Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Argos Chat Thread #1

• Registered Users Posts: 641 ✭✭✭johnf26

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Argos seems to be broken for me ? :(

Getting an error when trying to reserve items

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Argos seems to be broken for me ? :(

Getting an error when trying to reserve items

• Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭djo789

Seems like an ok price for one of these :)
    Lenovo A7 7 Inch Tablet - 16GB
    • 7 inch screen.
    • Resolution 1280 x 800 pixels
    • 1.3GHz quad core Media Tek processor.
    • MT8121.
    • 1GB RAM.
    • 16 GB internal storage.
    • Android 4.2 operating system

Plenty Stock http://www.checkargos.com/StockCheckPage.php?productId=247%2F6632+

• Registered Users Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭imitation

djo789 wrote: »
    Seems like an ok price for one of these :)
    Lenovo A7 7 Inch Tablet - 16GB
    • 7 inch screen.
    • Resolution 1280 x 800 pixels
    • 1.3GHz quad core Media Tek processor.
    • MT8121.
    • 1GB RAM.
    • 16 GB internal storage.
    • Android 4.2 operating system

Plenty Stock http://www.checkargos.com/StockCheckPage.php?productId=247%2F6632+

I think the linx tablets or bush windows tablets are better bang for your buck for this price, although they are not android, they have fast intel processors and are smooth for web browsing. These tablets have slower processor and its 3 versions of android behind.

If was looking for a good android tablet id spend a bit more and get a hudl or nexus 7 2013, although sterling is so strong now its tough to get these cheap.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Lego Agents HQ: €64.99. It's €99.99 in Smyths.

http://checkargos.com/StockCheckPage.php?productId=2614016

135735.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 545 ✭✭✭ninty

Home Alarm €59.99 and €5 voucher this weekend link

• Registered Users Posts: 19,193 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

ninty wrote: »
    Home Alarm €59.99 and €5 voucher this weekend link

Are these things any use?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Are these things any use?

Illegal unless installed by a registered engineer surely?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,971 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

athtrasna wrote: »

How can an alarm be illegal?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭firestarter51

Illegal lol
    Quick ring the guards
    These alarms are fine, I have one in a garage where i keep my tools
    Grand for for the money
    Wouldn't be any good for home insurance purposes

• Registered Users Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

The vouchers are back for the next month too, €5 voucher with €50 spend & €10 voucher with €100 spend.

Its illegal if some joe off the street says he'll horse in for a hundred quid. DIY is fine but installers need to be certified. The lads in the home security forum have the ins and outs.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,046 ✭✭✭kitten_k

johnf26 wrote: »

Went in to get these two sets of books at lunch time, each of them came up on the system at €4.99!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

imitation wrote: »
    Its illegal if some joe off the street says he'll horse in for a hundred quid. DIY is fine but installers need to be certified. The lads in the home security forum have the ins and outs.
    It's not illegal, just certifiable for insurance reasons. If it were illegal we we'd all be criminals for changing our lightbulbs instead of using an electrician.
    And argues would be sued for supplying illegal goods.

catbear wrote: »
    It's not illegal, just certifiable for insurance reasons. If it were illegal we we'd all be criminals for changing our lightbulbs instead of using an electrician.
    And argues would be sued for supplying illegal goods.

Yes it is illegal, check the private security services act.

Its not illegal to sell them not to buy them, just to installed them for someone else uncertified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭utyh2ikcq9z76b

imitation wrote: »
    Yes it is illegal, check the private security services act.

its in the name PRIVATE SECURITY SERVICES ACT, which doesnt apply to homeowners the same way Taxi regulations don't apply to car drivers

• Registered Users Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭RossieMan

are Argos selling taxis now?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,613 ✭✭✭bren2001

RossieMan wrote: »
    are Argos selling taxis now?

In short, yes. No need to read the thread back, I can send you a reservation code for a taxi if you want. Have a few spare.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,747 ✭✭✭degsie

Fibber....

taxi.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭corsav6

bren2001 wrote: »
    In short, yes. No need to read the thread back, I can send you a reservation code for a taxi if you want. Have a few spare.

This is not the thread for reservation codes, I should report you by right ;)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,285 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

3 of the Seagate hard-drives showing up in Clonmel- if they're of any use to anyone......

Link

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭Kenjataimu

Case Logic SnapView For Galaxy Tab 3 7.0.

"Was" €26.99
    Previously on sale at €4.99

Now €2.99

Checkargos link

146-3072956dIEUC17570285X.jpg

3072956_R_Z006A_UC17570286?$TMB$&wid=312&hei=312

• Registered Users Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Lau2976

Proco Jr. wrote: »
    Case Logic SnapView For Galaxy Tab 3 7.0.

"Was" €26.99
    Previously on sale at €4.99

Now €2.99

Checkargos link

146-3072956dIEUC17570285X.jpg

3072956_R_Z006A_UC17570286?$TMB$&wid=312&hei=312

Just wanted to say id highly suggest that case. Fits perfectly, leaves all the ports open and gives a lot of security

• Registered Users Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭javagal

Could people try keep unnecessary chat to a minimum, there seems to be more chat than bargains

• Registered Users Posts: 8,747 ✭✭✭degsie

javagal wrote: »
    Could people try keep unnecessary chat to a minimum, there seems to be more chat then bargains

Leave modding to the mods I say.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

Complains about there being more off topic chat than bargains
    Doesn't post any bargains themselves but contributes to the off topic chat by posting complaints

bren2001 wrote: »
    Got one of those taxis in argos,bringing it back seemingly you have to follow certain rules to use it, really annoyed

LG 24MT46 24 Inch Full HD LED TV €159.99 link and €10 voucher this weekend

• Registered Users Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭peckerhead

Sorry if this is slightly OT, but is there anyway of browsing the whole Argos catalogue while restricting search results by price? (i.e. not just once you've narrowed your search down to "Home&Garden\Furniture\Bedroom\...." (etc.))

Reason I ask is I've reserved items in my local store to the value of €49.90 and am loooking for the equivalent of an Amazon "top-up" item to nudge it over the €50 mark and get my €5 voucher... :p