Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Denis Rodman - North Korea - What is he really at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Khomeini wrote: »
    It wasn't one man. There were greater forces at play.

I personally hope he is reformed during his detainment. I have no doubt he will be.
    I hope correctional behavioural treatment was administered in healthy doses and he was freed from his disgusting thoughts before the supreme being decided to release him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

tipptom wrote: »
    I hope correctional behavioural treatment was administered in healthy doses and he was freed from his disgusting thoughts before the supreme being decided to release him.

A dose of correctional behavioural treatment wouldn't go amiss in *our* prisons.

I mean the current regime of "let themn have whatever they want" isnt exactly curbing recividism now is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

ScumLord wrote: »
    No, they have reasons.

Half of the 160 detainees at Guantánamo as of this week were approved for transfer nearly four years ago, provided that the home country could provide security guarantees. But the Obama administration has argued that many approved transfers effectively have been blocked by restrictions imposed by Congress.

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2013/dec/18/congress-bipartisan-deal-release-some-guantnamo-detaines

Seems strange that the reasons behind detaining half of the prisoners wouldn't lead to some sort of trial :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

And don't forget he was the first to discover a thin layer of plastic would keep cheese fresh, and it's rumoured he's the only man in the world who actually knows what the fox says.

I'm also informed that he gets the figs into the Fig Rolls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,799 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

I'm loving this thread so far. Where's the headcase gone though? I want to hear more about the great leader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭crybaby

Spying for the CIA?

• Site Banned Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭MilanPan!c

I'm loving this thread so far. Where's the headcase gone though? I want to hear more about the great leader.

You have to factor in the time difference in Pyongyang.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

MilanPan!c wrote: »
    You have to factor in the time difference in Pyongyang.
    60 years?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

This thread gives me an excuse to air my opinion that the North Korean regime is a disgusting regime which tramples all over its citizens. It saddens me to think about what is happening to them. The oppression is horrible and anybody who defends it quite frankly is either on a wind up or is a sack of ****.

Total control, brainwashing, its sick and it is something that should be stopped. There is no denying the atrocities over there. Some things are not for joking about

The suffering that occurs, particularly to children is harrowing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

This is due to the Korean tradition. It is not unusual for the Korean people to want a man carrying the radiant blood of Great Leader Kim Il Sung to be Supreme Leader.

It is a pragmatic approach.

How one can look at Marshall Kim Jong Un without being reminded of the Great Leader Kim Il Sung and Dear Leader Kim Jong Il is beyond me. He is a mixture of both.

He is a man of the people like his grandfather and a military genius like his father, Generalissimo Kim Jong Il.

That is true, Kim Jong Un is a mix of Kim Il Sung and Kim Jong Il. The blessed trinity of North Korea!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

"High school students in America debate why FDR didn't bomb the rail lines to Hitler's camps. Their children may ask, a generation from now, why the West stared at far clearer satellite images of Kim Jong Il's camps, and did nothing."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

South Korea kidnaps and imprisons people for political activism.

Their elections are rigged to the hilt.

People in the puppet state are sick and tired of the system. Hence the wide spread protests.

The support for a reunified Korea and the removal of aggressive American GIs is strengthening every day.

Having lived in Korea this is actually true. Well from what I seem and heard anyway. It's not unheard of for a politician to kill himself because he was found guilty of corruption. The PM done this also a few years back. Protests are a big no no.

What's Rodman doing? He has to be some sort of spy. No way are American officials letting him walk back through their airports without asking questions. How close he gets to Kim is unreal, be hilarious if he spiked him with an E. The singing happy birthday is pathetic.

The US kept many innocent people in GB by the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭price690

This is due to the Korean tradition. It is not unusual for the Korean people to want a man carrying the radiant blood of Great Leader Kim Il Sung to be Supreme Leader.

It is a pragmatic approach.

How one can look at Marshall Kim Jong Un without being reminded of the Great Leader Kim Il Sung and Dear Leader Kim Jong Il is beyond me. He is a mixture of both.

He is a man of the people like his grandfather and a military genius like his father, Generalissimo Kim Jong Il.

is there really some troll on here pretending to be in tune with the workings of the leadership of North Korea ? :D

Classic stuff.

