Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off the Fence....and looking to go sub 3 hrs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,512 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

A win is a win. Congrats!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

LONG POST ALERT

A bit of catching up to do after a few days of fun in the sun......

Sunday 15/06/2014
    15m @ 07:50 avg pace (Med-Long)

First 8m were @ avg pace 08:01 on feel with little reference to the watch and were all pretty consistent. I then upped the pace to see if I could find 07:40 pace without reference to the watch as this is what I have committed to pace in Clontarf Half. While the average of the last 7m was pretty OK the individual splits jumped around a bit. A little more homework required.

Monday 16/06/2014
    Rest Day

Tuesday 17/06/2014

Kilbride GFC 10K

Official Race Time 38.57
    Official 10k Time 38:42 (New PB)
    6th Place Overall
    Winner of "Veteran" Category (actually 3rd veteran home but as the other two were 2nd and 3rd in the big boys race that excluded them from winning the Auldfellas prize as well)

This race is actually slight over 10k so you get a chipped race time and a chipped 10k time.

Pre Race
    Arrived about 7pm for an 8pm kick off. Lovely evening although with the car telling me it was 23C I was a little apprehensive how the heat would impact during the race. My youngest daughter and a friend of hers were in tow as the official support crew. I was pretty sure at a local event like this one that the water would be in cups and I struggle badly to take anything on board from cups at "speed". I gave the crew a bottle of water and their instructions to be waiting for me water in hand about 100m after the half way point in clear view. No problem with registration. I was met by happy smiling volunteers which was pretty much the same all the way through the evening. Bumped into a friend who was stewarding and after a brief chat I headed off to do a reccie alla Krusty......i.e. ran the last kilometre out and back. Then it was into the GAA pitch for a few strides and a bit of stretching. All ready to go I headed to the start/finish area to see if I could spot Tang1 with his new singlet and pasty white shoulders. There were a few such bodies floating around so I decided against strolling up to them and asking them "Are you Tang1 from board.ie?" Thought I might get a few strange looks at a minimum. Quick race brief and we were off to the start line. Start was well marshalled and the many kids that we're giving it a go we're kept to the back to avoid incidents.

Race
    Lead group headed off a fair clip and after the first 200m I decided that I wouldn't join them. Eased back a little to what turned off be 06:02 and 06:04 for the first two miles. I was avoiding looking at the watch and just going with the flow. I was among a group of about 5/6 runners and all was going well. Mile 3 felt a little slower but in the main I didn't seem to be losing ground on those around me. Mile 3 turned out to be 06:13. All was going well and I had a Bros Pearse singlet running a couple of metres in front of me that I had decided was going to be the first target when I started fishing in the second half of the race.

Then as we passed the half way point or jumping off point for the 5k runners all but one of the people around me jumped shipped. This together with the small incline just after halfway and collecting my water for the crew knocked me out of my stride for a couple minutes. Checked the watch brief only to see lap pace reading at 06:23:eek: Git my head back in the game and passed the only other runner that remained from our group. In the distance I could just about see the next runner ahead of me who was probably 200m + ahead and was wearing black. The all black attire combination of shadows and the shades I was wearing made him difficult to see at time so not really sure if I gained on him at any stage but felt I was pulling him back a bit in miles 4 and 5. Chances of catching him were pretty slim but never say never until you cross the line or keel over trying:) The road was quite windy at the start of mile 6 and this combined with meeting the tail-end of those doing the 5k meant it was hard to see were my target was at this stage. I did however get a nice boost when one of the walkers told me I was 5th (turned out to be 6th but she was close enough). I hit the main road and new from my recie and lap one exactly were the finish line was at this stage. I needed to pick up the pace so as a passed a young kid doing the 5k I said to him "Race Ye"....off he took like a bat out of hell and I had to up the pace significantly to catch him. While he only kept up his pace for about 200m it was all I needed to get the legs moving and the heart pumping. From here on in it was eyeballs out....as I entered the carpark I heard the shout out from the crew followed by a guffaw of laughter. I didn't need to be told it was my daughter have a giggle at her auldfella, redfaced, teeth gritted, eyeballs out, thinking he was actually sprinting:D Kids you gotta luv em....

