Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting to know.....the Amphibian who likes to stay out of the water

• 14-01-2014 12:03pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4,377 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Previous threads of this series are:

Kurt Godel
    littlemsfickle
    BTH
    Green&Red
    Catzweazle
    Dory
    Oryx
    RQ
    Fazz
    Bambaata
    pgibbo

So now it's the time of the King of the West. Over to you AKW.

What are your plans for 2014?
    How do you like living out Whest?
    Where do you hail from originally?
    What did you do before retail?
    How long have you been doing triathlon?
    What got you in to endurance sports?
    Best triathlon and running performances to date?
    Sub 3 marathon or sub 10 IM and why?
    Do RQ & tunney really have a dedicated line for their shoe orders?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

What's your favourite flavour of crisps?
    Will you get me a free V800 when it comes out?
    What are your run pbs?
    Favourite races?
    Favourite discipline?
    Is it embarrassing that your wife is way better than you? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭sconhome

MoG I thought this wasn't happening until Thursday!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,377 Mod ✭✭✭✭pgibbo

The days got messed up over the hols, etc and switched to Tuesdays

pgibbo wrote: »
    What are your plans for 2014?

Primarily to have fun. Work won't allow a whole lot of 'leisure' time for training so the goal is to keep everything balanced through and into 2015. The temptation was to go long in 2014 and go to Frankfurt, but common sense (Mrs. AKW) prevailed and aims are to:
    • do a couple of triathlon races most likely being Lough Cultra (The Gauntlet) & Lost Sheep.
    • run 1:30 half
    • revisit Amsterdam and run sub 3:15
    • build towards 2015 being long
    • have fun
    How do you like living out Whest?
    Don't like it, I love it! Still a busy pace to life but more relaxed and easy going. Also seems to be a more level headed approach to the doom and gloom that I experienced in Dublin.
    Where do you hail from originally?
    Born and reared in Balinteer then moved to Shankill from age 5. Barring a couple of years abroad pretty much most of my life was Shankill & environs.
    What did you do before retail?
    My first job was with the highly regarded Fergal Quinn (Senator ?) I knew him as Mr. Quinn so I started in retail at 15. That's where I learned the basics of 'Crowning the Customer' almost 30 years later I'm still associated with a crown :)

My 'trade' is horticulture so I spent a lot of years in the Landscaping & Construction industry. When the economy shAt itself, the end was swift.
    How long have you been doing triathlon?
    My first tri was when I was 15/16. It was a pool based race in Magherafelt Co. Derry. It was a dare between myself and a cousin who was a serious athlete (rowed in college and was handy on the track too) probably the first time I was well and truly chicked too :o

Officially my grown up triathlon journey commenced in 2007 with another dare to do the Focus Ireland sprint in Blessington. This time I made sure it was fellows I challenged, they backed out of the relay and I had to do the whole thing myself!! :eek:

When I think back now it's almost laughable that I worried about completing a sprint tri, but that is a good memory to have when dealing with people new to our sport.
    What got you in to endurance sports?
    You know me. I'm not exactly built for speed. :rolleyes:
    Endurance events just seem to suit me better. I enjoy 4/5/6 hours of effort and it just seems to be worthwhile. Probably just too lazy to make a go of the shorter stuff.
    Best triathlon and running performances to date?
    Triathlon - I think Galway 70.3 in 2012 was my best all round. Year on year I'd a 30 mins improvement. Though I'd take my swim from Humbert 2013, bike from Galway 2012 and run from Lough Neagh 2008 as my ideal performance.

Running - I seem to be improving steadily so a tough one. I ran a very relaxed 1:39 in Sixmilebridge Half in November and a consistent 1:35 in Portumna last summer. Both sat very well with me I have to say. I think blowing up in Amsterdam after 27k, giving up and then mentally gathering to finish in 3:38 for 30mins PB might be there too in a funny kind of way.
    Sub 3 marathon or sub 10 IM and why?
    Both. Given the choice, heart says IM. Triathlon is my sport I want to be a good runner but I want to do my best at tri.
    Do RQ & tunney really have a dedicated line for their shoe orders?
    They do have 24/7 access, they just don't utilise it often enough ;)

What's your favourite flavour of crisps?

Cheese & Onion - Tayto / King / Walkers / Hunky Dory's makes no odds to me. Just for the record, I hate Salt & Vinegar, can't stand the smell of them!!
    Will you get me a free V800 when it comes out?

BuuuaaahhhhHHHHA HA HA!!! There's more chance of me running a double marathon than that happening. *
    What are your run pbs?

The one area I'm not organised in is keeping track of myself. My trainging blogs kinda of fall by the wayside, even starting a non-work based blog didn't work.

What I'm saying is I don't remember these kind of things, cos they're not important to me in the greater context of things. Same way I don't remember the score in a soccer game even if I'm playing or old football teams.

5k is 21 something from a few years back one of the Galway series.
    10k is 42 something
    Half is 1:35 & change
    Marathon 3:38
    Favourite races?

Running - Kinvara Half & Portumna for different reasons.
    Triathlon - I would have said Humbert Challenge but I need to do it again to decide. Politics aside I have to say Galway 70.3 in 2012. Apart from my own performance the support was fantastic and being known to so many people in the crowd makes it really special.

I'd a similar thing in Sligo two years ago where the lad running just in front of me turned to see who the 'celebrity' was behind him. When he saw me his reaction was priceless "Do you know everyone in this town?" :D
    Favourite discipline?

Self
    Is it embarrassing that your wife is way better than you? :pac:

Nope, she was attracted to my vulnerability ;)

*if there are demo models available I'd make sure you get a spin with one.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,583 ✭✭✭✭tunney

How do you cope with being the only one in your area whose wife is not a blood relative? Do the locals make fun of you?

tunney wrote: »
    How do you cope with being the only one in your area whose wife is not a blood relative?

That stigma is just one of life's crosses that we have to bear.
    Do the locals make fun of you?

Ah sure I pretend not to get the joke and just say everything is "Sound!" :P

Favourite pair of runners ever?
    Favourite pair of runners now?
    One piece of kit you cannot do without?
    How do you balance a busy professional life, multiple kids, a wife, a wife who trains and training yourself?
    Favourite shoe brand and why? From a personal perspective not professional?
    Why all the polar love?
    When are you doing the Polar watch draw?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

alright your majesty

Bucket List race?
    Will you check the steepness of the stairs in any hotel you stay in for a marathon from now on?
    Have you taken a digital marketing class, or are you finding your way yourself?
    What was your first reaction to the decision to open a store in Limerick?
    Should you be allowed just assume the KotW title, or should you have to have a one off battle with the other connaught men to see who rightly holds the title?
    How mad do the minimalist/barefoot threads on here make you?
    Are you doing the GLR?

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Have you ever broken a bone?
    Glass half empty or glass half full person?
    Worst/most expensive triathlon related purchase?
    What advice would you give a noob taking up tri?
    Which is better, being in the first wave or last wave of a race?
    Savoury or sweet?
    Did you have a teddybear as a child?

Favourite pair of runners ever?

Mizuno Wave Inspire 3 - my first ever properly fitted shoes that immediately eliminated the ITB issues I was having everytime I started running. Thanks to them and Darren Kelly (in AK Bray at the time) I was able to become a runner.

Still have them, they manage to avoid the household clear out each year.
    Favourite pair of runners now?

Mizuno Wave Inspire 10 - perfect in every way. Light, durable, comfortable, responsive. Think in terms of the Mizuno Elixir cross breeding with the Saucony Fastwitch. You got it!
    One piece of kit you cannot do without?

There's so much stuff and none of it is 'really' needed. Bar my wetsuit and shoes I still have the same kit I started with, trisuit, bikes, wheels etc.

If I don't have something I'll do another activity. No bike? Run. No shoes? swim etc.

Pick one thing?

Bodyglide.
    How do you balance a busy professional life, multiple kids, a wife, a wife who trains and training yourself?

Balanced? :eek:

Its team work.

