Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Middle Distance Thread

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,129 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

So grade D was faster than C? I might give this a go next week actually.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,524 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

adrian522 wrote: »
    The ultimate finisher in Grade C was a bit of an outlier, and the penultimate finishing time was 11:12, so both races were both pretty close. Grade C also seemed to be a mixed gender race. I should point out that I'm making assumptions about the various grades. It may have been two grade C races - but that should give you an idea.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Chivito550 wrote: »
    Am I reading this right. I can actually just rock up to another club, throw on their vest for a 400m, pretend I am part of their club for less than a minute, then piss off, never to be seen again? Seems a bit mad. I know you can guest in the league, but I assumed that meant just racing for yourself and not for any club. In theory what's to stop some tiny club getting Thomas Barr to cruise around the 400 hurdles in 51 seconds as a one off?

You don't pretend you're a member of another club. When the club names their team, they write in "400m: Chivito (Guest)". You'd wear the singlet of the club you are guesting for, so that your competitors in the race know who you are representing. As for rocking up and pissing off - well, how you make your entrances is up to you.

There's nothing to stop someone asking Thomas Barr to run 400mH for them. Nothing except that Ferrybank have a team in the league, and Barr has other races to run so didn't run for them either.

You can also guest, running for yourself and not for any team, but as far as I know that's at the discretion of the officials. If they have 8 runners in the 400m already they're not going to put on another heat to accommodate any guests, but if there's a spare lane they'll let someone jump in.

If there's a C race and a D race, you decide yourself which race to enter. Some people get it wrong.

(You're supposed to enter your PB and race grade when you enter online, so maybe they do some checking to make sure the A race is correct?)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,129 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

According to the fixtures it's a combined B/C grade. I don't have a PB at the distance but I'd be expecting something around 12 mins.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,524 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

According to the fixtures it's a combined B/C grade. I don't have a PB at the distance but I'd be expecting something around 12 mins.
    Unless they run a D grade, with that kind of target, you could expect to be at the back of the field. But honestly, don't let that influence your decision. The bottom line is that every single graded meet race has someone finishing in last place (I've had my fair share), and it's just another position in the race. The spectators aren't watching. They aren't commenting. They've all finished last too. This year's last place is next year's middle position, and the following year's front-runner. The graded meets are a great experience and will give you a new-found respect for track events and those who compete at the highest levels. You will regret nothing.

I don't mind finishing at the back of the field as long as I'm not several mins back!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

There was a graded 3k on the same track in the second meet this year with an A and a B/C race.

A - 8.37 - 9.43
    B/C - 9.19 - 10.25

To be honest its hard to predict what the standard will be like on the night. Could be completely different on Wednesday week.

• Registered Users Posts: 93 ✭✭Ron Gomall

A couple of different opportunities for the mile anyway. Yea, there is an invitational mile in Greystones on a Tuesday in the middle of June. You can just rock up to that one. Also the BHAA run a couple over the summer, where you can also just show up on the night. If you are a member of a club then the graded meets might be your best option. Just check out the Dublin Athletics website. Might get a 5000m race there too.

If you can run a 5.41 mile self timed, then you should be able to go a deal quicker in a race environment on the track. I'd go 5 to 5.30. What's the worse that could happen :)

Thanks for your help, I like the idea of trying out the track, need to join a club and do some training/ confidence building but will try to make the mid June meet for my first attempt, cheers

• Registered Users Posts: 11,394 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Where are you based, who is your local club?

• Registered Users Posts: 93 ✭✭Ron Gomall

Timmaay wrote: »
    Where are you based, who is your local club?

I have 3-4 clubs - all 15-20 mins away, Le Cheile, Celbridge AC, Donadea AC, I haven't joined any yet, heard that if you join up and want to leave that you have to get transferred etc etc (sounds like a lot of hassle) Do I have to join one before my first race ?

Ron Gomall wrote: »
    I have 3-4 clubs - all 15-20 mins away, Le Cheile, Celbridge AC, Donadea AC, I haven't joined any yet, heard that if you join up and want to leave that you have to get transferred etc etc (sounds like a lot of hassle) Do I have to join one before my first race ?

