Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - 2013/14

• Registered Users Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭cathalio11

Or Azpillicrepuzpuleta

Laughed.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Cant say I've seen much of Shaw. Is he really good enough to come straight into our first team?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,394 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Sure Ramsey was a United fan who idolised Giggs. If only that one had worked out :( Though he'd have probably been driven out of the team last season by the instant gratification mob who make up a good portion of United fans. Shaw would be rotated with and mentored by Evra until the Summer at which point I think he will be good enough to hand the reins over too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,006 ✭✭✭beno619

kippy wrote: »
    And you wont take into account any of the potential reasons for that regression, despite them staring you in the face.......

Fair enough you think Moyes shouldn't take the fall for our performances, results or league position.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,373 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Johner wrote: »
    He's not the only one. :(

The other big signing of the window.

Johner welcome to the red side of things. Join us with Juan.

See how nice things are over here.

Yes join us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

If he signs it will mean 1. We get more money for him in the summer or 2. He stays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Cant say I've seen much of Shaw. Is he really good enough to come straight into our first team?

He'd probably get into any team in the Premier League, already looks like a seasoned pro that has been playing the game for years. Very strong, good going forward and solid defensively, he is going to be a world class left back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

Jesus Christ what a few days. Mata signing, Rooney in negotiations, and a possible bid for Shaw. Wow. Just wow.

Maybe Rooney has been encouraged to stay with this recent burst of activity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

lordgoat wrote: »
    The other big signing of the window.

Johner welcome to the red side of things. Join us with Juan.

See how nice things are over here.

Yes join us.

You can take my Juan but you'll never take me! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Telegraph reporting that Rooney close to signing a new deal worth £300,000 a week.

Edit: beaten to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

adox wrote: »
    Telegraph reporting that Rooney close to signing a new deal worth £300,000 a week.

Imagine being able to buy a nice house.....every week.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

Linked with Fredy Guarin again today. Little rascal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Is he worth 300k a week to us? The older he gets the more his appeal depreciates so we're not going to get a huge amount for him.

300k over 5 years is 78 million pounds.

I thought what he was on now should the very most he should be getting.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭NoviGlitzko

GSPfan wrote: »
    Jesus Christ what a few days. Mata signing, Rooney in negotiations, and a possible bid for Shaw. Wow. Just wow.

Maybe Rooney has been encouraged to stay with this recent burst of activity.
    Definitely. One can hope!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,386 ✭✭✭Invincible

Overpaid for what he's doing already. No match for Van Persie when both fully fit, no player bar Ronaldo or Messi is worth that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,802 ✭✭✭✭kippy

beno619 wrote: »
    Fair enough you think Moyes shouldn't take the fall for our performances, results or league position.

Not 6 months into a 6 year deal and taking into account all the other factors involved.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Surely it's closer to £64m?

Me no maths good. I was thinking £26m plus £40m, so £66m.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,580 ✭✭✭bennyl10

Is he worth 300k a week to us? The older he gets the more his appeal depreciates so we're not going to get a huge amount for him.

Mata, Rooney and RVP up front.. oh my lord..

homer-simpson-drooling.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,659 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Im not sure am I happy he's getting a contract extension after his behavior at the club

That just opens the door for crazy wage demands from players, we don't want to turn into City. He would be getting 70k more than Yaya Toure, the second highest paid player(?), if that's true.

• Registered Users Posts: 379 ✭✭Its All Wright

Rooney holds all the cards in the negotiations, the season has not gone how he wants on the field but its worked his favour off it. Although i believe we will get top 4 were not guaranteed it & he can walk away for free next summer so he can more or less name his price if the club is desperate for him to stay. £300,000 a week is crazy money & i would guess that the media are exaggerating the figure a bit cause i find it hard to believe the club would break its wage structure and pay a player that much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Nicking Shaw from under his nose and tying up a new contract for Rooney.
    The perfect thank you to Jose for selling us Mata :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

£300,000. Three. Hundred. Thousands. Pounds. Per. Week.

That is insane in all honesty.

Rooney and his agent have had the clubs pants down time and time again over the last few years. He's completely dictated everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭Rubber_Soul

I'll be ****ing livid if this rumour about Rooney getting a 300k a week extension is true. Twice now he's thrown a strop and asked to leave and both times gotten rewarded for it. So much for no player being bigger than the club.

Hard to say. Worth more to Utd staying though that what he would be sold for.
    When he's on song, like he has been this season, he's Utds best player IMO.
    Last seasons Rooney for the most part was just awful compared to this season and when he's poor he looks very ordinary.

I think at this stage it's imperative that Utd hang on to him. For whatever reasons(and we all have differing opinions on here what they are) Utd are in a bit of a state at the moment. No direction on and off the pitch and stumbling their way through the season so far. Rooney has probably been one of the main positives from this season despite the awful performances of the team overall.

The signing of Mata is great and I still think Fellaini will be a success long term but, the last thing Utd need at the moment is to lose one of their top players, least of all possibly their best player.

