Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I am creating a "Dublin Bingo" card for my friends coming to visit! Need more ideas!

• 16-01-2014 2:38pm
    Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭

So basically I got the idea from this:

http://media.dcentertainment.com/sites/default/files/files/2011/10/MAD-Comic-Con-Bingo-1.jpg

I will be making a approx 5x5 grid with the Good, Bad and the Ugly side of Dublin!

As I am only living in Dublin as a student I feel as though I may be missing stuff out.

Here is some of the examples I have on the bingo card!
    -4 or 5 General sightseeing views i.e. Spire, Phoenix Park, TCD etc...
    -Cavalcade of noisy spanish students
    -Public transport conversation starter, Usually lovely old man
    -"OMG Totes Awks"
    -Empty can of Dutch Gold
    -"Hee-or Mate, D'ya have a fag?"
    -Homeless person with more expensive shoes than you
    -Public Pyjama wearing
    -Eastern European Guy playing according rocking back and forth
    -Guy playing Mario songs on Keyboard
    -Knacker couple having an argument on O'Connell St.
    -Photographer taking a pic of Spire by placing camera on Spire and pointing up(Oh so original)

Just silly things like this that sarcastically list the Good, Bad and Ugly things about Dublin!

Feel free to contribute and in a week or 2 when I finish it, I will post it on here publicly!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

Good idea! Here's my contribution:

5 cyclists at a traffic lights (or more, if they're out at rush hour)
    On Luas when an inspector gets on (for extra score: 3 people get off, obviously without tickets)
    Seeing rowers on the Liffey
    Spot the Tai Chi in Merrion Square

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭PaurGasm

cheers man... I laughed at the Luas one haha

• Registered Users Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Piriz

great idea... i look forward to seeing it!

I love the homeless person with more expensive runners...i always notice this....brilliant!

you could do something on our small president Michael D
    the level of J walking in the city...nobody from Dublin waits for traffic lights..
    the adidas tracksuit and runner clad teens
    the double decker Dublin busses
    the teens jumping into Grand Canal Dock in the summer
    the amount of hipsters with beards and glasses
    the graffiti/street art
    the street traders, apples 5 for 50
    molly malones cleavage
    dublin bikes
    the luas lines not connecting (yet)
    the amount of pubs
    the hipsters drinking coffee at a table outside a café in the winter
    buskers on Grafton Street, or the Junkie Rapper on Henry Street..
    the Dublin taxi driver
    shopping trolley in the River
    social welfare office
    the Forty Foot on Christmas day

• Registered Users Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

Just to add another sense to the mix: the smell of the Guinness Brewery coming down the Liffey. Distinctly Dublin!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Ben D Bus

Aard wrote: »
    Just to add another sense to the mix: the smell of the Guinness Brewery coming down the Liffey. Distinctly Dublin!

A scratch'n'sniff square. Great idea :D

Also, crowds of 'youths' outside the Central Bank.
    The sea of yellow taxi roof-signs on Dame St on a weekend night
    O'Connell Bridge attempting to accommodate half the Dublin Bus fleet (in each direction)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Getting roared at by people on the Viking boat tour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

No one has mentioned a junkie yet??? :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,322 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Piriz wrote: »

I love the homeless person with more expensive runners...i always notice this....brilliant!

the level of J walking in the city...nobody from Dublin waits for traffic lights..
    the graffiti/street art
    molly malones cleavage
    dublin bikes
    the amount of pubs
    the Dublin taxi driver
    social welfare office

Don't think you really get it...

Birneybau wrote: »
    Don't think you really get it...

care to enlighten me?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭neemish

Woman wearing a feck off fancy suit...with runners
    Beggar with baby say "please, please" in soft tones with puppy dog eyes.
    Being serenaded by someone who has had one too many

• Registered Users Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭tfak85

Gardai on segways!
    Someone on a Dublin bike very nearly being flattened by a bus.
    Old person eating a 99 while everyone else is wrapped up against the cold.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,322 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

care to enlighten me?

In what way would double decker buses be a sight emblematic of Dublin?

How could you tick off the amount of pubs on a bingo card?

Or bearded, glasses wearing hipsters for that matter?

Birneybau wrote: »
    In what way would double decker buses be a sight emblematic of Dublin?

they are the most dominant mode of public transport in Dublin and visually unmissable..

anything else?

your right though i havnt a f*ckin clue how the bingo thing works.. i was just throwing out ideas for the OP to work with..

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭PaurGasm

the graffiti/street art
    molly malones cleavage
    dublin bikes
    the amount of pubs
    the Dublin taxi driver
    social welfare office

I am definitely going to use:
    -Molly Malones cleavage
    -the street traders, apples 5 for 50
    -shopping trolley in the River
    -buskers on Grafton Street, or the Junkie Rapper on Henry Street

Laughed so hard at them man :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

-Cyclist breaking red lights and yelling at pedestrians anyway
    -Tracksuit-wearer walking straight out into 4 lanes of traffic without a care in the world
    -Homeless people with pet rabbits
    -Americans looking for "Kelly's Book" in Trinity
    -Unintelligible announcement over the speakers by a Luas driver