Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Trivial things that annoy you Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Valentines day. I just saw an ad for it. Absloutely hate it. We stopped buying Valentines day stuff about 2 years after we got together as we both find it a rip off. I'm amazed the usual red tat isn't everywhere already, they're late this year, no creme eggs in the supermarket yet either

I saw a "Malt-Easter" display in my local garage on January 2nd. I nearly threw up with rage.

Just put out the Christmas 2014 stuff and be done with it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Aglomerado wrote: »
    I saw a "Malt-Easter" display in my local garage on January 2nd. I nearly threw up with rage.

Just put out the Christmas 2014 stuff and be done with it!
    I only ordered a 2014 calendar at the weekend:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Valentines day. I just saw an ad for it. Absloutely hate it. We stopped buying Valentines day stuff about 2 years after we got together as we both find it a rip off. I'm amazed the usual red tat isn't everywhere already, they're late this year, no creme eggs in the supermarket yet either

Quite annoying when you can't thank a post more than once, as I would in this case! :D

The whole Valentine's Day think has been completely taken over by commercialisation. I used enjoy it and you'd send a few people cards and flowers and it'd be a nice surprise for them and stuff, but now it's a case of -

"What are you doing for your wife this year?"

"Ehh, not a whole lot, why?"

"You mean you're not doing anything for Valentine's Day? OMG you tight bastard, hate to be your wife!"

"Ehh, riiiight."

As if the other 364 days of the year don't count or something? Turns me off the whole idea that you're now SUPPOSED to do stuff, as opposed to doing stuff because you like to show your appreciation for someone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Creme eggs are everywhere, tesco have full blown easter displays up already

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭bobbygrant

Always annoys me the way shops put all the filling for their sandwiches in the middle so it looks like there's loads in it when its sliced, but theres not and its all in the middle.

Czarcasm wrote: »
    Quite annoying when you can't thank a post more than once, as I would in this case! :D

The whole Valentine's Day think has been completely taken over by commercialisation. I used enjoy it and you'd send a few people cards and flowers and it'd be a nice surprise for them and stuff, but now it's a case of -

"You mean you're not doing anything for Valentine's Day? OMG you tight bastard, hate to be your wife!"

"Ehh, riiiight."

As if the other 364 days of the year don't count or something? Turns me off the whole idea that you're now SUPPOSED to do stuff, as opposed to doing stuff because you like to show your appreciation for someone!
    It's far more romantic to get a gift from your partner/spouse when you aren't expecting it. When my husband brings me home flowers or sends me a bouquet it means an awful lot more to me than if he sent me flowers on Valentines day. It's the little things you get for each other that show you care. Not great big expensive gestures, just the small things, like buying him a few beers or a bottle of wine so he can unwind with a drink when I know he's having a really crap day at work. Or him bringing home something he's seen that he knows I'd like.

It's the thought more than the cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭SamAK

Another one, and the bane of my existence - the high pitched BEEP every 30 seconds from smoke alarms with dying batteries.

I live in an apartment block, and I can hear two of the ****ers....BEEP.........BEEP, one after the other. Both from next door. Argh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Self-righteous skinny people. Yes, I'm fat. I'm trying to change that fact but you don't have to be so uppity about it! :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭RedFormanFITA

Restaurants that serve up a ploughman's lunch and you only ordered a BLT with a side order of crisps. I look around me thinking, where are the other six people who are going to help me eat all of this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

Restaurants that serve up a ploughman's lunch and you only ordered a BLT with a side order of crisps. I look around me thinking, where are the other six people who are going to help me eat all of this?

I'm far more annoyed when I look at the plate and think 'is that it'? Just because you place it nicely on the plate doesn't mean you can scrimp on the serving size.

McChubbin wrote: »
    Self-righteous skinny people. Yes, I'm fat. I'm trying to change that fact but you don't have to be so uppity about it! :mad:

Ohh self-righteous people generally. It will get to a point though where it's just noise to you and you tend not to notice any more. I smoke, and I drink, and the only time I saw the inside of a gym was when a mate brought me in on a visitor pass or something - I got kicked off the treadmill for wearing new rocks and jeans (I outright refuse to wear tracksuits and runners, I just don't like them!), then I flopped out of the sauna like a dead seal after 30 seconds because I couldn't breathe in there!

And yet people still insist on making me aware of the fact that I shouldn't smoke and I shouldn't drink and I should get more exercise because I'll live longer... I actually never knew that! What would anyone do without self-righteous people who make it their mission in life to state the fcuking obvious? :D

I'm far more annoyed when I look at the plate and think 'is that it'? Just because you place it nicely on the plate doesn't mean you can scrimp on the serving size.