I'm guessing you are currently stationed in your bedroom at your parents house in Portarlington or Carrick on Shannon or the like.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

I personally hope he is reformed during his detainment. I have no doubt he will be.

In other words, you're hoping he's tortured.

By condoning torture in NK and other human rights abuses, is that keeping in tune with "true socialism"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

old hippy wrote: »

By condoning torture in NK and other human rights abuses, is that keeping in tune with "true socialism"?
    Seconds out, round 2 :D;) :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

price690 wrote: »
    is there really some troll on here pretending to be in tune with the workings of the leadership of North Korea ? :D

Classic stuff.

I'm guessing you are currently stationed in your bedroom at your parents house in Portarlington or Carrick on Shannon or the like.

My guess is that Khomeni is actually a bunch of college lads having a windup, don't know why anyone would reply to the posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

The Politburo decide. They decided Marshall Kim Jong Un was the best man to lead DPRK and what a wise choice they made.

No doubt the best man from the shortlist of candidate.

The world awaits his upcoming performance in 'Team America 2: Doggie Style'.

My guess is that Khomeni is actually a bunch of college lads having a windup, don't know why anyone would reply to the posts.
    Someone's swallowed all the NK propaganda, but we all must be wary of the propaganda from the rest of the world as well.

price690 wrote: »

Classic stuff.

Ayatollah Khomeini, Carrick on Shannon, Roscommon, Khorasan province, Iran? What they hell would a holy man want to do with an atheist from North Korea.

Portarlington may be even more appropriate. That's in Laois. Take the i out of that and you get Laos, another communist dictatorship in the Far East but one a lot better than Kim country!!!!! I was originally from Laois near enough to Portarlington so maybe I know this new Khomeini? :)

Someone's swallowed all the NK propaganda, but we all must be wary of the propaganda from the rest of the world as well.

Yes, and for every 'isolated, anti-Western North Korea', there is an equally bad dictatorship supported by the West such as Saudi Arabia, the regime that oppresses women and anyone who does not follow their narrow views and that gave us the seeds that developed into al Qaeda cults and Taliban doctrine leading to the world's worst modern terrorist acts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Yes, and for every 'isolated, anti-Western North Korea', there is an equally bad dictatorship supported by the West such as Saudi Arabia, the regime that oppresses women and anyone who does not follow their narrow views and that gave us the seeds that developed into al Qaeda cults and Taliban doctrine leading to the world's worst modern terrorist acts.
    Nah.

• Site Banned Posts: 348 ✭✭Khomeini

Enemies of socialism have to be dealt with.

DPRK is lenient with regards to foreigners.

Ayatollah Khomeini, Carrick on Shannon, Roscommon, Khorasan province, Iran? What they hell would a holy man want to do with an atheist from North Korea.

Portarlington may be even more appropriate. That's in Laois. Take the i out of that and you get Laos, another communist dictatorship in the Far East but one a lot better than Kim country!!!!! I was originally from Laois near enough to Portarlington so maybe I know this new Khomeini? :)

The relations between Iran and DPRK are strong and will be forever.

I was impressed that the first Mosque was built in DPRK by Iran. A great bond that is always strengthened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Which propaganda do we believe though? Take out the exaggerations and down right lies about NK being told. Rodman's there to shoot hoops and talk B ball with megafan Un. He's being payed for his time and travel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

You need correction for your insolence,a good chat with the great leaders dogs might be in order,take it away Komhenieni .

The relations between Iran and DPRK are strong and will be forever.

I was impressed that the first Mosque was built in DPRK by Iran. A great bond that is always strengthened.

I was under the impression that no religion was tolerated in North Korea whatsoever! Whether it is Christianity, Islam, Buddhism, Judaism or even Taliban Voodoo. Nothing only Kim worship is allowed I thought?

That's not true at all.

I know for a fact that Christianity is accepted as normal. While I was there, I even saw practices going on in day to day life.

The State Media reports on Christian festivals, and just a few weeks back gave it's support to Christians in 'South Korea' who are victim of state oppression. The DPRK also told the Christians within the country to stand by them too.

Muism, Buddhism, Confucianism again are all practiced, widely.

The vast majority of DPRK is non religious - meaning they have no 'religion'. They don't demonise those that do.

