Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People who constantly talk about football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

If you're arguing over what the game should be called then you're an idiot.

I call it football, other people call it soccer, so fu*king what?

Those of you (on each side of the argument) insisting that other people change what they call it are coming across as pathetic children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

anncoates wrote: »

Then again, soccer has fuck all to do with semantic clarity and everything to do with bitter digs at Brit sports.

So everyone who uses the word "soccer" is a xenophobe? That's nonsense to be honest mate. In many (if not most) parts of Ireland Gaelic Football is the dominant sport and as such people refer to the other one as soccer.

I always called it soccer, and not out of anti-British sentiment either. As someone said above, "football" means different things in different places.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭Tugboats

Seriously, a conversation about football is fine, I catch the highlights when I can and am a football fan to the extent that I used to play and I like to watch a "big game" e.g. World Cup, important qualifiers, Champions League final etc. But when I go out with a group of friends (male and female) and the conversation keeps coming back to football and what the manager said, transfer rumours blah blah, I realise that these people having noting else to talk about.

I have one friend who has a sky sports subscription and without fail watches the football every week! If there is a game in the morning and one in the afternoon then he watches both and will watch the highlights on in the evening! These are married guys whose wives have zero interest in football, so when the conversation keeps turning back to football they just sit there and have zero input (understandably). Imagine a man had a wife who watched four hours of soap opera every Saturday, and then watched the omnibus at in the evening?

How do these people become such avid fans to a football team which they have no affiliation too?

Who r ya who r ya who r ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Not enough hurling has been mentioned on this thread.

Hurling FTW!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

FTA69 wrote: »
    So everyone who uses the word "soccer" is a xenophobe?

Of cou8rse not, but there's definitely an element at a higher level of trying to semantically colonize what "real football" is here.and it often has a somewhat political basis.

Ironically enough a few Americans I know that say soccer use it in a humorously distinct way too: to distinguish it from real (American) football although with them there isn't a more serious undertow to it.

Does that mean it';s a huge deal in the general scheme of things? Not particularly but this is a discussion not a diktat.
    iDave wrote: »
    Not enough hurling has been mentioned on this thread.

Hurling FTW!

It's almost like you get a PM the minute this topic comes up.

How do you do it?

Of cou8rse not, but there's definitely an element at a higher level of trying to semantically colonize what real "football" is here.and it often has a somewhat political basis.

Does that mean it';s a huge deal in the general scheme of things? Not particularly but this is a discussion not a diktat.

How do you do it?

What topic.....people talking about football? don't think its come up too often in AH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,086 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Only the most pretentious twat would call football "soccer" in most parts of Europe.

Football is the primary name of the game. It always has been. "Soccer" is a bastardised nickname from the "Association" part of "Association Football".

Most FIFA nations refer to the game as Football.

The country that refers to the game most as "soccer" is the USA for obvious reasons. I'll leave it to you to figure out what they are. Although, like a lot of Americanisms, it seems to be permeating European speech more and more, unfortunately.

Growing up in Ireland, I can say that I have never heard Irish people refer to the game as anything but Football.

So does the debate whether its called football or soccer constitute talking about football. If so the OP must be pissed. Thread well back fired.

Anyways its pointless debate and can be summed up very simply.
    Its official name is 'Football'. The earliest organisation to formally codify it was the Football Association. So yes football is the correct term.
    However in some countries they have their own variation on the concept of football and so their version is generally but not entirely referred to as football. While the FA version is referred to as soccer to avoid confusion. Nevertheless people involved in 'soccer' in these countries will still call it football. Simples.

So does the debate whether its called football or soccer constitute talking about football. If so the OP must be pissed. Thread well back fired.

Anyways its pointless debate and can be summed up very simply.
    Its official name is 'Football'. The earliest organisation to formally codify it was the Football Association. So yes football is the correct term.
    However in some countries they have their own variation on the concept of football and so their version is generally but not entirely referred to as football. While the FA version is referred to as soccer to avoid confusion. Nevertheless people involved in 'soccer' in these countries will still call it football. Simples.

Of course, if English people started calling Gaelic football some snazzy passive aggressive variant like Gally Ball to differentiate it from Association Football, that would be met by the sons of the soil with a serenity that would make Gandhi blush?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,759 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Bogball, surely?

osarusan wrote: »
    Bogball, surely?

Then they call it "socair" and it all gets messy....

Of course, if English people started calling Gaelic football some snazzy passive aggressive variant like Gally Ball to differentiate it from Association Football, that would be met by the sons of the soil with a serenity that would make Gandhi blush?

I think Bogball is the current passive aggressive term used by people in Ireland for it and perhaps it could take off in England, who knows, no need for a new one. An English lad I work with who joined a GAA club simply calls it Gaelic, fair enough, cant see anything wrong with that.
    Cant say 'soccer' is a passive aggressive term. Whenever I lurk on the Planet Rugby forum the terms they use passive aggressively are 'chavball' and 'poofball'. But then the Football 365 forums call Rugby 'Egg Chasers'.

Gally Ball, hmmm might work.
    How do AFL fans feel about foreigners calling it Aussie Rules?

An English lad I work with who joined a GAA club simply calls it Gaelic

Ironically enough that's how I always remembered the terminology as a young lad (80s Dublin):

Football, Gaelic and Hurling.

Ironically enough that's how I always remembered the terminology as a young lad (80s Dublin):

Football, Gaelic and Hurling.

Fair enough, some of my mates from the Ballyboden/Knocklyon area will only refer to the GAA version as football. Horses for courses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

I watch soccer every week and might watch a rerun of scored goals after the match.
    But then I've seen the match and very little more discussion ensues. Match is over and scores cannot be changed. Whether the ref is a cnut or not doesn't matter or whether your man dived or not.

Post mortems (like after a card game) are boring.

People who replay games incessantly with their mouths are single-issue bores and should be red-carded as soon as they start.

Tony EH wrote: »
    Only the most pretentious twat would call football "soccer" in most parts of Europe.

Soccer is common parlance for some people, it's a bit ironic that you're the one getting worked up over the terminology while lambasting those who use a certain word as intolerant or pretentious.
    The country that refers to the game most as "soccer" is the USA for obvious reasons. I'll leave it to you to figure out what they are.

The reason is plainly obvious and quite innocent. "Football" in America refers to Gridiron Football. Similarly "football" in Australia refers to Australian Rules. In other words, countries with their own popular indigenous version of kicking a ball will refer to that as "football". Ireland is no different. Believe it or not, the act of playing with a sphere did not originate with association football.
    Growing up in Ireland, I can say that I have never heard Irish people refer to the game as anything but Football.

This is b*llocks for want of a better word. If you mentioned "football" in Tyrone, Mayo, Kerry, West Cork or a multitude of other counties, it would be automatically assumed that you are referring to Gaelic Football. In schools where GAA is played (i.e. a massive percentage of them) "soccer" is also the common term to differentiate it from the GAA.

The only time I've heard people have a sh*tfit over the word, it's usually come from some eejit who is utterly devoted to a PLC in an English city he has no connection with.

Yawn...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Of cou8rse not, but there's definitely an element at a higher level of trying to semantically colonize what "real football" is here.and it often has a somewhat political basis.

Ironically enough a few Americans I know that say soccer use it in a humorously distinct way too: to distinguish it from real (American) football although with them there isn't a more serious undertow to it.

How do you do it?

A small element would have the serious context to it but given I grew up in an area that didn't have a soccer club, football on an organised basis was GAA. It's hardly a life or death issue but often if lads play both games or watch both, football is GAA to help differentiate both. I don't tend to hear people say "I'm going to play a game of Gaelic football".

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Yawn...

Stirring rebuttal mate. No answer to any of the points made then?

It's all your last deserved really.

1) Soccer is common parlance in many parts of the country
    2) Soccer is a word used in other countries where a different type of football is dominant
    3) Most people don't use the word to be ignorant, rather to differentiate from the GAA which is more popular in significant parts of the country.

They're all valid points. And ones which you've no answer for bar giving out that people use a different word than you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,704 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

The three sports are: gaelic, hurling, football.