Race splits were:
    Mile 1 | 06:02
    Mile 2 | 06:04
    Mile 3 | 06:13
    Mile 4 | 06:18
    Mile 5 | 06:13
    Mile 6 | 06:16
    Last 0.33m | 05:46

Postrace
    After crossing the finish line I retired to a chair beside the clubhouse to recompose myself. The crew joined me to check I was still alive. After a moments respite I headed off to indulge in the great spread that was laid on. I then thanked the young pacer who helped me to kick start my finish and had a chat with a guy a recognised from St Anne's parkrun who had also done the 10k. Missed just his target of sub 40 but on another day without the heat he should knock it out of the park.

I was happy with the overall performance. A 23 sec PB on a hot evening running solo for pretty much the last 2.5 miles was a great evening work from where I was sitting. So what better way to top it off with a Burger and Chips from Beshoffs to celebrate.

Wednesday 18/06/2014
    14m @ 08:16 avg pace

Fresh from my PB exploits of the previous evening I joined Ferris B for a pre-breakfast run along the Clontarf Coast taking in Dollymount along the way. Good solid steady run with a few sub 8:00 miles thrown in at the end for good measure.

Hit the airport in the afternoon to head over with the youngest to join the OH for a long weekend in Spain with some friends.

Thursday 19/06/2014
    5.09m @ 09:09 avg pace (Recovery)

Early morning warm recovery run followed by a dip in the Mar Menor before breakfast.

Friday 20/06/2014
    Rest Day

Unplanned rest day due to the excesses of the previous evening and a planned visit to a waterpark.

Saturday 21/06/2014
    5.01m @ 09:16 avg pace (Recovery)

Early morning warm recovery run but not early enough to avoid the heat.

Sunday 22/06/2014
    18.1m @ 08:15 avg pace (Long Run)

Dawn run along the Mar Menor in Spain. Fabulous morning for a run. A little cloud around so it wasn't as hot as it might otherwise have been. It was tougher and slower than I would have planned and it was not until miles 17 and 18 that I could manage to get the pace under 8:00. But job done and the miles are in the bag.

Monday 23/06/2014
    Rest Day.

Arrived back after my few days in Spain.

Tuesday 24/06/2014
    9.26m @ 07:18 avg pace (LT w/5 @ HMP)

Joined Ferris B for this one and after a 3m wu we got settled into the HMP section. Target HMP for this was 06:30. First mile was slightly slower than planned but average worked out fine. Again I focused on trying to keep my form and keep the eyes off the watch. Went well and in the end I really enjoyed it. These sessions are much easier in company. Felt good throughout other than a return of the niggle in my right shoulder and a stitch in mile 4 of the HMP section.

Splits were as follows:
    06:35
    06:31
    06:30
    06:26
    06:28

Wednesday 25/06/2014
    9.31m @ 07:37 avg pace (Med-Long)

This should have been 14m but time pressure meant I had to cut this short. I missed the opportunity to do this pre-breakfast with Ferris B and got punished by having to do it is fairly miserable and wet weather. By the time I finished I reckon I was carrying a couple of extra pounds in wet clothes.

Despite the weather this run went very well and I felt strong throughout. If the truth be told I was a bit disappointed I didn't have time to do the full 14 miles.

Stuck with progression type structure for this run with 3 segments. Broke down as follows:

3m @ 07:55 avg pace
    3m @ 07:38 avg pace
    3.31m @ 07:20 avg pace

Thursday 26/06/2014
    5.28m @ 09:36 avg pace (Recovery)

This was a pre-breakfast recovery slog. Legs feel better for having done it and isn't that what recovery is supposed to be all about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Finnt

Great result in killbride fair play!

Friday 27/06/2014
    14m @ 08:03 avg pace (Med-Long)

This was planned for 7:00 but it took me until 7:30 to drag myself out the door. The plan said 12m but as it was a lovely morning I decide to pick up a couple of the miles I lost on Wednesday. The aim was to run @ 8:00 pace or thereabouts no progression stuff as this weekends long run included 10m @ MP. A couple of slower miles in the first few but overall this run went to plan. I even spent about 15mins stretching afterwards.

Now to decide what to do about the Irish Runner 5 Miler tomorrow. I entered it on a whim when I was entering some of the other series races and didn't really look at where it fit in. I am considering bring the MP session forward to tomorrow and taking it in as part of that....decisions, decisions!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Good luck in the morning

yaboya1 wrote: »
    Good luck in the morning

Cheers P but looks like the way the week has panned out that this will be part of a MP Session for me rather than a race to catch a glimpse of AMK:)

Saturday 28/06/2014
    19.04m @ 07:28 (LR w/10m @ MP including Irish Runner 5 Mile)

The weekend that was in it was never going to allow me to race the 5 Miler and fit in the 10m MP session that the programme prescribed so I decided to combine both. Not ideal but the limits of time and all that.....

Got up at 6 and grabbed an early bowl of porridge before heading back to bed for a hour. The plan was to hit the road just after 8 and run over to the PP via the Point and the quays which would give me 9m before starting the MP miles. I would then get 5 MP miles in on the North side of the park before heading to the start line and finishing my session with the race. Target was 9miles @ 08:00 avg pace followed by 5m @ avg pace 07:00 and then the race at sub 07:00. Mrs FBOT was also doing the race and was going to drive in so I could bum a lift home off her....whole other story as to why you would park 2 miles from the start line and leave the raingear in the car when you are there over an hour before the start and there have been some hints even at that stage from the rain gods as to what they had in store later in the morning. Will save that one for the rant thread:)

Warm-up and first 5 mp miles went accordingly to plan. A few minor stomach issues and the right shoulder gave out again for the first few miles. Plenty of life around the park and exchanged a wave with Murph_D on the way to the start. Couldn't stop to chat as still had half a mile @ MP to finish before the start. Had scheduled myself to allow a 10 min contingency to get to start line in case of any issue in earlier part of the run. No real issues so got start pen with 7/8mins to spare. Enough time to attached my number and find my spot.

The few minutes downtime meant that when I started running again I had a strange numbness/pins and needles type feeling in my feet for the first couple of hundred metres but everything settle down after that. The next 5 miles MP although quicker than the last felt much easier given the distractions all around me. Just kept a nice steady pace and felt strong right through to the end. In the splits mile 4 of the race is a little slower as I caught up on a guy that does St Anne's parkrun on the second hill and ran with him for a couple of hundred metres. Left him at the mile 4 marker and pushed on for home. Passed Tang1 on the run in and said a quick hello. Was happy with my days work at that stage and avoided any silly urges to hammer down the finishing straight.

Had a quick chat Tang1, RedRunner, Murph_D and HelenAnne after the finish. It was nice to put some faces to a few names and all seemed happy with their lot for the day. A couple of nice PB's bagged along the way too.

I then headed back down the road to support Mrs FBOT through to the finish. She finished strong and clipped 2:30 mins off her PB to boot. I canned my planned 1 mile cool down in favour of an open-air shower and a 2 mile walk back to the car:rolleyes:

In the afternoon, Mrs FBOT and I took a nice recovery cycle out to Howth and celebrated her PB in fine style with a "99" from Ann's. Long may the summer last!

Sunday 29/06/2014
    5m @ 09:13 avg pace (Recovery)

Did exactly what it said on the tin. All in all I am not unhappy with my week's work.

Monday 30/06/2014
    8.97 @ 08:09 avg pace (Gen Aerobic w/12x100m Strides)

Another lovely evening for a run. Running into the breeze along the coast was cooler and also slower than when I turned inland. Forgot to program the watch for strides so just did the lampost thing after 7m @ 08:20 avg pace. Lost count so ended up doing 12 strides instead of the planned 10. Strides were a little slower than normal but effort was good. Pace was probably impacted by the heat and the backpack I was carrying. Finished off with 0.5m cd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,236 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

nice work there - 10@MP at this stage is fantastic - how did the 2nd 5 mile MP compare to the 1st 5m solo??

Good question, AMK. I had meant to put up the break done but got distracted by work of all things:mad:

Saturday run broke down as follows:
    9m wu | 08:03 avg pace
    1 | 07:02
    2 | 07:00
    3 | 07:04
    4 | 07:03
    5 | 06:59
    6 | 06:48
    7 | 06:51
    8 | 06:51
    9 | 06:58
    10 | 06:40

2nd 5 in Company were actually much "easier". No problem holding the pace going up Military Hill or stretching the legs out a little in the last mile to make up for socialising during mile 9:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Waldorf,

You'd need to keep an squinty eye on Statler, did you see his 10 mile MP run. Are ye going for different target times :)

TbL

Waldorf,

You'd need to keep an squinty eye on Statler, did you see his 10 mile MP run. Are ye going for different target times :)

TbL

Target times? Stadler wouldn't be discussing those nasty things this far out from the event. If you were to ask him he will start by telling you that he would be happy just to make it to the start-line and get the chance to take part in a world marathon major. If pushed he might then venture to say that a PB i.e. sub 3:12, would be nice. If you continue to push he might whisper 3:05 in your ear..........but if you read between the line, you can believe me when I say he is targeting the sub 3:00 bus......while me I will just take it as it comes and see if I can hang on to his coat tails while the youngfella leaves us both in his wake:D

• Registered Users Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Ferris B

Waldorf,

TbL

Wouldn't read too much into those, all downhill and with the wind.;)

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Target times? Stadler wouldn't be discussing those nasty things this far out from the event.

