Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - 2013/14

• Registered Users Posts: 5,347 ✭✭✭Quandary

Kagawa is right footed :confused:

Had to check there :).

I would have almost put money on him being left footed, he uses his left so often!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Kagawa is right footed :confused:

He's multi-footed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

Quandary wrote: »
    Our 4 first team attackers will be RVP, Mata, Rooney, and Januzaj.

3 of them are left footed, 4 if we included Kagawa :)

We'll have some serious dead ball specialists now!

But only from the right side of the pitch..........

• Registered Users Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭case885

Adamcp898 wrote: »

Roo from the left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Lads, you guys have signed (or are about to sign) one of the most talented, gifted and professional players ever to grace the Premier League.

As dirty as this makes me feel, I sincerely hope he fúcking rips it up at Old Trafford and gives the two fingers to those who forced him out. He did not deserve that treatment.

He was easily my favourite player at Chelsea and a player I had hoped would be there for years.

Twice he was Chelsea's Player Of The Year (including his début season).

He provided that pinpoint corner for Drogba's equaliser in the Champions League Final.

He provided the pinpoint corner for Ivanovic's winner in the Europa League Final.

He scored a crucial goal in Chelsea's Top 4 run last season against United in Old Trafford.

He was the centre of the light during a pretty dark time at Chelsea last season.

He was, is and always will be a player that I will have respect and adoration for. Truly talented and truly brilliant.

I only hope that he gets treated better at United than he was treated in the last few months at Chelsea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Two years ago our best player was Rooney, Mata was Chelsea's and Rvp Arsenal's. Imagine saying back then all would be playing for United. Amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

I still can't believe we might have Mata playing in a red shirt

He's really is insanely good, vital in Chelsea winning both their European cups

Adamcp898 wrote: »

Rooney can look after the left side! I'm sure he won't ever be needed for the right again now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Has there been any reason given for him not having the medical today? everything seemed set up for it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

He's multi-footed.

The human centipede.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,607 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

I think it'll be a bit like RVP for me. Didn't believe he was a United player till he scored THAT free kick against City.

But it might be more crazy with Mata. I never even considered the possiblity I'd ever see him in a United shirt. And I still want to hold out hope until I see one of the clubs confirm something. But I just.....it's just bizarre in the most magnificent way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭onemorechance

Has there been any reason given for him not having the medical today? everything seemed set up for it...

There is probably still some paperwork left to do; often the signing will be announced "subject to a medical", basically meaning all the paperwork is done, just the (hopeful) formality of the medical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,850 ✭✭✭Julez

DazMarz wrote: »
    Lads, you guys have signed (or are about to sign) one of the most talented, gifted and professional players ever to grace the Premier League.

As dirty as this makes me feel, I sincerely hope he fúcking rips it up at Old Trafford and gives the two fingers to those who forced him out. He did not deserve that treatment.

He was easily my favourite player at Chelsea and a player I had hoped would be there for years.

Twice he was Chelsea's Player Of The Year (including his début season).

He provided that pinpoint corner for Drogba's equaliser in the Champions League Final.

He provided the pinpoint corner for Ivanovic's winner in the Europa League Final.

He scored a crucial goal in Chelsea's Top 4 run last season against United in Old Trafford.

He was the centre of the light during a pretty dark time at Chelsea last season.

He was, is and always will be a player that I will have respect and adoration for. Truly talented and truly brilliant.

I only hope that he gets treated better at United than he was treated in the last few months at Chelsea.

tumblr_m5wxjsrqLN1qhuyazo1_500.gif

Now your making me feel bad for taking your Mata away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

The next 2 games are key, we need 6 points from them. Even with Mata joining, he's probably not fully match fit and with Rooney and rvp still doubtful we will still be depending on Valencia welbeck young kagawa aj for our attacking threat.

jamesbere wrote: »
    The next 2 games are key, we need 6 points from them. Even with Mata joining, he's probably not fully match fit and with Rooney and rvp still doubtful we will still be depending on Valencia welbeck young kagawa aj for our attacking threat.

