Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SOLE TRADER

Options
  • 13-01-2014 12:26am
    Registered Users Posts: 4

If your a sole trader and you've messed up your books in your first year or so.
    If they didnt have the money to pay the tax owed what are their options?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Damiend84

If you cant help dont reply

• Registered Users Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

I've been a sole trader for about 10 years and can only advise you from my own experiences.

First off, when you say "messed up your books" - which is kind of vague - with sole traders that tends to mean things like (a) didn't add VAT onto an invoice or (b) put VAT onto the invoice, but didn't pass the VAT money onto the Revenue Commissioners along with the quarterly VAT form or (c) [and this is a very common one] didn't put enough money by to pay the end-of-year tax bill. In other words, you earnt it and then spent it.

In truth, it doesn't much matter what the problems are, the solution is always the same.