Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting to know.....the Amphibian who likes to stay out of the water

• Registered Users Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭sconhome

Oryx wrote: »
    Though I draw the line at 'gait analysis'.

You obviously had a bad experience. In the right hands its a powerful tool.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,583 ✭✭✭✭tunney

I want in too. Even if it means putting up with tunney. Though I draw the line at 'gait analysis'.

Ah you love me really.
    AKW wrote: »
    You obviously had a bad experience. In the right hands its a powerful tool.

Are we still using euphemisms?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,425 ✭✭✭joey100

Hey AKW,

Is there any brands you currently don't stock that you would like to?

After the trend of minimal and barefoot running, the new thing (if slowtwitch is to be believed) is the Hoka runners, http://www.hokaoneone.eu/en/catalog/running.html,
    how do you feel about these? A fad or the real deal??

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

tunney wrote: »
    Are we still using euphemisms?
    I thought so.

So AKW, is Norseman the bucket list A race?
    Five years time, what do you hope to have achieved?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,361 ✭✭✭Kurt Godel

Favourite trail run?
    How far can you swim underwater on a breath?
    What are the best minimalist shoes for a super-fast transition?

Hi joey100
    joey100 wrote: »
    Hey AKW,Is there any brands you currently don't stock that you would like to?

We're actually looking at a few new brands.

The issue is the size of the Irish running market. We're a tiny country with a tiny % of the population actively running and engaged in exercise compared to other countries. The issue is you'd end up with so much stock to cover every size & colour & style that you turn into a 'box shifting' business and that goes against the core of being a specialist store.

I like Gore clothing, got a piece years ago, but the risk is high value goods and a tightening economy. There's a fine balance between what people want to pay for quality goods and what they can afford.
    After the trend of minimal and barefoot running, the new thing (if slowtwitch is to be believed) is the Hoka runners, http://www.hokaoneone.eu/en/catalog/running.html,
    how do you feel about these? A fad or the real deal??

As per above, Ireland is too small for them. Mrs AKW had to buy a trial pair (!!) and while she runs in them occasionally, she does like them, they are something like €160-180 so its a very, very limited market for those shoes.

They will be a trend for a while. We (Galway & Limerick) probably won't bother with them as you could have €2k of stock and only sell one or two pairs.

A lot of these things are designed for the American market and it just doesn't translate properly into plain English. You will see some on feet but the majority will stick with their ASICS, they're the best, right? :rolleyes:

Passing fad.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,377 Mod ✭✭✭✭pgibbo

If the structured approach works for your marathon training and triathlon is where your heart is at, why have you not adopted a structured approach to triathlon training?

Would/have you considered working with a coach?

If you go long, what race will you target and what are your goals across the disciplines?

So AKW, is Norseman the bucket list A race?
    Five years time, what do you hope to have achieved?

It's one that is up there alright. I'm reckoning with the water temps there's less risk of jellies. :o

5 years.

Personally - lots of little things like a 2 week holiday would be nice.

Business wise - lots of big things!

With a background in project management you'd expect a little more foresight. I just let life happen and enjoy it or deal with it along the way. I've no overpowering ambitions or desires as I really believe in making the most of now. Decisions made today are for the right reasons and they seem to shake themselves out into the future somehow.

Re your earlier question about daring...

I'm often impetuous and take risks whether it's overtaking on a twisty downhill section because the lead rider is too slow, selling my motorbike for a diamond in the hope she'll say yes, making the decision to pack up the house and family to move west to start a new business (took about 2 days, most of that time was negotiating franchise).

I wouldn't be overly daring but I'd happily survive off my wits in the event of a zombie apocalypse. Adaptable & hard to dissuade, maybe?

Hi Kurt
    Kurt Godel wrote: »
    Favourite trail run?

My favourite is one that I didn't appreciate until I moved away from it. I would like to run the Wicklow Way (stick that in the Bucket List pile). I've lived near it, for pretty much most of my life and never ran any of it until I visited the home town one weekend.

Blog link (hope mods don't mind): http://www.amphkingwest.com/2012/02/hills-are-alive-january-27th.html
    How far can you swim underwater on a breath?

This one time .... I managed a turn in a 25m pool finishing about 40m. Having not swam for a while a couple of attempts would see me doing 25m now and possibly getting a turn in. I will try the next time I'm in the pool.
    What are the best minimalist shoes for a super-fast transition?

I'm going to ask you to define what you mean by minimalist.

http://www.amphkingwest.com/2013/01/whats-in-name.html

I'm going to argue that in a racing environment with a low ramp shoe then it is hard to overlook the Saucony Grid Type A or Fastwitch 4mm drop with a firm responsive forefoot. Anything else is going to be absorbing energy from your propulsive effort.

pgibbo wrote: »
    If the structured approach works for your marathon training and triathlon is where your heart is at, why have you not adopted a structured approach to triathlon training?

Good point.

Simple answer, time. It's so easy to get out for a run and doesn't require much shifting around of others. Swimming is a pain in backside to get to and from and with the unmovable feast that is 'Advertised Opening Times' you can't muck around. The practicalities of family come first for me and training happens around that. I may end up back in Kilcornan Pool *yuk*
    Would/have you considered working with a coach?

