes of Kerry or Donegal in a big game. We definitely have a great chance, but we will need to play better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,119 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

I really don't feel we've played well at all throughout the league this year, it seems strange that we've won it. It's fair to say it'll be a very intriguing Championship this year. There's no knowing how we'll do against the likes of Kerry or Donegal in a big game. We definitely have a great chance, but we will need to play better.

ye have a serious team but everything above is true , leinster is so poor at the moment it is not funny and the media will make dublin out to be superstars over the course of the provincial championship what cant be ignored is monaghan will have giving ye ye'r hardest game between now and the august bank holiday weekend where ye could very well meet the likes of mayo donegal cork or kerry ,

i mentioned on the cork thread earlier about dublin being flaky at times , an example today when ross o'carroll was substituted his replacement gave away 3 score able frees in tandem with 3 or 4 very bad wide's down the other side of the field i dont think that would be good enough to see of the likes of kerry in championship mode or even cork mayo, or donegal , i believe the rest of the conutry are miles behind so we really wont be able to judge this side until late in the summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

How is this any different to kerry and mayo?

Thing is most of the bigger counties have no test till August

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Thanks guys for the updates and comments. A far easier afternoon than anyone expected. Just reading Indo online and COS at No6 seems to have worked really well together with Jack Mc's running.

I'd have to admit that I'd be disappointed for Cork because to my mind a strong Cork team is good for football.

So the real business begins now and whether it's hype or not we're rightly favourites. There's a lot of football between now and then but all things being equal I'd personally fear no one bar Donegal. Ta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I'd fear Kerry more.

Bit off topic but anyone know where I can get a pair of nice Dublin cufflinks?

• Registered Users Posts: 485 ✭✭Lombardo86

when ross o'carroll was substituted his replacement gave away 3 score able frees in tandem with 3 or 4 very bad wide's down the other side of the field

That was Mick Fitzsimons who i am quick enough to criticise usually. One of those frees should never have been given, one he was just on the pitch and i can forgive a rush of blood to the head.

Once he settled in - he managed to keep one of the in-form forwards in the league at bay for the majority of the game. I would argue he won a lot more than he lost against the Cork forwards this time around and was impressed with his performance.

He will never get in ahead of Cooper or O'Carroll but there is a battle there for number 2 with McMahon. He tends to think of himself as a forward these days and spends a lot of time trying to boot the ball over with the outside of his boot! Stressful

ye have a serious team but everything above is true , leinster is so poor at the moment it is not funny and the media will make dublin out to be superstars over the course of the provincial championship what cant be ignored is monaghan will have giving ye ye'r hardest game between now and the august bank holiday weekend where ye could very well meet the likes of mayo donegal cork or kerry ,

i mentioned on the cork thread earlier about dublin being flaky at times , an example today when ross o'carroll was substituted his replacement gave away 3 score able frees in tandem with 3 or 4 very bad wide's down the other side of the field i dont think that would be good enough to see of the likes of kerry in championship mode or even cork mayo, or donegal , i believe the rest of the conutry are miles behind so we really wont be able to judge this side until late in the summer

Let's be honest donegal maybe and kerry and in time Galway but mayo or cork won't come close to testing Dublin in championship

I said it at the start mayo dual management two many chiefs spoil the btoth etc will not work and added fact mayo are tired team and outstanding horan and coughlan are gone and still can't score mayo certainly won't even win connaught and there poor

Seriously now to say cork would cause Dublin problems in championship you have no idea with respect what your talking about if you belive that

I have watched every game almost cork football this year watches them train twice and there miles miles off what's required bar fitness
    Yesterday will have done untold damage to morale
    Galway or meath or monaghan in a qualifier if they meet would cause cork problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭BKWDR

Great win, don't care what people saying about it being a bad match to watch, it was great to see the lads gelling together and playing some great football. Kick passing was really on point and thought Fenton is doing well to challenge for hit spot.

Cooper played really well, funny to see him in a more defensive role, didn't get to wander at all. If i had to pick a loose link in the chain it would be philly mcmahon. He didn't click at all, played too far forward and fluffed a load. He looks to show boat it when he should play the simple ball.

