Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best Matches of 2014

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

BohsJohnny wrote: »
    LISTEN TO THE MAN.

AND THEN I WATCHED AJ Styles vs Minuro Suzuki:
    http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x22lrf2_g1-climax-24-block-b-match-aj-styles-vs-minoru-suzuki_sport

The most cerebral and one of bestes match I've seen this year. People are giving this a sincere ****3/4-***** rating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭BohsJohnny

rovert wrote: »
    AND THEN I WATCHED AJ Styles vs Minuro Suzuki:
    http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x22lrf2_g1-climax-24-block-b-match-aj-styles-vs-minoru-suzuki_sport

The most cerebral and one of bestes match I've seen this year. People are giving this a sincere ****3/4-***** rating.

Gave it ****1/2 myself but wouldn't dismiss anyone who rated it higher then me also gave Nakamura vs Ishii ****3/4.

Really everything from the Tenzan vs Goto match onwards was good to great,i didn't think this year could reach last years levels but i really am enjoying this year more so far.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

Why has Suzuki been wasting so much of his time with Yano? Bunch of great matches on the latest show again. Loved Nagata/Shibata myself. I'm not usually a fan of the whole "If you don't watch X then you're not really a fan of X" but...if you don't watch the G1 then you clearly don't like loads of really awesome wrestling.

• Registered Users Posts: 531 ✭✭✭den87

First time posting here in the wrestling forum, watched AJ/Suzuki going by what I read here, what a match. An absolute war.

den87 wrote: »
    First time posting here in the wrestling forum, watched AJ/Suzuki going by what I read here, what a match. An absolute war.

If you liked Suzuki here watch this match with Tanahashi is probably the best match of 2012 Worldwide:

Post match spoiler that reveals the genius of the match
    in contrast to most of big match Wrestling of the modern era this match had no endless array of nearfalls as a shortcut

Thanks man. Any other matches from G1 Climax worth checking out?

den87 wrote: »
    Thanks man. Any other matches from G1 Climax worth checking out?

There's like 4-5 must see matches every night and were are up to Night 7 and Night 8 is live tomorrow morning our time.

It is easier for me to tell people to watch the whole yoke. :)

Voices of Wrestling: http://www.voicesofwrestling.com/ and Sean Radican's PWTorch reviews: http://pwtorch.com/artman2/publish/radicanstake/cat_index_35.shtml

Are probably the best sources on filtering out the bad/average matches. The quick and dirty rule is that the best matches tend to be in the second half/post intermission. But even still every competitor has a story in the competition so you have to take notice to everyone to some degree. One Wrestler has one won once after 7 matches and he is among the most over for example.

Meltzer:
    It was the best tournament ever prior to Friday. It's something completely beyond that now.

Some more comments here:
    https://twitter.com/davemeltzerWON/status/496138087487901697

Also from the Observer's Daily Update:
    --The last two nights were not just two of the best shows of the year, but they're probably two of the five best shows I've ever seen. This is the greatest tournament in pro wrestling history and it's not even a close call. Last years' was the best I'd ever seen and this year blows away last year.

I haven't even watched the most recent and what people are saying is the best night Night 8. There's another show this morning own time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Last year someone somewhere kindly put together a torrent of the best matches. I think it was about 30 matches in total. I was waiting for that again but it sounds like this year it would be easier to list the matches to skip and watch everything else.

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    Last year someone somewhere kindly put together a torrent of the best matches. I think it was about 30 matches in total. I was waiting for that again but it sounds like this year it would be easier to list the matches to skip and watch everything else.

Last year there was like two uber skippable house show level shows. One had one of the worst non-reaction crowds anyone can remember which lead to wrestlers venting their frustration on social media that night. This year is like a medium sized show to a PPV. The match cards way over delivered. As have some of the older performers - Nagata and Tenzan.

This tournament has made me fall in love with puroresu. Im hooked. Okada could be my new favourite wrestler, AJ Styles best wrestler in the world at the moment? I think so

For all you cultureless feckers who can't stand Japanese commentary here is AJ Styles vs Minuro Suzuki in English

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x22mx6e_english-commentary-njpw-aj-styles-vs-suzuki-g1-climax-2014_sport

G-1 Final morning!