Damn right. Sure there's no target anyway. I'll just take whatever time God, Allah, Jehovah, Buddha and the other lads decide to let me run on the day.:D

Tuesday 01/07/2014
    12m @ 07:39 avg pace (Med-Long Progression)

Hot one this eve. Back to normal with these and broke it into 3 sections 4/4/4 with avg pace for each @ 08:01/07:39/07:21. Heading inland away from the coast for a change. Up and back as far as Ballymum.

Up and back as far as Ballymum.

No wonder the later miles were quicker :-P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭W.B. Yeats

Mile 3 turned out to be 06:13. All was going well and I had a Bros Pearse singlet running a couple of metres in front of me that I had decided was going to be the first target when I started fishing in the second half of the race.

Eeek, that was me- glad I hopped off at 5km!

W.B. Yeats wrote: »
    Eeek, that was me- glad I hopped off at 5km!

That's what you get for wearing your distinctive club singlet. Its easy to recognise and pick out in a group:D

I wasn't glad you jumped out. You looked to be moving well so I was hoping you were going to push on and drag me around with you;)

Wednesday 02/07/2014
    5.44m @ 09:04 avg pace (Recovery)

Lunchtime recovery run. Enough said.

Thursday 03/07/2014
    10m @ 08:18 avg pace (General Aerobic)

Dragged myself out of the bed to do this pre-breakfast. Pleasant morning. Cloudy and cooler than last while. Plan was easy but not recovery effort and let the legs decide the pace. They decided that they didn't want to go very fast but they kept going at least. At the outer end of the General Aerobic Pace as recommended by P&D but with this being a recovery week in the programme happy just to plod along and get this done.

Friday 04/07/2014
    4.63m @ 08:40 avg pace (Recovery)

Nice recovery run around Skerries.

Saturday 05/07/2014
    14.63m @ 07:45 avg pace (Med-Long Run including Pacing Clontarf HM)

The program had me doing 15mile Med-Long Run this weekend as part of a stepback week. Mrs FBOT wanted to do the Clontarf Half so I offered my services as 1:40 pacer. They ended up one short so I had to go solo. First real pacing gig so was a little apprehensive with no backup/wingman. After a 1.5m warm-up along the coast and a few words with Ferris B and Meno who were pacing 1:50 I picked up my balloon from Digger and lined up at the start of wave 2. Plan was just to keep it steady. I didn't plan to bank time on the way out but instead rightly or wrongly planned to allow my punters to save their energy for the trip back along the beach into the wind which was going to be tough. Got chatting early on with an EOI Marathon Guy called Jon who joined my pacing group. He was using the HM as a training run and ended up staying with me all the way. He was great company and for all intensive purposes was the second 1:40 pacer. Good solid steady runner. Thanks again Jon if you read this.

Turned @ 50mins on the button and still had a reasonable crew with me heading back to the beach. Stuck to the task and encouraged the crew to draft if needed to get over the tough spots with wind, rain and soft sand to contend with. As with most of the pacing groups had a few "fallers" on the return trip up the beach. Miles 1-12 were all steady between 07:34 and 07:39 before rallying the remaining troops at the start of mile 13 for the push for home. Some needed some "gentle" encouragement to get the job done and I don't think I was found wanting in providing it:D Crossed the line with 23secs to spare and at least half a dozen happy punters who hit their sub 1:40 target. Congrats all round. Tooked into a couple of donuts and bananas before returning to the finish line to cheer Mrs FBOT over the line to a PB by over 2mins. We headed off west after the race both happy with our mornings work.

Enjoyed my first real outing as a pacer and will be offering my services again in the future.

Sunday 06/07/2014
    Rest Day

Spent the day in Galway before heading on up to Westport.