It's either feast or famine. Same thing with hotel bedrooms, it's either too cold or feels like you're on the surface of the feckin sun. And that's after you've opened every window and the door to the mini fridge.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

When the crotch of your tights is on a permanent mission towards your knees all day. Uncomfortable as hell, plus I'm wearing a fairly short skirt so I keep getting paranoid that it'll actually fall down past the hem!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

+1 to this. I'm of the view that the more expensive the dish is, the more of it should be on the plate. Who wants to pay the bones of €20 for a dish that is barely two bites? Gourmet cooking is rife with this kind of tomfoolery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

"Ehh, riiiight."

Voice of experience here that belies my age(:D). Never ever ever ever , during a..... heated debate, refer to it as "Just another day" and then proceed to question the meaning of the other 364 days. Ever.

It doesnt end well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭kryptonmight

Having to sit upstairs on the bus.

Or when the bus driver decides to be nice, and waits for that one last person who then proceeds to spend about 10 minutes rooting around for change before the bus can leave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Voice of experience here that belies my age(:D). Never ever ever ever , during a..... heated debate, refer to it as "Just another day" and then proceed to question the meaning of the other 364 days. Ever.

It doesnt end well.

If you're not doing anything special on those other 364 days of course it's going to go badly. If you do liven things up every once and in a while you'll probably be appreciated even if you spend Valentine's Day beating your high score in Puzzle Bobble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Two day hangover that is still lurking.
    Eating all day and still being hungry.
    Celery - disgusting sour stringy veg.
    Gay Byrne.

When you get a letter for a hospital appointment six months after you needed to see a consultant/dietician/physiotherapist..... the list just goes on and on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

Those peel it and seal it packets,sometimes your fingers are nearly bloody stumps trying to open them

• Registered Users Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭salacious crumb

Aglomerado wrote: »

I've seen advertisements for Easter Eggs on Christmas Day a couple of times. JC's in Swords.... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

And yet people still insist on making me aware of the fact that I shouldn't smoke and I shouldn't drink and I should get more exercise because I'll live longer... I actually never knew that! What would anyone do without self-righteous people who make it their mission in life to state the fcuking obvious? :D

Its a scientific fact that if you do not drink or smoke, you do NOT live longer, it just feels fuucking longer:D

(ex smoker who enjoys a pint or several)

beano345 wrote: »
    Those peel it and seal it packets,sometimes your fingers are nearly bloody stumps trying to open them

And they never seal up properly again, the next time you take the food out of the fridge there a little dark bit or mouldy bit in the corner where it's been exposed to the air.:(

• Registered Users Posts: 839 ✭✭✭kelbal

What does my head in is architect Dermot Bannon on RTE's "Room to Improve" - badgering people to transform their potentially nice homes into characterless "contemporary" lumps of glass & steel, resembling an office block in an industrial estate. A lot of the time you can see its not what they want when shown the plans, but he comes across as a smug sh*te - "I'm the architect, I know whats best for you"

The noisy shouty clown from the Cillit Bang ads

• Registered Users Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭salacious crumb

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    The noisy shouty clown from the Cillit Bang ads

Barry? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭loubian

Noisey people. Took me 45 minutes to get my child to sleep and there's a dickhead downstairs slamming presses and blaring the radio.

Barry? :pac:

That's the fugly ucker,

loubian wrote: »
    Noisey people. Took me 45 minutes to get my child to sleep and there's a dickhead downstairs slamming presses and blaring the radio.

Husbands ay, what are you gonna do:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Don't tell me about a film I haven't seen yet. Go away.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

People who accuse you of being a fibber just because your life experiences are different to theirs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

kelbal wrote: »
    What does my head in is architect Dermot Bannon on RTE's "Room to Improve" - badgering people to transform their potentially nice homes into characterless "contemporary" lumps of glass & steel, resembling an office block in an industrial estate. A lot of the time you can see its not what they want when shown the plans, but he comes across as a smug sh*te - "I'm the architect, I know whats best for you"

Some of the people are more annoying, engaging the opinion of a professional and then completely ignoring their advice anyway. Anyone remember the bint who wanted a slide in her house? A fuucking slide?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

People who manage to wrangle lots of information out of you without telling you anything about themselves.

MJ23 wrote: »
    Don't tell me about a film I haven't seen yet. Go away.

Ditto for books, I was halfway thru the Bible, when someone told me that the main guy dies in the end.......bummer:pac:

The way that tv programming seems to be reverting to the 1950's. Jesus, the prime time viewing is getting shockingly bad, not that it's been good for a long time. All there seems to be is family viewing stuff, back to back. I couldn't bear to watch strictly come dancing or any of the game shows etc. Christ, they've even remade some of the family game show crap that was on in the 80's and people seem to be lapping it up.