In so far as possible when I get home and in the morning the phone is out of my hand, no computer / tablets etc. so it's family time. I / we train when the kids are in bed swapping out between turbo and treadmill. We take turns opening the shop so one drops kids to school & opens up while the other goes for a run.

I suppose we recognise in each other how being fit and training improves our tolerance of life allowing us to be fuller people. A training session is stress release for me. We'd often tell each other, "just go for a run, see you in 30 mins".

We met through sport, our life is sport and we enjoy what we are doing so it becomes easier to find that balance.

The kids are at a great age. Both are proving to be good little swimmers so mum is definitely the way forward there. There's no pressure on the kids, we want them to fall in love with sport the way we did. Though our girl needs to work on her 48 min 5k!! :)
    Favourite shoe brand and why? From a personal perspective not professional?

Personally - Saucony.

I've a spatial mind and aptitude for engineering (according to a CG teacher 25 years ago) and the innovations that Saucony have made interest me. I think they are the leaders of the pack in terms of understanding biomechanics and what footwear should do and how it should compliment not dominate the wearer.

They've taken risks and need to be recognised for that.

Professionally - Brooks.

They too are doing exciting things with their footwear.
    Why all the polar love?

Firstly Mr. T. it's 'Polar' with a capital 'P' :P

Secondly, they're good watches. I started out with a RS200 for HR training and they've never given me any reason to change.

I do have a FR305 (still with original box) which I flirted with for a while. Its not the same.

Polar always suited me. I'm an adaptable kind of guy and made any shortcomings work for me. TBH until you and I went toe to toe I wasn't aware of any real shortcoming, but it still works for me (thanks for the education).

Professionally, its a well made product with good customer service and in some cases helps to prevent overthinking by users. I think too many people are suffering analysis / paralysis to.
    When are you doing the Polar watch draw?

I need to balance a little more time and meet the rep so we can tie up this little thing.

mossym wrote: »
    alright your majesty

Bucket List race?

Oh dear!!

I've never been that kind of competitive person. Dream since 1978 has been Kona at some stage. Probably when I'm 65 (like the Beatles song).

I'm more a follower in these things than a leader. I hear people taking about races and go 'I'd like to do that'. While I'm happy to head off and do a race by myself I do thrive on being at these things with friends and family.

Group heading to Norseman? I'm in!
    Will you check the steepness of the stairs in any hotel you stay in for a marathon from now on?

That was fun!! I've no recollection but I see,ed to float up the stairs after the race. Getting down was no problem once you had a tray to sit on :)
    Have you taken a digital marketing class, or are you finding your way yourself?

No. I looked at one a couple of years ago. Discussed it and while I would definitely learn some things the balance was, at the time, I probably instinctively knew as much or more than the "Social Media Guru's" hosting the course.

Nowadays I find that people like Jon Loomer and other specialist digital marketers are writing blogs that usually point out new tips and tricks of the trade to me.

Social Media is such a dynamic business to be involved in the landscape is changing daily. You need to be quite fluid and dynamic in your thinking and approach too. People tell me I do it quite well so that's good enough for me (for now).
    What was your first reaction to the decision to open a store in Limerick?

Long bike sorted!!
    Should you be allowed just assume the KotW title, or should you have to have a one off battle with the other connaught men to see who rightly holds the title?

My son is the rightful KotW. We named him after the Red King, old spelling of the name and all.

If it's a pie eating battle, I win!! :D
    How mad do the minimalist/barefoot threads on here make you?

Source of endless amusement. :rolleyes:

No seriously, I am glad to see the lemming like behaviour is gone (mostly) but I do value the benefits some minimalist and barefoot running can make to some people. Most of this is all anecdotal evidence too no matter how you look at it.

Yes there is scientific empirical research, but into what exactly?

No one thinking fits all.
    Are you doing the GLR?

Flipping the coin between half and full. Kinvara Half up first, pacing the 1:40 group around that. See how the training goes then.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

AKW wrote: »

fair play. i know the expected answer here is Kona, but the one i could see me going after is Norseman too. not that either overly likely to happen.

group of two? :)

Hey Oryx, we're back
    Oryx wrote: »
    Have you ever broken a bone?

Oh yes, indeed I did.

First collarbone broken when a friend tipped me off my bike. I cycled home with a broken collar bone (without knowing it) and lay on the sofa thinking I'd be grand and tried to avoid getting in trouble for tearing the knee out of my school uniform. My mum saw the white face and knew I did something stupid.

Last time I''ll ever half wheel someone! I was 13 or so.

Second break was an epic!

Up on MTB around Djouce with Wicklow Tri Club and we'd done loads of tricky stuff, decended a rock pile and getting back on the bike it slid out from under me. I crashed down on the rock slab, cracked my helmet, collar bone folded up and shoulder came around to the front dislocated.

One of the guys was calling mountain rescue, I didn't want to put them off a real emergency so we hiked out. One of the other guys drove my van to the hospital and morphine, sweet, sweet morphine!!

A few sessions in a hyperbaric chamber in Dublin and I was back cycling around Scotland with the club in a few weeks.
    Glass half empty or glass half full person?

Doesn't matter which, I can always fill it up again.
    Worst/most expensive triathlon related purchase?
    Worst was the Garmin FR305 I bought Mrs AKW as a present. She didn't use it and I ended up playing with it. While it stood the test of time (it's almost been loaned out more times than I've used it) it was an unnecessary expenditure.

Most expensive was my TT bike which I bought at a time when I could (sort of) afford impulse purchases. Ms AKW (pre-dating) slagged me off about not having enough gears on my bike during a training session and I thought "I'll show her!!" week later and shiny new Trek Equinox 7 and my ass is handed to me again
    What advice would you give a noob taking up tri?
    Learn from your peers, but choose your peers carefully.
    Which is better, being in the first wave or last wave of a race?
    As a brick like swimmer I like the back of the first wave. I can catch people on the bike & run and feel like I'm winning. I am insufferable on the bike and hate when others who are not as experienced do stupid stuff that endangers others (especially me!) so I avoid last wave as much as possible.

Back to an earlier question, this may also be a subliminal reason why I prefer longer races and less of the sprint / olympic races.
    Savoury or sweet?
    Sweet, though I am in more control of that now.
    Did you have a teddybear as a child?
    Still have it. 43 years old this year and my son has it now. Bugsey, (no idea how to spell his name, I was 6 months at the time!!) a 3' tall rabbit who went everywhere. He has survived through thick and thin, has been re-stuffed more times than I can to remember, lost an eye or two along the way, but got them replaced.

Makes a great story for the kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

6 months, perfect training. What do you think you can do in the marathon?
    Name one type of session in each of SBR you would likely try to avoid or skip?
    Dream holiday?
    What scares you?
    Do you think deep down Tunney actually likes Polar?
    Who inspires you in life and why?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Dory Dory

Hi, AKW. :)

So you're a shoe-man....what's it like dealing with people's feet all day long? Do you measure both of their feet when sizing a customer? Do you watch them walk in their bare feet to determine which shoe is best for them? What percentage of your customers have holes in their socks? Both socks,or one? Where is the most common sock hole? Assuming I understand correctly that you and your wife work in the shop together, who is the better salesperson - you or her? And do you two work off commissions? ;)

Who drives a harder bargain over a pair of shoes, RacoonQueen or Tunney?

Most embarrassing moment in training or in a race?

How many hours on average would you guess you train per week? And please break it down into each discipline.

Which leg of a triathlon is your best? And at which distance?

Do you talk trash to your competitors when you race?

Who is your arch nemesis?

Any pre-race/race superstitions or rituals?

Ever done a race in a costume? If so, which race and what were you?

Do you have any tattoos? If so, how many, where and of what?

Do you mow your own lawn?

Because you seem to appreciate the art of humor and wit, which other boardsie do you find to be funniest and wittiest? In other words, who makes you laugh and smile the most?

Chocolate cake, fruit pie, or a big bowl of ice cream?

Morning JB,
    6 months, perfect training. What do you think you can do in the marathon?