Monday 07/07/2014
    10.05m @ 07:28 avg pace (LT w/5m @ HMP)

On the recommendation of TbL I hit the Greenway out of Westport for this run. Lovely place to run but probably not ideal for a HMP session. The loose surface and ground undulation made this session tougher than I would normally get along the coast between Clontarf and Sutton. Missed my target of sub 06:30 on all but the last mile. I had to psuh hard on mile 5 to go sub 06:30 but got there....maybe I was just slacking too much on the others but it certainly didn't feel that way.

Splits were 6:41/6:39/6:42/6:40/6:27.

Tuesday 08/07/2014
    14.17m @ 07:35 avg pace (Med-Long Progression)

After an afternoon of Cross Training on the golf course in Howth with Ferris B and Yaboya and with their money safely tooked away in my wallet;) I headed straight out for this one. I wasn't looking forward to it but it turned out to be one of the best runs I have had so far this cycle. I was cruising pretty much all the way despite kicking off with two miles up hill to the summit in Howth. Mrs FBOT asked me if I had been drinking when I got home with a big happy head on me.....BTW I hadn't been:)

Wednesday 09/07/2014
    4.68m @ 09:05 avg pace (Recovery)

Thursday 10/07/2014
    11m @ 07:42 avg pace (Med-Long Progression)

Friday 11/07/2014
    8.1m @ 08.11 avg pace (Gen Aerobic w/10x100m Strides)

In advance of weekend long run I decided to keep this one at the lower end of the recommended pace range for this type of run. Did the strides towards the end in the usual spot in St Anne’s. Found it very hard to get the leg speed going.

Saturday 12/07/2014
    22m @ 07:42 avg pace (Long Run Progression)

Had originally considered Portarlington HM today but canned it in favor of the scheduled Long Run. Got out pre-breakfast and decided not to carry any water or gels but put the emergency €10 in my pocket JIC. Headed out via the Old Airport/Belfast Road to Malahide Estuary before turning for home along the coast via Malahide, Portmarnock, Baldoyle and Sutton and finished off in St Anne’s where I donned the high viz jacket and joined Run Director, Ferris B, to do a bit of parkrun volunteering.

Broke this run into 3 sections 8/7/7 with avg pace of 08:01/07:41/07:20 for each progression. A few tough miles along the way as you would expect but finished strongly with 2 of my fastest miles being in the last 3 and didn’t need the emergency €10:)

Jobs done I joined the parkrun crew for a well deserved coffee while they processed the results and sorted tokens. Happy out!!

Sunday 10/07/2014
    Rest Day

My tired body needed this but all in all a good weeks training in the bag.

Monday 14/07/2014
    6.17m @ 08:56 avg pace (Recovery)
    4.03m @ 09:18 avg pace (Recovery)

First double up day of this cycle. Straighforward recovery runs with nothing major to report. The evening one was with the dog and the humidity was killing him so had to take it extra easy. I'd say he would have loved to able to take his coat off and let it all hang out:)

Tuesday 15/07/2014
    14.06m @ 07:39 avg pace (Med-Long Progression)

Did a few hamstring and glute strengthening exercises in the morning which made running later in the day a little tougher than usual.

Warm with a reasonable breeze around. Had planned on heading up Hill of Howth but got detoured by life. Usual progression format for this and it broke down as follows:

5m | 08:00 avg pace
    5m | 07:37 avg pace
    4m | 07:15 avg pace

Wednesday 16/07/2014
    5.41m @ 09:05 avg pace (Recovery)

Lunchtime recovery run. Nothing to report.

Did an hour long functional fitness class in the evening which focused on core work and stretching. Wasn't overly intensive and was just what the doctor ordered.

Thursday 17/07/2014
    11m @ 07:08 avg pace (LT w/6 @ HMP)

Ferris B joined me for this one. I always easier to do these kinda run in company.

Headed out to Sutton and back. Legs felt very tight before this and I wasn't look forward to it but when we got going all felt good and we knocked out 6 good HMP miles. Splits were as follows:

6:31/6:26/6:22/6:28/6:29/6:19

Interesting that we ran side by side for pretty much all of this and our garmins read different splits in the middle my 6:22 and 6:28 showed as 6:25 and 6:26 on his watch.

Friday 18/07/2014
    6.19m @ 08:51 avg pace

Was heading away camping for the weekend so planned to do this early. Woke to the sound of torrential ran so took me an extra half hour to get out of the bed. When I did get out I was thinking I might go with 5 instead of the schedule 6 but when the heavens opened and the rain came full on I was fooked if I was going to wimp out early so plodded on and got the 6 done.

Weather picked up and we pretty much got no rain for our weekend of outdoor living.