The way things are going, at the very least he'll be playing off the bench on Tuesday! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Mata should be motivated as fcuk, throw him in and watch him do his thing I say.

120 minutes minimum in the next two I think

Julez wrote: »
    tumblr_m5wxjsrqLN1qhuyazo1_500.gif

Now your making me feel bad for taking your Mata away!

You are my Mataaaaa...
    My only Mataaaaa...
    You make me happy,
    When skies are grey....
    You'll never know, Juan...
    How much we love you...

Please don't take my Mata away.................

Something like that???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭elchupanebrey

Class. We'll soon have someone who can beat the first man with a corner!! As well as all his other class attributes. Joyous days ahead!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

So will mata the new number 7?

• Registered Users Posts: 33,756 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I just hope Moyes can sign a midfielder, I will go crazy if Carrick misses a lot of matches and we are dependent on Cleverley.
    It is getting pretty desperate at this stage, we need someone to back up the Mata signing, and then 4th is a possibility in my opinion.
    Anyone know how long RVP will be out for? Back anytime soon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

The way things are going, at the very least he'll be playing off the bench on Tuesday! :pac:

He should be starting, but would not be surprised to see him on the bench

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Keno wrote: »
    Two years ago our best player was Rooney, Mata was Chelsea's and Rvp Arsenal's. Imagine saying back then all would be playing for United. Amazing.

Jaysus when you put it like that it really does give you butterflies in the stomach.

Still a mess to be sorted out at the club and don't get me started on the manager but, for now I'm just going to enjoy this Mata ride and hope against hope that, that elusive of all creatures, a Cm may one day be signed.

sky88 wrote: »
    So will mata the new number 7?

I think he likes 10, so he can have a fight with Wayne for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

RobertKK wrote: »
    I think he likes 10, so he can have a fight with Wayne for it.

Or have it all to himself from next season? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,001 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Keno wrote: »

Who would have thought they would all be playing Europa League together next season.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,607 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

So...Aguero or Silva next year then? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

Mata 7 januzaj 11 next year.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

Class. We'll soon have someone who can beat the first man with a corner!! As well as all his other class attributes. Joyous days ahead!!

TBF Januzaj has come in and shown the others how to cross a ball but its good that there will be another player who can cross a ball joining the ranks!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I don't even want Mata to start his first game for Utd, I want him to come on as a sub after 3 minutes just so everyone can raise the fúckin' roof!!

So...Aguero or Silva next year then? :P

Don't be silly, we'll get Yaya first for the midfield, then swoop for the other two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,399 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Quandary wrote: »
    Don't be silly, we'll get Yaya first for the midfield, then swoop for the other two.

nah, aguero would better paper over the cracks, that is how we do things at United!

..and bring Giggs back out of retirement :p

What is Wenger raving about. Just seen him on ssn Jeez is he ever happy about anything.

He is going 'feck, we have to face United who beat us, now they have Mata too."

He is talking rubbish, same rules for everyone. He sees Chelsea selling Mata to United so we can beat Arsenal and Man City to help Chelsea.

RobertKK wrote: »
    He is going 'feck, we have to face United who beat us, now they have Mata too."

He is talking rubbish, same rules for everyone. He sees Chelsea selling Mata to United so we can beat Arsenal and Man City to help Chelsea.

I'm pretty sure that United being 12 points behind Chelsea, having already played them twice, and with Arsenal and City yet to come, were all (small) factors in Mourinho giving the move the go-ahead.

• Registered Users Posts: 379 ✭✭Its All Wright

This could have been a great week, getting to a cup final & signing a top player like Mata. Unfortunately it wasnt to be & last nights game sums up how our seasom has gone. The players confidence looks shattered & im convinced Moyes has made his mind up about a few players, Depending how the remainder of this transfer window goes i predict the busiest summer at United in recent memorey. I think Cleverley, Ferdinand, Buttner & Fabio are certainties to go & i could see Hernandez and Vidic possibly leaving too. Chico is a goal scorer but i dont think hes cut out for a regular first team spot at United. Vidic has wom everything at United so he might look for one last challenge in Italy or Spain.