Anyway here's a handy link to the best matchers of tournament:
    http://www.reddit.com/r/SquaredCircle/comments/2d1mb7/get_caught_up_with_njpw_g1_climax_24_all_4_star/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

rovert wrote: »
    G-1 Final morning!

Anyway here's a handy link to the best matchers of tournament:
    http://www.reddit.com/r/SquaredCircle/comments/2d1mb7/get_caught_up_with_njpw_g1_climax_24_all_4_star/

I literally came into this thread to ask - That's super handy, thanks Rovert!

Bare in mind there's a tonne of ***3/4 matches and such like. The standard of the shows have been unbelievably high.

The past 11 nights have pretty much been 8 to 10 out of 10 shows by WWE, TNA or any standards. Opinions for Night 9-11 probably suffered by fan fatigue and immensely elevated standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

Cool. I can imagine the fatigue, I couldn't even keep up with John Pollock's 30 minute recaps

• Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭Joyce88

I would consider myself a very casual Japanese wrestling fan but have been checking out some of the best matches from the G1 from that reddit link.

How often have run ins being happening in NJPW? Seems so bizarre.

Joyce88 wrote: »
    I would consider myself a very casual Japanese wrestling fan but have been checking out some of the best matches from the G1 from that reddit link.

How often have run ins being happening in NJPW? Seems so bizarre.

They've only really happened in Bullet Club matches since Devitt won the Best Of The Supers Juniors in 2013 and it's continued with Styles but most of his G1 matches didn't have much of it.

Heard RAVE reviews about this match from fans who are very hard to please and a bunch of Wrestlers.

The Hardy Boys vs The Briscoes in the Hardy's hometown and original promotion OMEGA.

http://freewrestling.wordpress.com/2014/04/26/the-hardy-boyz-jeff-matt-hardy-vs-the-briscoes-jay-mark-briscoe-from-omegas-chaos-in-cameron-2014/

Won't be for everyone but Gulak vs Thatcher from Evolve 31 is awesome.

On the opposite end, the Atomicos match from AAA's Triplemania is shockingly bad. Hugo and Vampiro being hopeless on commentary just made it worse. Deserves to be seen for how bad it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭robvondoom

Jay Lethal Vs ACH for the TV Title on this week's ROH. After 3 episodes with that feckin' Baltimore crowd I was just about ready to give up on this show entirely. All I can say this week is I f**king love Philadelphia!

Won't be for everyone but Gulak vs Thatcher from Evolve 31 is awesome.

Enjoyed this a good bit liked their rounds match from Mania weekend more but this was still really good,and they're supposed to have a even better match on a FIP show from March but that show hasn't turned up anywhere convenient yet.

Would have looooooooovvvvvvvvvvvveeeeeeeeeedddddddd to see the ROH TV ACH-Lethal match live.

Last match of the episode which is available here for another short while:
    http://www.rohwrestling.com/tv/current

This is really good with just a few rough spots but they don't take away from the match.

Shigehiro Irie & Keisuke Ishii (c) vs. Kento Miyahara & Kotaro Suzuki AJPW August 16th 2014

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x24n4gc_shigehiro-irie-keisuke-ishii-c-vs-kento-miyahara-kotaro-suzuki-ajpw_sport

Suzuki really takes some stiff shots in this.

Pretty much everything from tonight's Evolve 35 show especially Zack Sabre Jr. vs Biff Busick a really great technical and stiff match.

And the same can be said for Zack's match with Timothy Thatcher from Evolve 34 as well.

AJ Styles vs Kyle O'Reilly from this weeks ROH tv show unreal match right up there with the Suzuki one AJ had in the G1.

Pieces of Hate vs. Osirian Portal from CHIKARA's the Living Daylights is very good. A little more time and it would be a real MOTYC for me.

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x26ed7t_hiroshi-tanahashi-vs-katsuyori-shibata_sport

Just fucking awesome. They had a great match during the G1 also but the story here puts this above it for me. I'll be shocked if it isn't one of the front runners for the MOTY award.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x26ed7t_hiroshi-tanahashi-vs-katsuyori-shibata_sport

Just fucking awesome. They had a great match during the G1 also but the story here puts this above it for me. I'll be shocked if it isn't one of the front runners for the MOTY award.

Some savage hits in that, first time Ive seen a Texas Clover Leaf since Malenko's days!