[/thread]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

A "false" accent? :pac:
    And it's football, that 'true Irish' ****e is Gaah. Or Gaelic. Or just bogball. :p

Bogball is a word that was coined by a Ross O'Carroll-Kelly type who went to an expensive school his father could afford, having profited from the black market during the war. The said yobbo has never been west of Inchicore, failed every exam he sat, ( including geography in which his answer to every question was "down the country"',) barely made it onto the senior rugby thirds, ( getting in on the strength of Daddy's promise to sponsor a set of jerseys for the school, ) went into Daddy's business and when he took it over ran it into liquidation. He is now living with his umpteenth whore in Morocco, having squirrelled a sizeable sum out of the liquidation, while his wife and kids in Ireland are unable to enforce a court maintenance order.
    By all means criticise Gaelic football. I know of no sport that is not prey to the stupidity of some of its aficionados. But you put yourself in very poor company indeed when you parrot that inane word that reeks of faux superiority and trailer-trash Alabama. In short, you let yourself down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Yawn...
    *Fart*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

MJ23 wrote: »
    "Did you see the match?"

Fcuk off and get a life.
    I'll burn it down, I'll burn it all down!

Are you serious?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Something to talk about with the lads in work

Did you see that ludicrous display from Arsenal last night...

Nothing gives me a bigger pain in the bollocks as the GAA speak.

Oh yeah. And what do they do with all the money? And why don't they give it to their competitors? And why don't they lend their some of their players to the Irish croquet team? Jeez they're to be hated! They're so bloody successful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭6781

Speaking of weirdos what's it with grown men wearing jerseys? I'm all for supporting your club and I think it's grand for kids to wear jerseys but when you see middle age men at it even lads in their 20s I find it weird. It doesn't matter if you support Ireland, Bohs, Celtic, Man U or some bogball team I think it's just wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭yawhat!

6781 wrote: »
    Speaking of weirdos what's it with grown men wearing jerseys? I'm all for supporting your club and I think it's grand for kids to wear jerseys but when you see middle age men at it even lads in their 20s I find it weird. It doesn't matter if you support Ireland, Bohs, Celtic, Man U or some bogball team I think it's just wrong.

I seen someone where a T-Shirt in the middle of Summer before, My God I was in shock! What was he thinking!:rolleyes:

People have interest in Football just like people do in video games, television, fashion, Cars, G.A.A, walking, going for meals, technology etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

MESSSSIIIIIII

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭6781

yawhat! wrote: »
    :

People have interest in Football just like people do in video games, television, fashion, Cars, G.A.A, walking, going for meals, technology etc
    What has that to do with fully grown men wanting to wear a overpriced advertisement across their chest that looks tacky in most cases?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

How do these people become such avid fans to a football team which they have no affiliation too?

They choose the team (or have it chosen for them) when young. They watch them. They like them. They support them. And that's it really.

Some people like pears, some like doc martens, others like jazz music. And them some like Liverpool FC. It's no biggy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭colossus-x

I don't' watch soccer but I don't think there is anything wrong with it whatsoever.

What IS painful though is football politics. I just saw a snippet on the news of an interview of some Irish footballer ( not sure what his full name is but I think his surname is Kane or Keane or something like that ) and he was going on about his relationship with some retired manager. It was utterly painful to watch. The guy was talking like he was the last king of planet earth. It was just as amusing as it was painful as it was pathetic.

FTA69 wrote: »
    1) Soccer is common parlance in many parts of the country
    2) Soccer is a word used in other countries where a different type of football is dominant
    3) Most people don't use the word to be ignorant, rather to differentiate from the GAA which is more popular in significant parts of the country.

They're all valid points. And ones which you've no answer for bar giving out that people use a different word than you do.

Yawn...again.

feargale wrote: »
    Are you serious?

Absolutely.

I'm 40 years on the planet. A lot of my youth was spent watching and playing football.

NOBODY ever said are you playing "soccer" to me. NOBODY has ever said are you watching the "soccer" tonight on the tele.

It was ALWAYS football.

NOBODY says it to me now. Not even in other parts of the country. I happen to spend quite a bit of time in Banagher and Galway and I have NEVER heard ANYONE call the game "soccer".

It's football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭Cantstandsya

colossus-x wrote: »
    I don't' watch soccer but I don't think there is anything wrong with it whatsoever.

What IS painful though is football politics. I just saw a snippet on the news of an interview of some Irish footballer ( not sure what his full name is but I think his surname is Kane or Keane or something like that ) and he was going on about his relationship with some retired manager. It was utterly painful to watch. The guy was talking like he was the last king of planet earth. It was just as amusing as it was painful as it was pathetic.

Come on now, the drama and soap opera that surrounds sports is the best bit. I get endless entertainment from the musings and tiffs that go on among the various personalities and Keano is dramatic gold. He is the star of the soap opera that is football (or soccer depending on your preference)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭colossus-x

Come on now, the drama and soap opera that surrounds sports is the best bit. I get endless entertainment from the musings and tiffs that go on among the various personalities and Keano is dramatic gold. He is the star of the soap opera that is football (or soccer depending on your preference)

NO no I didn't mean I don't enjoy a bit of drama around sport but I did mean that football politics in particular is just utterly painful. Why? Well just for starters ( and I could go on ) the general IQ of the players/managers/coaches is glaringly low in comparison to other sports so it kinda just makes me feel I'm watching Home and Away rather than Homeland, for example - if it's drama your after.

A large part of sports are just thinly veiled soap opera for men. Being a man who happens to enjoy soap operas to an unhealthy level I can see the similarities and accept them for what they are.

The relative IQ of the actors only adds to the hilarity and entertainment. Excuse me if this sounds snobbish but would anyone watch Eastenders or Fair City if they revolved around a well adjusted group of neurosurgeons discussing Proust over espressos?

People don't watch football for that. That's just the crap that goes on in between the matches. If none of that nonsense was ever mentioned, people would still watch football.

Besides, most of that gibberish is media generated. It's the Sky sports generation that's created the in between "drama" and yap about it incessantly.

Not that there wasn't any drama in football before, but these days the rubbish that goes on off the field is hyped up to ridiculous proportions.

Personally, I don't give a fcuk about WAGS or Gazza's alcoholism, or who Wayne Rooney is giving one too and years ago, this simply wouldn't have been talked about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

Absolutely.

I'm 40 years on the planet. A lot of my youth was spent watching and playing football.

NOBODY ever said are you playing "soccer" to me. NOBODY has ever said are you watching the "soccer" tonight on the tele.

It was ALWAYS football.

NOBODY says it to me now. Not even in other parts of the country. I happen to spend quite a bit of time in Banagher and Galway and I have NEVER heard ANYONE call the game "soccer".

It's football.
    Another thing NOBODY does:

NOBODY cares. A rose by another name is still a rose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Citroen2cv

People don't watch football for that. That's just the crap that goes on in between the matches. If none of that nonsense was ever mentioned, people would still watch football.

Besides, most of that gibberish is media generated. It's the Sky sports generation that's created the in between "drama" and yap about it incessantly.

Not that there wasn't any drama in football before, but these days the rubbish that goes on off the field is hyped up to ridiculous proportions.

Personally, I don't give a fcuk about WAGS or Gazza's alcoholism, or who Wayne Rooney is giving one too and years ago, this simply wouldn't have been talked about.

I don't think the term "football politics" refers to wags and Gazza being an alcoholic or Wayne Rooney's eclectic proclivities.

I speak only for myself but I certainly do enjoy reading about what such and such manager has said about so and so other manager or what footballer is being linked with what club. I love reading the Secret Footballer and finding out the gory details of what goes on behind the scenes. I guess I am just part of the unwashed "Sky Sports generation" though.

Also, I have spent many a pleasant Sunday afternoon down the pub with a pint or three discussing the football politics of the week. We watch the game and talk about football but it's largely not a nuanced dissection of the tactics of the day's games.

Well, yes there's always been "manager yap". But, today that's blown out of all proportion as well. If Jose or whiskeynose say anything even vaguely snarky, it's in the papers or SSN go on and on about it til their blue in teh face.

I've no real interest in that sort of "red-top" rubbish, to be honest.

However, such things like AVB or MacKay getting the sack would be certainly talking points. Or how bad Utd are doing under Moyes :pac:

Those kind of things have always been talking points for football fans, because they directly affect the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭earlyevening

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

My partner complains too about the amount of time me and my
    Mates talk about football , she keeps that up and she won't last another season!!

Give her the boot, she's not worth it

Absolutely.

It was ALWAYS football.

It's football.

I have almost never heard an Irish person call it football. Everyone where I come (co. Galway), everyone I knew growing up etc call it soccer. Football = GAA. I never call it anything but soccer.

Of the few times I have heard an Irish person use football in a conversation when they mean soccer, they have almost always been asked to confirm do they mean GAA or soccer.