Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

please stop oozing: or how I learned to stop worrying and love my safety gear

• 10-01-2014 4:27pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭

i guess some people might be interested in a small bit of medical nastiness and it is bike related so it's kinda on topic too

got a bike early september, klr 250 for a bit of off roading and a bit of on roading when I get all licensed up and insured

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=86397628&postcount=1633

had it less than ten minutes and I brought it down on myself after getting my jeans caught on the rear indicator trying to dismount

sign of things to come

my fourth or fifth time out on the bike it was pissing rain and I came off it at low enough speeds (i think 20-30, i was braking. saw a hell of a drop coming ahead of me, must have panicked and braked too hard) , no major damage done but my leg was pinned under it. if I'd realised at the time what the exhaust was doing to my leg I'd have made much more of an effort to get free but whether it was shock or just how drenched I was I couldnt feel anything amiss so ended up giving up and having a lie down until friends could come and help me up/out.

At this point, had I been wearing proper protective gear on my legs. I'd most likely have gotten up and been fine.

i'll leave links to the pics instead of embedding them in case anyone is particularly sensitive, they're not that bad but you never know who'se sitting down to a nice egg and rasher breakfast

shortly after I got home the day it happened. didn't think it was that bad tbh, hurt a little but nothing major

http://i.imgur.com/2lPLP6I.jpg

at the hospital exactly a week later, apparently it actually was that bad tbh

http://i.imgur.com/jd92F5D.jpg

4 days later

where they took the skin for the graft, upper right leg. this was the worst part of it all. it looks the exact same now but for the first month or so after the surgery it leaked this disgusting brown fluid that stank to high heaven. and then after all that stopped I ended up leaving the large special skin grafty plaster on it for too long so the hairs on my leg grew into the sticky stuff. so that was a fun 15 minutes slowly waxing my upper leg trying to look like it didn't bother me cos the doctor was a hot indian chick.

http://i.imgur.com/XvgYcnZ.jpg

still 4 days later

this is the burn site itself after the skin graft. they took the skin from up above, ran it through a mesher and then stapled it on. so simple you could do it at home.. maybe. this is 3 days after the surgery so you can already see in the middle it's starting to heal a little bit. apparently this looked great so I was allowed go home that day instead of hanging around for another week like they'd originally said I'd have to

http://i.imgur.com/cywD1Zp.jpg

a week on again. back up to the hospital a week after leaving for a checkup
    hell of a difference in just a week

http://i.imgur.com/sh2aF2g.jpg

a week after that pic, 2 and a half weeks from the surgery. healing well, still oozing quite a bit but nowhere near as bad as it was.

http://i.imgur.com/rBnC8ga.jpg

same day as above, this is what the dressings looked like after 3 days and a serious reduction in the amount of overall gunk oozing from the wound cos it healed so well

http://i.imgur.com/kIpNQZQ.jpg (srs.. this one isn't pleasant)

and here it is a month and a half after the above two pics, a good 2.5 months since the 'incident'. finally allowed to stop dressing it this week, no leaking or bleeding. just a nice patch of disgusting feeling wrinkly pseudo-skin

http://i.imgur.com/gmWxZCC.jpg

and because that was all very unpleasant, here's a picture of a sleeping puppy. isn't he cute

http://i.imgur.com/mz4eH66.jpg

havent been back on the bike since, im minding the leg like it was a newborn. figured i'm going to wait until I get the IBT done, get a bit of practice and confidence on the bike (as well as have my own set of actual bike gear).. and then do a bit of off roading otherwise I'm pretty sure I'll just do all this ****e to myself again

anyway, no real point to this post other than medical curiosity and maybe if there's a couple of young lads or lasses even stupider than me out there it might convince them to throw a proper pair of trousers and a jacket on before they hop up on a bike they don't know how to use properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

sorry to hear about that dude. my main reason for gear is i'm afraid of **** like this, broken bones wouldn't bother me too much, but i don't want road burn or to be melted.

Fair fcuks for still planning to continue. It'll be worth it once you know what you're doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,784 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

jeebus, that gives me the heebies. And I didn't even click on the pics !!

But agree: good gear is not only good for the body, it's good for the mind, too.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭blackbird99

feck it thought the 3rd pic was going to be of the hot indian bird

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

could have been worse, the pic I chose to show that off initially showed half my ballsack. I think we're all glad I noticed that in time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Tomohawk

Welcome Sir Digby to the wonderful world of motorbiking (and scooters) ;)

ATGATT till you have more miles on yer clock!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,615 ✭✭✭prunudo

Thanks for sharing and glad to hear you're on the mend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,391 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Can't figure out how you could do that much damage to yourself and not feel it at the time!

Heal well OP.

Scrap the cap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

so that was a fun 15 minutes slowly waxing my upper leg trying to look like it didn't bother me cos the doctor was a hot indian chick.

http://i.imgur.com/XkyW8v1.jpg

Fixed that for ye :D

ninja900 wrote: »
    Can't figure out how you could do that much damage to yourself and not feel it at the time!

Heal well OP.

right after I fell off it was just shock and by the time the shock wore off the exhaust had burned through the nerves under that patch of skin so there was nothing to actually feel pain :)

it hurt like hell to walk on a few days later though, well no. walking on it was fine after about 20-40 steps.. but those 20-40 steps were excruciating, something to do with bloodflow to the wound i think. I wasn't allowed stand for more than a few minutes after the surgery either, walking was fine cos the blood was flowing but if I was just standing around the blood might pool under the graft site and cause it to fail.

mad the way the body works.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Jaysus, nasty burn man, get well soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Tramps Like Us

So teh damage was not from sliding on the road but from the hot exhaust burning your leg when it was lying on you? holy fcuk

yeah, dont think I slid at all.. must have landed on my shoulder/right arm as it's been giving me a bit of trouble since I fell off. going to keep stretching it and seeing if it mends for a while but thinking I might have to head back to the doctor and see what she says

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,686 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Jaysis Sir Digby, you've given me a bit of a wait up call. I always ride around in a pair of Kevlar jeans, they got knee and hip pads in them and supposedly Kevlar expands on impact to protect your legs in a slide (Though I'd like to hear others opinions on this). But I'd never considered the possibility of getting trapped with a roasting hot exhaust lying on your leg- I don't think Kevlar jeans would offer much protection then. But other than leather is there any motorbike trousers that would? Surely all fabric armoured trousers ave vulnerable to a piping hot exhaust ?

Thanks again for sharing Sir Digby, it's very easy to get lackadaisical about safety gear, especially during the hot summer days we just had.