Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool v Arsenal - Contains Scores

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭ZENER

Great game and result for the neutrals watching it. Pool were good for the win but I think it was more to do with Arsenals uncharacteristic poor performance on the day - maybe the sign in the tunnel frightened the crap outa them :D

It's dissapointing to see a player of Vieras stature doing what he did - he knew that too by the way he waved an apology to the ref from the ground afterwards. I don't think Chelsea will have any problem beating that team based on yesterdays performance. Wenger is going to have to take some drastic action to stop the wheels falling off the wagon.

Liverpool played some very young and inexperienced players yeaterday and their hunger and enthusiasm was pretty obvious to see, maybe it's time to make the likes of Reyes, Pires and Henry fight for their places again.

Well done Liverpool !!

ZEN

• Registered Users Posts: 799 ✭✭✭dirkey_wynne

I haven't trolled through all the posts thus far, so excuse me if this has already been discussed, but has anyone commented on Viera's blatant dive? I'm a Utd fan, and I'm sure all here remember how disgusted Arsenal were with Rooney's dive (yes it was definitely a dive and should have been no penalty) but are they moaning now at Viera? That dive was atrocious yesterday, and it would barely have benefited them from where it took place. Not sure who the Pool player was but he didn't even make an attempt to challenge and Viera went down like a sack of spuds! Ridiculous carry on, lucky not to be sent off. Very hypocritical behaviour imho after (rightly) taking the moral highground over Rooney's dive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭ZENER

I think they'll coin the phrase now . .

A Beckham: To deliberately get oneself punished in order to miss an undesirable event in favour of more competition - be subsequently slated for admitting to it and walking away scot free due to "lack of evidence !".

With the rumors of Becks arrival at Highbury maybe Patrick was sending him a signal ??!!

ZEN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

Great win but
    As steve Gerrard said after the game it's absolutely pointless if we don't keep winning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Anybody got a video clip of Mellors goal? Or all three for that matter...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Vieira misses the Chelsea match because of his five yellow cards, he actually should have done a Beckham and got himself sent off, that way he would only miss the Carling cup game. :)

PiE wrote:
    Anybody got a video clip of Mellors goal? Or all three for that matter...
    Bazh posted it in this thread yesterday I think, have a look. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

He's taken it down :[

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

Not sure who the Pool player was but he didn't even make an attempt to challenge and Viera went down like a sack of spuds!
    It was Hamann, who I think deserved MOM. Gerrard a close second behind him. Mellor ran himself into the ground and played his bit but didn't deserve his champers, but if Krewell had put that goal in like that, he would have got it also.
    Had to laugh at Gerrard walking off with the bottle thinking he got it. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

I dont think that Mellor is a long term solution to Liverpools striking woes, he works hard, but doesnt have the pace and I dont think he was man of the match I would have given it to Stevie G myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

if someone has a link to Mellors goal, could they post it pleaaasssseeeeee!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭Shaque attack

Lex Luthor wrote:
    if someone has a link to Mellors goal, could they post it pleaaasssseeeeee!!!!!
    ditto bazh's link isn't workin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭AthAnRi

eirebhoy wrote:
    Whats up with Arsenal's defence? Best attack but worst defence.

Just after looking at the stats there, since Arsenal got Beaten by Man Utd, they have failed to keep a clean sheet and have conceded 14 goals in 10 games(Champions League and CC included) United on the other hand have kept 6 Clean Sheets and conceded only 5.

Can't imagine Arsenals rut will last too long but they should be seriously concerned about Henry, Pires and Reyes's attitude when the chips are down. They will do well to win a Chamions league with an Attitude like that. They are undoubtidly one of the best teams when things go right for them and have the potential to beat any team in the world. But they seem unable to grind.

It pains me to say it but it was a great win for Liverpool, and a super goal from Mellor. Gerard was class. Liverpool with him look decent, without him they are poor.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,645 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

probably going to sound like some sort of bandwagon jumping guy here but i think henry is simply a petulent gob****e and when things go against him he sulks, similarily veira in fairness i think pires at least keeps trying and working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭puntosporting

Im dissapointed by viera's diving and henry's pointless fouling!
    Liverpool played a high tempo in you face hassling game yesterday,they new that they where missing a few key players but they approached the game tacticaly and never let arsenal settle on the ball!
    It worked out a treat "just" :) .
    Its a step in the right direction in attitude for liverpool as a club that is one ingredient they seemed to lack last season,hopefully they can build on it and get a bit of consistency in there game.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I have to say, I can't remeber being happy with Liverpool beating a team since they beat Newcastle in 1996. Three great goals... Now its back to hating both Arsenal and Liverpool.

PS. I hope Vieira watches himself falling over in the wind and remembers not to accuse anyone of diving again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

mayordenis wrote:
    probably going to sound like some sort of bandwagon jumping guy here but i think henry is simply a petulent gob****e and when things go against him he sulks, similarily veira in fairness i think pires at least keeps trying and working.

well said my friend, whilst theres no doubting henry's ability, vieira or pires' either for that matter, henry carries a big 'kiss my ass, im king of the world' sign around on his back.

its very annoying seeing henry act innocent for blatent fouls and hassle the ref over every decision that goes against him. vieira yesterday was around the ref for every free kick liverpool got, he was red faced when he dived and nothing happened to him, perhaps a lesson he should learn from.

i dont mind players letting refs know what they think of them as in some cases they have every right but for EVERYTHING that goes against you it's very unsporting and it show the lack of respect arsenal have for officials.

notice how when they went on that 49 game run, it was their best ever yellow/red cards tally and they were riding high in the fair play league. a few results go against them, and we see the arsenal of old. its no coincidence that their results reflect how they behave.

smemon wrote:
    notice how when they went on that 49 game run, it was their best ever yellow/red cards tally and they were riding high in the fair play league. a few results go against them, and we see the arsenal of old. its no coincidence that their results reflect how they behave.
    I have to agree with that.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

"henry is simply a petulent gob****e and when things go against him he sulks"

Excellent point, he is a fantastic player to watch when things are going well, but he will never be a Keane or Gerard who will run themselves into the ground for the cause.

Mellor should be given his name, he is a gerard with an extra 2 stone, trim him down and god knows, he does more than that ape Kewell

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

I love the "we hate Arsenal because...." crowd here.

Vieria dive embarresed the hell out of me and made me feel ashamed to follow Arsenal but at least i can take those rose tinted glasses off and admit that.
    I really really hope that wenger will sort it out.

Now when it comes to Rooney/Ronaldo and all it seems that "well it looked like a foul so the ref had to give it" excuse.

PS im only citing Utd here becasue it seems there more utd fans posted here than liverpool!! :eek: by the way did anybody mention bandwagon!! :p

Every team dives. Its a fact of life nowdays in football but the sense that Arsenal single handedly invented it is absured tbh.

That award goes to Spurs when they bought klinsmann :D

jank wrote:
    Every team dives. Its a fact of life nowdays in football but the sense that Arsenal single handedly invented it is absured tbh.

arsenal embrace it though

mayordenis wrote:
    arsenal embrace it though

Please explain that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

"i think pires at least keeps trying and working."

When he is not diving that is.

And hey, Ronaldo and Rooney are both 18/19. Ronaldo does have a tendency to dive a bit too much. But for ****s sake, at least he is not 32 and coming to the end of his career and still doing it.

jank wrote:
    Please explain that!

well they have more than a few players who have been known to dive, and they are rubbish at it, absolutely terrible who was veira trying to fool??

So where is the logic in that young players dive but old players dont??
    well they have more than a few players who have been known to dive, and they are rubbish at it, absolutely terrible who was veira trying to fool??

Thats a pathetic explaination

All teams have a few palyers who dive.

If they were "great" at it would just draw more criticism! :rolleyes:

Vieria was trying to fool the ref obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

jank wrote:
    So where is the logic in that young players dive but old players dont??