Saturday 19/07/2014
    Rest Day

As I was away with family and friends I swapped my long run to Sunday.

Sunday 20/07/2014
    20.23m @ 07:43 avg pace (Long Run Progression)

After a weekend of eating and drinking all the wrong things and with very little sleep on either Fri or Sat night I wasn't looking forward to this. Used the Dubs match and the Open to delay this as long as possible. Eventually hit the road for a tour of DNS. Actually wasn't that bad oin the end. I did feel a couple of hamstring twinges in last couple of miles which was probably down to the fact that I didn't bring or take any gels or fluid during this run. Knocked back a selection of drinks including choc milk, sports drinks and water for a couple of hours afterwards. Progression Sections broke down as follows:

7m | 08:01 avg pace
    7m | 07:41 avg pace
    6.23m | 07:24 avg pace

Good week all in all.

Monday 21/07/2014
    6.48m @ 09:02 avg pace

This should have been a double recovery day but after a lazy start to the day, still feeling a little tired following the weekend, I only did the the longer of the two prescribed runs. I also had all the signs of dehydration early in the day and the hamstrings, in particular, felt very crampy. The last two miles were more a recovery shuffle than a recovery run.

Tuesday 22/07/2014
    10.34m @ 08:03 avg pace (Gen Aerobic)

This should have been 15m MLR but my hamstrings felt from step one that they could to cramp up at any moment. Every time my left foot hit the ground it felt like it might seize up. I stopped towards the end of mile 3 to stretch it out but that didn't help a lot. I decided after mile 5 to turn for home and just try to hold the pace rather than push on to do the full 15. With a long overdue leg massage booked for the morning there was no point in pushing it at this stage. Hopefully the massage combined with a bit of stretching and foam rolling well get things back on track and I can pick up the mileage shortfall later in the week.

This was one to relish rather than appreciate!

Tuesday 22/07/2014
    10.34m @ 08:03 avg pace (Gen Aerobic)

This should have been 15m MLR but my hamstrings felt from step one that they could to cramp up at any moment. Every time my left foot hit the ground it felt like it might seize up. I stopped towards the end of mile 3 to stretch it out but that didn't help a lot. I decided after mile 5 to turn for home and just try to hold the pace rather than push on to do the full 15. With a long overdue leg massage booked for the morning there was no point in pushing it at this stage. Hopefully the massage combined with a bit of stretching and foam rolling well get things back on track and I can pick up the mileage shortfall later in the week.

This was one to relish rather than appreciate!

They're still talking about pulling the medical card for the over 70's FBOT, so be careful you don't do damage or you could end up paying for it :)

TbL

They're still talking about pulling the medical card for the over 70's FBOT, so be careful you don't do damage or you could end up paying for it :)

TbL

Thanks for the concern TbL. As long as they continue with the means test I will be OK but if all else fails I will move west of the Shannon. I hear that it is a free for all over there:D

Wednesday 23/07/2014
    5.97m @ 08:56 avg pace (Recovery)

Started the day off with a long overdue leg massage. She gave them a real going over. Left Hamstring and right quad both had serious "knots" and my left calf:eek::eek:

Upped the water intake during the day to try to replenish what I obviously lost on Sunday as I am still showing some of the more obvious signs of dehydration.

The run itself was in the afternoon sun but was a pleasant spin along the coast taking in Dollymount on the way. Ignored the watch and passed on the ice cream option on route.

Left hamstring was still the main niggly so did some of the hamstring strengthening exercises that the physio gave me earlier in the year before I hit the hay.

Thursday 24/07/2014
    15m @ 07:53 avg pace (Med Long Run w/Hill & Progression)

I haven't ran from home to Howth Summit and back in a long while so decided to do it this eve. It is about a 15m round trip so it meant I could pick up a couple of the miles I lost on Tuesday at the same time. I decided to exclude the climb from any progression plans and just run it easy to avoid any strain on the hamstring. With over a 100 cyclist passing me on the way to the summit I resisted with great discipline the urge to pass a couple of them on the steep parts of the climb when they were really struggling....I can be a little childish that way and it helps make up for having to watch them freewheel back down knowing they are having a little a giggle at me having to work both on the up and down hill.

Carried water for the first time this cycle to avoid a repeat of Sunday's issues. Forgotten how much of a pain water belts are. Passed a few Raheny runners on their way back down from the summit and exchanged Hellos. Got into a nice rhythm after I turned at the summit and averaged 07:19 m/min for last 5m without any major hamstring problems although it still felt a little off.