That said , Cork's head dropped from early on. Delighted for the 3 in a row

• Registered Users Posts: 4 BlueSteele78

naughtb4 wrote: »
    Bit off topic but anyone know where I can get a pair of nice Dublin cufflinks?

They sell them on the hill 16 site shop and also on the gaajewellery site. I can't post website links as I'm a new user!

BKWDR wrote: »
    Great win, don't care what people saying about it being a bad match to watch, it was great to see the lads gelling together and playing some great football. Kick passing was really on point and thought Fenton is doing well to challenge for hit spot.

Cooper played really well, funny to see him in a more defensive role, didn't get to wander at all. If i had to pick a loose link in the chain it would be philly mcmahon. He didn't click at all, played too far forward and fluffed a load. He looks to show boat it when he should play the simple ball.

That said , Cork's head dropped from early on. Delighted for the 3 in a row

Philly has been like that for ages, bit of a worry for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Kavrocks

Philly McMahon played very well yesterday. He had a job and he did it very well.

His job was to follow Mark Collins everywhere and to prevent Cork's short kickouts to him and him being able to pick up a lot of ball playing as a sweeper. The role Mark Collins has played this season for Cork is similar to that played by the McHughs for Donegal and Philly McMahon snuffed it out very effectively. It was a very good tactic by Gavin and worked to a tee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭dixiefly

Well done Dublin, looks like ye will steamroller Leinster again.

In fact the pick of the rest of Leinster would probably struggle against Dublin at the moment. I reckon attendances will reflect this this year.

I don't know what the answer is but I can realistically see Dublin winning 8, 9 or even 10 of the next 10 Leinsters.

Stoner wrote: »
    I'd fear Kerry more.

So would I. Their managers ability and willingness to change game plans and tactics at short notice ( and do it successfully) is truly terrifying. The ability and willingness to be adaptable is vital these days. I'm not quite sure if Jim Gavin is quite there yet, even if some of our worst defensive short comings from last year, were much improved during the league.

I thought Cian O'Sullivan looked glorious yesterday.
    Just cruised through the game - he'll be vital for us this year, as much as any other player imho.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭corny

I thought Cian O'Sullivan looked glorious yesterday.
    Just cruised through the game - he'll be vital for us this year, as much as any other player imho.

One of the first names on the teamsheet for me too but I actually think he's wasted in that role. Much as Bryan Cullen was in his younger days.

O' Sullivan is quick, reads the game well and is a fabulous man marker. Personally, i wouldn't have him marking space. Also, Cork play very direct football and not the hard running style that might challenge the spare man. Brennan probably won't get back into the side but that role is made for him.

On the Kerry or Donegal? Both of them are a serious threat to Dublin but i hope one of them loses in the provincial championship and we run into both of them!

I still think Donegal are the team that will cause us most problems.

Kerry will go toe to toe with us and I don't think any team can beat us when they want to take us on, personally.

I've said it before on this thread, but we've always struggled and will continue to struggle against a well organised, blanket defence. The Monaghan and Tyrone games proved it in the league.
    It just looked like the same old problem - no plan b.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Kerry have a full squad now though.
    If Dublins refusal/inability to adapt against Donegal last year was down to stuburnes and not lack of intellect then I'd worry about Kerry less. If the line learned from that game it would be great.
    I was very impressed with Fenton again yesterday, he's up for it, knows when to defend and when to move forward, he also demands the ball. Early days yet but he is the nearest thing I've seen to a traditional midfielder for Dublin for a while. I don't rate any of the other new guys tbh, he looks like he could compete in the air and yesterday he was very unlucky with one attempted effort where he won the ball over his man's head turned and ran up the field only to kick an effort at a point wide.
    I don't want to jinx the man, but he really reminds me of a certain past Dublin player.
    Bastic is playing his best football for Dublin ever IMHO. He tackled very hard yesterday he really took it out of the Cork lads.
    I thought that fitzsimmons did we when he came on, of the five frees given away in the first half I thought three were justified and needless, one was 50/50 and the other was a bad call.

The linesman near the elbow on connelly was terrible, we were very near to him, he missed all sorts of action in addition to the elbow.

Cork looked sluggish. I don't think their setup is great, but I do think they have some great players.
    I rate Mayo. I think they have a great bunch of players that were unlucky against Kerry last year. I don't think they have the right management to bring them forward, indeed they seem to have gone backwards. Regardless I don't see Roscommon staying with them. Decent and all as they were yesterday I couldn't see they lasting the distance with Mayo. Mayo could surprise many this year.