Religion when DPRK was formed was a touchy issue due to obvious reasons, but like all societies progression is made over time.

Islam is not all wide spread. My point was the toleration that exists in DPRK is to be commended. The first Mosque built truly is wonderful and testament to how approving the society is.

The State Media reports on Christian festivals, and just a few weeks back gave it's support to Christians in 'South Korea' who are victim of state oppression. .

Have you been to South Korea? Have you seen the amount of churches there? How are South Korean Christians being oppressed? :confused:

Enemies of socialism have to be dealt with.

DPRK is lenient with regards to foreigners.

Enemies of socialism or enemies of this "true socialism" you claim is in operation in NK?

Is torture, imprisonment, rape and execution the right way to deal with those who speak out against the political status quo?

I'd consider myself left leaning but am well aware of the extremes that you meet when you veer to the far left. So, I guess I'd describe myself as an enemy of socialism (certainly, the type of thuggery you admire).

What should my punishment be?

Have you been to South Korea? Have you seen the amount of churches there? How are South Korean Christians being oppressed? :confused:

No I have never been to 'South Korea'. It probably wouldn't get in either.

They are being persecuted for their denouncement of the immoral yusin dictatorship

Enemies of socialism or enemies of this "true socialism" you claim is in operation in NK?

Is torture, imprisonment, rape and execution the right way to deal with those who speak out against the political status quo?

I'd consider myself left leaning but am well aware of the extremes that you meet when you veer to the far left. So, I guess I'd describe myself as an enemy of socialism (certainly, the type of thuggery you admire).

What should my punishment be?

Any person in any state who attempts a coup is imprisoned. Trying to overthrow true socialism as some have tried in DPRK results in rightful arrest. Not only is it an attempt to harm the lives of all workers in DPRK but it is treason against the state.

It is not my place to comment on the methods used by DPRK. I have never seen any confirmed evidence of actual techniques other than lies spouted by those who get some cash and a script to read out with a few tears.

I am not a fan of punishment. I firmly believe in the reeducation process.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭red sean

Kim Junky Un gives him re-location expenses and ensures his family are well looked after in his absence!

Citizens are allowed to leave DPRK. There are stringent restrictions from other nations that prevent them from travelling - such as the refusal to issue Visas.

The vast majority of Koreans wholeheartedly believe in the principles of Juche and recognise they are all needed for the country to continue to proposer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

The vast majority of Koreans wholeheartedly believe in the principles of Juche and recognise they are all needed for the country to continue to proposer.

Yeah because thats working out well at the moment...

logik wrote: »
    Yeah because thats working out well at the moment...

How would you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Citizens are allowed to leave DPRK. There are stringent restrictions from other nations that prevent them from travelling - such as the refusal to issue Visas.

not true

The Korea situation has gone on way too long! A war from the early 1950s fought by leaders who are now long dead and gone has no relevance to today. The US, NK, SK, China, Russia and Japan all need to sit down and bring an end to this bizarre situation. NK and SK are still officially at war since the 1950s!! Crazy stuff.

However, nothing will change because of varied reasons. The US is much more interested in the Middle East than in North Korea, Russia and China are tired of Korea, and Japan, South Korea and China all tacitly support a poor North Korea as they don't want another manufacturing/electronics producer rival in the area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

While Kim is a nut-case, the US don't help the situation at all. They stick their oar into everything in Asia.

One of the few North Koreans I ever spoke to, told me that South Korea is a colony of the US, and feels sorry for them. So that's what they are taught.

The US give them a common enemy to rally people around.

not true

What's not true?

That there are tens of thousands of citizens from DPRK living in Russia who are allowed to. Or the near hundred thousand in China.

Not to mention them being in Cuba and other Eastern European countries.

While Kim is a nut-case, the US don't help the situation at all. They stick their oar into everything in Asia.

One of the few North Koreans I ever spoke to, told me that South Korea is a colony of the US, and feels sorry for them. So that's what they are taught.

The US give them a common enemy to rally people around.

Korea is part of the legacy of the cold war. While colony may be too strong a word, South Korea is a very, very close ally of the US and receives strong support from them. Just like North Korea received strong support from both the USSR and China from the 1940s to 1990s.

