Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting paid for travel time

Options
  • 09-01-2014 7:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19

Hi,i have been a carpenter for 13 years and upto 2009 all our work was based locally, we work in a workshop and on site and get paid the same for both. Since the downturn we have had to travel to get work, we have never got paid for travelling on any of these jobs and me and my fellow employees are starting to get sick of it.

Lately we had to travel 2 hours to get to site leaving at 05.30 doing a full 8 hr day and arriving home at 18.30,we were on site for 6-7 weeks which is alot of travelling for no extra money.
    My fellow employees and i are going to talk to the boss tomorrow and put forward our case for travel time.

I was just wondering what other people thought about this and if anyone has had any similar problems or solutions, your input would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 744 ✭✭✭dpofloinn

I work as a plumber and in the past worked for companies for who paid milage from base to the job and back to base ive also worked for companies where mileage was not paid reguardless of where the job was.Now as for travel time alot of companies I worked for used to do a shorter working day in lieu of travel pay so the normal day was 8am to 5pm but if we where working more than an hour away from home the day would officially start at 8.45am and end at 4pm with the full days pay,but at the end of the day its entirely at the discretion of the employer

• Registered Users Posts: 25,967 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble