Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Season 4 discussion *People that HAVE read the books*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

http://grrm.livejournal.com/360552.html

New trailer shown last night for season 4.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

Nice shot of Jaime and Bronn there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    The purple wedding will be in episode 2. In the UK they call the wedding reception the wedding breakfast.
    It also says that this is GRRM's episode this season and he tends to pick the fun episodes for himself to write...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

Think I saw a glimpse of the Titan of Braavos

FunLover18 wrote: »
    Think I saw a glimpse of the Titan of Braavos
    you did indeed looks epic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭Kunkka

I seen a leaked pic of Cat's actress with a stabbed throat. Can't find it here in work but that may well be the finale!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

Kunkka wrote: »
    I seen a leaked pic of Cat's actress with a stabbed throat. Can't find it here in work but that may well be the finale!

Pics or.....

Seriously?

Non book readers are in for so many shocks this season.

Mr Freeze wrote: »
    Pics or.....

Seriously?

Non book readers are in for so many shocks this season.

My bad I seen this on my phone briefly on FB last night and didn't see the rest of it lmfao!

1901385_10202537924944719_1202255780_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,834 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

There are pics of Oathkeeper as used in the show here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,973 ✭✭✭Liamalone

Yer man is putting the cd in upside down ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

Liamalone wrote: »
    Yer man is putting the cd in upside down ffs

Re-writeable CD with no label.
    Dual sided CD.
    CD player with laser on top.
    :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

Blay wrote: »
    There are pics of Oathkeeper as used in the show here

I knew Oathkeeper was supposed to be ornate but jesus the detail in the handle is fúckin superb.. It's the details like this (different families armour too, like the fish scales on the Blackfish) that sets this show apart from the others...

GerB40 wrote: »
    I knew Oathkeeper was supposed to be ornate but jesus the detail in the handle is fúckin superb.. It's the details like this (different families armour too, like the fish scales on the Blackfish) that sets this show apart from the others...

The show really does the books justice in that regard for sure. The scale is not matched by any other show I've ever seen. I think I read in a few places that they've pumped more money in to this season then any other so it should make excellent viewing.

Don't know if this has been posted. The titles and writers of the first 4 episodes

31 1 "Two Swords"[26] D. B. Weiss David Benioff & D. B. Weiss April 6, 2014
    32 2 "The Lion and the Rose"[27] Alex Graves George R. R. Martin April 13, 2014
    33 3 "Breaker of Chains"[28] Alex Graves David Benioff & D. B. Weiss April 20, 2014
    34 4 "Oathkeeper"[29] Michelle MacLaren Bryan Cogman April 27, 2014

The show really does the books justice in that regard for show. The scale is not matched by any other show I've ever seen. I think I read in a few places that they've pumped more money in to this season then any other so it should make excellent viewing.

Don't know if this has been posted. The titles and directors of the first 4 episodes

33 3 "Breaker of Chains"[28] Alex Graves David Benioff & D. B. Weiss April 20, 2014

Do you mean writers?

I sure did :p

Martin writing the PW episode is going to simply amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

The show really does the books justice in that regard for show. The scale is not matched by any other show I've ever seen. I think I read in a few places that they've pumped more money in to this season then any other so it should make excellent viewing.

Don't know if this has been posted. The titles and directors of the first 4 episodes

I've been waiting for episode 2 for so long.. In a way, I'm gonna miss the evil little bástard but then again fúck him... Jack Gleeson has done a superb job and I wish him all the best in his future endeavours. (Stay acting Jack, you're good at it).

GerB40 wrote: »
    I've been waiting for episode 2 for so long.. In a way, I'm gonna miss the evil little bástard but then again fúck him... Jack Gleeson has done a superb job and I wish him all the best in his future endeavours. (Stay acting Jack, you're good at it).

I do hate to say goodbye to someone so good at being bad.

It's amazing how different he is in real life. It's a real credit to him as an actor. They really needed that part nailed and he didn't disappoint.

Best portrayal so far ladies & gents? I think Rory McCann along with Gleeson are top of the list for me.

It's amazing how different he is in real life. It's a real credit to him as an actor. They really needed that part nailed and he didn't disappoint.

Best portrayal so far ladies & gents? I think Rory McCann along with Gleeson are top of the list for me.

Liam Cunningham. I read the books after the first season but before he had been cast and I just thought "He IS Davos" and he's by far the best for me. I like Dillane's Stannis too

Ya, Davos and Joffrey are perfect, but so was Sean Bean as Eddard.

Stannis has won me around, didn't like the actor at first, while I love the book version, hopefully Stannis has some of his great lines brought into the show, he seems to be some what neglected.

Some of the stuff he comes out with in the books is priceless, so cold and heartless, but there is a weird sense of humour there.
    Her own father got this child on her? We are well rid of her, then. I will not suffer such abominations here. This is not King's Landing.

I loved Viserys Targaryen, I just thought he nailed the arrogant sense of entitlement so much.

Lord Commander Mormont - loved his portrayal, gruff but fair.

The casting in general has been fantastic. Maisie Williams would be another that hasn't already been mentioned. It's hardly worth mentioning Dinklage since, in all reality, there was nobody else you'd even look at for Tyrion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

I didn't think much of Davos in the books and found him a bit boring but he comes across much better in the show and I actually care about him now. The scenes when he was learning to read were great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Littlefinger is probably the only one I would change, and that would be more for the accent than looks, everyone else has been spot on.

Wasn't sure about Oberyn when I first seen the pics of the actor, as I always pictured someone along the lines of ECW's Sabu...but after seeing the trailer he is the character.

Alfred Molina has to be Doran though.

