Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - 2013/14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Pool paid 37 million pound on andy carroll

It was 35m on Andy Carroll and that's a ridiculous comparison. Look at who Andy Carroll was before and after that transfer. Nothing is close in that comparison you're making and it's clear that the Carroll deal was ridiculous on many levels.

You could also look at that Uruguay lad they signed the same day as Carroll for 23m, is Mata worth nearly 15m more than him?

Not a serious question by the way, again, it's a ridiculous comparison. You're looking at a window 3 years ago and comparing an English striker going to and from completely different clubs to a Spanish AM going from a CL club to the reigning champions. Ridiculous.

37m for Mata is a good deal. Man United have s**tloads of money as you can see from the Deloitte report. They're also arguably the biggest team in the world. 37m is nothing and should be expected of them to spend. For that sort of money, I can't think of who else would be available, EPL experienced, and hungry to play that would be better than Mata. Terrific signing.

I still think a CB is the next priority, then CM and LB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,410 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

To those questioning value in mata at 37 million think about this chelseas star man for years past we get for 37 million pound..

Pool paid 37 million pound on andy carroll would you value carroll 2 million less than mata

PMSL :D

Mata at £37m is an ok price for Utd, and a great one for Chelsea for a bench player (no matter how good he is, from Chelsea's point of view, they're getting an astronomical fee for someone they don't want).

also, using Andy Carroll as any sort of barometer for transfer dealings is loltastic.

Hierro_4 wrote: »
    Suarez has improved significantly since that outlay and wasn't signed from a rival.

It makes no sense to compare the two transfers.

Neither was Andy Carroll??

SlickRic wrote: »

also, using Andy Carroll as any sort of barometer for transfer dealings is loltastic.

I'm seriously flabbergasted at the comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,056 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Hierro_4 wrote: »
    Suarez has improved significantly since that outlay and wasn't signed from a rival.

It makes no sense to compare the two transfers.

Exactly it makes no sense comparing Carroll with any transfer either. That was just a disaster we should all forget about it. For me mata is well worth the money I think he is a fantastic player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Sour grapes from some questioning the value. You pay what it takes to get the player you want.

Carroll is definately not a player to compare any transfer to, except a disasterous one.

Mata is huge money and will be expected to deliver a lot of goods. Could see and RvP linking really well if the latter is ever fit for a sustained period again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

In fairness its what the player does in the 3 years after that counts. It's hard to know a fair price yet. Let's talk after mata has a few years done.

Sour grapes from some questioning the value. You pay what it takes to get the player you want.

Exactly. It's a very very rich club paying a fair market value. There's worse players flogged to likes of Madrid and PSG for more money. Nobody is getting shafted here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,617 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

don't really care what Mata cost - we have spent far more on debt and interest than on players, so i'll be happy we are forking out on a genuine top talent rather than financing.

Mata may not work out, but it won't be because he isn't a talented player or not worth what we are paying right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,853 ✭✭✭Julez

niallo27 wrote: »
    Liverpool also paid 22 million for Suarez in the same transfer window. Would you value mata 15 million more than Suarez.

Made me spit out my tea, stupidest thing I've ever read. United paid 17M was it for Ronaldo, probably one of the greatest players ever, so anything over that ever again is a rip off. Your logic is sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,410 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

i wouldn't care what Mata costs at all.

a world class player is joining - that's all fans should care about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

Julez wrote: »
    Made me spit out my tea, stupidest thing I've ever read. United paid 17M was it for Ronaldo, probably one of the greatest players ever, so anything over that ever again is a rip off. Your logic is sound.

I think it was 12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,248 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

He could cost £50 million, I don't care. United are loaded.

Delighted to see us actually making a statement even if it that statement is motivated by panic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

It's all about the reputation, he's one of the best in the world in his position, he's been player of the year at Chelsea the past 2 seasons and is one of the best in the premier league.

That's what the 37m is for and he's worth every bit if he can replicate what he did at Chelsea, not even considering he's only 25 and potentially has his best years ahead of him.

He's world class and that's the price you pay for it, I wouldn't have been surprised to see PSG pay a lot more.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭Hococop

i see it was mentioned here already, Sunderland are interested in Ever Banega, considering they are interested in him means his price tag must not be that high, Traore is gone on loan to everton that strengthens their squad even further

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

Should Utd bid for Suarez now Evra is leaving? Stranger things have happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,056 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Julez wrote: »

Ya I know. That's the point I was making.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

Wouldn't have him near the club. I'd sooner sign el hadj diouf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

The Mail are saying Moyes is watching Mandzukic tonight.... Feck that i say.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

The Mail are saying Moyes is watching Mandzukic tonight.... Feck that i say.

He is not even in the squad I think.

Raphael Honigstein ‏@honigstein 24m
    big news from Gladbach is that Mandzukic didn't make the squad, despite not being injured. Pep unhappy with his performances in training

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,247 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Jesus christ what did i just read?? There is no way as a manchester united fan anyone could ever want suarez nothing to do with him being a pool player btw but i hate and despise racists and racism in the game

Balague just posted. Mata in London. Chelsea waiting to finish other deal. Utd want to sign transfer before medical. But don't worry it will happen.