With over a 100 cyclist passing me on the way to the summit I resisted with great discipline the urge to pass a couple of them on the steep parts of the climb when they were really struggling....I can be a little childish that way.

Knowing your fondness for cyclists, I'm surprised you didn't push them over, dominos like, to see how many you could topple.

Good to see the niggle(s) is clearing up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Fair play, cant have been easy climbing up to the Summit yesterday in that heat. Used to love running up that way.

Friday 25/07/2014
    7.66m @ 08:45 avg pace (Recovery w/6x100m)

Another warm and sticky recovery run. Took in Dollymount again before heading up into St Anne's to do a few strides before heading home. Need to do a bit of work on the leg turnover as strides felt a lot slower than I would have liked.

Pleasant enough run and I was joined on the beach by a couple of sound lads from DNS who were out for an afternoon cycle on Dollier. They decided the run would be easier on me with company...during our mile or so together we discussed everything from running to cycling to ice cream/carbs/chicken/broccoli/sweet potatoes, etc. in a way that only Northsiders can:) Enjoyed the craic and they were right the run was easier with the company.

Signed up for Mullingar 10 on Sunday. Depending on how I feel on Sunday morning I will either give it a lash or use it as a good way to get in the 12 MP miles that the programme has me doing this weekend.

Saturday 26/07/2014
    Rest Day

Swapped in tomorrows rest day as I am doing the Mullingar 10 in the morning.

Have a good one - enjoy!

I'm sure I will see you in the morning but just in case I don't, Good Luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Killerz

Good luck tomorrow!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Good luck tomorrow FBOT01

Looks like you gave it a lash. Great run. Top 50 in quality field.

Ferris B wrote: »
    Looks like you gave it a lash. Great run. Top 50 in quality field.

And only 15mins behind the winner:D

Really enjoyed Mulligar 10 this morn. Nice course. Well run event and a great team of smiling friendly volunteers. Thanks to all involved.

It was a gun start so watch time of 1:03:03 was a little ahead of official time of 1:03:11. Either way it was over a minute off my PB of 1:04:32 and inside my 2014 target time of 1:03:29....so happy out!!!

Race report will follow later.

That a savage running Waldorf (or is it Statler, auld age is catching up with me and my memory isn't what it should be, neither is my running come too think of it :) )

Very impressive for an auld lad, hell it's impressive for a young lad!

P, watch out those two auld lads might try and geriatric sandbag you yet!

TbL

Great stuff yesterday.
    Well on target for Berlin :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Hey FBOT - that was me who was hanging around Tang and Yaboya at the start. If they weren't so shlt at introductions I'd have said hello!:D
    Great race. Will see you in Berlin if not before.

belcarra wrote: »
    Hey FBOT - that was me who was hanging around Tang and Yaboya at the start. If they weren't so shlt at introductions I'd have said hello!:D
    Great race. Will see you in Berlin if not before.

Nice to meet you even if we didn't exchange names:) Also good to see you got through yesterday injury free. I hope the recovery keeps going well. See you Berlin or somewhere along the way.

Awesome time, there, M. I don't know why, but when we were chatting on Sat you gave me the impression you were just going to jog around the course. I obviously missed something!.

Murph_D wrote: »
    Awesome time, there, M. I don't know why, but when we were chatting on Sat you gave me the impression you were just going to jog around the course. I obviously missed something!.

Murph, himself and the other auld muppet are good at sandbagging :)

TbL

That's probably what he did.

Jesus here's more of it!!!!

It's time to play the music
    It's time to light the lights
    It's time to meet the Muppets on the Muppet Show tonight.

It's time to put on makeup
    It's time to dress up right
    It's time to raise the curtain on the Muppet Show tonight.

Why do we always come here
    I guess we'll never know
    It's like a kind of torture
    To have to watch the show

And now let's get things started
    Why don't you get things started
    It's time to get things started
    On the most sensational inspirational celebrational Muppetational
    This is what we call the Muppet Show!

TbL

Cheers D. It was definitely no jog. Only signed up on Friday night and had no expectation or plans just went with the flow:pac::pac::pac:

Murph, himself and the other auld muppet are good at sandbagging :)

TbL

No sandbagging around here..... the log title gives it all away;)

I wish:D

Mullingar 10
    Official Time : 1:03:11
    Watch Time : 1:03:01

Prerace
    After the usual breakfast of porridge, fruit and juice I hit the road for Mullingar. A few legs pains so threw the foam roller in the car just in case. Arrive about 9:20 so nice and early with loads of time to park up and stroll over to registration. Prerace stuff all seemed to be running very smoothly.