Where is the logic in that? Jesus christ. Ok, let say it again. Rooney and Ronaldo are 18/19. Pires is 32. He is clearly a more mature player than they are and should be able to accept it and not fall on the ground like a cock when things do not go his way. Diving is diving. But Ronaldo can learn not to do it just because he gets tackled or something. Pires has not learned and has always done it throughout his career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Girls I don't mind people discussing this match but if this keeps going down the United vs Arsenal route again I will ban people again !! Cop on !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

jank wrote:
    I love the "we hate Arsenal because...." crowd here.

It comes with the title The "anyone but " brigade are out in force slagging off the champions at the first sign of a dip in form. Just ask any United supporter they will tell you all about it as they have had it since the premiership began. The good news for you is that IF Arsenal continue to perform as they did yesterday you will only have to suffer the one season of it.

Arsenal are still the team to beat for the premiership IMO . They are going through a bad patch at the moment. Campbell is back now and if they can get their midfield back they willl stop the rot. The pressure is on Chelsea now so lets see how they cope with it.

The good news for you is that IF Arsenal continue to perform as they did yesterday you will only have to suffer the one season of it.

LOL wouldnt you just love that! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Gangsta

just bcoz they're 18/19 they're men and have to act professionely. that is no excuse to dive. wat a load of crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

About the age thing....

Perfect example. Look at Gerard's, Keane's and Vierra's discipline record as they got older.. The same could be applied to diving really.. Or should be anyway..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

About the age thing....

Perfect example. Look at Gerard's, Keane's and Vierra's discipline record as they got older.. The same could be applied to diving really.. Or should be anyway..

Saint Roy of Cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭ButcherOfNog

On diving and whinging, its not an age thing, its not an Arsenal thing, its a French thing (mostly).

On the game, Arsenal have one way of playing, if you can stop them playing where they like to play Henry doesn't get the ball in positions to run at a defense and thus hes ineffective. Loading the area of the field Henry, Pires and Cole play in worked out excellently. Excellent tactics by Rafa.

Someone up above said Mellor wasn't a long term solution to pools striker problem, he doesn't have to be, Baros should be back in a few weeks (over the christmas break prolly), I wouldn't mind seeing him leading as the lone front man with 5 in midfield.

Kewell, even tho he was involved in making both goals, is just not doing enough, christ I'd rather see Smicer fit and playing at this stage.

Liverpool should finish in the champions league places at the end of the season, pools home form should see to that, apart from Arsenal they haven't played any of the teams above them at home yet, I expect them to win most of those games.

smemon wrote:
    its very annoying seeing henry act innocent for blatent fouls and hassle the ref over every decision that goes against him. vieira yesterday was around the ref for every free kick liverpool got, he was red faced when he dived and nothing happened to him, perhaps a lesson he should learn from.

i dont mind players letting refs know what they think of them as in some cases they have every right but for EVERYTHING that goes against you it's very unsporting and it show the lack of respect arsenal have for officials.

Ironically United players are also renowned for doing this.. A number of United players, like Arsenal, are also renowned for diving. There is also some otheres one that have discipline problems..

United and Arsenal are as bad as each other to be honest..

Liverpool are no saints themselves, Diouf, Baros and Owen (although at Real Madrid) are well renowned for their diving.

It is a problem in football in general. You cannot just single out clubs for it. But some are more prone to it than others.

United and Arsenal are as bad as each other to be honest..

yeah and pool are better than both of them

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Well Jank did say he was pis*ed off at viera which he should be, what he did was top level cheating. The FA if they want to cut out this crap should warn him about it, Hamann was not within 2 foot of him, Pires has it down to a fine art and continues to try and cheat his way to free-kicks, but I think refs are finally coping onto him.
    Rooney dived once from what I can remember, but in his defence, IF they should be one for dive, Campbell was nearer to him and moved his leg towards him, in this case hamman stood straight.
    Ronaldo really is the pits as far as divin goes, he embarrasses me with the continual falling over, the FA have to take control of this and fine them as teh minimum. From what i can see it is an international thing, probably invented in Porto!

I agree, Porto are probably the worst team as a whole for non stop diving. Deco and Carlos Alberto were doing it every time they were under a little pressure. The referee should have booked and sent them off ten times over in the CL last year.