Jesus christ what did i just read?? There is no way as a manchester united fan anyone could ever want suarez nothing to do with him being a pool player btw but i hate and despise racists and racism in the game

And the small fact he has a history of biting people. Our club has a bit more class than signing players like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

To those questioning value in mata at 37 million think about this chelseas star man for years past we get for 37 million pound..

Pool paid 37 million pound on andy carroll would you value carroll 2 million less than mata

PMSL :D

All transfer prices should be related back to Andy, we can call them $AC.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

Apparently Sammer said before the game against Gladbach that we are interested in Toni Kroos.

He'd be accepted after his first goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

Balague just posted. Mata in London. Chelsea waiting to finish other deal. Utd want to sign transfer before medical. But don't worry it will happen.

F*ck. It's off. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

The way I see it, we might not need Mata as much as we need players in other positions, however I'd rather get Mata in now than potentially face a bidding war in the Summer, when we would have been in the hunt for someone like him anyway.

We're paying big money for a top player. A player who is/was widely regarded as one of the best footballers in the Premier League. It's a huge statement of intent, a bigger one than signing RVP in my opinion.

Stop trolling. No Utd fan would allow him onto a pitch in a Utd shirt in the first place to even attempt scoring a goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,248 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

£40,000,002. Just for the laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

this post is stupider than the dialogue in a hardcore porno

Devil08 wrote: »
    Stop trolling. No Utd fan would allow him onto a pitch in a Utd shirt in the first place to even attempt scoring a goal.

Trolling? What are you on about? Do you speak for Man Utd fans now?

I would love to see a player of his calibre at Utd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Read this aswell... My heart jumped a bit!

Just get it done already for god sake!

Didnt Jose say he went to do his medical?

He has scored a fair few goals at Old Trafford.

He would love to play for the champions.... but no united fan i know could look past his history...

Now a daycent uruguayan striker cavani please

• Subscribers Posts: 32,856 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

There is no chance it will happen for a variety of reasons, but if Suarez did join Man Utd next season I can pretty much guarantee the majority of people in here would change their views accordingly if he delivered on the pitch, no matter what is said, and anyone who says otherwise is ridiculously naive.

Our Year wrote: »
    He has scored a fair few goals at Old Trafford.

He certainly has scored at old trafford. Great observation.. love the username :P

Trolling? What are you on about? Do you speak for Man Utd fans now?

I would love to see a player of his calibre at Utd.

Everyone would want a player of his calibre . Just not that ***t

5starpool wrote: »
    There is no chance it will happen for a variety of reasons, but if Suarez did join Man Utd next season I can pretty much guarantee the majority of people in here would change their views accordingly if he delivered on the pitch, no matter what is said, and anyone who says otherwise is ridiculously naive.

Dont get me wrong he is a wonderful player but no way would i want to see him lining out for us.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,471 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

J. Marston wrote: »
    He could cost £50 million, I don't care. United are loaded.

Delighted to see us actually making a statement even if it that statement is motivated by panic.

I think panic would see United spend big on an unproven player.

I think it's actually smart, opportunistic and all about timing.

Getting a brilliant player when he is actually available and minimum competition as it's winter. With United down the league it makes Chelsea more inclined to do a deal, he needs a move now, if it was a non world cup year he might stay at Chelsea to end of season. United have money and are unlikely to get the midfield player this window so get the player they would be after in summer if they got a midfield player now.

5starpool wrote: »

He is one of the biggest bags to play football. Keep him . We really don't want him .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,957 ✭✭✭KH25

Read this aswell... My heart jumped a bit!

Just get it done already for god sake!

Didnt Jose say he went to do his medical?

I believe he said Chelsea were allowing him to travel for a medical, not that it was done.

He is one of the biggest scumbags to play football. Keep him . We really don't want him .

:( ninja edit that quickly :)

Wouldn't have him near the club. I'd sooner sign el hadj diouf

Don't worry, it won't happen. You couldn't afford him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

£37 million for Mata is excellent value, he will prove it over the years and will be United's main man over the next few seasons, maybe not this season but he will show his class. He is one of the most talented players I've ever seen play at the Bridge, its a scary thought thinking about him supplying Rooney and RVP. A centre mid and a left back and United will be good to go for a title challenge. The only worry I would have is David Moyes, my own opinion is he isn't the man to take United forward but once he gets a few more signings in he deserves a shot at it.

rarnes1 wrote: »

If anyone can, Utd can. Wouldn't give you lot a cent though

rarnes1 wrote: »

Oh yes we could if we wanted him... united = powerhouse club and you know it ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 33,758 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

No, wouldn't want Suarez, he is a bit unpredictable in character, and his biting of Ivanovic was not the first time, so who can say it was the last time.

There are plenty of players without having to even think of Suarez, not that Liverpool would sell to us or that we would actually want him in the first place.

Hope Moyes does want Kroos...not that I can a deal happening there.

Look lads, Louise has no interest in joining ye anyhow, get over it please.

If you can't be with the one you love, love the Juan you're with.