Lovely morning but felt like it was going to be a warm one. After registration I bumped into Yaboya who looked relaxed but focused and raring to go. Then a couple of words with Tang before heading out for a 2 mile warm-up then back to the start line where I caught up with Yaboya and Tang again and we were also joined by Belcarra.

Start was a gun start so being close to the front was obviously in the minds of a lot of people. Running back towards the direction starters where joining from meant that there was no way we would be starting on time…..not sure what they can do about this for future event but I don’t think it is a good set-up for any race. They will also need to look into using more than a megaphone for starter announcements as we were only 15/20 rows back and we couldn’t make out what was being said so anyone behind us probably didn’t even know there was someone speaking.

My plan was simple start out at sub 6:30 and see where I got to. This was a late replacement for a 12 mile MP session so as long as I was under 6:40 pace I was in line with the training plan. All going well I was planning to sneak in under 1:04:00 and improve my PB as I felt that without the hamstring issue in March that I would have done that in Ballycotton.

Miles 1-3
    From the off Yaboya stormed through the crowd and the next I saw of him was at the finish line. Great run from him. I threaded my way through the traffic a little more cautiously looking for a group that I might be able to join. Briefly joined a group that included the 4 leading ladies but they seemed to slow a little on mile 3 so I pushed on alone. I was then briefly joined by one of the ladies who turned out to be Pauline Curly and the first lady on the day. She had no intention of staying with me and while I briefly considered jumped on her coat tails I was very glad afterwards that I stuck to my own pace as she crossed the line in 60:xx…now that is what you call progressive pace running.

By the end of mile 3 I was joined by the 2nd Lady and we ran together for the next mile or so until we caught up on a group of about 6 guys who were moving at a pace we were happy to go with for a while…..I think my words to her were that we can join these lads and “freewheel” for a while:)

Miles 4-7
    This group contained 4 Tullamore Club runners who were working together into the breeze taking turns to lead the charge. The other 2 guys were just along for the ride. They were moving reasonable consistently. Somewhere between miles 6 and 7 I was offered the front by one of the Tullamore lads. I was probably running a little close to him at this stage as they were slowing a little. I took his kind offer and pushed on and gave them a target to chase rather than a body to draft off. I am too small to have done them any good as a windbreaker anyway. One of the group, a guy in a Fingal 10k T-Shirt, joined me for a while and another one pushed on by during mile 7. I actually missed the Mile 7 marker and though we were further out them we were so let him go. In hindsight I should have went with him.

Miles 8-10
    After the 8 mile marker I went fishing and started to reel in a couple of bodies. More from holding my pace than speeding up significiantly. Passed 4/5 runners during this staged and wasn’t passed at all....actually I was only passed by one runner after Pauline Curly passed me in Mile 3. I had 2 more in my sights that I didn’t catch. I just don’t think I got my head in the zone in the last half mile….they were definitely there for the taking when I compare how I felt when I came over the finishline to that in Kilbride. In Kilbride I was eyeballs out…in Mullingar the eyeballs were definitely still in. I did keep my focus enough to realise that the 2nd lady wasn’t too far behind me and while if she had passed me out in the country I might have been able to live with it but if she nipped passed on the line while I was sleeping on the job I might have been due a bit of stick.

Post race
    Caught up with Yaboya and Tang after the race and both were happy out after a couple of great runs from them. Also bumped into one of St. Anne’s regular parkrunners who also had a good day at the office. After stuffing my face I did a slow 1 mile cool down before jumping back in the car.

Very well organised event with a great team of volunteers and a super spread afterwards. Certainly as an inaugural running of the event they did an excellent job.

By way of constructive criticism they probably need to look at the start set-up (direction and use of megaphone), consider a chip start and get whoever put out the mile markers to put them in the correct place....the road marking where spot on but whoever put out the mile marker didn’t put them at the point that were marked on the road. None of these would stop me coming back.

All in all it was a good day out and this is definitely one for the diary. It was very well supported by club runners with a quality field. Has the potential to be a very good event long-term.....IMHO:)

Splits were : 6:17/6:19/6:24/6:20/6:16/6:13/6:18/6:19/6:20/6:09