The threat of a US takeover is always a good excuse for anyone to justify their policies. The truth though is the US has no intention of going to war with NK any time soon as they are not worth the effort. Iran and the like are far more valuable prizes.

The cold war tactics continue though. The US and USSR vied for attention with various movements in Asia, Africa and Latin America. Now, it is the US who set about having client regimes to deal with who promote US values in regions. And all the ex-USSR protectorates found themselves very poor after the collapse of that superpower. For modern Russia and China, North Korea means nothing to them and thus is ignored by all major countries today.

For most people, North Korea is a strange, poor country run by an eccentric family and is prone to attention seeking outbursts of anti Western/anti South Korea rhetoric. But no one takes the country seriously and it is generally ignored by most.

No I have never been to 'South Korea'. It probably wouldn't get in either.

They are being persecuted for their denouncement of the immoral yusin dictatorship

This doesn't exist. Do you mean the Yushin regime which died out in the 80s?

There is no persecution of Christians in South Korea. I recommend a visit.
    Any person in any state who attempts a coup is imprisoned. Trying to overthrow true socialism as some have tried in DPRK results in rightful arrest. Not only is it an attempt to harm the lives of all workers in DPRK but it is treason against the state.

It is not my place to comment on the methods used by DPRK. I have never seen any confirmed evidence of actual techniques other than lies spouted by those who get some cash and a script to read out with a few tears.

I am not a fan of punishment. I firmly believe in the reeducation process.

You keep mentioning "true socialism". NK is not true socialism in action; it's a brutalist regime that engages in surpressing freedom of speech, liberty and imprisons its citizens for the most minor of perceived crimes against the state. It is a totalitarian nightmare that you see fit not to comment on but are happy to call all other commentary on it "lies".

Interesting, that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Interesting, that.
    It's not really.

He's either a troll, a diehard communist and/or brainwashed by North Korea.

This doesn't exist. Do you mean the Yushin regime which died out in the 80s?

There is no persecution of Christians in South Korea. I recommend a visit.

You keep mentioning "true socialism". NK is not true socialism in action; it's a brutalist regime that engages in surpressing freedom of speech, liberty and imprisons its citizens for the most minor of perceived crimes against the state. It is a totalitarian nightmare that you see fit not to comment on but are happy to call all other commentary on it "lies".

Interesting, that.

It is an expression. It has not died out, there are many Gorby types operating to do anything to please the U.S.

I was impressed with what I saw - And I had reservations. Honestly, with all the aggressive attacks and sanctions, they are thriving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

they are thriving.
    Thriving? Really?

ScumLord wrote: »
    Thriving? Really?

As said the people I spoke with admit the country is poor in Western terms.

They are rich in the sense of collectivist spirit. This is what has kept the country defiant in the face of imperialism for so long.

The facilities opened by the Marshall in the past two years have all strengthened Songun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

As said the people I spoke with admit the country is poor in Western terms.

They are rich in the sense of collectivist spirit.
    That doesn't put food on the table. It's clearly nonsense to say that they're thriving, that is unless you change the meaning of thriving to "in good spirits". They don't have access to the same level of medical care, their education is hampered by the fact they've cut themselves off from the modern scientific world.

You know they're not thriving either, you said yourself you wouldn't live there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

What's not true?

That there are tens of thousands of citizens from DPRK living in Russia who are allowed to. Or the near hundred thousand in China.

Not to mention them being in Cuba and other Eastern European countries.

There are 20 to 30 thousand living in China and 10 thousand living in Russia. These are defectors. They are not simply allowed to leave NK. If NK is such a socialist paradise why are people leaving in such large numbers?

Wattle wrote: »
    There are 20 to 30 thousand living in China and 10 thousand living in Russia. These are defectors. They are not simply allowed to leave NK. If NK is such a socialist paradise why are people leaving in such large numbers?

That's not true.

Workers from Korea operate outside DPRK. There are thousands that work in Russia - I know they have several mining operations to fulfil.

People are allowed to leave DPRK. They do so.

I'll ask you, why is it that citizens of South Korea try to go to DPRK? Why is it they usually get shot by the South? Why is it that 'defectors' have returned to DPRK?

The numbers you have given are not large at all. More people left Ireland due to the gombeen class and cooperate society in the past few years.