Most clubs let you try them out for a sessions or so before asking to join, in any case the 1st two clubs you listed definitely have a good few track athletes, I don't know enough about Donadea, they could also. Yes it's hassle to transfer from one club to another but honestly that shouldn't be influencing your decision now, not many athletes bother transferring anyways. In terms of joining a club to race, for most aai approved track races yep you do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

Ran my first graded meet ever in CIT Friday night. Great craic to be fair even though I got lumped in with McCarthy and Harrington:pac: No B race but a big field in the A race but I still got isolated after 2 laps and found it tough going for the last 1400m.

I won't mention the time because it needs work, a lot of it:pac: but it was a good experience to take into the 3000mSC at Munster Champs in 4 weeks time. Definitely going to do more track meets over the Summer.

Leinster seniors today, bit of a mixed opinion about it ha. On the back of a packed block of racing for the last 8weeks (10/10races?), definitely at my limit coming into it and a planned break from racing for a few weeks now. Anyways 1st up the 800, crap warmup and down late ha, felt real sluggish during it, but hung on for 3rd place just about. Was very surprised with a 2.01 though! 1500 3hrs later, but still had the 800 in my legs, defo a race too far, trailed home in 4th, any chance of a medal was gone in the 3rd lap 2bh.

Anyways happy with the 2.01 other than its like the 10th time running it and low 2.01 my pb, definitely a pb for the taking at 800, so it's back to a recovery week next week and spend 2/3 weeks with just 800 sessions and easy runs.

"Timmaay wrote: »
    it's back to a recovery week next week and spend 2/3 weeks with just 800 sessions and easy runs.

Ok that plan lasted all of 3 days ha. 3k graded tonight, couldn't resist. Agonisingly close, 9.02 I think. Pb but still raging, thought I had blown it with a lap to go and only a 9.10 on the cards, didn't 1/2 dig deep enough into the reserves. At least I know where I stand. Ok anyways back to sessions now definitely ha.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Sacksian

Some great times being run here. Was really looking forward to this season, so I'm very jealous of you all!

I have an outside chance of making a race towards the end of July, possibly 2nd round of the League. Hopefully will line up at the masters, and if I'm competitive there, I'll have a think about nationals.

10 minute long run yesterday was the first step towards that, but it seems unlikely there won't be some other compensatory niggles between now and then, so might just put all my 2016 eggs into the xc basket instead!

• Registered Users Posts: 35 MacAttackJ

Greetings all,

Have been doing the Graded Meets this year or the first time. A few questions if I may :

1) Anywhere in Dublin selling spikes? Am not adverse to buying subsequent pairs of runners online but prefer to get an initial pair in a shop.
    2) How exactly are each individuals times recorded? I’m consistently a second or two faster on my watch (1,500 and up). Obviously the official time is more accurate but I’m just curious as to the mechanics of how they track each punter.
    3) They had two B/C 3k’s on Wed night. Was in the 2nd race and was horrified when the entire field went well under 10 mins bar two stragglers in the first. So was astonished to find myself in third place at the bell (sadly, that didn’t last……..). Is it random how they split it out as the 2nd race was at a much more pedestrian pace, thankfully.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Chivito550

MacAttackJ wrote: »
    Greetings all,

Have been doing the Graded Meets this year or the first time. A few questions if I may :

1) Anywhere in Dublin selling spikes? Am not adverse to buying subsequent pairs of runners online but prefer to get an initial pair in a shop.
    2) How exactly are each individuals times recorded? I’m consistently a second or two faster on my watch (1,500 and up). Obviously the official time is more accurate but I’m just curious as to the mechanics of how they track each punter.
    3) They had two B/C 3k’s on Wed night. Was in the 2nd race and was horrified when the entire field went well under 10 mins bar two stragglers in the first. So was astonished to find myself in third place at the bell (sadly, that didn’t last……..). Is it random how they split it out as the 2nd race was at a much more pedestrian pace, thankfully.