Considering the results that having a proper structured running program have given me I would have aspirations to going sub-3 in the next 2 years. Part 1 of that plan is getting my ass in gear regarding my diet. I live by the 'I train hard so I can eat cake' philosophy. Part 2 is keeping my coach happy and Step 1 is getting sub 1:30 half this year.
    Name one type of session in each of SBR you would likely try to avoid or skip?

I think I've had a closetted triathlon live as I've yet to be tasked with something I haven't really gotten to grips with. I can be tenacious and don't quit easily.

Saying that.

Swim - I hate kick drills. I can't kick snow off a rope, and I just hate, hate, hate them. Waste of my time IMO. (In reality I know they're not, but I still hate them)

Bike - hills and I don't agree. The less we see of each other the better for both of us.

Run - bring the pain!
    Dream holiday?

As someone who has been habitually self employed pretty much all my working life, any holiday is a dream! :)

A few years ago I managed to treat Ms AKW and myself to a holiday in St Lucia. We were going to do an island wedding but personal circumstances meant we had to postpone the wedding.
    What scares you?

Anything happening to my kids.

A 3 year old was killed in a lift in Galway this week and the thought of what the family is going through just devastates me :(

I KNOW it.

The man doth protest too much!! If he didn't really care he wouldn't argue so much. :D
    Who inspires you in life and why?

The toughie.

At various times different people. If I had to pick one person probably Richard Branson for the vision and tenacity he applied in his early days.

In a funny kind of way, depending on what is happening, I would think "how would....deal with this?" This could be anyone from my grandfather to Gerry Duffy. Inspiration comes from so many sources and can be applied to so many aspects of life.

You inspire me to train harder, balance life better. I dip into sources when and as I need them but ultimately I drive myself on to be the best person that I can.

I KNOW it.

The man doth protest too much!! If he didn't really care he wouldn't argue so much. :D

I've had a Polar S210 (loved it, still have it)
    I've had a Polar S625x (loved it, still have it)
    I had the first Polar G1 GPS pod in Ireland (it was sh1t)
    I've had a Polar RS200 (The wife loved it)

I didn't switch from my PCV SRMs for ages because I wanted HR that worked with Polar.

Then Polar stopped innovating and I had no choice but to go to Garmin.

I also bought a RCX5 to see about a move back to Polar and to get the Polar pedals, I returned it in 3 days as it was HORRIFIC and I get new SRMs rather than the Polar pedals.

Everyone has one bird that they went out with when they were younger that they went out with for years and were CRAZY about, everything was perfect in the relationship but then they put on weight (or similar) and stopped taking as much care of themselves. Then along comes the slimmer bird, who looks after herself and probably has bigger baps. Thats me and Polar and moving onto Garmin.

I still have fond memories of Polar but those days are past.

Hi yourself Dory, Dory
    Dory Dory wrote: »
    So you're a shoe-man....what's it like dealing with people's feet all day long?

Have to be careful as most people are ticklish. Doesn't bother me in the least. My sister has a total aversion to feet including her own and I just don't get that.
    Do you measure both of their feet when sizing a customer?

Absolutely. And the shoes are sized off the bigger foot and I make a point of telling people their barefoot size, shoe size and running shoe size. Avoids confrontation afterwards "my feet aren't that big!!" :)
    Do you watch them walk in their bare feet to determine which shoe is best for them?

From a fitting point of view you can only determine foot function when people are running. I capture a small video clip and play it back frame by frame to see and show people what is happening. Most people get it first time and become an integral part of determining which shoe is right for them.

I enjoy that 'audience participation' part of it.
    What percentage of your customers have holes in their socks? Both socks,or one? Where is the most common sock hole?

I'd have to make up stats! What I will do is keep a record for the coming week and feedback on Tuesday. A proper survey.
    Assuming I understand correctly that you and your wife work in the shop together, who is the better salesperson - you or her?

We do. Not often at the same time as I share responsibility for the Limerick & Galway stores. We are a good match, she has a great business head and I'm an ideas and opportunity type of person. She keeps me firmly on the ground.