The drop off in Kildare is terrible, McGeenys departure has been a disaster for them. Imagine if the boys in Cork got him. That would be a serious outfit. I'd love to see him succeed somewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Cork were dreadfully disappointing yesterday.

I thought they'd have made far more of a game out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

dixiefly wrote: »
    Well done Dublin, looks like ye will steamroller Leinster again.

In fact the pick of the rest of Leinster would probably struggle against Dublin at the moment. I reckon attendances will reflect this this year.

I don't know what the answer is but I can realistically see Dublin winning 8, 9 or even 10 of the next 10 Leinsters.

Leinster football is chronic at the moment. Wouldn't it be far more meaningful to win all of these Leinster titles if we were playing several competitive side in leinster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭Past30Now

Lads

It was a brutal performance by Cork so it's hard to judge, but I was very happy with our performance on Sunday. Someone mentioned that we don't have a settled side, but I'd have to disagree with that. If Jim was picking a championship team tomorrow, most of us would agree fairly quickly on 12 or 13 names. I think Dean Rock, despite criticism of his lack of contribution from open play, has sewn up a place for himself on the basis of another faultless display from placed balls. Cluxton, Cooper, O'Carroll, McMahon, McCarthy, Caffrey, COS, MDMA, Flynn, Connolly, Brogan (B) and Rock are my certainties. I think Kilkenny and McManamon are almost there too. The only decision in my mind is what to do at centre half, and the consequent impact on the second midfielder slot. I've thought for a couple of years that COS is wasted at centre back, and better in midfield, but based on the S/F last year and what we've seen so far this year, I'm changing my mind. COS offers way more at CB than any other player available, and Bastick/Fenton are a very good option in midfield. I see Jim going with Bastick initially, but if Fenton continues his rate of progress he'll pass Bastick by.

Brady, Costello and Fitzsimons will get plenty of game time.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

Past30Now wrote: »
    Lads

It was a brutal performance by Cork so it's hard to judge, but I was very happy with our performance on Sunday. Someone mentioned that we don't have a settled side, but I'd have to disagree with that. If Jim was picking a championship team tomorrow, most of us would agree fairly quickly on 12 or 13 names. I think Dean Rock, despite criticism of his lack of contribution from open play, has sewn up a place for himself on the basis of another faultless display from placed balls. Cluxton, Cooper, O'Carroll, McMahon, McCarthy, Caffrey, COS, MDMA, Flynn, Connolly, Brogan (B) and Rock are my certainties. I think Kilkenny and McManamon are almost there too. The only decision in my mind is what to do at centre half, and the consequent impact on the second midfielder slot. I've thought for a couple of years that COS is wasted at centre back, and better in midfield, but based on the S/F last year and what we've seen so far this year, I'm changing my mind. COS offers way more at CB than any other player available, and Bastick/Fenton are a very good option in midfield. I see Jim going with Bastick initially, but if Fenton continues his rate of progress he'll pass Bastick by.

Brady, Costello and Fitzsimons will get plenty of game time.
    Good post, Only thing I would disagree with is the comments on
    Dean Rock, He contributes absolutely nothing to open play, The days of carrying a free taker are gone imo, With Connolly, Brogan and Cluxton there, Free taking duties are well catered for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭BKWDR

pajero12 wrote: »
    Good post, Only thing I would disagree with is the comments on
    Dean Rock, He contributes absolutely nothing to open play, The days of carrying a free taker are gone imo, With Connolly, Brogan and Cluxton there, Free taking duties are well catered for.

Its hard to argue against Dean being on a championship 15 as he was the top scorer in the league. I think Jim has passed the responsibility of the free taking fully to Rock. I only recall Cluxton kicking that one in the final and not others (open to correction - although does it have something to do with Cluxton's heavy leg strapping?)

You could argue that he contributes nothing to open play but in fairness i don't recall after a game thinking , 'jesus dean rock cost us that game'. I think he plays his role well and was decent at both man marking and tracking back when needed. If he hadn't scored 1-52 in the league if might be a discussion, but i think he's done enough to earn a shout