Your watch time is always going to be quicker than electronic timing. You will take several tenths to react to the gun, so the race is probably already 0.4 seconds in before your watch has started, and you probably pressed the stop button before you finished too.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,082 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

MacAttackJ wrote: »
    Greetings all,

I was in the 2nd race also, it seemed pretty random, although there did seem to be a greater number of masters runners in the 2nd race.

• Registered Users Posts: 35 MacAttackJ

Cheers lads. Have been enjoying these. It’s been an eye opener as to how the McMillian / VDOT rule of “providing you’ve trained for the distance” applies to shorter as well as longer stuff. Have hit some good times (for me) this year on the roads but not translating to the track at all. A lack of dedicated sprint training might be a relevant factor! Have been mixing running these and also doing some of the IMRA races so I’m not exactly specialising……… Running is all about keeping oneself entertained I find!

Are the results posted anywhere?

Usually electronically timed, but all the distance races at least were hand timed on wed. In any case I wouldnt take myown watch time as gospel, I actually almost never even bother stopped it over the line, instead try to take a quick glance at it.

On the IMRAs v track running, ughh tried to mix that before, they are about as polar opposite as you can get ha. Pick one and forget about the other for now if you want to improve!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,082 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

I have a track session tomorrow which is 5 days out from a steeple and I don't have a clue what I'm doing. Ecoli recommended doing 400's/600's/800's over 6 hurdles per lap(3 on each straight) but what kind of quantity of reps would be good and at what pace? I'm not really bothered as such about how the race goes next week as it will be a test run so I don't mind doing a tough session . I haven't run any sessions over hurdles yet but I have included 20-25 jumps over barriers and jumps into the sandpit after a good few sessions and my technique has come on leaps and bounds (see what I did there:rolleyes:) but I haven't tried it while under stress yet. Any help or advice would be hugely appreciated:)

That sounds like a grand session, no need to do anything crazy different beforehand hand. Being bluntly honest nothing can really prepare you for the steeple ha, just get out and do them whenever they come up. In terms of the race itself, my main advice is to be ultra conservative, your 1st few laps you should be telling yourself you are doing a 10k, time and time again I see people go out wayyy too hard and blow up bad with about 3 laps to go, that's a long way home ha, the other thing is don't worry too much about perfect technique, you can waste too much energy trying to be too perfect about it. Last steeple I did I made the decision beforehand that I was not going to hurdle anything, instead step on all the barriers (dodgy knee at the sec from skiing injury), I instead concentrated on expending as little energy as possible over the barriers, it paid off nicely, 1st few laps I was back of the pack but I picked off most the field and finished not far off a pb, despite having done a 1500 about 40mins before.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

5 days out you should be going around race pace.
    Suggest 4's at just faster than race pace; 6's at race pace; 8's just slower.
    You will know best how much volume you can handle.
    Might be something like 2-3x800, 2-3x600, 2-3x400 with a minute between reps and 3 mins between sets.

Timmaay wrote: »
    In terms of the race itself, my main advice is to be ultra conservative, your 1st few laps you should be telling yourself you are doing a 10k,

also, since you are new to the steeplechase, you don't want to be arriving at the barriers in the middle of a pack. Hang back and give yourself space

RayCun wrote: »
    also, since you are new to the steeplechase, you don't want to be arriving at the barriers in the middle of a pack. Hang back and give yourself space

Now that I'm a bit more experienced I actually often lead out the steeple ha, esp as I'm more a 1500 athlete, no jumps 1st 300m, so likes of 72sec/lap pace I'm still largely jogging 1st 300m. Once the barriers come I'll totally click it down a gear or so, usually let the pack pass me by. Can have the added effect of causing a little bit of a frenzy behind me haha. Probably why I love the steeple actually, plenty of tactics and approaches ha.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Anyone know of any 800 races in the Leinster area over the next month? Failing that anyone want to pace me to a 2:30?!

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭oldrunner

800m tonight in Drogheda & District A.C. graded meet tonight - see their Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/drogheda.districtac?fref=ts

Not sure if they have another one.

Next 800 in Dublin Graded meet is not until July 29th