Absolutely. Have one in mind for next year if the Planning Permission gets through the preliminary stages for IM. But as above work / family / life balance has to be right or I won't do it.
    If you go long, what race will you target and what are your goals across the disciplines?

It'll be one where there are friends around. Having discussed it over email Frankfurt seems the most likely for ease of access, less travel hassle and a decent course.

Could I see myself doing 1:20 / 5:20 / 3:19 ? Including transitions? I'd be a very happy chappy but more likely to be nearer 12 than 10. Aspirations :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,361 ✭✭✭Kurt Godel

My favourite is one that I didn't appreciate until I moved away from it. I would like to run the Wicklow Way (stick that in the Bucket List pile). I've lived near it, for pretty much most of my life and never ran any of it until I visited the home town one weekend.
    I Bucket-listed this over a couple of days a few years back- a wonderful place to run, no doubt! Hope you get to run the whole thing soon.
    I'm going to argue that in a racing environment with a low ramp shoe then it is hard to overlook the Saucony Grid Type A or Fastwitch 4mm drop with a firm responsive forefoot. Anything else is going to be absorbing energy from your propulsive effort.

IMO Minimalist=low heel/toe drop. I'm running in NB Minimus, a great shoe, but a real b*tch to get on in transition!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Dory Dory

Ok Dory, Dory, this pair of eejits just answered the question about making me smile :)

These two were on my list of suspects for you. ;)

Blah, blah, blah, blah.......selling my motorbike for a diamond in the hope she'll say yes......blah, blah, blah....

Be still my heart. I didn't know they still made men like you. <sigh>

Dory Dory wrote: »
    Be still my heart. I didn't know they still made men like you. <sigh>
    No matter how tough the woman, she still melts at a fairytale story.

However, I read that and thought

You sold your motorbike?

To get married?

YOU FOOL! :P

Though it did remind me of the classified ad I once saw that went something like this:

For sale, two motorbike helmets, med & large, and two leather motorbike jackets. Will swap for pushchair or cot.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,583 ✭✭✭✭tunney

No matter how tough the woman, she still melts at a fairytale story.

However, I read that and thought

You sold your motorbike?

To get married?

YOU FOOL! :P

Though it did remind me of the classified ad I once saw that went something like this:

For sale, two motorbike helmets, med & large, and two leather motorbike jackets. Will swap for pushchair or cot.

And what did she sacrifice for you???? EH EH???

What? Other than a bit of room in her purse? (if your household is anything like mine)

Kurt Godel wrote: »
    I Bucket-listed this over a couple of days a few years back- a wonderful place to run, no doubt! Hope you get to run the whole thing soon.

Was going to relay this last year but missed the entry date. Might be something for 2016 if I get a IM pass for 2015
    IMO Minimalist=low heel/toe drop. I'm running in NB Minimus, a great shoe, but a real b*tch to get on in transition!

Assuming the 0mm drop version and not the 4mm. It's tricky enough as the more minimal the shoe the softer and more flexible the heel counter is, the material is all light and flimsy anyway. Is it the wrap over tongue that bothers you? Did you ever try the Hattori? No laces in some forms, like a slipper. I'll stick to the guns and go with Grid Type A as a great low profile (4mm) racer/ Pull on loops etc.

tunney wrote: »
    And what did she sacrifice for you???? EH EH???

What? Other than a bit of room in her purse? (if your household is anything like mine)

Here, I don't even get the chance to pocket 'running away' money like others either.

She's the Boss, fullstop. :)

I still have my helmet and leathers ;)

I don't recall anyone asking you about your fetish :pac:

Does your advice above mean I have to change from my Nimbus and Kinvara's?

pgibbo wrote: »
    Does your advice above mean I have to change from my Nimbus and Kinvara's?

The way this thread has taken a left turn are Nimbus and Kinvara code words for something else? :)

Be still my heart?

So, an ear piercing over a tattoo? Then which ear and what kind of earring did you wear?

Have you ever painted your toenails? If so, what color?

Ever try on your wife's clothing?

When and what is your next event?

When and what was your last training session, and how did it go?

If you don't mind me asking, how tall are you, how much do you weigh, what is your age, color of your hair and eyes?

If you found yourself single, how would you like your singles ad to read to attract the kind of "companion" you would be seeking?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Hey AKW

How many straight jumping burpees can you do after reading this?
    Could you eat a heaped tablespoon of paprika?
    Are you more like Beavis or Butthead?
    Can you poach an egg blindfolded?
    How often do you check Boards at work?
    What posters did you have on a wall as a kid?
    What was the last thing you stole?
    What superpower would you choose and why?

Cheers :)

Dory Dory wrote: »
    So, an ear piercing over a tattoo? Then which ear and what kind of earring did you wear?

Left and it was a small stud. It was the rage at the time :)
    Have you ever painted your toenails? If so, what color?

Nope, never felt an overhelming need or desire to paint my nails. If I did it would probably be black so people would think I'm some mad uber marathoner.
    Ever try on your wife's clothing?