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Wasn't sure about Oberyn .

I had Richard Armatige pictured as Oberyn. But the current guy looks good now I must say.

Given the reaction the actual casting got, that would have went down like a nosey Stark out a tower window. ;)

Ya think?

That's how I had him pictured, a sharp looking fellow with black slicked back hair and a pointy beard.

I think most of their casting has been excellent, Asha/Yara is nothing like I pictured.

If they cast Val, they better not mess her up, I am expecting someone seriosuly hot. :p

Littlefinger is probably the only one I would change, and that would be more for the accent than looks, everyone else has been spot on.

What is going on with Gillan's accent. In the first season it was grand, his somewhat died down Irish accent worked perfectly with Petyr's lowborn origins but then in between 1 and 2 his accent and voice completely changed and he's putting weird intonations where they don't belong. It freaks me out.

Daario is one they got wrong for me, I'm glad they've changed him.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,535 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Yeah Littlefinger's voice is really grating on me now, don't get why he changed it.

I don't think it's intentional. Gillans accent has been atrocious in anything I've seen him in.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,535 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Sleepy wrote: »
    I don't think it's intentional. Gillans accent has been atrocious in anything I've seen him in.

True, but it was fine in season 1, or maybe he didn't get as much screen time so I never noticed.

I thought his accent held up in 'The Wire' for the most part, but as has been said it has deteriorated throughout this series to the point where his lines in the latest trailer are just distracting.

Yeah The Wire was the first place I ever seen him and I was pretty surprised when I found out he was Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Burt Macklin

Stannis has won me around, didn't like the actor at first, while I love the book version, hopefully Stannis has some of his great lines brought into the show, he seems to be some what neglected.

Some of the stuff he comes out with in the books is priceless, so cold and heartless, but there is a weird sense of humour there.

Yeah, I agree, I hope this line stays in next season. One of my favourite passages.
    Stannis ground his teeth. “It is not my wish to tamper with your rights and traditions. As to royal guidance, Janos, if you mean that I ought to tell your brothers to choose you, have the courage to say so.”
    That took Lord Janos aback. He smiled uncertainly and began to sweat, but Bowen Marsh beside him said, “Who better to command the black cloaks than a man who once commanded the gold, sire?”
    “Any of you, I would think. Even the cook.” The look the king gave Slynt was cold.

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Yeah Littlefinger's voice is really grating on me now, don't get why he changed it.
    To be honest, I had never noticed :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

I think the affectation in his voice adds to his character - the fact that it sounds different / put on / false and differs depending on whom he is taking with.

You can take the boy out of the Fingers but you can't finish this sentence that way without going on a register.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

Charles Dance for the win :pac:

Will be missed.

Saw the Sky promo in the cinema last weekend. It was just the end of S3 with Daenerys lifted up. Told my friend to look away, he's still in season one... 3 weeks to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Son0vagun

Little fingers voice change is a clear indication that he has been glamoured and that the old LF died long ago.

Son0vagun wrote: »
    Little fingers voice change is a clear indication that he has been glamoured and that the old LF died long ago.

One to add to the crazy theory pile :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,834 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

There's another short trailer up on the GoT Facebook page.

Looks to me like Stannis is going on a little detour.

Also, have a look at a YT video called 'Bastards of Westeros'..it has a few seconds of season 4 footage.

Blay wrote: »
    Looks to me like Stannis is going on a little detour.

Where could they have him go to really?

Rally more men to his cause? Pirates maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Other trailers and production stills have strongly hinted that Stannis goes to Bravos to visit the Iron Bank on his way to the Wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭chickenboy

Other trailers and production stills have strongly hinted that Stannis goes to Bravos to visit the Iron Bank on his way to the Wall.

So that means they're already pulling stuff from book 5 and 6 forward? Bang goes my theory of them getting to season 7 before the winds of winter storylines kick off!

Although it may well be a bait-and-switch, with Arya being the one heading to Bravos, as per the books.

If that is the case maybe it isn't Ayra seeing the Titan from the shots we've seen. Hmmmm

***WARNING , CONTAINS DETAILS OF SERIES 4 EPISODE ONE****

This is a post on reddit about the first episode of the new season after seeing the premiere.

http://www.reddit.com/r/gameofthrones/comments/20s46w/spoilers_all_including_s4e01_so_ive_seen_the/

Can't bloody wait!

Can someone refresh my memory on who Qyburn is again please? It's been ages since I read the book and I gave them away and can't afford to buy them again just now. I think he was something to do with the prison? or maybe I'm totally off? :confused: Was he the one who got some new dude onto the Kingsguard who is going to be Cersei's champion. From what I gather, this is a reincarnated version of the Mountain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Can someone refresh my memory on who Qyburn is again please? It's been ages since I read the book and I gave them away and can't afford to buy them again just now. I think he was something to do with the prison? or maybe I'm totally off? :confused: Was he the one who got some new dude onto the Kingsguard who is going to be Cersei's champion. From what I gather, this is a reincarnated version of the Mountain.

He's a former maester who was had his chain taken away for studying necromancy, basically.

He was with the Brave Companions sellsword company who chopped off Jamie's hand. He kept Jamie alive and treated his wound.

Later, Cersei made him her Master of Whispers.

I might have a bastardised version of books/tv show but he was a maester at Haarenhall who treated Jamie after his hand incident. He then accompanied him back to Kings Landing where Cersei made use of him, and he eventually ended up on the small council.

You're right about the mountain stuff....amongst other weird stuff he has going on.

Thanks guys :)

Any idea how he got the mountain onto the Kingsguard? Does he have the power to appoint himself or did he have to manipulate the situation?