Very hard to say who is the better salesperson. She will tell you I am a natural person's person, very easy to build rapport and figure out what people are looking for. I think that comes from instinct. Our business is quite different in that most people who come in the door are already thinking of buying. For us it is all about making that perfect match.
    And do you two work off commissions? ;)

Nope and none of our staff do either.

Commission drives 'junk' sales. We don't shift boxes and are independent of the brands we stock. This is why we wouldn't have huge margins allowing endless 'sales' or clearance stocks. A specialist store with a decent stock room but quite often a 'just in time' approach to restocking.
    Who drives a harder bargain over a pair of shoes, RacoonQueen or Tunney?

RQ is easy to get to, tease with nice colours and a decent price. All it takes is a Tweet :)

Tunney is very scientific in his approach but now leaves me to make decisions based on feedback.

Both are a pleasure to deal with though.
    Most embarrassing moment in training or in a race?
    books?id=c6sYWYvsBUEC&printsec=frontcover&img=1&zoom=1&edge=curl&imgtk=AFLRE70dwQC0fDg4-6ArSaFa5RtD78TVzese6jT0ssePpX5x-dbcJKWPj8eb6UrvSsBPdzLcw1DPoedzgrh3qGIG5Yn3LbgFubIGO3Dcc11P9JYFDhKfHyesHyC66rEZVVzDruzV_ryj

Nuff said!
    How many hours on average would you guess you train per week? And please break it down into each discipline.

You imply structure!

The only time I have structure is when I follow a marathon plan. After that its a roll of the die regarding all the balls that are in the air. Work, family, kids, work, kids, sleep :D
    Which leg of a triathlon is your best? And at which distance?

I won't say best but my HIM bike is most improved.
    Do you talk trash to your competitors when you race?

Absolutely not. I'm out to enjoy myself and while I'm competitive, I'm quietly competitive. I've learned that when you slag someone off you are going to be beaten and embarrassed.

I'll race within the race and quietly chase someone down, pass them, and push to stay ahead, go to the next person and so on where I can. If there's a tussle and I come out ahead I'll wait and thank them for pushing me so hard.
    Who is your arch nemesis?

The need to sleep (?)

I enjoy the craic with CW. We've a history from a few years ago and we both have fun with it. It's a pity that Humbert is gone, cos we might never get to test ourselves properly.

I wouldn't say I have one. Too easy going.
    Any pre-race/race superstitions or rituals?

Yep. Time the toilet thing right. :o
    Ever done a race in a costume? If so, which race and what were you?

No. I might be a bit old school and take the opportunity of racing too seriously to disrespect it. There's times I might look like a clown out there, but that's a different story :)
    Do you have any tattoos? If so, how many, where and of what?

No. My body is unadorned. I did get my ear pierced years ago when I was 'wild' living in Holland. Long gone now.
    Do you mow your own lawn?

Sure do. Push mower with no drive to the wheels. Old school and a 2 hour work out at the same time
    Because you seem to appreciate the art of humor and wit, which other boardsie do you find to be funniest and wittiest? In other words, who makes you laugh and smile the most?

Such a diverse range of people on here and so many different ways to smile. Hard to call that one to be honest. Though I think because there are lots of people who interact on other platforms too there often can be an 'in joke' or play on words that takes on a whole new meaning in the context of a post.
    Chocolate cake, fruit pie, or a big bowl of ice cream?

FYP ;) Chocolate cake with whipped cream, fruit pie and a big bowl of ice cream.

You train and work within a sporting environment. What do you do to get away from that?
    Apart from having your ear pierced ;) whats the most daring thing you've ever done?
    Do people shoplift from running shops or do they reckon the staff are too good at chasing them?
    Biggest fear?
    Current weight, ideal weight?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Howiya AKW,
    Are you living in Oranmore itself?
    Do you go to the tatch, its a great little pub.
    Whats that fancy restaurant beside you like?

What got you into selling runners? What sort of people go out to you rather than we'll say into Elverys in town?

Where would you place amongst the Galwegians on here?

