Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Website development

Options
  • 12-01-2014 9:59am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭

I'm a bit of a newbie to website development. I'm reasonably familiar with desktop winforms development, but not on the web.

Basically I want to create a plain website to advertise some work I have done. This website won't be too advanced, mostly just screenshots of apps and stuff I have developed, along with links to the relevant app store and probably some sort of contact form or a page with contact details.

I plan to host this on my own domain so I'm not really looking for some sort of blog that is hosted on a 3rd party domain/site.

It will mostly just be a few screenshots, maybe sections of the background with different colours (the section with one app maybe has a green background, the other yellow etc) and maybe a small banner across the top.

What's the best way to develop this? What software should I use? I have Visual Studio but I don't know if this is the best option.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Colonel Panic

If you are familiar with Visual Studio and C#, and have access to a host that runs IIS and supports ASP.Net MVC, when that's the way to go.

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭ThrowinShapes

For a simple website, I'd see an IDE as overkill. Especially when you're getting started, it might be better experience to focus on the code rather than the tool.

Sublime Text is looking to be the go-to editor right now: http://www.sublimetext.com/2
    You can also try Notepad++: http://notepad-plus-plus.org/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian