Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline Thread 07/01/14 to 26/03/14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

I suppose we will have some little old lady calling in to tell us how Martin Callinan rescued her pussy from a tree when he was a strapping young Garda.:D

snubbleste wrote: »
    It's just you.

It's just them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

The man was wrong in what he said. he was proved wrong. He wouldn't apologise so he packed it in..
    Doesn't say much for the man.. less of this he was a great fella Shite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

What is the Templemore accent?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭JM Skipton

I think these retired guards need to "lose da hahitude"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

snubbleste wrote: »
    It's just you.
    They all sound the same when they say 'vehicle '

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,069 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Roger_007 wrote: »
    I suppose we will have some little old lady calling in to tell us how Martin Callinan rescued her pussy from a tree when he was a strapping young Garda.:D

Perhaps he remembers her pussy.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Registered Users Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

Joe out for FG blood today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,603 ✭✭✭baldbear

South Central. Is that in Compton he served?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Is it just me or do all Guards sound the same?

They all come across with that same conceit and arrogance... "I was a great lad when I was in the force but nobody would listen to me" sort of thing..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

The "D" word :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,726 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

drumaneen wrote: »
    The RBL Irish Poppy pin has been available since 2011 via http://rbl-limerick.webs.com/
    Irish%20Poppy%20Badge%20PNG%20(website).png

For "ex-servicemen".

So a shamrock means Irish people should give handouts to former British soldiers, and thank them for their service in Northern Ireland (and Dublin and Monaghan) on behalf of Britain and their Queen?

Oops69 wrote: »
    They all sound the same when they say 'vehicle '

It's a vay-hickle!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

The "D" word :eek:
    Donegal?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

Objection! Attempting to lead the witness!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

What did he say?

I've found Paul Reynolds to sometimes be a bit of a joke.

Reynolds was making it out like Callinan was hard done by, claiming that it wasn't an issue until Vardakar, out of the blue (or words like that), brought it up all of a sudden. Went on about his family and how his mother was still alive, all finding it very hard, the data commissioner backed him up and other nonsense.

I was ridiculous. So when Mick was asked something he started off with him saying that he's have a very different view of what happened than Reynolds.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Is this piece trying to dismiss ethics, accountability and democracy?

The man was brought down by his own arrogance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

Heavy word is right Joe. Stick it to the man.

Callinan congratulating himself of intimidating 13000 Gardai into silence.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,603 ✭✭✭baldbear

Callinan and Shatter had a protect the lads at all costs attitude nver mind the truth.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Reynolds was making it out like Callinan was hard done by, claiming that it wasn't an issue until Vardakar, out of the blue (or words like that), brought it up all of a sudden. Went on about his family and how his mother was still alive, all finding it very hard, the data commissioner backed him up and other nonsense.

I was ridiculous. So when Mick was asked something he started off with him saying that he's have a very different view of what happened than Reynolds.

Awww, that's brilliant!

Sure, media hacks like Paul Williams and Reynolds no doubt heavily rely on Gardaí leaking information, hence never criticise them.

Is that Big Phil in disguise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,168 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

Callinan congratulating himself of intimidating 13000 Gardai into silence.:mad:

few Garda that i know thoughts would be quite the opposite

Plenty of slow days as well... They're on a go slow any time I need a hand anyway, or any time the Travellers are knocking about...

We don't have short memories, we just don't accept that you're giving a free ride because of something good you may have done in the past.

I think what this debate needs is Niall Collins, I haven't heard his opinion yet

An apt tweet from Not the RTE Guide
    Not The RTÉ Guide ‏@YourRTEGuide 3h
    RTÉ One 21:30 Commissioner Of My Heart: Paul Reynolds presents a six-hour tribute to former Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan

The twitter machine is full of tweets criticising "Garda" Paul Reynolds as he's now being called, he's actually trending on twitter because of his report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

wonder has Joe had points wiped for the speeding in the maserati

lucylu wrote: »
    The man was wrong in what he said. he was proved wrong. He wouldn't apologise so he packed it in..
    Doesn't say much for the man.. less of this he was a great fella Shite

I think what was worse was his assertions about "no other guard in the force reporting any corruption" and "knowing for sure that no guard was involved in bugging GSOC" .... (paraphrased of course)...

I still can't forget the way a bunch of Gardaí set out to frame Clare Daly, a government critic - and I'm not her number one fan!

The sort of thing that would happen in the Soviet Union.

The penalty points discretion is arguably a less serious topic, but still corrupt.

Joe got off with the penalty points as well... Jaysus they are all at it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

community working with the public.. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

Now Martin Callinan is the victim in this - sweet divine Jesus, next they'll be telling us that FF are responsible for turning the economy around!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Is that Big Phil in disguise?

Or John O'Mahoney?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,069 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

An open admission of corrupt practice.
    Brilliant.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    An open admission of corrupt practice.
    Brilliant.

The 'dogs in the street' were right.:eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

That last caller summed up everything that is wrong with policing in this country.

"And what about the Minister For Justice"..

Stop leading the witness, Joe...

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

If Joe can get enough pressure going here that Shatter resigns 'Joe for President' in my buk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,403 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

I see the ex gardai brigade are out in force.

der Duffhrer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

he wipes your points and then you are in the local coppers pocket

not a nice place to be

I know lots of toms from Roscommon

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    I see the ex gardai brigade are out in force.

Seeing that they can retire at 55 with full pension, there's bound to be an awful lot of them around.

"Nothing to do with me, guv!"

Shatter.jpg

"There's no guard walking Roscommon that I can say 'Hello pat' or 'hello mick.... (can you do anything for me with my parking fine) ' "

• Registered Users Posts: 6,529 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

I have friends on the inside Joe!!!! :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Racist ;)

Well those on the northside of Dublin will remember the only community guard that we knew was the Night Rider, hiding in lanes to catch people coming out of pubs