Unlike a lot of fans im not worried, Moyes has my full support & United will come good. The money is there to attract big players & theres some good young players like Januzaj, Jones, Smalling, Powell & Zaha who develop & improve in time. Top 4 is a must & when Van Persie & Rooney are fit & playing alongside Mata & Januzaj as a front 4 i can see normal service being resumed & teams being hammered once again, particularly at Old Trafford

Theres a week to go in this transfer window & id predict Mata wont be the only player coming in..the futures bright

I don't even want Mata to start his first game for Utd, I want him to come on as a sub after 3 minutes just so everyone can raise the fúckin' roof!!

And my reaction to that would be:

More_crying.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭elchupanebrey

TheTownie wrote: »
    TBF Januzaj has come in and shown the others how to cross a ball but its good that there will be another player who can cross a ball joining the ranks!

Aye twas more a dig at Young and Valencia and their level of crossing. RVP can give a decent corner too altough now he might get to stay in the box a bit more :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,399 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

He does have a point - in a perfect/fair system, transfer windows would take place in a downtime in the league. Summer window should end before the season stats (as the FA looked in to) and the winter window should take place in a winter break.

Not just to keep it so all teams play against the same squads (injuries permitting), but to also stop players being unsettled when their are games to be played.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

I'm pretty sure that United being 12 points behind Chelsea, having already played them twice, and with Arsenal and City yet to come, were all (small) factors in Mourinho giving the move the go-ahead.

I know everybody's been saying this but it seems very short-term thinking. It might help Chelsea this season but will quite likely bite him in the ass next season

(hopefully)

He does have a point - in a perfect/fair system, transfer windows would take place in a downtime in the league. Summer window should end before the season stats (as the FA looked in to) and the winter window should take place in a winter break.

Not just to keep it so all teams play against the same squads (injuries permitting), but to also stop players being unsettled when their are games to be played.

The loan system is more unfair. The bigger / richer clubs can offload talented players to other teams but not have to face them when they play.

Also it has benefited United for years, loan players upping their game when playing United rivals! :D

I know everybody's been saying this but it seems very short-term thinking. It might help Chelsea this season but will quite likely bite him in the ass next season

(hopefully)

Hopefully it will, but the money quoted is good, and probably double what he would be worth in summer.

Also United will be spending big this summer anyway, and Moyes has said that he wants a goal scoring midfielder. It would be hard to find someone as good as Mata, but they probably would get someone close to that.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Hopefully we wont see Mata frowning like this during his time at OT

02d4c001-d8a4-42fc-9bc7-70a036cde0cc.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭bassy

The loan system is more unfair. The bigger / richer clubs can offload talented players to other teams but not have to face them when they play.

Also it has benefited United for years, loan players upping their game when playing United rivals! :D

similar thing at the bottom of the table where some small clubs in relegation battles gets so called talented young players that are not quite the finished article for there big club and go for experience to the small clubs,so other small clubs can have the wenger view of this also for there survival in the league.

Well the English like there Christmas games. So unless the transfer window is on Xmas day its not going to change. Personally I think there should be no transfer windows

Also Chelsea have 37m reasons to sell mata. Especially when he sits on the bench.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

During his little known stint playing for 첼시 풋볼 클럽.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭viper006

Hopefully it will, but the money quoted is good, and probably double what he would be worth in summer.

Also United will be spending big this summer anyway
    , and Moyes has said that he wants a goal scoring midfielder. It would be hard to find someone as good as Mata, but they probably would get someone close to that.

wow can i ask what you mean by spending big. Moyes has taken over a title winning team as has been given to spend the bones of 65m plus huge wages on just 2 players . All without selling anyone..Moyes spending incredible cash already!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Wenger's always been opposed to the January window, so this is just him sticking to his beliefs. Watch the media twist it though ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Burst out laughing hard at this and not sure why :)