Getting Rooney to sign a new contract will be as exciting as the Mata signing IMO.

Offer him a bit more than what he's on now and just tell him to take it or leave it.

We can get 20m for him in the summer and it will free up a huge chunk of our wage bill

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,278 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Paully D wrote: »
    £300,000. Three. Hundred. Thousands. Pounds. Per. Week.

That is insane in all honesty.

Rooney and his agent have had the clubs pants down time and time again over the last few years. He's completely dictated everything.

He certainly has been very well looked after, ott.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,370 ✭✭✭b757

bennyl10 wrote: »
    Mata, Rooney and RVP up front.. oh my lord..

homer-simpson-drooling.jpg

Don't forget Januzaj :) Extremely impressed with him this year.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Headshot wrote: »
    Im not sure am I happy he's getting a contract extension after his behavior at the club

The being by far our best player behaviour?

You're an absolute fool if you're not happy he stays.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭irishfeen

While 300k is far too much, I would rather Rooney getting back to his top form at United rather then any of our rivals - replacing him for similar quality could be near impossible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

Ah but there's the thing headshot mate....you're never happy!! :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Maybe Shaw is what Owen was hinting at?

Can Southampton turn down 20 million+?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

I don't think he's got too many years left, so wouldn't be hugely worried about him moving.

Moreso now that we have Mata.

(Can't describe how weird it is typing that).

He's great, but I feel that we could sell him and have 3 other top class players in for the same wages...

Me either really and I would have gladly said goodbye to him in the summer if he had gone. I think I said at the time that I hoped he either left or signed a new contract early on in the summer, as it was a distraction the club didn't need, especially with Moyes early encouraging words stating that he wanted to sign midfielders.

Circumstances have changed hugely since them though. A combination of excellent form from Rooney coupled with the disastrous running of the club on and off the field makes it nearly imperative that he is kept. At least until things reach a more even keel and things become more stable.

The being by far our best player behaviour?

You're an absolute fool if you're not happy he stays.

Im not happy that he asked twice to leave and gets rewarded with a bumper deal. It disgusts me some what. He cries and cries but gets rewarded for it. Shame on utd for bowing to his demands tbh. Utd were always known for no player is bigger than the club but that seems to be hogwash now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,791 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Keno wrote: »
    If he signs it will mean 1. We get more money for him in the summer or 2. He stays.

Good insight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Rooney is the Utds most important player. Pay the man. I have no issue with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

So 300k a week is fact now is it? No one is even willing to doubt it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭Tom.D.BJJ

Who cares how much he's paid. It's not our money. He's our best player, who will be even better when he's surrounded by similar quality. Personally ill be delighted when the new contract is signed.

P'S it's a ****ing huge statement of intent from the club

• Registered Users Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭master-t

Right, had a very interesting chat with one of the Indo Lads in Sport (he doesn't specialise in football, but it's a small team, so news spreads), he said that earlier today, the editor got inundated with calls/emails regarding Shaw and Cabaye to MUFC rumours. They didn't think much of them, until now. When he heard the Shaw bid being made 'public' knowledge tonight it has led him to believe that 1 if not both of these are being pursued for this window. He said that their Journos have spoken with Owen, and he believes it's Shaw.

All gravepine and speculative, but interesting view point from people who write about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

MEN now saying we've bid for Luke Shaw?

Oh my word..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,370 ✭✭✭b757

GSPfan wrote: »
    So 300k a week is fact now is it? No one is even willing to doubt it?

Woodward has to spend his millions somewhere :P

Great player to be honest, delighted he may be signing a new contract.

Shaw my dream signing, please jebus. He is the alpha and the omega

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,599 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Do ye not think the article is exaggerating the details a little bit? Like it's saying he is on 250k a week at the moment. I always thought he was in or around the 180-200k mark.

He has been a huge player for us this season and would be sad to see him go as he always seems to bust a gut on the pitch for us. I would rather hold on to whatever World Class players we have at the moment. Can just see the anti-Moyes/Woodfird brigade jumping on this whatever the outcome: give him the contract and we gave him too much. Don't and we let one of our best players walk away(granted for a fee but probably feck all with 1 year left on his contract)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,982 ✭✭✭Degag

Lads, can't fúcking wait to see Mata in a United Shirt:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

• Registered Users Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Tom.D.BJJ wrote: »
    Who cares how much he's paid. It's not our money.

It's the club's money. How the club's money is spent will directly affect the long term success of the club. That is why fans of the club care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

So I goes to the cinema for a couple of hours
    1) Mata deal announced subject to medical and personal terms
    2) MEN suggesting deal for Shaw
    3) Rooney contemplating bumper new deal......

Anything else I missed out on

astradave wrote: »
    Can just see the anti-Moyes/Woodfird brigade jumping on this whatever the outcome: give him the contract and we gave him too much. Don't and we let one of our best players walk away(granted for a fee but probably feck all with 1 year left on his contract)

That's just disingenuous. I don't there's any poster on here that would even think like that, never mind spin it like that.