Oryx wrote: »
    You train and work within a sporting environment. What do you do to get away from that?

Easy, go for a trail run! :D

I love the work that I do so there is nothing to get away from. Yes there are the pressures of running a business in 'the current environment', online price slashers who don't have the same vat rate, overheads, rates etc etc. but you deal with that or get out.

A run is my release.
    Apart from having your ear pierced ;) whats the most daring thing you've ever done?

*thinking*
    Do people shoplift from running shops or do they reckon the staff are too good at chasing them?

I'm sure they do. We would worry about security in the Limerick store, mainly because it is so big, but there's not that many one legged runners knocking about the place (only ever one shoe on display).

In the dry / summer people do get a chance to go for a trot outside sometimes and we joke about their 5k times. The trust shown does startle some people and most Irish people are uncomfortable about the idea of stepping out of a shoe without paying for the items but that;s the way it goes.

Thankfully we haven't seen any pilfering to date. Long may it continue.
    Biggest fear?

Something happening to my kids and not being able to prevent it. That, and swimming in Killiney Bay ;)
    Current weight, ideal weight?

86.4kg. Time to update the other thread. I'd love to get to 79/80kg but every time I get to 83kg Mrs. AKW thinks I'm getting too skinny and feeds me up again :)

Green&Red wrote: »
    Howiya AKW,

Think the accepted answer to this is "Grand!" ;)
    Are you living in Oranmore itself?

First moved to Renville Village and spend a horrendous winter of '10 in a drafty house with ill-fitting windows and a fire going from early morning to late night.

Moved to a lovely house in Roveagh behind Kilcornan Woods. If we are ever in a position to buy, we'll be staying there.
    Do you go to the tatch, its a great little pub.

Rarely a pub person now. Christmas of 2012 is last time I was in there bar leaving stuff for people to collect afterhours (only in Ireland). The pints are gorgeous though and I love the atmosphere. It would be my local of choice.
    Whats that fancy restaurant beside you like?
    What got you into selling runners? What sort of people go out to you rather than we'll say into Elverys in town?

Necessity.

As someone who is underqualified & no history of employment (other than self) it is very hard to find work. The decision was emigrate or find something new here.

We both wanted to be able to have a good quality of family life, so raising the kids in the country was important to us. The opportunity was in taking the AK franchise West and it meant being involved in something we both loved. Easy enough decision after that.

Unfortunately a lot of people come to us afterwards rather than first. Lured by cheap deals and smooth talk. But that's all good, we fix them up and they are our friends for ever after that. (PS I've tons of insoles taken off people if anyone wants them ;) )
    Where would you place amongst the Galwegians on here?

I'd win my age group :D

You mean insoles are not the solution to all problems??????

You are hardly suggesting that "you need orthotics" is the cop out of the under talented and/or lazy physio????? Oh no wait thats me saying that :)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Sorry I meant the boathouse beside you

Green&Red wrote: »
    Sorry I meant the boathouse beside you

Sorry I did see that and missed replying.

Ate there once and it was nice. Seems to be gaining in popularity alright. Again not big going out people. Good menu though.

Think I'd a nice piece of venison when there.

*Note to self: must get out more!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

Thats the problem with this race, with only a 1 in 4 / 1 in 5 chance of getting in through the lottery, its almost impossible to target it with a couple of friends.

Can you offer them a bribe of a large amount of free runners for 5 guaranteed slots in 2015 or get the wife to offer free gait analysis for all 250 entrants on the day ;)

catweazle wrote: »
    Thats the problem with this race, with only a 1 in 4 / 1 in 5 chance of getting in through the lottery, its almost impossible to target it with a couple of friends.

Can you offer them a bribe of a large amount of free runners for 5 guaranteed slots in 2015 or get the wife to offer free gait analysis for all 250 entrants on the day ;)

I want into this deal.

What is Mrs AKW offering to all entrants? :)

Ok Dory, Dory, this pair of eejits just answered the question about making me smile :)
    catweazle wrote: »

I want into this deal.

I want in too. Even if it means putting up with tunney. Though I draw the line at 'gait analysis'.