Likewise cookery programmes. Who the fcuk wants to watch mulitiple cookery programmes in the evening. So basically it's gameshows, property programmes and cookery shows, interspersed with D list celebrities trying to revive their careers through dancing or ice skating or eating insects in a jungle:mad:

eisenberg1 wrote: »

Ditto for books, I was halfway thru the Bible, when someone told me that the main guy dies in the end.......bummer:pac:

Ahh shít!!! :pac:

Coffee, keyboard... you know the rest :(

Boards is acting funky! :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

People giving out in the comments section on YouTube videos for Game of Thrones complaining about reading spoilers. If someone in real life knows you haven't read the books and still tells you spoilers, then they are a douchebag. If you don't want to know what happens but go to a place where people are talking about the show and then you complain, you are the douchebag.

This can be extended to any tv show. If you miss an episode of a show when it's aired and you don't want it spoiled for you, stay away from the internet (and the media in general if it's a high profile show). The rest of the world doesn't have to wait to talk about it until you've seen it. Plus I'll bet that as soon as you've seen it, you'll want to talk about it asap.....hypocrite!

• Registered Users Posts: 839 ✭✭✭kelbal

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Some of the people are more annoying, engaging the opinion of a professional and then completely ignoring their advice anyway. Anyone remember the bint who wanted a slide in her house? A fuucking slide?

thought the slide looked cool myself :D What a way to start the day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    In fairness, if I had the money I would totally have a house with a stair slide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Triangla

People standing still on escalators not leaving room to pass them. Cue an 'Excuse me' followed by a bewildered look from the roadblock as you try to walk past them. The ones in Dundrum Town centre are the worst, so slow.

January in the gym, loads of one month wonders getting in the way. Hovering from place to place not knowing what to do. Is there a word that combines grazing with working out? Maybe lazing - lifting and grazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Triangla

People standing still on escalators not leaving room to pass them. Cue an 'Excuse me' followed by a bewildered look from the roadblock as you try to walk past them. The ones in Dundrum Town centre are the worst, so slow.

January in the gym, loads of one month wonders getting in the way. Hovering from place to place not knowing what to do. Is there a word that combines grazing with working out? Maybe lazing - lifting and grazing.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

How everyone on deal or no deal is emotionally over invested.

Or how the contestant goes to the other losers opening the boxes for advice.

ITS A GAME OF CHANCE. THEY DONT KNOW WHAT THE OTHERS BOXES CONTAIN. STOP ASKING THEM.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭dubstarr

When playing a game and you get a spelling wrong and the next person does the word you got wrong and this ?.Dont be a smartarse it doesnt suit you.

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭bobbygrant

keano_afc wrote: »
    Or how the contestant goes to the other losers opening the boxes for advice.

ITS A GAME OF CHANCE. THEY DONT KNOW WHAT THE OTHERS BOXES CONTAIN. STOP ASKING THEM.

They have to drag it out, theres a 45 minute show to fill. People have to go thru a selection process for the show. Fair play to Edmunds for trying to drag out every last bit of tension out of it tho even after the person has dealt half way thru and no one cares any more, play on with honesty, blah blah etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭DesperateDan

When I'm sitting at the window seat of the train (the nice newer ones), and have my arm rest, and the one in the middle (which is not being used) down. Then someone comes and sits beside me and just lifts it up like they were there first and they own the seat :D

What can you do in that situation without looking like a total weirdo?

Dan - "Eh sorry I liked having that down actually"
    Stranger - "Oh but you weren't using it"
    Dan - "I know... it's just I think the boundary between us makes me feel safer...."
    Stranger - "....."

• Registered Users Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

My dad is 50 years old, he's a college lecturer, and he calls his shoulder-bag his "school bag". I know it shouldn't drive me cracked, but it does.

Item number 56948 on "the things that annoy you when you move back in with your parents" list. This ****ing masters better be worth it.

Triangla wrote: »

Worse is with classes being booked out due to a couple people who want to try the class deciding they need to convince a whole gaggle of their friends to come with them, even though the friends have very little interest in the class and giggle most of the way through it.

My dad is 50 years old, he's a college lecturer, and he calls his shoulder-bag his "school bag". I know it shouldn't drive me cracked, but it does.

Be thankful he's not sporting a "man bag" trying to look trendy and "down wiv da yoof", screams mid-life crisis! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭tipperaryboy

Housemate leaves fan heater on at max for most of night very loud irritating noise. Can't stand it feel like tripping the switches sometimes.