Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chicago Marathon - 12th Oct 2014

• Registered Users Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Registration completed, so this is the Autumn marathon for me. 8 months to get in shape for it!

Anyone else in?

How did you register?
    I'm still getting the same page that was there beforehand?

• Registered Users Posts: 327 ✭✭The_Boy_Wonder

• Registered Users Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Tried it several times so far but Active.com keeps crashing on me.
    Will stick at it for another while yet...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,520 ✭✭✭Peckham

Main website crashing for me too.

• Registered Users Posts: 327 ✭✭The_Boy_Wonder

blockic wrote: »
    Looks like you broke it! :) Getting an error at the moment, looks like the Active.com site is down.

Entered details twice but then it crashed.

Sorry about that:(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

belcarra wrote: »
    Tried it several times so far but Active.com keeps crashing on me.
    Will stick at it for another while yet...

They have taken down the link from the main site now to register.

I need to get out for a run!!:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭sideswipe

Can ye all stop trying...yer feckin up the site and I can't register;)

Woo-hoo!
    It took 20mins but I am on my way to Chicago!!

belcarra wrote: »
    Woo-hoo!
    It took 20mins but I am on my way to Chicago!!

What link did you use? I can't see the link on the site, but am on a tablet

Peckham wrote: »
    What link did you use? I can't see the link on the site, but am on a tablet

http://www.active.com/framed/event_detail.cfm?EVENT_ID=2080107&RESET=0&CHECKSSO=0

Did you get a confirmation email straight away belcarra?

I got to payment screen pressed Pay Now but then nothing happened.

Yip, I got the email alright.

Initially at 'step 3 - complete form' when i submitted the info it went to an empty cart. I backspaced pages to the form again and resubmitted and this then worked.

Nearly 45mins at it now and still no joy :(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

This Active crowd are a bloody disaster. Getting nowhere here.

yaboya1 wrote: »
    Nearly 45mins at it now and still no joy :(

Snap. I'm getting to enter my details, but it keeps crashing on the payment page. Mixture of error screens: empty cart, invalid security certificate, site unavailable.

I hate technology :mad:

They need to anticipate this volume of traffic. They have had months to prepare.

It's almost as bad as the Galway 5km series sign-up!!:p

Woohoo! I'm registered.

I'm in!
    Over an hour on a crashing website but I got there eventually :)

I think im in..No email yet!

However my name is showing up twice now when I check registration!

Will not be a happy camper if I get charged twice!:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭DukeOfDromada

I think i'm in too. Again no e-mail yet but they are already taking money out of my account and name comes up when i check registration so taking that as been in.

z205099164.gif

I'm in too:D

Right, where we going for pints??!

• Registered Users Posts: 19,517 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

They have beer and a stage/bands at the finish line. After your first free beer, it's $5 a beer. Nice to sit around on the grass, soak up the sunshine, and enjoy a beer or two while waiting for everyone else to finish, while keeping an eye on the big screen. Downtown Chicago's actually pretty quiet on a Sunday night, so best head to one of the post-marathon party spots.

How long were ye stuck on the "Please be patient, your payment is being processed" page? I've been waiting a good half hour on that page, nothing happening yet.. Looking at the facebook page, there's uproar, loads of people registered twice or three times.. Fair play Chicago!

I'm fairly sure I'm registered now too.. Appearing as Charity Program Open (INTL). I didn't enter through a charity but it looks like I'm in. Knacker drinking in Grant Park at 10:30am sound good to anyone?

Can probably make it for 10:45;)

Sweet, if i'm there at 10:29:59 I shall be delighted!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭DukeOfDromada

I used this to make sure I was in as was on the processing page for ages.
    http://www.active.com/search_reg.cfm?event_id=2080107&sr_id=44054&mode=search

I'm good for 10:30am (hopefully :rolleyes:).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭webpal

Latest tweet from their twitter account:

If you think you may have been charged more than once during registration, you will be refunded. Please email: office@chicagomarathon.com
    8:31pm - 19 Feb 13