If cycle gear is classed as clothing then yes, I do wear some of her clothing.

[quoteWhen and what is your next event?[/quote]

Kinvara Half marathon at the start of March. It was my first ever standalone half marathon so has a corner of my heart.
    When and what was your last training session, and how did it go?

Just off the turbo. It was so, so. It's been a while since I've done anything meaningful on a bike so a lot of ground to make back up. I find the bike is much more conducive to me 'leaning up' which benefits my run a whole lot better. Which leads nicely to your next question....
    If you don't mind me asking, how tall are you, how much do you weigh, what is your age, color of your hair and eyes?

183cm or 6' tall on the mark.
    I'm 86.3kg (currently as of this morning) no idea what that is in old money or American :p
    43 in August
    Brown hair with a distinguished spackling of grey since my 20's
    Hazel eyes.
    If you found yourself single, how would you like your singles ad to read to attract the kind of "companion" you would be seeking?

What would I be doing with a singles ad? Sorry Dory, I'm old school romantic I don't need to do advertisements ;)

TBH I'm very poor at selling myself so I wouldn't have a clue where to start.

Hey AKW

Shotgun, I knew there was someone I meant to put on an ignore list, I cringe each week at the S&C challenges you set people and was hoping you were on holidays this week :)
    How many straight jumping burpees can you do after reading this?

A very feeble 21. My legs are shot as I'm just off the turbo. Also I hate burpees with a passion!!!
    Could you eat a heaped tablespoon of paprika?

No idea. Not about to try it either as Mrs. AKW would have me locked up in an institution for doing things 'someone on the internet dared me to do' :D
    Are you more like Beavis or Butthead?

I know who they are, what they are but wouldn't know their personalities. I'm going to go with Beavis cos the other lad's name says alot about him.
    Can you poach an egg blindfolded?

Can poach an egg, can cook fairly handily when I get a chance to but I have never tried blindfolded. See note above re 'institution' :)
    How often do you check Boards at work?

Depends on the day. Its often hanging open in the background and I flit around a bit. Apart from here I check the TotD and PotD every morning and I get a kick out of the Prison forum too.

Saturday can be a bad day, cos you lot are all off doing things and I'm hanging out on my todd. But saturday can be busy so I don't miss you too much!
    What posters did you have on a wall as a kid?

Now you're talking :D

Metal posters. Metallica, Iron Maiden, Lita Ford (below - for all you young ones), Motorhead etc. I collected them from Metal Hammer magazines. I slept in a converted attic so my posters wrapped up the walls and over the ceilings. My dad used to go mad cos they pulled the paint off the wall when they fell down.

I stopped taping them up after that and used blu-tack instead.

288989.jpg
    What was the last thing you stole?

Does my wife's heart qualify? :cool:

(That thump was Dory hitting the floor, will someone check on her please?)

Other than that, nothing, ever.
    What superpower would you choose and why?

Something cool like being able to walk through walls. You'd never get given out to for leaving a door open again :)
    Cheers :)

Thanks Mike. (I don't really mean that thing up top about ignoring you)

Does my wife's heart qualify? :cool:

(That thump was Dory hitting the floor, will someone check on her please?)

Thank god I had my bike helmet on!!! ;)

Okay, Mr. Romantic....
    Have you ever forgotten your wife's birthday or your anniversary?
    What sorts of things do you "surprise" your wife with on Valentine's Day?
    How did you propose to your wife?
    How certain were you that she would say "yes" when you sold your motorcycle for the ring? And did you check to see if you could return the ring and buy back the bike "just in case"?
    I'm 86.3kg (currently as of this morning) no idea what that is in old money or American :p

What would I be doing with a singles ad? Sorry Dory, I'm old school romantic I don't need to do advertisements ;)

You are 182 pounds. ;)

Okay, so you might not need to advertise to find yourself another mate, but I'm sure there are plenty on here who might benefit from your clever yet gentle writing skills to find theirs. Therefore, AKW, would you please humor us by choosing a boardsie and writing a short SWM sort of ad on their behalf?

Dory wants you to write her a love letter. :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

Dory wants you to write her a love letter. :)

i think Dory wants AKW to set up courting lessons for other men...

that's a whole new version of a couch to 5k.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

Jaysus - you are getting it tough - some difficult questions for you to say the least! At least the Heavy Metal background explains that rock star hair you go for!

Favourite Movie?
    Favourite Movie Character?
    Have you considered getting into high end cycling gear - is there anywhere west of the Shannon where one can pick up Castelli/Assos?
    Favourite Sportstars - Name three?
    You mentioned Triathlon as your main sport - I was surprised by this as I would have thought running was where your heart is at - discuss!
    Would Peader ever consider triathlons - I remember doing a Tri Lakes duathlon a few years back and was wondering who the young lad was that was trouncing Ruadhri and Mairtin on the run, although they nailed him on the bike
    Do you think there is an opportunity for a Challenge or Ironman race in Galway/Ireland - Do they need to look at a more reliable swim area than Salthill