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    I agree, Porto are probably the worst team as a whole for non stop diving. Deco and Carlos Alberto were doing it every time they were under a little pressure. The referee should have booked and sent them off ten times over in the CL last year.
    Don't talk about it, the biggest time wasters in the game by far. I had a bet on CSKA against Porto last week and it really brought back memories of the UEFA cup final. I couldn't believe the commentators were actually saying Porto were doing the right thing. When Chelsea played Besiktas last year, a Besiktas player was booked for walking off the pitch when he was beeing substituted, he just laughed in the refs face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

eirebhoy wrote:
    Don't talk about it, the biggest time wasters in the game by far.

have to agree aswell, whatever about the english clubs, porto really take the biscuit. deco although with barcelona now, was an absolute disgrace in the uefa cup final and i for one will never forgive him nor victor biaia for their blatent time wasting attempts in front of millions of people were football should be at it's finest.

again linked with porto, murinho last year at old trafford was ott. ok, he should be delighted but there was no need for running the length of the pitch jumping with hands in air in an away stadium, do that in the bernabeu, italy, turkey etc and there would have been major major trouble with fans. although the english league has its many problems, it really is one of the most well behaved leagues in the world in terms of fans and diving (compared to continental europe) , racist abuse etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Whether people like it or not, its part of the game.
    I'd rather if my team didn't do it, as I'd rather win by fair play, but simply if you gave me a choice of winning the champions league due to a dive and a scored free kick I'd take it

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Liverpool are no saints themselves, Diouf, Baros and Owen (although at Real Madrid) are well renowned for their diving.

It is a problem in football in general. You cannot just single out clubs for it. But some are more prone to it than others.

I never said Liverpool were perfect. You post critcised Arsenal and I thought it ironic that you supported a team that was just as bad..

You forgot Kewell and Gerard int hat list too..

I never said Liverpool were perfect. You post critcised Arsenal and I thought it ironic that you supported a team that was just as bad..
    I only said that Vieira should take a look at himself and know not to accuse anyone of diving again.

And for the record United aren't as bad as Arsenal for diving. Ronaldo is prone to it alright which I do find embarassing but others like Rooney and van Nistelrooy (who has cut it out of his game completely) don't do it half as much as the likes of Pires, Henry, Vieira, Ljungberg, and a few others on the Arsenal team like Toure, Lauren and Cole. So you cannot say that United are just as bad as Arsenal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Credit to Benitez for coming up with a system that worked really well given the players available. Hamann, Gerrard and Alonso were the 3 best players on the park. Finnan had a very good game too, super pass for the first goal. Sinama looked decent on the right side too. Hopefully he'll keep the same system for tonight, ideally with Potter in the attacking centre midfield position and Partridge on one of the wings!

I thought Nunez was absolutely dire when he came on, but have to give him the benefit of the doubt as it was his first appearance. He'll presumably start tonight. I see Gerrard has been left out of the squad.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭yom 1

I thought Nunez was absolutely dire when he came on, but have to give him the benefit of the doubt as it was his first appearance. He'll presumably start tonight. I see Gerrard has been left out of the squad.

You can't jugde him on his first twenty minutes in a liverpool jersey in anfield after just coming back from an injury that has kept him out over 2 months.
    Tis a bit harsh. He did look very nervous which is acceptable. No doubt he will be involved tonight so maybe we will get a better idea of him. He was supposed to have put in a good preformance for the reserves last week when he came on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Shred

Yeah you're right, Nunez was very disappointing. I thought he looked decent in the reserve game last week, but then again it was a reserve game aginst Leeds reserves...We'll just have to wait and see. With regards to the game tonight, I reckon Tottenham will go through. They're gonna field their strongest team whereas Rafa will field a mixture of reserves/youth. Probably a good thing if we go out TBH, we can't afford any more injuries.

, he should be delighted but there was no need for running the length of the pitch jumping with hands in air in an away stadium

That actually goes down as one of my fav moments of last season! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭BolBill

Harry Kewell is lying face down on the pitch, Mellor scores the winner (and Liverpool win) , Coincidence I think not..........